Best debut you can remember....

Re: Best debut you can remember....

Garry Sidebotton must have had a good debut.

shanegrambeau wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 6:14pm
SaintPav wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 5:18pm
shanegrambeau wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 5:15pm If we allow imports on St Kilda debut, I know a forward who kicked 4.2 in his first game for us. A good mate of Mike Sheahan's apparently.
Jacko?
I think so....!!!!
Arden street.
We lost.
I think that was Rod Owen’s first game for the club.

Saint 58 wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 5:53pm Not THE best, but for me Rod Owen at Arden St, Round 1, 1983.
He was jumping on heads & kicked 3 goals.

What a waste of unfulfilled talent in the end.
I remember there were a few rare games where we had Rocket, Plugger, Buckets and Elvis in the same forward line.

Now that was one talented forward line.

I asked my Dad who has seen years of Saints footy - Carl Ditterich by a mile.

Rugby League would have to be the stupidest, most moronic and over rated game of all time.

starsign wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 6:07pm A wizard from Tassie wearing No 4 went ok first up too from memory
Eli Templeton

saintkid

For those that can remember my old man said Geoff Linke, as SA recruit, played 2 ripper games for the Saints back in 1982 before he tragically ruined his knee.

saintkid

saynta wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 2:37pm Without a doubt, Big Carl Ditterich. 17 years of age and easily the best on the ground. Toweled up Ron Barrassi too.

Never been a better game from a debutante since.

Got christened the blond bombshell after that game. The press loved him...at first anyway. :cry: :wink:
My dad said the same.

George27

Trev from the Bush wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 4:40pm
Bowey Boy wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 2:28pm Milan Faletic !!
Kicked 5, I thought we had unearthed a superstar.

I was wrong. :cry:
Same here , lads. Against Doggies , I recall.

George27

Saint 58 wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 5:53pm Not THE best, but for me Rod Owen at Arden St, Round 1, 1983.

In 83 he looked a better prospect than Plugger- he looked that good.

Very very sad.

Special

Jimmy Bytel did alright tonight.

He was hand balling as good as Hanners from
the midfield

Carl was something that lit up football on that day,everyone was talking Ditterich after that game

Russman

Carl's debut was slightly before my time , but my Dad always said it was the best debut.
I wsan't at the game for Dean Greig's debut , but her tore it up and gave us something to look forward to.
I remember Nathan' Burkes debut at Moorabbin on 87. He only had 17 possessions , but I was excited by what I saw.
For a 17 year old kid , he seemed composed and could hit targets. Something we didn't see much of in the early to mid 80s.

Do , or Do not , There is no try.

SaintPav wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 7:03pm

I remember there were a few rare games where we had Rocket, Plugger, Buckets and Elvis in the same forward line.

Now that was one talented forward line.
:wink: :D

Special wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 10:31pm Jimmy Bytel did alright tonight.

He was hand balling as good as Hanners from
the midfield
I have believed for some time that Bytel, Byrnes, Langlands and maybe Phillips are our long term future along with Clark, King and Coffield.

remboy wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 4:26pm Dean Greig and Brodie Atkinson. Atkinson had the strangest career. 38 possessions in his first game and only played one more then was cut.
Atkinson had 25 in his first game. Then 14. Dropped. Delisted.

He resurfaced at Adelaide over six years later, but only played 5 games.

Bizarre career.

AuckSaint

May not be strictly the best debut but it was a good glimpse into the future...

i was watching a practice game vs the Bears at Carrara in the mid 80's. We had the lead and lost it, and were in the last quarter and losing (so starved of success even practice games were important!). Anyway it was into the last couple of minutes and the ball went into our forward line and a massive pack went up for the ball. In amongst it was this tall, long armed number 50something who just outreached and grabbed the ball with these bucket like hands.

The bloke beside me looked over and said "who the **** is that?" Said I didn't know, and he just shrugged his shoulders and said "well if he can take more marks like that I think you will soon!"

He changed numbers to 23....

1 of the 10,000 NZ Saints members

perfectionist wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 5:14pm I was at the Junction Oval for the first game of 1963. Jim Wallis was a beauty with strong hands. Like so many others, his career was cut short after just 39 games when he did his knee in round 2 1965 at Sth Melbourne. Back then, a knee injury was curtains.

The team to beat in the early 60s was always Melbourne, having won 5 flags in recent times. The debut of Ian Stewart was inauspicious, but there was nothing inauspicious about the debut of Big Carl. All leap and elbows and pace and exuberance signalled the arrival of someone different - the first real "60s" footballer.

That day, the golden rule applied - if you want to beat a top team - kick straight. We kicked 13 goals 5 behinds to 9 goals 11 behinds, having been behind at 3 qr time.

However, I must agree with others about Dean Greig. I was also at VFL Park in 1991 (coincidently on the 10th August) when he made his debut and I have to admit, I really didn't know who he was - just like Carlton as it turned out. Just as Melbourne was the top team on the 50s, Carlton, along with Hawthorn, had been the top team of the 70s and 80s. Our wins against them were rare, which made our string of 12 from 2002 to 2009 so sweet. Dean Greig had 39 possessions in the centre and dominated.
ACLs were terminal.

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08