Big Fish No 2

Re: Big Fish No 2

Tony stop talking dirty :P

I just love how we are actually in the game.

Crouch is a win for us. He will make us better.

And they are not done.

How good is it.

supersaints2 wrote: Sun 25 Oct 2020 9:02pm
tony74 wrote: Sun 25 Oct 2020 8:31pm Certainly not given up on TT.
Would be a massive get .. thanks Tony
Reading between the lines of stuff on BF it involves trading Billings and 3rd club.

SaintPav wrote: Sun 25 Oct 2020 4:09pm Are we falling for the Messiah fallacy again?

A Martin would be nice but our continued improvement will probably come from the growth in younger players.

Also, better team defence and ability to implement a game plan and change the system, particularly when we have lost control of the play will make a big difference.

A match-winner would help us but it's system over individuals.
That’s true but, it’s a game that won by stars at the moment (has been since 2012). The more stars you have - the more chance you have of executing your plan. Our problem is that we’re building but have very few good players let alone stars in the middle.

And then you get a freak like Martin who, just took it upon himself to turn the tide all by himself.

Impatient Sainter wrote: Sun 25 Oct 2020 10:37pm
Reading between the lines of stuff on BF it involves trading Billings and 3rd club.
If that gets Taranto.......ok

Remember how Richmond had a few players in their side who were inconsistent and failed to deliver in big games?

As soon as they had the guts to move them on, they started this period of success

One of them in particular was Ty Vickery.

Who is TT

WellardSaint wrote: Mon 26 Oct 2020 2:14am Who is TT
Tom Terrific.

Sorry.
It's that Italian bloke from Steak and Kidney.

minneapolis wrote: Mon 26 Oct 2020 2:51am
Tom Terrific.

Sorry.
Tim Taranto

His AFL stats aren't all that impressive

nostalgicsaint

WellardSaint wrote: Mon 26 Oct 2020 3:08am
Tom Terrific.

Sorry.
Tim Taranto

His AFL stats aren't all that impressive

This year I agree.

Last year as a 21 year old though he averaged nearly 30 touches a game and 5 clearances.

For reference Steele averaged 5 clearances a game this year.

I'd hate to see us trade billings and really hope there is another way to bring TT in but either way TT would add a lot to the exact area we're missing.

Disclaimer: posts are my views and shouldn't be taken as fact, even if I am in fact right.

I've seen enough of Billings to know he is not a big game player.. went missing in all our must-win games this season. Might be time to move him on as we already have a lazy outside player in Hill and we can't carry two in a team.

Taranto would be huge! Absolutely amazing. Would be the icing on the cake for our midfield

I think the BF piece on JB was all made up btw, classic bit of fishing

But imagine the midfield bolstered by Taranto and Crouch with billings in the half forward role he played as a junior. Now that is a finals wining team

Would also be great cos it would mean we goosed the bombers - made everyone look at Caldwell whilst gubby and co focussed on the real prize !!

spert wrote: Mon 26 Oct 2020 7:32am I've seen enough of Billings to know he is not a big game player.. went missing in all our must-win games this season. Might be time to move him on as we already have a lazy outside player in Hill and we can't carry two in a team.
Hill isn't lazy.

Play Billings at HF in place of Kent and our forward line should be hard to beat 8 times out of ten especially with those two new boys in the midfield.

Royston

Saintmatt wrote: Sun 25 Oct 2020 10:52pm
SaintPav wrote: Sun 25 Oct 2020 4:09pm Are we falling for the Messiah fallacy again?

A Martin would be nice but our continued improvement will probably come from the growth in younger players.

Also, better team defence and ability to implement a game plan and change the system, particularly when we have lost control of the play will make a big difference.

A match-winner would help us but it's system over individuals.
That’s true but, it’s a game that won by stars at the moment (has been since 2012). The more stars you have - the more chance you have of executing your plan. Our problem is that we’re building but have very few good players let alone stars in the middle.

And then you get a freak like Martin who, just took it upon himself to turn the tide all by himself.
Totally agree with this. Crouch makes us better but we still need premium mids as we are still workmanlike through the middle....while we look through rose coloured glasses at times as supporters and potential is always floated we still need top end talent to actually bridge the gap between us and the other 5-6 teams around us as these teams have potential on their lists also !!

spert wrote: Mon 26 Oct 2020 7:32am I've seen enough of Billings to know he is not a big game player.. went missing in all our must-win games this season. Might be time to move him on as we already have a lazy outside player in Hill and we can't carry two in a team.
TT will be a significant coup if successful and will add even greater gravitas to the established aura laid down from the recruiting of the past fews years.

I agree that on the current sample size Billings has not stood out in the big games when it would have been a bonus if he had of. That said I think if we are able to recruit another mid with the quality of TT and keep Billings as a bottom 6 player in our best 22 then that is a significant outcome.

No use in throwing out the baby with the bathwater so to speak but hey if we need to offload a forward flanker to improve our midfield then so be it as that is where games/finals are won and lost and at the end of the day, flankers like Billings are much easier to come by.

Thanks Tony for actual posting something of substance in Ted's trolling 'look at me look at me' thread!

