Dougal Howard has requested a trade to St Kilda

Re: Dougal Howard has requested a trade to St Kilda

Howard is a bit old.
Maybe Shorten but then it may take years to decontaminate him after his time at Collingwood.
He would probably want the entire salary cap to spend as well.

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08

Savage, Webster, Rice, White, Carlisle, Sinclair, Newnes, Kent, Parker, Young, Lonie, Joyce, Dunstan and Acres should all be a little bit nervous right now.
As I reckon 3 or 4 will need to go if we are to pull off all these trades.

st.byron wrote: Wed 09 Oct 2019 9:58pm
B.M wrote: Wed 09 Oct 2019 9:40pm I think Jake has a Spider Eviritt type attitude. Can play, huge natural talent, but has some character flaws, is a bit lazy, and is a bit selfish.
Yep he also gives me that impression.
Agree mostly but he doesn't have that laconic side to his game that Spider had.

chook23 wrote: Wed 09 Oct 2019 7:28pm he was dropped for the last 4 rounds of 2019

Is he a GOP

What?!

Geez as they were saying on Trade Radio... he’s turned into Alex Rance in terms of quality!

damienc wrote: Wed 09 Oct 2019 6:29pm
Spinner wrote: Wed 09 Oct 2019 6:16pm Wowza!

Probably bad news for Brown.

What’s he worth?
Yep. Bad news for Brown who has been a warrior for the Saints.

At the moment, we have nothing to trade except a player.

Maybe the club will more than likely see how the Bruce and Steven trades play out hoping to get a pick they can on pass to Port.

He's a good get for us.
Fox Trade program put out an interesting point on the Bruce trade. They indicated that Melbourne had expressed and interest in Bruce. They admitted it might be too late to action this but nevertheless they though he suited Melbourne better than the Bulldogs. A club battle for him might increase his value? All the better for Saints if you believe he is favoured to go.

vantheman

To the top wrote: Wed 09 Oct 2019 10:16pm

So the pant wetting on here is not supported in my view - plus these same pant wetters are salivating at losing Acres and Carlisle, two players who in my experience watching St Kilda we just cannot afford to lose and desperately need on the park and fully fit

In terms of “small forwards” I would be going with Billings, Gresham and Long
:D - encouraging to see that amongst all the hysteria generated on this forum, that at least one poster actually watches the matches and most importantly, thinks.

kalsaint wrote: Thu 10 Oct 2019 3:13am
damienc wrote: Wed 09 Oct 2019 6:29pm
Spinner wrote: Wed 09 Oct 2019 6:16pm Wowza!

Probably bad news for Brown.

What’s he worth?
Yep. Bad news for Brown who has been a warrior for the Saints.

At the moment, we have nothing to trade except a player.

Maybe the club will more than likely see how the Bruce and Steven trades play out hoping to get a pick they can on pass to Port.

He's a good get for us.
Fox Trade program put out an interesting point on the Bruce trade. They indicated that Melbourne had expressed and interest in Bruce. They admitted it might be too late to action this but nevertheless they though he suited Melbourne better than the Bulldogs. A club battle for him might increase his value? All the better for Saints if you believe he is favoured to go.
Still don’t understand how Melbourne traded Hogan last year.

Probably realised they put too much faith in the Weide.

We had a ‘problem’ in the ruck?

I think that’s the least of our concerns, unless of course Ryder is recruited as a back up?

To get Howard we will need to trade someone oif high value. Only other way this can happen is if we split pick six. Which I don't think Freo would accept and thus we lose hill. We won't get all of them unless we screw up next year which means no Ben king

Port have stated they're not prepared to release Howard. Looks like we can kiss this one goodbye

cwrcyn wrote: Thu 10 Oct 2019 9:30am Port have stated they're not prepared to release Howard. Looks like we can kiss this one goodbye
That's interesting, they encourage him to look then realise other clubs see value in him. So they either wonder what they don't see OR (more likely) try to orchestrate a bidding war.

I am hoping StK learn from this tactic & don't just be known as the team who will pay overs & give a bonus for doing so.

outside66

chook23 wrote: Wed 09 Oct 2019 7:04pm He still has 3 years on contract to run.....

(Jason Cripps, Port Adelaide list manager), he said: ‘Look, we think it’s in Dougs’ best interest if he wants to go and have a look elsewhere. We’d be open if the deal was good enough for the club we would look at it.

from fox footy article

WHY are they happy for him to move on.......

Is he any good......
Port are pretty well stocked in the backline and I believe they are under more salary cap pressure than they would've anticipated with first year blokes scorching it (Rozee, Durrsma, and Butters), Clurey locked in on a decent contract, Amon having a career-best year, and Ryan Burton came last year on decent coin. I think this is why Howard is on the table because they locked him in early on good money but others have come on since and whilst he's a valuable player, he's perhaps surplus to their needs

outside66

cwrcyn wrote: Thu 10 Oct 2019 9:30am Port have stated they're not prepared to release Howard. Looks like we can kiss this one goodbye
Not exactly...

“Given he is contracted to the end of 2022, the club will only entertain a trade with St Kilda if it is in our best interests to do so.

“We will discuss the situation with the Saints but if a suitable outcome for our club cannot be reached, Dougal is well aware that he will remain a Port Adelaide player in 2020.” - Chris Davies (Port's Footy GM)

If Howard is surplus to their needs & Dunstan is surplus to ours, is that a match (trade) made in heaven?

Peanut Farm

No use hanging onto a player if he has requested a trade and playing out of position.

bigred wrote: Wed 09 Oct 2019 8:44pm Brown is a required player 100% imo
Not if we gain Howard. He then becomes a player who plays only when our other key backs are injured/suspended. So question becomes do we want to tie up a spot on the list for Brown as a depth player.

This will in turn be impacted by how much faith we have in Austin, Joyce, Clavarino or Battle being able to provide this back-up as required.

Brown had a pretty decent 2019.

SMS

Trade Seb Ross for all the port players
Last edited by SMS on Thu 10 Oct 2019 10:45am, edited 1 time in total.

SMS

Id rather give em seb ross to be honest.

He just won a b&f need to sell him now.

Dunstan will be better than ross by end of next year.
Out: Ross In: Howard, Gray, Ryder

Fantasia staying at Essendon, so the possibility Port and the Druggies doing a deal with Fantasia and Howard is off the table.

Howard has been told he will have to play forward which he won't do so he will now play at safl for part of next year. That will burn cash for port and they know it. I'd reckon we still have a shot but let's not pay overs

Peanut Farm

This is what Kane Cornes tweeted about 40 minutes ago.

"In 2018, Howard established himself in the Power side, recording 216 spoils - the most in the competition. 199cm, still only 23 mate - takes time".

Welcome to the Saints Dougie:-)

I take note of Buckenara saying Hill is 26 so entering the peak of his career.

And now Cornes (one of them), saying Howard is young at 22.

But some on here want to "burn" kids we have at 22 - kids we have invested in and who have had a hard slog of it because their introduction to AFL footy has not been under the cover of A Grade players, indicative being that Geary has been our Captain.

I attempted to put elsewhere a synopsis of Ross, Dunstan and Steele, coming to the conclusion that the CV of Ross did not match his contribution (22 goals from 124 games because he has to go sideways onto his left and with no "defensive chase" impact).

So 3 "big bodies" being at least 1 too many plus impeding Acres, who of the 4 is the only one who can play forward (and a forward he is not) and the only one who can do the sometimes thankless task of "running the wings".

Reading some comments by Port fans and this kid is really highly rated by them. No one was happy about him going. It seems they had him in front of all most of their other defenders and cant figure out why he's been shown the door.