Fremantle Demands Two First Round Picks For Hill

Re: Fremantle Demands Two First Round Picks For Hill

Langdon deal done with Melbourne.

Dockers receive #22 + #79 + future 2nd round pick
Melbourne receive Langdon + #26 + future 4th round

Seems a fair deal for all with Melbourne slightly ahead.

Why are they playing so hard with us on Hill?

Linton Street Saint

Joffa Burns wrote: Fri 11 Oct 2019 12:12pm Langdon deal done with Melbourne.

Dockers receive #22 + #79 + future 2nd round pick
Melbourne receive Langdon + #26 + future 4th round

Seems a fair deal for all with Melbourne slightly ahead.

Why are they playing so hard with us on Hill?
Because Bellend's job is on the line now and needs to save face.

So basically Langdon for a future second rounder? ignore the meaningless window dressing that a 4 pick upgrade means.

So they wanted 2 first rounders for Hill.....so interpreting Bells logic Hill is worth 4 times as much as Langdon?

Tosser

SMS

Bruce & 18 >>>> 32 & 13
13, Mkenzie >>>> Howard, Ryder and Gray

Steven >>>> 37
37 >>>> Z.Jones

12, 32 >>>> B.Hill or Draft
**Acres? not sure... maybe if it got down to it.

SMS wrote: Fri 11 Oct 2019 2:02pm 12, 32 >>>> B.Hill or Draft
Can't goto the draft unless freo rip up the last years of his contract

Linton Street Saint

ausfatcat wrote: Fri 11 Oct 2019 6:10pm
SMS wrote: Fri 11 Oct 2019 2:02pm 12, 32 >>>> B.Hill or Draft
Can't goto the draft unless freo rip up the last years of his contract
They mean take the picks to the draft.

Is this continuing or are the Saints walking away?

Linton Street Saint

I would honestly just get everything else done. Bellend wants a severely pissed off Hill at Freo destabilizing the club be my f'ing guest. The bloke is a grade A knob up there with Dodoro.

Linton Street Saint wrote: Fri 11 Oct 2019 6:35pm I would honestly just get everything else done. Bellend wants a severely pissed off Hill at Freo destabilizing the club be my f'ing guest. The bloke is a grade A knob up there with Dodoro.
Barratt gave him a big serve on trade radio this morning. Said he stuffed up last year as well and is not doing Freo any favours. Lloyd and Barratt were of the opinion that 6 was a good offer for Hill and that we might even have expected something back. Both said 6 plus next years first plus next year's third is ridiculous and Freo just look stupid to people in the industry.

I am not saying this is going to happen but it is an interesting scenario/possibility.

We swap picks 12 and 18 for Howard, Ryder and pick 10.

We then use pick 10 to secure Hill.

It isn't 6 but it's better than 12 and a way to possibly secure three of our targets?

Freo will have to work with us on this. They have no choice now that their player has said he wants to leave and nominated the Saints as his destination.

This concept of them holding on to him is possible in theory but no one wins with that scenario.
Last edited by damienc on Fri 11 Oct 2019 8:33pm, edited 2 times in total.

Sounds like a total screw up by Fremantle.

damienc wrote: Fri 11 Oct 2019 8:27pm I am not saying this is going to happen but it is an interesting scenario/possibility.

It isn't 6 but it's better than 12 and it gets three of our targets.

Probably won't happen but I like the idea.
The point is that Freo now have to take less than the original offer. Someone in that organisation needs to pull rank on Bell. Bloke has short man syndrome/Napoleon complex. They are the worst to deal with.

SaintPav wrote: Fri 11 Oct 2019 8:34pm
damienc wrote: Fri 11 Oct 2019 8:27pm I am not saying this is going to happen but it is an interesting scenario/possibility.

It isn't 6 but it's better than 12 and it gets three of our targets.

Probably won't happen but I like the idea.
The point is that Freo now have to take less than the original offer. Someone in that organisation needs to pull rank on Bell. Bloke has short man syndrome/Napoleon complex. They are the worst to deal with.
Yep.

It isn't 6 but it's better than 12 and a way to possibly secure three of our targets?

Freo will have to work with us on this. They have no choice now that their player has said he wants to leave and nominated the Saints as his destination.

This concept of them holding on to him is possible in theory but no one wins with that scenario.
So many possibilities. Have heard no further info about Bruce but I like SMS's suggestion of 18 and Bruce to Dogs and we get 13 and 32 in return. Wonder what Gallagher et al have cooking.

Some one in FB posted a suggestion that Freo’s only way to save face now is to accept the offer of 12 + next year’s second rounder

skeptic wrote: Fri 11 Oct 2019 9:04pm Some one in FB posted a suggestion that Freo’s only way to save face now is to accept the offer of 12 + next year’s second rounder
Unfortunately I think the Saints might have to help them save face a bit.

It’s the decent thing to do.

