If Higgins, Why Not McCartin ?

I read today that Paddy looks in unbelieveable condition, elite even, and the Swans are serious about bringing him in.

So why don't we have the same concerns about Jack Higgins coming to the club.

If we are looking for a forward that will be a backup player that can also provide a chopout for King over the next few years then I think the club would be negligent not to consider Paddy.

And surely Paddy is a much better option than McKernan.

Re: If Higgins, Why Not McCartin ?

Jack Higgins actually makes it through a game of football

johnearljames

Paddy shouldn't ever play again. Just my opinion. See Justin Kozi. Health is more important than footy.

Higgins is a different story.

Want to watch the most boring and devious thing on television and probably in mankind's history, then tune into a daily live press conference at 11am.

Vortex wrote: Wed 28 Oct 2020 8:06pm

One has has major concussions and one a completely different problem.

saintsRrising wrote: Wed 28 Oct 2020 8:45pm
Vortex wrote: Wed 28 Oct 2020 8:06pm

One has has major concussions and one a completely different problem.
That much is understood, however both share the same conundrum with regards to the much discussed belief they should never play again because of fear, fear of significant life altering injury, or worse.

Because Paddy can’t get through a game of football 🤦‍♂️

Paddy was an average player at best prior to concussion.
Slow, little endurance, looked overweight, minimal athleticism and not a tall KPP.
One dimensional player.
Took a few good grabs but dropped lots of sitters and unreliable kick for goal.
He was no guarantee at all to be any better than a C grade AFL player.

He's now had multiple concussions and two years out of the game.
Why would you waste a spot on a reduced list on McCartin?

FWIW I wouldn't touch McKernan either.

The_Dud wrote: Wed 28 Oct 2020 10:10pm Because Paddy can’t get through a game of football 🤦‍♂️
Ha ha.
Gold dud. Gold

The_Dud wrote: Wed 28 Oct 2020 10:10pm Because Paddy can’t get through a game of football 🤦‍♂️
I worry about poor Paddy getting through the banner without a concussion let alone a game.

He's very close to friends of our family and is a lovely respectful polite young man, I wish him the best but I wouldn't like to see him back at the Saints.

I reckon if we were going to take him it would be all over the media by now.

Vortex wrote: Wed 28 Oct 2020 8:06pm I read today that Paddy looks in unbelieveable condition, elite even, and the Swans are serious about bringing him in.

If we are looking for a forward that will be a backup player that can also provide a chopout for King over the next few years then I think the club would be negligent not to consider Paddy.

Go away Paddy the club is NOT going to re draft you.

SaintPelican66

Vortex wrote: Wed 28 Oct 2020 8:06pm I read today that Paddy looks in unbelieveable condition, elite even, and the Swans are serious about bringing him in.

Jack had an aneurism removed so he is fine now. That's why there are no concerns.

He's in the best shape of his life, lost heaps of weight and has got himself real fit. Aren't we in the market for a backup tall forward for King. Paddy sounds like a backup if ever there was.

McKernan over Paddy....really? I hope we don't regret not taking him.

That will balance out the regret of taking him I guess.

Vortex wrote: Thu 29 Oct 2020 6:44am He's in the best shape of his life, lost heaps of weight and has got himself real fit. Aren't we in the market for a backup tall forward for King. Paddy sounds like a backup if ever there was.

He had 5 seasons to do that while contracted, now all of a sudden he's gone from pancake mix to protein powder?

Repeated your OP doesn't resolve the fact Paddy was not successful in his five years at the club, why all of a sudden after multiple concussions and two years out of the game is he going to turn it around.

Given he remained at the club last year utilising medical and training facilities I think the club will be well on top of Paddys situation.

The reason your rear view mirror is 5% the size of your windscreen is proportionate to how much time you should spend looking forward and behind.

Circumstance has worked against him.

If this talk of recruiting Paddy came on the back of a solid season in the VFL or some amateur league somewhere where Paddy played 20+ games that’s one thing...

But his problem was as has been pointed out above, his injuries occurred during games, sometimes with what appeared to be fairly innocuous contact

Given that he hasn’t played for over two years which is not entirely his fault... he remains untested regarding the specific concern everyone has of him

Everything about it screams bad idea to me

SaintPelican66

Vortex wrote: Thu 29 Oct 2020 6:44am He's in the best shape of his life, lost heaps of weight and has got himself real fit. Aren't we in the market for a backup tall forward for King. Paddy sounds like a backup if ever there was.

Troll alert.

Saintmike65

I'm sure we'd all love McCartin back at St. Kilda but after 8 concussions is it worth the risk?
Seriously, we'd have our collective hearts in our mouths for every contest he'd be involved in...sadly I think Paddy shouldn't play again.

Saintmike65 wrote: Thu 29 Oct 2020 10:56am I'm sure we'd all love McCartin back at St. Kilda but after 8 concussions is it worth the risk?
Seriously, we'd have our collective hearts in our mouths for every contest he'd be involved in...sadly I think Paddy shouldn't play again.
If you were Jack Higgins parents would you be happy for him to play again.

SaintPelican66

Vortex wrote: Thu 29 Oct 2020 12:33pm
Saintmike65 wrote: Thu 29 Oct 2020 10:56am I'm sure we'd all love McCartin back at St. Kilda but after 8 concussions is it worth the risk?
If you were Jack Higgins parents would you be happy for him to play again.
Yes I would. He has not had any concussions. He had an anurism which in itself is life threatening but it has been fixed. So no problems now and nothing to worry about.