Let’s talk umpires and cheating

Re: Let’s talk umpires and cheating

CURLY wrote: Mon 20 Jul 2020 11:50pm
kosifantutti wrote: Mon 20 Jul 2020 11:45pm
CURLY wrote: Mon 20 Jul 2020 11:37pm
The_Dud wrote: Mon 20 Jul 2020 11:24pm
CURLY wrote: Mon 20 Jul 2020 11:18pm
The_Dud wrote: Mon 20 Jul 2020 11:15pm The umpiring was bad.

But explain how our 5 shots at goal from frees and Tex’s clear mark right in front not paid fits into the conspiracy?
Explain Tex’s two goals from putrid non existent frees. The two holding the ball frees and goals that both were just blatantly not there. They got 10 more frees but chased arse most of the night.
But explain how our 5 shots at goal from frees and Tex’s clear mark right in front not paid fits into the conspiracy?

Pretty simple question champ, going to try answer it?

We got one dubious free in front the second on to Kent.

Gresham in the back easy call
Kent tackled Kelly when he slid on the ground
Hartigan handballs to the behinds missed 100% free

Tex got two both ridiculous. The free against Wilkie ridiculous the free against Gears even worse.

The free against Howard was there but didn’t pay one to us

Butler pinned 3 times for deliberate none even remotely close.
I missed the dubious free to Kent. Was it the one where the hippy jumped on his back or the one where the guy went to ground and made no effort to get rid off it?
The first was correct the second was there but we were lucky they payed it.

Anyone want to explain Butlers 3 deliberates or when Kent tackled Jones who dropped it?

Or Gears free against any one ?
I thought Gears could have made a better attempt to show he was trying to get the ball out because 9/10 they will pay the free, especially now.

The umpires made glaring mistakes and were very inconsistent which impacted both teams but the Crows seemed to do a lot better from their errors.

The umps had a poor night.

Explain Tex’s two goals from putrid non existent frees. The two holding the ball frees and goals that both were just blatantly not there. They got 10 more frees but chased arse most of the night.

Tex got two both ridiculous. The free against Wilkie ridiculous the free against Gears even worse.

I missed the dubious free to Kent. Was it the one where the hippy jumped on his back or the one where the guy went to ground and made no effort to get rid off it?
Agree Kent deserved the free, the contact was incidental and he was caught HTB.
They never replayed the Geary free - did he actually mark the ball or did the ump say he had prior? He seemed unhappy with the decision rather than himself.

SaintPav wrote: Mon 20 Jul 2020 11:57pm

Anyone want to explain Butlers 3 deliberates or when Kent tackled Jones who dropped it?

I thought Gears could have made a better attempt to show he was trying to get the ball out because 9/10 they will pay the free, especially now.

The umpires made glaring mistakes and were very inconsistent which impacted both teams but the Crows seemed to do a lot better from their errors.

He believed he marked it was tackled immediately they never pay those.

CURLY wrote: Mon 20 Jul 2020 11:58pm

I didn't see it that way but you might be right. I have to look at it again.

stkfc1 wrote: Mon 20 Jul 2020 11:56pm I dont believe umps are cheating but the standard is just awful. Until we have full time umpires, the standard will stay awful.

Don't know if it's feasible. Maybe there should be enough so there is always at least one full time ump at every game and the rest part timers. It couldn't hurt.
Interesting point, all of the main umpires are on 6 figures yet it is still called part time even though their main occupations are the ones that are now part time.

Leave mid year rule changes alone, no more rules of the week. No further instructions. Let them watch games, listen to commentary and allow them to blend in with the season, not become or define the week / season.

St.Roly

They do now. If you don’t make it look like you are making a genuine attempt to get it out it does not matter if you haven’t had prior opportunity. I was actually screaming at the top of my lungs at the TV for Gears to knock it out.

And just to address the issue at hand - as bad as umpiring can be sometimes (like tonight), I regard claims of cheating as unjustifiable and, frankly, not good for the sport.

At the time an umpire called the kick was touched (picked up on the telecast). Geary obviously never heard the call and took what he believed was a fair mark. IMHO, the umpire should have realized what was going on and called for a ball-up.
SO technically a çorrect decision' but certainly not in the spirit of the game.

100% Mr Magic never paid you see players get swamped after a touched ball and the umpire balls it up.

Not lucky at all in my opinion. The Crow went to ground and didn’t get the ball out.

Kent didn’t tackle Jones, it was more of a forearm jolt, although sometimes they will pay it.

