Paddy, fit and symptom free.

Re: Paddy, fit and symptom free.

we’d be INSANE
not to give him a go

we can only lose
by not backing him in

this is like a ben cousins moment
on repeat

roll the dice chickenhearts

asiu wrote: Sat 26 Sep 2020 11:49am we’d be INSANE
not to give him a go

we can only lose
by not backing him in

on repeat

Couldn't agree more Gaz. The talk of the club showing interest in Ben Brown is intriguing too. I'm wondering if that is more about stockpiling for future trades ala Gubby and GWS.

It's crazy that North are cutting him. He will be snapped up if he's going cheap. If he is going cheap we might as well grab him and Paddy.

Tall forwards R Us.

trademark that !!

Tall forwards R Us TM

tall4->srUS
its not that hard really , is it !

no good going to war
if you don’t have ramming speed

what was the point of rowing all that way

fair dinkum

Leo.J wrote: Sat 26 Sep 2020 10:28am
Joffa Burns wrote: Sat 26 Sep 2020 9:51am ....From what I saw I don’t think Paddy had the athleticism and endurance for the modern game and I don’t think he’d fit Ratten’s game style. A couple of years on the side lines is not going to assist his areas of deficiency.
The above mentioned are fixable with hard work. And game plans change yearly as lists change. He’s older and despite what he’s been through still wants to play. So you’d reckon he’s willing to do whatever it takes.

The Saints have invested a lot in Paddy... the question is do we give him an opportunity to repay what we’ve invested or do we cut our losses despite the possibility that he could be very valuable.

I’d not like to be making that decision.
If my memory serves correctly Paddy was on the list for 5 years and IMO was never at an acceptable fitness level for an elite athlete.

How is that fixable after a two year lay off with concussion issues?

I hope it pans out for the lad but I was not convinced he would be anything more than a C grade player pre-concussion issues.

not to give him a go

we can only lose
by not backing him in

on repeat

The issue for me asiu is that I was not convinced pre-concussion he was going to be anything more than an average sub sized KPP with deficiencies such as endurance and athleticism.

Paddy’s a tad taller than Riewoldt and he holds his ground well in marking contests. So I don’t think he is/was undersized. I agree with the rest, Joffa Burns.
I saw him rag-doll two tall defenders once in a Sandy game, who were giving him more attention than he appreciated - he just grabbed them, one by each hand, and shook them about at will.

He is a very strong man - anything but sub-sized.

Hopefully he finds another career and remains that way for the rest of his life.

Joffa Burns wrote: Sat 26 Sep 2020 1:24pm
not to give him a go

we can only lose
by not backing him in

on repeat

The issue for me asiu is that I was not convinced pre-concussion he was going to be anything more than an average sub sized KPP with deficiencies such as endurance and athleticism.
Agree. Expectations of what he can produce IF he is able to play are pretty low based on what we’ve seen.

I disagree. His brother is turning out to be a better than average footballer so it's obviously in the genes but...but, I would hate to see him play again, even though I'm sure some glory hungry, no scruples or morals team will try and pick him up. Geelong or Essendon is my bet.

You guys are finally talking sense. We are now thinking with a cogent plan (thanks Paul Keaton - he taught me that word) . So let’s settle on the core of our forward thing.
Offer Paddy a five year. Go after Ben Brown. Add Joe Daniher and finally, in a statement for the competition - as a way for them to finally take notice - offer the lad from Sydney, eh..Buddy, yes Buddy. Offer Buddy Franklin a ten year deal and let him play as a loose man...Remember ‘Freewheelin’ Franklin’ from the Freak Brothers?

Unstoppable, all games at the Junction, every Saturday night, plus one month in the hub for the interstate games. Huge membership.
Done. Simple.

shanegrambeau wrote: Sat 26 Sep 2020 4:50pm You guys are finally talking sense. We are now thinking with a cogent plan (thanks Paul Keaton - he taught me that word) . So let’s settle on the core of our forward thing.
Offer Paddy a five year. Go after Ben Brown. Add Joe Daniher and finally, in a statement for the competition - as a way for them to finally take notice - offer the lad from Sydney, eh..Buddy, yes Buddy. Offer Buddy Franklin a ten year deal and let him play as a loose man...Remember ‘Freewheelin’ Franklin’ from the Freak Brothers?

Unstoppable, all games at the Junction, every Saturday night, plus one month in the hub for the interstate games. Huge membership.
Done. Simple.
Pisstake?

keating

leg end

yea yea yea
got all that ... but

what if

set him up to be a winner
by clunking marks ‘n kicking goals

shots at goal from 30 metres out
is Ratts forward plan

fatten him up
and stick him on the goal line
with instructions
to lead out , mark the pill ‘n kick it through the big sticks

even being double teamed ‘n the ball ending on the ground will do
or better yet kick to one our other giraffes who end up defenderless in space

johnearljames

Paddy?

