Jack Steven ... 58 :(

Re: Jack Steven ... 58 :(

B.M wrote: Thu 17 Oct 2019 12:51pm BTW

A royal rogering occurred in this trade, and Geelong are laughing all the way to the bank!

I’ve heard we are paying 400k to Geelong. And Geelong have spread his deal over two years, so effectively they are getting a champion for 200k per year
Side note
They are also getting Jenkins for 200k while Adelaide pay 500k... but at least Adelaide got an OK pick for Jenkins.

We got Zac Smiths pick for Jack Steven - laughable!
You know everything!
Such a smartarse!

B.M wrote: Thu 17 Oct 2019 12:51pm BTW

A royal rogering occurred in this trade, and Geelong are laughing all the way to the bank!

I’ve heard we are paying 400k to Geelong. And Geelong have spread his deal over two years, so effectively they are getting a champion for 200k per year
Side note
They are also getting Jenkins for 200k while Adelaide pay 500k... but at least Adelaide got an OK pick for Jenkins.

We got Zac Smiths pick for Jack Steven - laughable!
Its s*** but we had no choice.

barks4eva wrote: Thu 17 Oct 2019 12:13pm
freely wrote: Thu 17 Oct 2019 11:31am
What I said was - (a) settle down; and (b) was wondering what Lethlean cheating on his wife had to do with his handling of the trades; and (c) since you seemed to be blaming Lethlean, I wondered how you'd switched back to Richardson as if he was the architect of last season's trades.

You don't need to explain any of it though, mate. I don't want you to have a seizure!
a) settle down?

I'm pissed off St.kilda is paying money to Geelong for Steven to play for Geelong.

b) Specifically, Lethlean's situation was in relation to his dealing of Steven's situation.
Do I really have to explain this further for you?
NOT tradeS as you carelessly mentioned.

c) Richardson vetoed Steven moving last year and obviously Lethlean did not intercede.

Are you any clearer now?
Lol, yeah. Thanks. Love your work.

The fact we’re paying half his wage next year shows that the whole mental health line we’ve been fed by Jack all year is absolute bulls**t.

Forces us to break his contract and trade him by sitting out this year while (like barks said) we pay him $800k to have a holiday, get fat, drunk and do lines, then turns around and demands we honour his wage in the contract HE DEMANDED WE BREAK.

If it was truly for his mental health he would have walked to Geelong for whatever they were willing to pay him.

Good (not elite) player in a poor team who made a lot of money out of us. And in the end, unfortunately seems like he’s a bit of a POS.

The_Dud wrote: Thu 17 Oct 2019 1:44pm The fact we’re paying half his wage next year shows that the whole mental health line we’ve been fed by Jack all year is absolute bulls**t.

Forces us to break his contract and trade him by sitting out this year while (like barks said) we pay him $800k to have a holiday, get fat, drunk and do lines, then turns around and demands we honour his wage in the contract HE DEMANDED WE BREAK.

If it was truly for his mental health he would have walked to Geelong for whatever they were willing to pay him.

Good (not elite) player in a poor team who made a lot of money out of us. And in the end, unfortunately seems like he’s a bit of a POS.
Yeah - totally agree. Jack made his current bed (by lying in someone else's) so, now us poor sucker members have to fund his exit to a competitor club. I've loved Jack's time at St Kilda - he was one of very few bright lights in an otherwise largely dim and pox Watters/Cho era.

But I have a bitter taste in my mouth as to his exit. I'll find it hard for a long while yet to extend a fond farewell to him and even less so, when I see him in the hillbillies guernsey.

I'll say it again - we traded the Jack Steven of 2019. We traded a player who doesn't show up for training all the time. We traded a player who doesn't make all the team meetings. We traded a guy who might very well decide during the course of next year that he's done with professional footy for good.

We traded a guy with a lot of personal issues that go way beyond the stupid stuff referred to on this forum.

Pick 58 was a fair trade.

Jack Steven the 4 x B&F winner and midfield star finished his AFL career in 2018.

B.M wrote: Thu 17 Oct 2019 12:47pm Well Barks,

Steven has just won the B&F in 2018, with no sign of any issues to come.

We trade him and the melts on this place would have been crazy! And it would have been ARs fault... as most things seem to be?
When Steven wanted out last year and his value was high I was hoping he would be traded for a first round draft pick.

I thought the timing was excellent to move him on.

Richardson screwed this up for the club for his own selfish reasons.

AND you can blame Matt ( gender neutral toilets ) Finnis for Richardson still being there to screw this up to begin with.

I'm surprised more players have not come out with mental health issues after having to listen to goofball Richardson drone on for six years.

And you can blame the imbeciles who appointed Richardson as senior coach for him being there to begin with!

