Bombers trying to poach Caldwell

Re: Bombers trying to poach Caldwell

Remember how under the Richo years we kept beating our chest about how we were going after big names with lots of money
Cameron
Fyfe
Kelly
Hurley
Shiel
Heppel
Mitchell
Sloan
McGovern
Lever

On and on it went and what we got was essentially the leftovers.

People can smell dysfunction or just sense when things really aren’t working well and typically want to steer clear of it unless it really really all they can get.

3 years of not being able to attract bees to honey and then the moment Richo goes, incomes Hill, Howard, Jones and Ryder... all desirable targets that chose us and the talk is that there is more coming

From AFL Trade Whisperer:

"Jye Caldwell will nominate St. Kilda, with negotiations continuing on length of offer.

A great get for a young, building Saints..."

skeptic wrote: Fri 09 Oct 2020 8:49am Remember how under the Richo years we kept beating our chest about how we were going after big names with lots of money
Cameron
Fyfe
Kelly
Hurley
Shiel
Heppel
Mitchell
Sloan
McGovern
Lever

On and on it went and what we got was essentially the leftovers.

People can smell dysfunction or just sense when things really aren’t working well and typically want to steer clear of it unless it really really all they can get.

3 years of not being able to attract bees to honey and then the moment Richo goes, incomes Hill, Howard, Jones and Ryder... all desirable targets that chose us and the talk is that there is more coming
It was mainly footy forums like SS beating their chests about getting the big names. Most was rubbish. Anyway, obviously failure to attract good players was all on Richo, of course nothing to do with the move from Seaford, appointment of Gubby Allen, Gallagher, etc.

Still haven't attracted a big name of the calibre of the ones listed above, but achieved smart recruiting of good players for needs. Allen and Gallagher played a major part in that.

The TW aka Tony Sheehan is not a reliable source.

SaintPelican66

fugazi wrote: Thu 08 Oct 2020 10:54am Just on SEN
Bombers all out to snare Caldwell.
Got cash and picks.

Any ITKs with info on whether he has privately committed to us?
The only thing the Bombers will poach is the wooden spoon from Norf.

SaintPelican66

SaintPav wrote: Mon 12 Oct 2020 5:40pm The TW aka Tony Sheehan is not a reliable source.
Tony Sheehan not a reliable source? You must be joking surely? If he says that Caldwell has nominated us then I 100% believe it. He is a respected journalist unlike Robbo.

Ghost Like wrote: Thu 08 Oct 2020 9:08pm Get Caldwell for 2021 & land Zach Merrett for 2022. Seems simple, both will enjoy kicking to Ming & Bing.
If this be the case then we will have picks 4,6 and 11 from the 2018 draft.

Tell Dedildo what he can do with it!

Why would a rapid St Kilda supporter, who has an opportunity to play at the club he always dreamt of playing for, choose to go to a club with in-fighting and a toxic culture? I'd be shocked and really disappointed if he ended up at Essendon. It's not like the Giants can dictate where he goes. He's out of contract.

SaintPelican66 wrote: Mon 12 Oct 2020 6:06pm
SaintPav wrote: Mon 12 Oct 2020 5:40pm The TW aka Tony Sheehan is not a reliable source.
Tony Sheehan not a reliable source? You must be joking surely? If he says that Caldwell has nominated us then I 100% believe it. He is a respected journalist unlike Robbo.
You reckon the TW is a reliable source?

SaintPelican66

SaintPav wrote: Mon 12 Oct 2020 6:40pm
SaintPelican66 wrote: Mon 12 Oct 2020 6:06pm
You reckon the TW is a reliable source?
If TW really is Tony Sheehan then yes.

SaintJohn1956

SEN saying Caldwell will nominate St.Kilda as preferred choice

Saint John

A text from my mate tells me that Sam Edmonds will be on SEN at 9:40am with more info on JC.

I reckon these ex Hawthorn guys now at the club know exactly what we need and that we are recruiting specific type players. They are very data driven.

This is unlike the Carlton approach which involves recruiting big names for the sake of it. They really are the AFL’s town bike.

Tuned into SEN for the first time in a while.

That’s 30 min of my life I’m never getting back.

The station has gone downhill since the takeover.