We are playing in a final next weekend.

Want to watch the most boring and devious thing on television and probably in mankind's history, then tune into a daily live press conference at 11am.

asiu wrote: Sat 26 Sep 2020 5:21pm yea yea yea
got all that ... but

what if

set him up to be a winner
by clunking marks ‘n kicking goals

shots at goal from 30 metres out
is Ratts forward plan

fatten him up
and stick him on the goal line
with instructions
to lead out , mark the pill ‘n kick it through the big sticks

even being double teamed ‘n the ball ending on the ground will do
or better yet kick to one our other giraffes who end up defenderless in space
Yes, I see what you mean. You need to flesh out the program for greater cogency

Well, for a start, i would’ve rule out a ball and chain. Chain Buddy by the ankle to the left goal post on a say 15 meter rope.

Daniher, on the other hand, allow his ankle chain to be thirty meters and shackle to it the right point post.

Ben Brown, on the other hand needs a much longer chain, possibly 100m to allow for his run up.

For Paddy to avoid concussion issues, I think it is best to mount him on the goal post itself, like a tennis referee sits high up. his job is simple, mark the ball whilst strapped to the seat and distribute to the crumbers below, who are them selves attached by lines to messers Brown, Franklin and Daniher.

Finally, this thread makes sense. (Chain, I should say)

Superboot

Joffa Burns wrote: Sat 26 Sep 2020 1:24pm
not to give him a go

we can only lose
by not backing him in

on repeat

This.

Plus, the claim that he is symptom free and more or less back to normal is all very well.

It doesn’t take away from the fact that he has proven himself to be astonishingly susceptible to concussion.

Iansaint

If Paddy is keen, club & he have understanding they will redraft him I would do so with late pick or as rookie. Flog him in preseason, put miles in his legs, get his body hard being physically ready to play. (unlike previously when he has carried weight & not had conditioning to run out games)
Would then give him a prolonged run at Sandy at CHB where he can run straight at the ball & use his marking & penetrating kicking to advantage. (always played better up fwd away from the goal square where he had space to move) .......if it worked could be the defensive replacement for Jake.
Could be great feel good story.

Crossy66

I dont want to see him play footy again for his own good, BUT if he does, it should be for us. His brain might of settled down but another innocuous head knock and he is back at square one. He seems to have weak spot. Btw I think Tom has now had a few too.
Truth is that it's not as if he showed anything that outstanding really.
If we were to even entertain a list spot, it would have to be off the back of some serious fitness benchmark improvements.

samoht wrote: Sat 26 Sep 2020 2:20pm Paddy’s a tad taller than Riewoldt and he holds his ground well in marking contests. So I don’t think he is/was undersized. I agree with the rest, Joffa Burns.
I saw him rag-doll two tall defenders once in a Sandy game, who were giving him more attention than he appreciated - he just grabbed them, one by each hand, and shook them about at will.

He is a very strong man - anything but sub-sized.
He is sub sized, sub standard & sub par. Let's move on.

Reality check.

The dream is over for Paddy.

1) He never showed anything in 5? seasons to suggest he would be worthy of the #1 we expended on him.
2) He was always a risk with his diabetes preventing him from achieving elite fitness.
3) With his multiple concussions and history of putting himself in dangerous positions the risk of further concussions is high.
4) We don't actually need another key forward.
Max and The Member assisted by Marshall and Ryder and our mosquito fleet have given us the 4th highest scoring side in the comp with plenty of scope for even further improvement.
5) If we do have salary cap/draft picks to trade then we should focus on fixing our biggest weakness and get an elite midfielder, not top up a strength.

Ape_Man

For Paddy's health I hope his friends and family can steer him away from contact sport.

To the people that say he never showed anything, well they obviously missed his early games. He was pretty exciting in his first few outings.

Didn't people call him Mac'Clunkin' ?

I think a lot of people are using hindsight bias to state current opinion.

Here is the opening paragraph on Wikipedia about hindsight bias:

Hindsight bias, also known as the knew-it-all-along phenomenon or creeping determinism, refers to the common tendency for people to perceive events that have already occurred as having been more predictable than they actually were before the events took place.

Can we offer Essendon a player if they agree to take McCartin in the draft.
They need another nightmare to replace Daniher.

Leo.J

bit like a fighter with a glass jaw.
'whaddya mean you want to fight again? every time you fight you get knocked unconscious!'
'i'm not unconscious now.'

Let me get this straight.

Some posters are promoting that a diabetic easily-concussed person should play a body contact sport that is known to regularly cause life-changing head-injuries.

And then asking "What have we got to loose?"