Saints coaching merry - go - round

Re: Saints coaching merry - go - round

And you may believe that to be the case

But

Do you know that to be the case?

The Billings Method

B.M wrote: Sat 13 Feb 2021 7:15pm What does Lethlean do then

And Rath??
You're taking the piss. The worst attempt at trolling in memory.

If alcohol can damage your short term memory, imagine what damage alcohol could do.

B.M wrote: Sat 13 Feb 2021 7:16pm And you may believe that to be the case

But

Do you know that to be the case?
I know that goal kicking training has been significantly scaled back in recent times as the guys in the white coats say it puts too much strain on the legs/hamstrings, leading to a higher chance of injury.

I know we were converting at historically low numbers. This is made even worse knowing we played indoors in perfect conditions every second week.

What did you say earlier, 4 years in a row we were worst? Is that just historically bad luck? Blokes put on the St Kilda jumper and all of a sudden can’t kick? Is it cursed??

So yes, I’m pretty confident we weren’t doing as much as we could have been.

Your listening to rhetoric (or SEN talk back) too much

1) who are the blokes in white coats? Hornsby??

2) why did they hire a specialist goal kicking coach? And what exactly did he do if they weren’t allowed to have shots??

They had plenty of shots, and kicked them most times
But different in a game though

Trolling???

Lethlean

Simon Lethlean is a former Australian Football League football operations manager and the current general manager of football at St Kilda Football Club.

Rath
St Kilda have poached the AFL's top football guru David Rath to spearhead their football program, opening the door for former North Melbourne coach Brad Scott to join the league's football operations team.

Rath will become "head of football program" at the Saints and in doing so leave his role as the AFL's coaching innovation and education manager.

It seems they have key roles in running the footy program

B.M wrote: Sat 13 Feb 2021 7:15pm What does Lethlean do then

And Rath??
Leathlean gets rid of a dud coach and says we better turnover a third of this s*** list.

Rath goes, you have Ratten, I'll leave my cushy AFL job and come rebuild the game plan with him. Just a few minor tweaks. 😜

The board and CEO sacked Richo

B.M wrote: Sun 14 Feb 2021 11:08am The board and CEO sacked Richo
Yeah. They appointed the captains too.

No

The Football dept including the leadership group decided upon the Captains

The board ratified their decision

B.M wrote: Sun 14 Feb 2021 12:23pm No

The Football dept including the leadership group decided upon the Captains

The board ratified their decision
And of course the General Manager of Football, who also sought out Ratten as an assistant 12 months earlier, got his mate Gallagher and new support staff in before the 2019 season, had nothing to do with it.
Gubby Allen came on board, oh and Summers, the bloke who ratified AR's 2017 contract extension and failed to sack him after 4 wins in 2018, stood down and Bassett took over.
Geary gave Richo a spray bour his negativity in his 2018 review and Alan was sent off for the pre-season to do some more self reflection and training.

The board and President sacked Richo? Of course they did.

An example of the critical importance of a good coach is GWS, arguably possessing one of the the most talented lists in the competition.

Leon Cameron was way out of his depth in the 2019 Grand Final, his side getting thrashed by Richmond in a most embarrassing result by 92 points 117 - 25.

Followed by finishing 10th in 2020.

I expect Richo would have suffered a similar fate if St Kilda had got to a GF during his time.

Brett Ratten in my mind, with a relatively full list at his disposal, has all the qualities in spades to win a premiership.

The players have demonstrated beyond doubt that they will bleed for Ratts, and trust his game plan, in contrast to Richo's lacklustre time when the players appeared to be confused and were certainly not inspired.

I recall Riewoldt saying after he retired that he always preferred a "hard nut" coach - in other words, someone who showed a bit of fire in the belly - to get the best out of him. Ratten certainly does that!

B.M wrote: Sat 13 Feb 2021 10:29pm Your listening to rhetoric (or SEN talk back) too much

1) who are the blokes in white coats? Hornsby??

2) why did they hire a specialist goal kicking coach? And what exactly did he do if they weren’t allowed to have shots??