We simply have to move on.
Yes we’ve been rogered without lube but equally Cats take a risk....time will tell..
I’ll look back at jack Stevens as a good player, not quite elite (disposal hurts him here for mine) in an era at saints that was largely Shyte.
I’m hoping I look back at the max king era as the second coming of Riewoldt .....time will tell...

guitars4

:(

lewdogs

Have to say I'm livid about this trade, but there's nothing we could do. Cats used the mental health issues as leverage and our hands were absolutely tied. We had to trade him. But they could have offered a better and more fair deal, yet chose not to. They are a disgraceful club and I really hope we destroy them next year and well into the future. I know nice guys and nice clubs often finish last, but I hope that we can catch a karma bus here and it spells the end of their finals journey and the start of ours.

What hurts the most is seeing them trot Jack out in front of the cameras today, saying he's going to get fit, play round 1 etc, which I'm sure they knew all along.

I never liked Geelong but I can confidently say a f****** hate them now.

We should have let him go last year. Simple as that. We didn't. Now we have. Geelong didn't do this. We did. Move on. We all need to pay penance at some point. I wish Jack and Geelong the best. I hope his little girl grows up happy. Divorce, child support, seperation, loss of respect, reputation and self determination, they take their toll. Jacks demons are far from behind him. Anyone who thinks he is happy with these outcomes is deluded. In the spirit of the game, we have now done all we could to help him.

Shaggy

The_Dud wrote: Thu 17 Oct 2019 1:44pm The fact we’re paying half his wage next year shows that the whole mental health line we’ve been fed by Jack all year is absolute bulls**t.
On the contrary it shows both Saints and Geelong recognise Jack has serious problems.

Teflon wrote: Thu 17 Oct 2019 10:23pm We simply have to move on.
Yes we’ve been rogered without lube but equally Cats take a risk....time will tell..
I’ll look back at jack Stevens as a good player, not quite elite (disposal hurts him here for mine) in an era at saints that was largely Shyte.
I’m hoping I look back at the max king era as the second coming of Riewoldt .....time will tell...
I watched a match today where we played against Collingwood just before Steven came on board. It was late in the season in 2008 and I was surprised to see how poor Dane Swan's field kicking was.

The bloke played in an era where Collingwood were a top side and played continuously in finals. He obviously worked hard on his tank and had speed and strength to match.

Maybe Jack Steven doesn't have the accolades or the Brownlow that Swan has, but I reckon if Stuv played in different team, that had a stronger and more talented midfield and won more games, he would be seen in a similar vain to guys like Swan who weren't elite kicks.

I reckon Steven wouldn't have been in the All Australian judges or in the umpires eyes as much ( with regard to Brownlow votes) because we were perennial losers during the peak of his career...as well as the fact that there was a bloke called Riewoldt on our list

I hope like hell that Geelong are s*** and that we don't see them have any success whatsoever while he is there

Asked if the deal involved the Saints paying some of Steven's salary, Lethlen told SEN: “Yeah we do, we're contributing to that,” he said.

Anyone know for a fact how much?

don't care. he was a dead weight liability for the club this year. should have been traded last year. happy to be done with him from a football perspective. huge risk for geelong, they're filling up with old men and just lost their best player. good of them to give him a chance. good of us to pay him out although if on a back ended contract then he deserves it, maybe minus getting money for nothing this year.

Scollop wrote: Fri 18 Oct 2019 1:34am
Teflon wrote: Thu 17 Oct 2019 10:23pm We simply have to move on.
I watched a match today where we played against Collingwood just before Steven came on board. It was late in the season in 2008 and I was surprised to see how poor Dane Swan's field kicking was.

The bloke played in an era where Collingwood were a top side and played continuously in finals. He obviously worked hard on his tank and had speed and strength to match.

Maybe Jack Steven doesn't have the accolades or the Brownlow that Swan has, but I reckon if Stuv played in different team, that had a stronger and more talented midfield and won more games, he would be seen in a similar vain to guys like Swan who weren't elite kicks.

I reckon Steven wouldn't have been in the All Australian judges or in the umpires eyes as much ( with regard to Brownlow votes) because we were perennial losers during the peak of his career...as well as the fact that there was a bloke called Riewoldt on our list

I hope like hell that Geelong are s*** and that we don't see them have any success whatsoever while he is there
Don’t know but he’s still wasn’t elite in my eyes
I hold that line for very few - think Harvey Voss Buckley and ask yourself was Jack Steven as good as them?
Dane Swan a very good player too but I’d take Pendlebury any day over him - accumulators with elite decision making and disposal get my attention .....Buckley also kicked goals which made him a nightmare going forward
Jacks been a very good player.

nw7

I feel as we have been taken for a ride by Steven and the Cats. Playing the mental health card made sure the Saints hands were tied. All of a sudden he loves footy again, is going to get fit, happy and looking forward to a great year with the Cats. Lets hope we can do something similar to the Cats one year. They are smug and arrogant. Steven is just as bad. I hope the Cats are going down the ladder as we are going up. We can wave to Steven on the way past:(

We were scammed -planned and executed!

nw7 wrote: Sun 20 Oct 2019 10:31pm I feel as we have been taken for a ride by Steven and the Cats. Playing the mental health card made sure the Saints hands were tied. All of a sudden he loves footy again, is going to get fit, happy and looking forward to a great year with the Cats. Lets hope we can do something similar to the Cats one year. They are smug and arrogant. Steven is just as bad. I hope the Cats are going down the ladder as we are going up. We can wave to Steven on the way past:(
Not so much mental health issues as poor lifestyle decisions.
Except we are the ones paying.

