Josh Battle Out

Re: Josh Battle Out

Darth Vader wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 9:06am Confirmed (inadvertently) by Brad Hill on SEN this morning.

Did he give any details on the injury?

Obviously somewhat worse than a rolled ankle because you’d just jab him for that.

It’s a shame if Battle will miss as I think he’ll be a good finals player. We’ll just have to win without him.

We’ll just have to win without him.

shrodes wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 2:26pm Officially confirmed now
https://www.saints.com.au/news/820008/b ... et-to-miss
This raises the question, who comes in for Josh Battle?

Zak Jones was always going to come back against the Dogs, so will that now be the only change?

Jones for Battle is not really a "like for like" but there's also the convention that you don't change a winning combination, especially one that had such a big win, so maybe it will just be the only change.

The raging debate on another thread about who to omit to include Jones has never been clearly resolved, many nominate Dean Kent but it is on record that Brett Ratten really rates the latter, and Jack Lonie, the 2nd favourite after Kent, has done more than enough to hold his spot, and he's a "big occasion" player too.

A happy conundrum for the selectors as Ed Phillips and Luke Dunstan are really close to knocking down the proverbial door!!

So my money is on just one change: Jones in for Battle.

Sanctorum wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 4:30pm

Zak Jones was always going to come back against the Dogs, so will that now be the only change?

Jones for Battle is not really a "like for like" but there's also the convention that you don't change a winning combination, especially one that had such a big win, so maybe it will just be the only change.

The raging debate on another thread about who to omit to include Jones has never been clearly resolved, many nominate Dean Kent but it is on record that Brett Ratten really rates the latter, and Jack Lonie, the 2nd favourite after Kent, has done more than enough to hold his spot, and he's a "big occasion" player too.

A happy conundrum for the selectors as Ed Phillips and Luke Dunstan are really close to knocking down the proverbial door!!

Brad Hill said this morning on SEN that there'll be a couple of changes ... and an injury too. I wouldn't be surprised if it's Marsh for Battle; Jones for Kent (even though I agree Kent is actually quite an important player in our structure).

sks023

We beat them last time without Battle
Remain positive Saint supporters

Look out kids, they keep it all hid
SaintPelican66

sks023 wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 5:00pm We beat them last time without Battle
But when we beat them the Dullbogs were out of form. They are now in form.

SaintPelican66 wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 5:09pm
What utter crap. It was the first game of the resumed season, wasn't it. How could a team be out of f****** form? :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

SaintPelican66

saynta wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 5:13pm
What utter crap. It was the first game of the resumed season, wasn't it. How could a team be out of f****** form? :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
Fair enough. Let me put it another way. They weren't playing their best footy back then. THEY ARE NOW.

sks023

SaintPelican66 wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 5:16pm
Fair enough. Let me put it another way. They weren't playing their best footy back then. THEY ARE NOW.
Apart from West coast they have beaten the teams they should have and no one else
Stay positive!

Look out kids, they keep it all hid

And so are we.

SaintPelican66

saynta wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 5:28pm
And so are we.
I hope so. So who comes in to replace Battle? And don't say Marsh.

Marsh?

You’re soaking in it.

SaintPav wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 6:36pm Marsh?
Roberton? He’s been emergency nearly every match. Big-bodied utility. Then again maybe they don’t want a like-for-like. I suspect it will be IN: Jones. OUT: Battle.

St Loxton

bigcarl wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 7:11pm
SaintPav wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 6:36pm Marsh?
Roberton? He’s been emergency nearly every match. Big-bodied utility. Then again maybe they don’t want a like-for-like. I suspect it will be IN: Jones. OUT: Battle.
Think you might be right, dewey conditions forecast later in the game, ball on the ground more. Straight swap with Zac and if Lonie ok.

Saintmatt wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 4:46pm
Sanctorum wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 4:30pm

Brad Hill said this morning on SEN that there'll be a couple of changes ... and an injury too. I wouldn't be surprised if it's Marsh for Battle; Jones for Kent (even though I agree Kent is actually quite an important player in our structure).
It will be Jones for Battle.

If Lones doesn't come up then Marsh will come in as he is one of the next most match conditioned players and just happens to also be a player that can also straighten the structure back up.

The priority this season at selection is players who are match conditioned and all the normal criteria, form, stucture comes second. There are no other choices.

Keen to see Luke Dunstan in the team to toughen up our midfield.

We should win the ruck, but more importantly we need to win the clearances, or at the very least negate their mids.

Toy Saint wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 8:19pm Keen to see Luke Dunstan in the team to toughen up our midfield.

We should win the ruck, but more importantly we need to win the clearances, or at the very least negate their mids.
Interesting. :idea:

We need guys who can win contested footy and I’d love for Dunny to get an opportunity.

He has the ability to impact on the scoreboard as well as provide supply to guys like Billings, Hill and Sinclair.

Dunny is a lefty like Lones. If Lonie isn’t 100% and if Dunny has enough miles in his legs, it’s worth consideration

Marsh apparently played very well in a scratch match 2 wks ago against a Giants reserves team

Stian

The good thing about all f these arguments is that AT LAST we have a good, deep pool of possible replacements in good form who don't have to be "like for like" and so give the selectors lots of ready-made options.
Having said that I am SOOOOOO glad that I am not a selector having to make those decisions.

It’s time to unleash Webster and Jones will come in for Lonie or Kent.

We can’t really replace Battle. There’s no one else on the list that plays that style with those attributes.

Roberton or Logan would be the closest and it’s not really a like for like and neither have played a lot.

Rather than trying to recreate something that will pbly fail... IMO you’re better off playing to your strengths. Play a mid.

One appreciates that Marsh may have re-earned an opportunity based on good form. He’s failed to cement a spot to date, hasn’t looked great at all... would rather bring a ready made mid contributor like Savage that can at least contribute.

Battle and Kent out
Jones and Phillips/Savage in

saintbob wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 8:59pm It’s time to unleash Webster and Jones will come in for Lonie or Kent.
Interesting... geeeez completely forgot about Webster.

Is he ready?

saintkid

Battle's injury sounds worse than what they are letting on if he is not right after 2 weeks.
Disappointing to lose a tough, hard player like him as we aren't blessed with enough of these types as it is.

saintkid wrote: Wed 30 Sep 2020 9:03pm Battle's injury sounds worse than what they are letting on if he is not right after 2 weeks.
Disappointing to lose a tough, hard player like him as we aren't blessed with enough of these types as it is.
Yeah mate I agree I think he might be done for the season :cry: