Best debut you can remember....

https://coupler.foxsports.com.au/api/v1 ... c096145096

I'd think quite a few of us can remember Dean Greig's first game. It remains a record and will be hard to beat. A career cut short but he was a gutsy, creative footballer and fondly remembered by fans of the era.

Most of us will certainly remember Lenny's recovery from the Archer bump in his first game and it set the scene for a fantastic career for Hayes, highlighted by courage, endurance and sheer class.

It's been a while since such a memorable debut happened for the Saints but I'm hoping that tonight, no matter the result, that we walk away with a memorable debut from Bytel.

While I'm not going to back him to beat Greig and nor will I dare to say he will end up as good as the legend of Lenny, I'm confident that this kid won't let the moment slip and we will all know his name, come the end of the game.

I'll be looking for ferocious tackles, creative handball and possibly a goal or 2, if he is given his chances forward as well as in the middle. Good luck Jack, knock em dead.
Last edited by CQ SAINT on Mon 10 Aug 2020 2:30pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Best debut you can remember....

Milan Faletic !!

StPeter

I saw Ian Stewart, Carl Ditterich, Bob Murray and Jim Wallis all debut in the opening round in 1963 and they would have been possibly our four best players that day, with Big Carl outstandingly BOG.

I agree Dean Greig's debut was remarkable. I recently saw it again on Foxtel and it was interesting that it took the commentators until towards the end of the game before they noticed how dominant he was. He ended with 39 possessions.
Last edited by StPeter on Mon 10 Aug 2020 2:42pm, edited 2 times in total.

Bowey Boy wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 2:28pm Milan Faletic !!
Yep. 5 goals was a beauty, despite being aged 28, with a fair bit of senior experience, 2 flags and a best and fairest.

Without a doubt, Big Carl Ditterich. 17 years of age and easily the best on the ground. Toweled up Ron Barrassi too.

Never been a better game from a debutante since.

Got christened the blond bombshell after that game. The press loved him...at first anyway. :cry: :wink:

st sandy

George Young at a great debut in 1972 or 1973
3 goals from a half forward flank at the MCG

As a mid-40's aged human ... I reckon the bloke that nailed his debut was John "Mono brow" Georgiou as a 16 year old at Moorabbin. One blind turn out of the middle in the 3rd quarter that day was magnificent.

StPeter wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 2:32pm I saw Ian Stewart, Carl Ditterich, Bob Murray and Jim Wallis all debut in the opening round in 1963 ........
That is just ridiculous talent!

I can’t imagine such big names....though I know didly about the last fellow on the list, ever debuting like that again. Unbelievable.

Maybe the GT years, with our low draft pics might have had some big names, but the interchange was in use so not as dramatic as having just 19th and 20th man.

I would love to see a heritage round every year, where a team can pick only 19th and 20th man actually. More unrealistic thoughts from your fav ruckman of 1973. lol

Seriously though, everything I know about 1963 these days, just blows my mind! What an amazing year!,..for the world.. culture., sport etc...

Except bloody Geelong won it. I think. Speak of the devil.

Dean Greig and Brodie Atkinson. Atkinson had the strangest career. 38 possessions in his first game and only played one more then was cut.

Bowey Boy wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 2:28pm Milan Faletic !!
Kicked 5, I thought we had unearthed a superstar.

I was wrong. :cry:

StPeter wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 2:32pm I saw Ian Stewart, Carl Ditterich, Bob Murray and Jim Wallis all debut in the opening round in 1963 and they would have been possibly our four best players that day, with Big Carl outstandingly BOG.

I agree Dean Greig's debut was remarkable. I recently saw it again on Foxtel and it was interesting that it took the commentators until towards the end of the game before they noticed how dominant he was. He ended with 39 possessions.
Tend to agree, Ditterich was sensational, I think Murray kicked four, Stewie showed he wouldn't be a winger for long and soon forced Lance Oswald out of the centre. Wallis was a school teacher from Quambatook and a semi-pemanent toward pocket ruckman. A beautiful kick for goal, he buggered his knee in '65 and never played again.

But the blonde bombshell's debut was the best I've ever seen in red, white and black. Not good enough for BOG, though. Alan Morrow, who took 20 marks that day, had Carl covered.

I was at the Junction Oval for the first game of 1963. Jim Wallis was a beauty with strong hands. Like so many others, his career was cut short after just 39 games when he did his knee in round 2 1965 at Sth Melbourne. Back then, a knee injury was curtains.

The team to beat in the early 60s was always Melbourne, having won 5 flags in recent times. The debut of Ian Stewart was inauspicious, but there was nothing inauspicious about the debut of Big Carl. All leap and elbows and pace and exuberance signalled the arrival of someone different - the first real "60s" footballer.

