Young expects deal to St Kilda is almost done- to be lodged Tues

Viscount Jeremiah

Re: Young expects deal to st Kilda is almost done- to be lodged Tues

ausfatcat wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 8:23pm
Viscount Jeremiah wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 7:43pm No trading future first:

Simon Lethlean: “I’m not particularly interested in moving our first round pick, it's something we shouldn't need to do.”
when was this said?
Today on channel 9 news.

The question was in reference to if we would be moving on a future 1st round pick.

So Freo gave up pick 23 for 23 yo 3 time Premiership player Hill in 2016 - but now want 2 1st rounders??

Talk about taking the piss
Last edited by Devilhead on Mon 14 Oct 2019 8:30pm, edited 1 time in total.

Viscount Jeremiah

<a href="

straight swap would be too much imo but if we only gave up a future second or got a second in return, that makes more palatable.

But two first rounders for a player that has 3 year maybe 4 years of good to occasional great footy left seems to be big gamble, would effectively cost more than Tim Kelly who is younger and is a class above player

If it was 2008 or 2009 that would be a different matter if we were on the cusp of a premiership.

Ready updated on wiki that he plays for St Kilda

derby Street

ausfatcat wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 8:24pm Heraldsun is reporting

12 and 18 to Port

10 to freo and saints first next year

Hill, ryder, howard to saints

Would do next years second in replace to next years first in a heart beat, but it could end up being a pick in the top 5! which would be way overs
Gee this seems overs for what we are getting

derby Street wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 8:50pm

12 and 18 to Port

Would do next years second in replace to next years first in a heart beat, but it could end up being a pick in the top 5! which would be way overs
Effectively we are giving up Pick 6 and next year's first for Hill Howard and Ryder

Rumour going around that Ollie Wines involved in this deal.
Last edited by SaintPav on Mon 14 Oct 2019 9:06pm, edited 1 time in total.

Devilhead wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 8:56pm

12 and 18 to Port

Effectively we are giving up Pick 6 and next year's first for Hill Howard and Ryder
overs if so

Reamed

chook23 wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 8:58pm

12 and 18 to Port

overs if so
Pretty much it is pick 6 for Hill and next year's first for Howard and Ryder

Pick 6 for Hill is ok considering what Freo were asking though next year's first for Howard and Ryder is s bit steep - balance them out against each other it probably isn't far off the mark

Can only hope Howard turns out to be a freakin gun but very concerned that he played the last 4 games in Ports readies and wasn't considered to be in their best 22

linmarnic

12 and 18 to Port

overs if so
Yes it is overs but we just have to get this deal done or we will lose all credibility in future trades. Who will want to nominate us in the future if we can’t get desks done. Pay overs if we have to.

Never give up

Devilhead wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 9:06pm

12 and 18 to Port

overs if so
Pretty much it is pick 6 for Hill and next year's first for Howard and Ryder

Pick 6 for Hill is ok considering what Freo were asking though next year's first for Howard and Ryder is s bit steep - balance them out against each other it probably isn't far off the mark

Can only hope Howard turns out to be a freakin gun but very concerned that he played the last 4 games in Ports readies and wasn't considered to be in their best 22
We need to get a pick back or there maybe another player involved in this deal that we don't know about.

Overall, I'm pretty unhappy about what we're losing.

FFS where does it say anywhere but on here that we are giving up next year's first as well? Let's wait and see how it unfolds.

Viscount Jeremiah

Why do people keep saying we are giving next years 1st when Lethlean clearly stated today that we wouldn't be?

Massive overs if true

Actually, that’s an embarrassing deal.

A 26yo worthy of a frdp
A 32yo ruckman well past his best
A 23yo who was in the SANFL in the last 4 rounds

For 3 first round draft picks

Horrendous

Viscount Jeremiah

st.byron wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 9:20pm FFS where does it say anywhere but on here that we are giving up next year's first as well? Let's wait and see how it unfolds.
It doesn't in fact the video i posted before Lethlean is quoted saying we are not doing that. From this afternoon

B.M wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 9:27pm Massive overs if true

A 26yo worthy of a frdp

Horrendous
FFS it hasn't even been announced. Talk about social media creating its own reality. Someone posted it on page one and now it's a fact.

Considering Freo wanted pick 6 and next year's FRDP for Hill, we are getting a 23 year old FB and a 2nd ruck as steak knives.

We're a better side if that deal goes thru.

And yes, it might not be for next year's FRDP maybe the second....in which case we are ahead.

B.M wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 9:27pm Massive overs if true

A 26yo worthy of a frdp

Horrendous
+1000

And no first round draft pick for next year. f*** me dead!!!

SAINT-LEE

damienc wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 7:48pm
Laurie wrote: Mon 14 Oct 2019 7:25pm Definately overs.
One player will not change our side much at all as need other A graders to also come in to really have an impact.
Losing Bruce is going to hurt our side and good luck to the doggies on a good pick up
Disagree. He will make a huge difference. Hill runs all day and wills himself to the contest. He's an elite disposer of the footy so no more bombs into the forward line.

He will find a target and deliver it laser like.

Finally, He is in the minds of some former coaches and players the best wingman in the AFL.

This is a great boost to our footy club. Get excited. You should.
I reckon Hill is a good player but we have pulled a another Hanners...desperate for more elite players....we are chasing a guy who statistically had his best year in 2019 and still only beats Billings in a just a few categories just....But Hill is the A grader we think is worth sooooo much

Yet, week in and out Saints on here bitchin about Billings yet Hill is not even as efficient NOR effective as Billings....that's a STATISTICAL FACT. So now what? Mega Hill bitch fest all 2020?

Rocket

If we give up 10 and future to Freo, surely they send back pick 22. The deal seems a little heavy based on age at 26? There needs to be a sweetener.

silverhalo

12 and 18 to Port

I can almost accept that deal ....initially Freo wanted that just for Hill plus another future rounder from memory. Howard is a fantastic pickup, I just looked at some of his highlights on YouTube just to remind me. Only 23, tall, mobile, lightning quick, good disposal, can play front or back, has leadership qualities, will be a surprise packet.....he probably wasn't happy at PA being played out of position. Paddy Ryder should provide good support to Marshall for a couple of years and definitely addresses one of our needs and that's to be able to give ROMA a chop out......let's just get it done and get on with it....can't wait for 2020!

Re: Young expects deal to St Kilda is almost done- to be lodged Tues

Ryder and Howard

Both spent time in the SANFL last year

12 and 18 to Port

Well if that is the deal we have effectively turned Pick 6 and next year's first into Hill, Howard and Ryder.

There are evidently a huge number of Academy, F/S and NGA players in next year's draft. So if we do not finish bottom the actual pick will slide, potentially a lot.

Plus the Suns will get a middle-of-first-round pick in 2020, which will be selection No.11

So if we get say Pick 10 in 2020 it could slide to the late teens.

On the other hand, the reports today was that Freo were only getting 2019 picks.
Last edited by saintsRrising on Mon 14 Oct 2019 11:28pm, edited 1 time in total.