They had plenty of shots, and kicked them most times
But different in a game though
I don’t listen to SEN.

It’s not like this is an unknown phenomenon, it’s straight from the mouths of players, coaches, commentators, experts...

By ‘white coats’ I was referring to sports science, medicos etc.

https://www.espn.com.au/afl/story/_/id/ ... oalkicking

In terms of volume, the assistant estimated his two best goalkickers would consistently have 15 shots in a session, which adds up to 45 shots at goal in a week. But he added the pair would nearly double that in pre-season.

45 shots a week, lookout...

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/ ... a.1165568/

Now Fev might be a bit of a fool, but I don’t see why he would lie, and he knows how to kick a goal despite everything else he does.

Though interesting how he contradicts the first article about medicos telling players to stop kicking, club to club thing maybe?

The point is, I think the evidence is overwhelming that we were both historically bad at goal kicking, and doing nowhere near enough work to fix it. There’s a big gap between 45 shots a week and 500.

Nice article by whoever?

Hardly believe a word of it though, I don’t believe everything I read in the media, especially opinion fluff pieces

Fev, has never played at Stk, certainly didn’t from 2015-2018.

Ok, you’re beliefs are clearly locked in, it’s just a waste of time at this point.

The_Dud wrote: Sun 14 Feb 2021 2:08pm Ok, you’re beliefs are clearly locked in, it’s just a waste of time at this point.
So goal kicking was a problem under Richo
But we were doing all the hard work to fix it
But under the Richo era it was unfixable and that wasn’t his fault
Then Ratten took over and we went from worst in accuracy to amongst the best
But this change had nothing to do with the coaching as it was unfixable a year before

It is a bit hard to follow Isn’t it

I suppose the argument is that we improved our list dramatically though one may argue that a previous coach had 5 years to do that and couldn’t...
Doesn’t fall under the coach’s remit I guess

Oh no I’ve gone cross eyed

No doubt it was obviously identified as an area to address...
But like so many areas in football to try your best to do something, you need to actually do it

Re: Sain ants coaching merry - go - round

These Right Wing know all nut jobs who are always RIGHT are not worth wasting time on (despite them being given free reign on this site by a Moderator of the same demographic who allows them that free reign and bans anyone who calls them to account)

As someone who personally knows a St Kilda employee, his wife and their extended family, that employee now finally resident in Croydon after the renovation delays with Heritage Listing of some 2 years, I can assure these Right Wing nut jobs, who live on here for their life experience looking for some relevance to their miserable and uneducated existance, have absolutely no idea.

As is the case with Trump, you just do not give them oxygen.

And, hopefully, what befell Trump will also come to pass for his 2 clones, Johnson and Morrison.

Left to the Federal Government, absent the States and Territories, including South Australia and Tasmania, acting as they have, Australia would be in the exact same position as are the USA and England.

Except the USA and England are rolling out a vaccine - while Australia, despite all the PR of 50 million doses then another 10 million, does not have access to any vaccine (the Australian government now advertising to put blame with the Regulator).

Nothing, from Aged Care to Child Care, to Quarantine, to Border Protection, to economic support absent paying the Wages bills of Companies and reducing their tax obligations, to the availability of a vaccine and the list goes on and on, is ever their responsibility.

As Hewson opined, we have a marketeer out of his depth as pm.

And, as Fraser opined, the Liberal Party is no longer a liberal Party.

But one final acknowledgement.

To the person attending the practice sessions and reporting.

To the top wrote: Sun 14 Feb 2021 4:33pm These Right Wing know all nut jobs who are always RIGHT are not worth wasting time on (despite them being given free reign on this site by a Moderator of the same demographic who allows them that free reign and bans anyone who calls them to account)

As someone who personally knows a St Kilda employee, his wife and their extended family, that employee now finally resident in Croydon after the renovation delays with Heritage Listing of some 2 years, I can assure these Right Wing nut jobs, who live on here for their life experience looking for some relevance to their miserable and uneducated existance, have absolutely no idea.