The_Dud wrote: Mon 26 Oct 2020 10:20am
Thanks Tony for actual posting something of substance in Ted's trolling 'look at me look at me' thread!
Obviously Big Fish No 2 was a subtle reference to the former number 2 draft pick.

johnearljames wrote: Sun 25 Oct 2020 4:11pm
st.byron wrote: Sun 25 Oct 2020 4:03pm
johnearljames wrote: Sun 25 Oct 2020 1:47pm
BackFromUSA wrote: Sun 25 Oct 2020 1:40pm
johnearljames wrote: Sun 25 Oct 2020 1:33pm
BackFromUSA wrote: Sun 25 Oct 2020 1:20pm
johnearljames wrote: Sun 25 Oct 2020 1:14pm
SaintPav wrote: Sun 25 Oct 2020 8:33am Maybe they are trying to pull something off.

Who knows.
They bloody are. Trust me.

Now the GF is done, trade time is coming very fast.
You are staying the obvious and getting VERY close to trolling.
So we can't speculate or talk about trades? We can't pass on thing we hear?

Who is the sook that reported it?
You haven’t talked about a trade at all. Nor have you talked about what you have heard other than jumping on the back of a poster with reliable sources. You have just posted obvious generalisations in the hope to inflame those sick of your party trick. I am watching very carefully. When you have an actual rumour that you can articulate fully stating the player / club then you are welcome to post it. But saying we are working on something (no specifics) and it is going to big (no specifics) is as obvious as you posting that the sun will rise tomorrow and then set again. The most obvious motivation is trolling for a reaction. Credit is given to the posters who have responded with disdain but no abuse. However you have flagged yourself again.
All not true but I will add you to the trade discussion gatekeepers group!

Thou shall not discuss trades and rumours! 🧙‍♂️
You don’t discuss. You just post recycled rumours you’ve heard elsewhere in an effort to get a reaction or make yourself look knowledgeable by for example, telling everyone to “trust me”, as though you actually are some kind of insider. You’re either doing it deliberately to get reactions, which would include me posting this or........... actually I can’t think of any other reason you’d be doing it. Anyone who calls you out is now labelled a gatekeeper. Well you’d be right about that in BFUSA’s case. It’s just tedious mate.
Here I want to talk about trades and rumours and you blokes are more concerned in what I'm saying or doing. Get over it or don't participate in the thread. I never invited you. Its a fan forum for St Kilda. You aren't a gatekeeper or own the f****** joint.

Always happy to talk with any poster about trades, rumours and/or fairytales. 🙂
:wink: Glad to see you fight back. 8-)

SaintPav wrote: Sun 25 Oct 2020 6:25pm Everyone just piles on to the town freak.

Too easy.
Yep. Usual forum bullies.

johnearljames wrote: Sun 25 Oct 2020 8:24pm
The Recruit wrote: Sun 25 Oct 2020 6:29pm Bunch of precious boys on here

He is just speculating trades might know a bit. Get off his back it a trade forum for discussion and rumours. If you dont like it go somewhere else or get another hobby. Seriously if you guys keep laying into people that post on here no one will post.

How do u not I understand that.

Some reply’s you’re might use instead of ‘he is a bob head’ could be,

Okay thanks for sharing, we will se how it plays out.
Or
Okay I think you might be off the mark but we will see.
Or
Probably not going to happen
Thank you. A very mature and adult way of thinking. Pretty normal actually.

You post a pretty hot rumour that the Saints are targeting a 2nd big fish (will be confirmed soon) and the vultures that think they own this joint come out and circle you like a rotting carcass in the Simpson Desert.

If I had the players name and club then I would post it. But apparantly you need a article, players full name, his date of birth, home address, opposition club, his new salary and contract length, what makes up the players daily morning s***, his sexual preference, what his favourite all time flick is, etc. before you can post a rumour that satisfies the so called gatekeepers on here. On top of that, the little sooks probably report me to the mods all the time (however you do that). 😁
Chin up mate, don't let the bed bugs bite. :wink:

Impatient Sainter wrote: Sun 25 Oct 2020 10:37pm
You gotta laugh. Posters on here reckon that Billings is a dud but then expect other clubs to value him highly and that they will give up a low first round pick as well as their eye teeth to bag him. :roll:

Tom Terrific.

Sorry.
No it's the singer with the high voice, Tiny Tim. :wink:

I reckon the club is looking at some players...watch this space

Saints58

is it Ben King to the saints???????

Who knows if JEJ has authentic information of an actual player, the point is that the club has made it very clear that it will be bringing more elite experienced players in for 2021.

Brad Crouch is certainly an excellent start but I am in no doubt that more is to come and that it WILL be a Big Fish!

johnearljames

saynta wrote: Mon 26 Oct 2020 11:23am
SaintPav wrote: Sun 25 Oct 2020 6:25pm Everyone just piles on to the town freak.

Too easy.
Yep. Usual forum bullies.
Exactly. If it was a workplace in the real world they would be fronting FWA for bullying charges.

But anyway, Timmy Taranto would be so good. 🙏🙏🙏

Want to watch the most boring and devious thing on television and probably in mankind's history, then tune into a daily live press conference at 11am.