That day, the golden rule applied - if you want to beat a top team - kick straight. We kicked 13 goals 5 behinds to 9 goals 11 behinds, having been behind at 3 qr time.

However, I must agree with others about Dean Greig. I was also at VFL Park in 1991 (coincidently on the 10th August) when he made his debut and I have to admit, I really didn't know who he was - just like Carlton as it turned out. Just as Melbourne was the top team on the 50s, Carlton, along with Hawthorn, had been the top team of the 70s and 80s. Our wins against them were rare, which made our string of 12 from 2002 to 2009 so sweet. Dean Greig had 39 possessions in the centre and dominated.

If we allow imports on St Kilda debut, I know a forward who kicked 4.2 in his first game for us. A good mate of Mike Sheahan's apparently.

Saintmatt wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 3:59pm As a mid-40's aged human ... I reckon the bloke that nailed his debut was John "Mono brow" Georgiou as a 16 year old at Moorabbin. One blind turn out of the middle in the 3rd quarter that day was magnificent.
Was that against the Hawks?

shanegrambeau wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 5:15pm If we allow imports on St Kilda debut, I know a forward who kicked 4.2 in his first game for us. A good mate of Mike Sheahan's apparently.
Jacko?

saynta wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 2:37pm Without a doubt, Big Carl Ditterich. 17 years of age and easily the best on the ground. Toweled up Ron Barrassi too.

Got christened the blond bombshell after that game. The press loved him...at first anyway. :cry: :wink:
+1 you nailed it saynta It followed the Saints recruiting the Shadow after our U17 lightening premiership Held one Sunday late the previous year at the Junction Oval when a few of us who played therein were invited down the following season to tryout for the Thirds I had played in the grand final for Melbourne High against Big Carl and Jason Morans East Brighton Side A few of us Then went on play in the U19 thirds In the opener against the Dees R1 the next season but Diitta who was the standout star of The LP carnival went straight into the senior side and he absolutely smashed it on debut leaping all over them in the ruck then the rest was History as they say !!!

Oops Sorry That was Jeff Moran

CarlD

+ 2. And so it began :D

George27

st sandy wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 3:55pm George Young at a great debut in 1972 or 1973
3 goals from a half forward flank at the MCG
Yep round 1 1973 v Melbourne . He kicked 4.2, and was BOG.

Saint 58

Not THE best, but for me Rod Owen at Arden St, Round 1, 1983.
He was jumping on heads & kicked 3 goals.

What a waste of unfulfilled talent in the end.

What you do for others will define your life.
[Football isn't everything ... it's the ONLY thing]

A wizard from Tassie wearing No 4 went ok first up too from memory

starsign wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 5:30pm
saynta wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 2:37pm Without a doubt, Big Carl Ditterich. 17 years of age and easily the best on the ground. Toweled up Ron Barrassi too.

+1 you nailed it saynta It followed the Saints recruiting the Shadow after our U17 lightening premiership Held one Sunday late the previous year at the Junction Oval when a few of us who played therein were invited down the following season to tryout for the Thirds I had played in the grand final for Melbourne High against Big Carl and Jason Morans East Brighton Side A few of us Then went on play in the U19 thirds In the opener against the Dees R1 the next season but Diitta who was the standout star of The LP carnival went straight into the senior side and he absolutely smashed it on debut leaping all over them in the ruck then the rest was History as they say !!!

I was at that game and in the rooms with the old man before and after the game. aFucking exciting for a 17 year old. Played under age footy in the sth eastern league under 15's right through to under 19;s Remember playing against Carl.

Exciting times for the Saints in the sixties.

Saints stacked with talent. Big Carl, Oswald, The Doc, Stewie, Cowboy, Jimmy Guyatt, Jimmy O'Dea, Smith, Griffith and of course Morrow, Cooper, Sierakowski, Mynott, Breen Payze. the Pascoe Brothers and Alan Davis to name some.

Went to De La with Breen but he was a year or two behind me.
Last edited by saynta on Mon 10 Aug 2020 6:14pm, edited 1 time in total.

starsign wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 5:35pm Oops Sorry That was Jeff Moran
I would hope so!

SaintPav wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 5:18pm
shanegrambeau wrote: Mon 10 Aug 2020 5:15pm If we allow imports on St Kilda debut, I know a forward who kicked 4.2 in his first game for us. A good mate of Mike Sheahan's apparently.
Jacko?
I think so....!!!!
Arden street.
We lost.

My debut against Glen Waverley Rovers back in 77 was probably pretty special ..... shame I can't remember though