🤗

st.byron wrote: Fri 11 Oct 2019 7:11pm
Linton Street Saint wrote: Fri 11 Oct 2019 6:35pm I would honestly just get everything else done. Bellend wants a severely pissed off Hill at Freo destabilizing the club be my f'ing guest. The bloke is a grade A knob up there with Dodoro.
Barratt gave him a big serve on trade radio this morning. Said he stuffed up last year as well and is not doing Freo any favours. Lloyd and Barratt were of the opinion that 6 was a good offer for Hill and that we might even have expected something back. Both said 6 plus next years first plus next year's third is ridiculous and Freo just look stupid to people in the industry.
Barrett has been giving a lot of love for the Saints lately. It almost makes me like the guy. Almost.

I watched FoxFooty's half hour trade show this arvo. David King was basically saying the opposite. That it was a good deal Freo offered. That St Kilda look silly. No one will come to the club in the future if after offering huge $$$ they don't do everything to get the player. That StK will end up paying even more.

What got me most whilst I was shaking my head and mumbling "useless, stat driven, hindsighted, arrogant, boring flog" at the telly was Joey Montagna nodding his head in seeming agreement of the Bell loving flog. Sighting the Kelly deal as the benchmark & Kelly being offered less per year than Hill.

They then doubled down saying pick 37 is probably right for Steven if we pay his salary.

Cannot believe I said, "Thank God for Jon Ralph."

When Bell played for The Shockers some annoying wanker in the stand would ring a bell each time Bell got a possession.

Perhaps that wanker with the bell is now outside Shocker House blowing raspberries!

Ghost Like wrote: Fri 11 Oct 2019 10:02pm
I watched FoxFooty's half hour trade show this arvo. David King was basically saying the opposite. That it was a good deal Freo offered. That St Kilda look silly. No one will come to the club in the future if after offering huge $$$ they don't do everything to get the player. That StK will end up paying even more.

What got me most whilst I was shaking my head and mumbling "useless, stat driven, hindsighted, arrogant, boring flog" at the telly was Joey Montagna nodding his head in seeming agreement of the Bell loving flog. Sighting the Kelly deal as the benchmark & Kelly being offered less per year than Hill.

They then doubled down saying pick 37 is probably right for Steven if we pay his salary.

AFL Media cronyism:

. King and Bell were team mates at Norf.

. Joey was/is a Freo employee.

Ghost Like wrote: Fri 11 Oct 2019 10:02pm I watched FoxFooty's half hour trade show this arvo. David King was basically saying the opposite.

King has never said anything positive about St Kilda EVER and bags anything and everything to do with St Kilda, if the saints had paid that he would have been the first to say Saints got screwed and were stupid

Keep in mind this doesn’t include this year, possibly his best. This is what the 2019 AFL prospectus said about Bradley Hill
Injuries hit Hill for the first time, playing his fewest matches since his debut year. He relied heavily on his kicking, with43% of his AFL player rating points coming from field kicks, the highest percentage of any player in his position to play at least five games. He had the lowest contested possession rate of any wingman, averaging a career high for meters gained and ranking third in his position. As we highlighted in the 2018 AFL Prospectus, his execution let’s him down, ranking equal 113th of the top 120 ball winners for disposals per turn over.

For a player who doesn’t win many contested possessions 113th out of 120 for turnovers per disposal in yuk. Certainly not what my eye sees but still yuk. I wonder how his 2019 season compares. Anyway I still want him more than any of the others nominating us. Dougal Howard’s reading isn’t very flash to be honest and I doubt he did any better this year moving forward and getting dropped

st.byron wrote: Fri 11 Oct 2019 7:15am
damienc wrote: Thu 10 Oct 2019 10:02pm
st.byron wrote: Thu 10 Oct 2019 9:43pm What I’m really liking is hearing we gave them an offer with a deadline and when it wasn’t met, we moved on to our next step. It seems we have an actual strategy and are not just reactive.
Yes to all that you said. We have a lot of trades to make happen and a lot of balls in the air at the one time.

The club is not letting the grass grow. They are moving forward whatever happens.

Now Freo has to play catch up.

Thanks to the pick swap, we have currency to get Howard to the club and when we complete deals for Jack and Brucey even more.

Don't really want either of them to go but have to accept reality.

Like you, I am liking how we are going about it.
I’m quite liking SMS’s suggestion of 13 and 32 from the Dogs for 18 and Josh Bruce. That would value Bruce at around pick 23. More importantly though, it splits another of our picks into two that can both be used in other trades.
✅

BarryGrogan

SaintPav wrote: Fri 11 Oct 2019 11:38pm
Ghost Like wrote: Fri 11 Oct 2019 10:02pm

AFL Media cronyism:

. King and Bell were team mates at Norf.

. Joey was/is a Freo employee.
I see both sides.

But I couldn't help but think that King was backing his mate - which has form in doing.

My opinion is, that the 'loser' in this can't be determined yet.

Basically we want Hill, Ryder, Jones, Gray, Howard and Butler.

We had pick 6.

Right now, we have none of the above. We have picks 12 and 18 (or whatever we have).

Freo have Hill who wants to leave. They wanted pick 6.

Right now, they have neither.

If we don't get Hill, lose our picks but get everyone else we want - then perhaps we still win?

If Freo can't convince Hill to go somewhere else that will offer them something better than pick 6 - then they clearly lose.

If we get everyone we want, and Freo don't get netter than pick 6 from somewhere - then we are f****** gurus.

Time will tell.

Not so sure we want Gray AND Butler. One or the other it seems.