I sincerely hope he stays fat and unmotivated and plays dismal footy for Geelong and sees out his days in the VFL.

Enrico_Misso wrote: Sun 20 Oct 2019 11:43pm
nw7 wrote: Sun 20 Oct 2019 10:31pm I feel as we have been taken for a ride by Steven and the Cats. Playing the mental health card made sure the Saints hands were tied. All of a sudden he loves footy again, is going to get fit, happy and looking forward to a great year with the Cats. Lets hope we can do something similar to the Cats one year. They are smug and arrogant. Steven is just as bad. I hope the Cats are going down the ladder as we are going up. We can wave to Steven on the way past:(

I sincerely hope he stays fat and unmotivated and plays dismal footy for Geelong and sees out his days in the VFL.
Very hard to find any justification to just dismiss your comments out of hand. My view: nail, hammer, head.

Very disappointed with Jack.

Enrico_Misso wrote: Sun 20 Oct 2019 11:43pm

Yeah - I've mentioned a few times now that whilst I've loved watching Jack play and be the beacon in the Watters/Cho dark years - the simple fact is that us, the St KFC members, are now having to foot the bill for a guy who made really, really bad life choices. They are of his making; and his alone.

That 'farewell' video to me looked like a guy who was literally just fulfilling his obligations. It didn't exactly scream warmth and a sense of loss for what he had with us - it felt like he'd broken up with us a long time ago (which, technically he had but Cho decided to talk him 'round and thereby diminishing our trade hand).

I hope - like I do for most people - that Jack ends up happy but truthfully, I have no desire to see him play the type of electrifying footy that we all know he can for those smug Geelong pricks. Let alone against us. So when Jack gets his first possession against us next season - will I be letting out a ferocious hand-clap and cheer of thanks? Meh - probably not; Jack will be by that stage long gone and another past player and I'll feel pi$$ed that he'd decided to apply himself for them; not us (again, as a result of his own poor life choices).

Time heals all wounds but Jack's departure from our great club has left a pretty bad taste in my mouth and I can't think Geelong didn't play us on a break either with the whole mental health issue stuff.

Speaking for myself with no inside knowledge... that’s why I would have preferred sticking to my guns re the trade and getting nothing as opposed to 58

It’s one thing to lose him for nothing and I accept that maybe 58 was essential in Hill but it also sends a message about what we’re like to deal with.

That message based our dealings with Hill, Steven, Hannebery and Hickey is pay overs and sell for unders.

If I was the opposition sussing us out my strategy would be to low ball and hold firm

I think Jack has had issues for a while. In 2011 he and Zac Dawson, Rhys Stanley and Paul Cahill took a combination of prescription drugs and alcohol on a pre-season camp in New Zealand.
In 2012 he was caught drink-driving when he blew 0.08 on his way to morning training.
I personally hope that moving closer to his family will help him address his problems and think there is a bigger picture than worrying about trading him for pick 58 and how we are perceived across the trading table.

skeptic wrote: Mon 21 Oct 2019 12:10pm Speaking for myself with no inside knowledge... that’s why I would have preferred sticking to my guns re the trade and getting nothing as opposed to 58

It’s one thing to lose him for nothing and I accept that maybe 58 was essential in Hill but it also sends a message about what we’re like to deal with.

That message based our dealings with Hill, Steven, Hannebery and Hickey is pay overs and sell for unders.

If I was the opposition sussing us out my strategy would be to low ball and hold firm
Yet, when we did do that with Luke Ball (held firm) the club got crucified because we got nothing in return. We could have got pick 25 for him but we held onto our principles.
Unfortunately you're damned if you do damned if you don't.

Moods wrote: Mon 21 Oct 2019 4:11pm
skeptic wrote: Mon 21 Oct 2019 12:10pm Speaking for myself with no inside knowledge... that’s why I would have preferred sticking to my guns re the trade and getting nothing as opposed to 58

Yet, when we did do that with Luke Ball (held firm) the club got crucified because we got nothing in return. We could have got pick 25 for him but we held onto our principles.
Unfortunately you're damned if you do damned if you don't.
Good point but with Ball IMO we were the ones that forced him out