The worst thing you could do is tune in at 9am on a Saturday. Without doubt the worst sports program I have ever encountered in my life. Craig Hutchinson and and Liam Pickering.....three hours of talking absolute crap among themselves. They should be ashamed at the self indulgent, moronic banter that is neither funny of interesting. Three hours of absolutely nothing!!! It's just diabolical.

cwrcyn wrote: Tue 13 Oct 2020 11:43am The worst thing you could do is tune in at 9am on a Saturday. Without doubt the worst sports program I have ever encountered in my life. Craig Hutchinson and and Liam Pickering.....three hours of talking absolute crap among themselves. They should be ashamed at the self indulgent, moronic banter that is neither funny of interesting. Three hours of absolutely nothing!!! It's just diabolical.
Craig Hutchinson.....How is he anything other than a dodgy bloke with a driving ban hanging around a TAB in thongs and stubbies?

How does he have any influence in the culture?

Then again. The POTUS is a reality TV star.

SaintPav wrote: Tue 13 Oct 2020 9:35am A text from my mate tells me that Sam Edmonds will be on SEN at 9:40am with more info on JC.

I reckon these ex Hawthorn guys now at the club know exactly what we need and that we are recruiting specific type players. They are very data driven.

This is unlike the Carlton approach which involves recruiting big names for the sake of it. They really are the AFL’s town bike.
Data driven big time. The club has unvested heavily in a bloke with PhD in the subject and is world renowned in the area of sports analytics.

Drug cheats go all out for Jye.

From heraldsun.com.au

"Essendon is prepared to offer Jye Caldwell a five-season deal to lure him to the Dons as well as the centre-square opportunities to help him grow into an elite inside midfielder.

Caldwell is expected to make his decision about whether to leave GWS next week as the Saints and Essendon attempt to drag him out of the Giants.

Former GWS captain Phil Davis said Caldwell was the player at his club he would offer a 10-year deal to after his first impressive summer.

But he played only 11 games in his first two seasons at GWS as a mid-forward and might struggle to get past Tim Taranto, Stephen Coniglio, Josh Kelly, Tom Green and Callan Ward for genuine midfield time next year.

St Kilda sees him as the perfect player to round out a midfield that will see Jade Gresham return from a back stress fracture next year after a semi-final exit.

They have also offered a long-term deal and are desperate to secure him.

But Essendon’s five-year offer shows how determined they are to shore up his future and they can offer as much opportunity as he wants to play as a pure inside midfielder.

He will weigh up that chance to play alongside Zach Merrett, Andy McGrath and Dylan Shiel with the St Kilda offer and their likelihood of more immediate success."

Leo.J

F**k I hate Essendon.

Leo.J wrote: Fri 16 Oct 2020 10:41pm F**k I hate Essendon.
Absolutely right.
Probably only interested in him because we set our sights on him months ago.

Saints fan isn't he?

Hopefully, that makes the difference.

My fear is that he was set to come to us until the cheats came along with their outstanding too good to refuse financial offer which has made him rethink, hence the delay in the announcement.

Last thing we need are players with bad decision making

If Caldwell picks the capitulating bombers ahead of his beloved, finals bound childhood club...
Then I say we’ve dodged quite a bullet

longtimesaint wrote: Thu 08 Oct 2020 11:39am If he is coming to us I would think he will nominate as soon as our season is finished.
Hopefully we are ready to sign up our players we need for the future .
Paton, Lonie and Jake would be a good start.

LONIE IS NOT THE FUTURE

Kate

It's a lot like an auction, and as bidders we can't let our hearts overrule our heads. We need to pick a reasonable limit and stick to it, otherwise we won't have enough left in the kitty to build the TEAM that will take us to the GF.

That said. Essendon are pure slime. Why would any young up and comer want to wallow in that?

Kate wrote: Sat 17 Oct 2020 8:55am It's a lot like an auction, and as bidders we can't let our hearts overrule our heads. We need to pick a reasonable limit and stick to it, otherwise we won't have enough left in the kitty to build the TEAM that will take us to the GF.

That said. Essendon are pure slime. Why would any young up and comer want to wallow in that?
💵💵💵💵 💵 💵
💰💰💰💰💰💰 💰
💵💵💵💵 💵 💵
💰💰💰💰💰💰 💰
💵💵💵💵 💵 💵
💰💰💰💰💰💰 💰