And, hopefully, what befell Trump will also come to pass for his 2 clones, Johnson and Morrison.

Left to the Federal Government, absent the States and Territories, including South Australia and Tasmania, acting as they have, Australia would be in the exact same position as are the USA and England.

Except the USA and England are rolling out a vaccine - while Australia, despite all the PR of 50 million doses then another 10 million, does not have access to any vaccine (the Australian government now advertising to put blame with the Regulator).

Nothing, from Aged Care to Child Care, to Quarantine, to Border Protection, to economic support absent paying the Wages bills of Companies and reducing their tax obligations, to the availability of a vaccine and the list goes on and on, is ever their responsibility.

Feel better TTT? A bex perhaps?

Coaching merry-go-round or PM merry-go-round? Australia & St Kilda appear to work to similar time frames.

To the top wrote: Sun 14 Feb 2021 4:33pm

The only portion of the post that has anything to do with the topic.
If you're going to leave, then just go.

Mr Magic wrote: Sun 14 Feb 2021 5:08pm

Oh Mr M..... be a little understanding, poster obviously wasn’t given his meds today. And this sad hater loves to hate. SS resident expert at it.

I’m surprised he/she didn’t dump on Jarryn Geary and Tim Paine in the process, he/she can usually be relied upon to spew some vitriol in their direction

loris wrote: Sun 14 Feb 2021 6:06pm
Mr Magic wrote: Sun 14 Feb 2021 5:08pm

Oh Mr M..... be a little understanding, poster obviously wasn’t given his meds today. And this sad hater loves to hate. SS resident expert at it.

I’m surprised he/she didn’t dump on Jarryn Geary and Tim Paine in the process, he/she can usually be relied upon to spew some vitriol in their direction
Good one Loris.
There appears to be a couple of Skyhooks fans in this thread.

Ego, is not a dirty word. :lol: :lol:

Kilda

For a club with such an unenviable record, it's truly remarkable that GT, Stan Alves and Ken Sheldon were all shafted after finals campaigns.
We've got a ripper at the moment and the club needs to ensure it holds onto him.

Quick comment.
If it's true that there's more than one oppo player interested in testing the waters of RSEA Park, I suggest it's maybe 2 factors

Our really decent 2020
And...AFL players hang out with oppo players, and our guys have been singing the praises of Ratts.
There might be oppo guys who think their own coach isn't really getting the best out of them n they want to play for a coaching setup that values them.
Ratts, but importantly, Roughy as well, who owns a few Sept medals

Well if players want to come to the club there are few opportunities unless they are a KPP or ruck, yes? And if (aren't we really into speculation land now) players want to come here, likewise other clubs will want Ratts, so we need to be aware. E.g. Collingwood will be looking for a coach soon and throw big bucks around (pun intended). Stating the obvious, if Ratts has confidence in our potential to play finals for a few years in a row he will stick fast. The new challenge for CEO Finnis post RSEA relocation and the AR extension debacle is to keep the current football department team together as they are excellent in their roles individually and collectively. Funny about fate, if AR wasn't extended we probably wouldn't have Ratts so hopefully that's another piece of delayed good fortune, along with Mr Lethlean falling in our laps, that we need on our way to another Granny. Sliding doors, coaching wise. Go Saints and all who sail in.... (insert gender appropriate pronoun).

To the top wrote: Sun 14 Feb 2021 4:33pm These Right Wing know all nut jobs who are always RIGHT are not worth wasting time on (despite them being given free reign on this site by a Moderator of the same demographic who allows them that free reign and bans anyone who calls them to account)

Give it a rest FFS. No one wants to read your crap on a footy forum. I for one certainly don't. :roll: :roll:

What the hell has partisan Australian politics got to do with this topic TTT???

Clearly you're bitter and twisted about the way the country is being run but best to keep that quiet lest you embarrass yourself - who and what Saints supporters believe in outside of football is inconsequential to St Kilda's fortunes and for you to express your vitriol does you no credit.