Bad call re aflw

So unfair that our girls get dumped out of a competition that's going ahead - when they're playing so well. If they're anyway planning to play 3 more rounds, surely they should've completed the fixture so all teams in each conference get to play each other and then had the top teams from each conf play off. Sacrificing the integrity (cough) of the fixture to get in a 3 week finals series in current circs is classically stupid imhfo.

Re: Bad call re aflw

mmmmm

if the blokes play
why not let the girls play

i’d rather see ... no winner of a cancelled comp
rather than a winner of a compromised comp

where’s the Win in that
besides on trivia night

outside66

freely wrote: Thu 19 Mar 2020 4:53am So unfair that our girls get dumped out of a competition that's going ahead - when they're playing so well. If they're anyway planning to play 3 more rounds, surely they should've completed the fixture so all teams in each conference get to play each other and then had the top teams from each conf play off. Sacrificing the integrity (cough) of the fixture to get in a 3 week finals series in current circs is classically stupid imhfo.
It's no good and a complete fizzer to end what's been a cracking campaign for our lot but it does make sense. We wouldn't have been able to make the top 4 in our conference due to low percentage plus the cost of continuing to run the woman's program is now something that we (along with alot of the other clubs I presume) simply cannot afford to keep running - the women were training 3/7, have external meals providers now that volunteers are not allowed due to quarantine, increased cleaning costs associated (industrial cleans after the men then after the women's training), and staffing costs etc. We also lost a sh!tload of money by not having a crowd against Richmond as we still had to pay a significant amount for everything that was planned for the day which was cancelled with less than 2 days notice. All in all, the cons massively outweighed the pros unfortunately.

I'd be filthy if I went for Geelong or Adelaide considering they were still a decent chance of making the finals in their conference.

The biggest pro however is that our first season in the comp has highlighted that we will be a force to be reckoned with come 2021!

asiu wrote: Thu 19 Mar 2020 8:19am mmmmm

if the blokes play

where’s the Win in that
besides on trivia night
It's got nothing to do with whom wins a comp or whether that comp is compromised or not. It's all about ensuring - where possible - that there's another 3 rounds of games ("finals") for the broadcasters. As if anyone is going to look back at the record books for asterixes for AFLW 2020 'winners'? Right now - the AFL needs to provide as much content as is possible/practicable to Foxtel / Ch 7 and this is merely the most expeditious way of delivering that.

Saintmatt wrote: Thu 19 Mar 2020 11:14am
asiu wrote: Thu 19 Mar 2020 8:19am mmmmm

if the blokes play

where’s the Win in that
besides on trivia night
It's got nothing to do with whom wins a comp or whether that comp is compromised or not. It's all about ensuring - where possible - that there's another 3 rounds of games ("finals") for the broadcasters. As if anyone is going to look back at the record books for asterixes for AFLW 2020 'winners'? Right now - the AFL needs to provide as much content as is possible/practicable to Foxtel / Ch 7 and this is merely the most expeditious way of delivering that.
Well actually, this just means there'll be fewer games for the broadcasters. There was no imperative for them to go straight to finals. I'm aware we couldn't 'make' finals - but that's hardly the point. All the teams could have played each other and the top two could have gone through. It's not ideal - but would have been less not ideal than this!!!

Its a shocker. Given that they're going ahead behind closed doors, the call on the 17 game AFL season and cutting the AFLW short is knee jerk and premature.

Laurie

Who cares.

sendmehomehappy

Laurie wrote: Thu 19 Mar 2020 8:50pmWho cares.
I reckon the girls themselves care a huge amount,
also their families and friends,
also all the team support and training staff,
and the guys at the club,
and just about every new and rusted on supporter of our great club, I expect, would care heaps too about seeing the promise, pride and joy the women showed this season.

Be disappointed not seeing the season out.

Says more about you I reckon.

" If thought corrupts language then language can also corrupt thought."

Politics and the English Language George Orwell

Two wins plus that "moral" win over Freo is a ripper start to year 1.

Dumb decision to cancel an already ridiculously short season.
The girls should have the chance to play out the season and prepare for year 2.

After watching the two finals today - I have to admit I was wrong. Don't know how they managed to generate so much excitement. Terrific come-from-behind win by the Dees. Maybe it's something to do with them being more used to playing without a crowd. I know the men's games so far have been flat as tacks.

George27

freely wrote: Sat 21 Mar 2020 5:44pm After watching the two finals today - I have to admit I was wrong. Don't know how they managed to generate so much excitement. Terrific come-from-behind win by the Dees. Maybe it's something to do with them being more used to playing without a crowd. I know the men's games so far have been flat as tacks.
Freely - I agree the first 2 games have been crackers - not so much the Freo one now. However given it was decided to play another 3 weeks , I agree with your initial comment that we should have been allowed to play this week at least. Then next week two semis ( as there will be anyway) and a grand final.

George27

Laurie wrote: Thu 19 Mar 2020 8:50pmWho cares.
I do , Laurie - and thanks for asking !