Geary marked a touched ball. Sometimes they take pity, this time they didn’t.

St.Roly

CURLY wrote: Tue 21 Jul 2020 12:18am 100% Mr Magic never paid you see players get swamped after a touched ball and the umpire balls it up.
So, to be clear, you are agreeing that it was a technically correct decision as Mr Magic concluded.

resaintlee

We were after percentage point and goal from dubious free kicks
Kept them in it early

St.Roly wrote: Tue 21 Jul 2020 12:23am
CURLY wrote: Tue 21 Jul 2020 12:18am 100% Mr Magic never paid you see players get swamped after a touched ball and the umpire balls it up.
So, to be clear, you are agreeing that it was a technically correct decision as Mr Magic concluded.
It’s a free that is never payed. Like the thousand of deliberates they don’t pay.

every week its the same thing..Curly starts one of these threads and blah blah blah...
cheating ..blah blah blah

there is something seriously wrong here.

The Fireman wrote: Tue 21 Jul 2020 12:45am every week its the same thing..Curly starts one of these threads and blah blah blah...

29-19

13-5 holding the ball frees Crows way at 3/4 time raised by Eddie and crew.

5 of 7 Crow goals from frees

CURLY wrote: Tue 21 Jul 2020 12:47am
The Fireman wrote: Tue 21 Jul 2020 12:45am every week its the same thing..Curly starts one of these threads and blah blah blah...

29-19

so it's cheating ? why? who benefits by this ?

I actually feel a bit sorry for you mate.

SaintDippa

Player takes the footy and gets tackled. Pinned. Has the footy on his chest and punches the ball further into his chest. You would have see this a thousand times. Commentators, At least trying to get rid of it. What a joke. Player has no intent to dispose should be pinged.

The Fireman wrote: Tue 21 Jul 2020 12:53am

29-19

AFL

CURLY wrote: Tue 21 Jul 2020 12:54am

29-19

AFL
case closed

The Fireman wrote: Tue 21 Jul 2020 12:55am

29-19

AFL
case closed
Umpires benefit as well. Keep the strong teams happy and they receive far less negative press.

CURLY wrote: Tue 21 Jul 2020 12:58am
The Fireman wrote: Tue 21 Jul 2020 12:55am

29-19

AFL
case closed
Umpires benefit as well. Keep the strong teams happy and they receive far less negative press.
if you are fair dinkum .........as I said I feel sorry for you .
Your enjoyment of the game is diminished by your lack of objectivity .
Hopefully one day you will get over your obsession and enjoy the game.

PS You need to go and have a chat with some umpires.

Mr Magic wrote: Tue 21 Jul 2020 12:10am

At the time an umpire called the kick was touched (picked up on the telecast). Geary obviously never heard the call and took what he believed was a fair mark. IMHO, the umpire should have realized what was going on and called for a ball-up.
SO technically a çorrect decision' but certainly not in the spirit of the game.
Yes
Average call by the ump .
Just finished watching the replay and noted poor decisions
The crows had 7 soft / bad decision frees
Not including the 2 soft ones tex got although he did miss out on 1 to him
They also got 4 deliberate oob
Amazingly we got 1 only for lonie to hit the point post gifting them another free.
We got 3 soft / bad decision frees .
We missed out on 4 blatant frees they missed out on 1.
So at the end of the day it was probably an average night for the saints in Adelaide.
We nearly always get shafted when we play the crows in Adelaide.
We get a slightly better run when we play port .
Same as when we play in Perth.
Get shafted against WC and get a better run against Freo .

laughable umpiring last night (given we won). absolute muppets.
i think the crowd had a massive effect. i loved hearing them, and obviously so did the umps.

desertsaint wrote: Tue 21 Jul 2020 8:31am laughable umpiring last night (given we won). absolute muppets.
i think the crowd had a massive effect. i loved hearing them, and obviously so did the umps.
Affirmation adjudication.
No question in my mind that there were incorrect decisions paid/influenced because of the crowd noise.

Umpiring last night was appalling both ways. A couple of Zac's holding the ball he handballed, Hill ran 4 steps tackled, danced with the guy , ball came out then play on, Advantage to Port paid when guy running backwards, King continually arm chopped.
fair to say those 3 green aliens struggled and probably need 2 weeks in quarantine with the rule book and some DVD's

51 free kicks against St Kilda in just two (shortened) matches.

Roughly a free against every 4 minutes.