ROBERT HARVEY

Re: ROBERT HARVEY

kosifantutti wrote: Thu 05 Sep 2019 10:21pm
barks4eva wrote: Thu 05 Sep 2019 9:45pm
kosifantutti wrote: Thu 05 Sep 2019 9:07pm I can’t see anyone putting forward a reason for choosing Harvey over Rattan beyond good bloke and champion of the club.

Both true but not the main criteria I’d be looking at for choosing a coach.
Perhaps you missed the OP

Robert Harvey is more thorough in his preparation than anyone in the known universe bar none.
Are you basing this on what he did as a player over a decade ago or are you currently working with him at Collingwood?
No, but Nathan Buckley is!

From a recent article

St. Kilda legend Robert Harvey will interview for the Saints head coaching job, with Collingwood coach Nathan Buckley giving him a ringing endorsement.

Harvey is currently an assistant coach at the Pies, with coach Nathan Buckley saying that he would be the perfect fit at the Saints.
“If I got hit by a bus tomorrow, he could step up and I don’t think we would skip a beat,” Buckley told the Herald Sun.
“Tactically, I lean on him heavily for his knowledge of the game, but underpinning that is his work rate, because he has never relied on his talent, he was always the hardest worker.
“So, he watches more vision from more angles than anyone I have ever seen, any coach I have ever known.

“But I would also describe him, through his experience with Ray McLean and Leading Teams, as a relationship coach. He is really easy to talk to and he can get to everyone’s level.
“So it’s a strong mix.”
Harvey was given the AFL Coaches’ Association assistant coach of the year award in 2013 at Collingwood, following stints at Fremantle under Ross Lyon in 2011 and Ratten at Carlton in 2009-10.
The 47-year-old has kept out of the spotlight since his retirement, but Buckley would explain that he is more interested in analysing the game rather than pushing his own agenda.

“He’s the exact antithesis of someone trying to push his own barrow, he’s the opposite because he’s a head-down-bum-up guy,” Buckley said.
“He is just so focused on what’s next, how are we going to win.
“He coaches really consistently and he has improved his communication and his presentation style so that it sinks in far deeper than it did when it first came in.

“His one-on-one stuff has always been huge, but his group stuff is now very strong.”
Ross Lyon also backed Harvey in as an ideal candidate for the job, saying he has had a strong apprenticeship.

“There is a view on Robert which I think is inaccurate and the wrong perception. He can really have a hard conversation,” Lyon said.
“He doesn’t rant and rave, but he makes the point.

https://www.sportingnews.com/au/afl/new ... o9u68u7uo5

Pretty standard stuff for a coach talking about his assistant.

https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/ ... 9bc372002e

PORT Adelaide coach Ken Hinkley rates his right-hand man Alan Richardson better prepared to be an AFL senior coach than himself.
He also hopes West Coast and Brisbane ignores this.

As the Lions and Eagles continue their search for senior coaches, Hinkley is endorsing Richardson’s credentials for either job.

“I don’t want to endorse him because I don’t want to lose him,” said Hinkley. “Richo is as well prepared as I was ... perhaps even better because he has been at a few more clubs.”

A 114-game player with Collingwood, Richardson’s long apprenticeship has involved work at the Magpies, Carlton, Essendon and the Western Bulldogs. He is now the coaching director at Alberton.

“If you have not had that experience and not lived through things that happen in AFL football, you will find big pitfalls,” said Hinkley.

“Richo has the credibility and the skill set that says he should be able to do the job of an AFL senior coach very well.

“I hope - and think - he is really enjoying what he is doing at Port Adelaide. If he does choose to pursue it and clubs don’t speak to Richo, then they are not doing their jobs properly.”

Port’s fall-back position if Richardson is claimed by Brisbane or West Coast is to re-introduce former Power midfield coach Phil Walsh to its program.

Brisbane’s options are confusing considering the discord in the Lions’ boardroom. But a Neil Craig-Simon Goodwin tandem is emerging.

Richardson was chosen by Port even before Hinkley was appointed in October to be part of a new-look coaching panel at Alberton. The Hinkley-Richardson partnership is more remarkable considering they had not worked together before being united at Port.

“We have an unbelievable relationship for two blokes who have worked together for only 12 months,” said Hinkley.

“I could not have had better support - and what I do love about him is he does challenge me. He does not just sit back and let me to rant and raves at times; he tells me to calm down or to think about other stuff.

“That is why we have those debates during games and at the end we are united as we can be.”

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/wat ... 1lqth.html

MICK Malthouse, who oversaw Scott Watters both as a player and prospective coach, believes St Kilda has appointed a man who will unite the club and make it feel good about itself.

Malthouse, who coached Watters for three years at West Coast and recruited him to the Collingwood coaching panel two years ago, said the 42-year-old had an ability to make groups of people connect and understand each other.

''Scotty's someone who will bring people together,'' says Mick Malthouse.
''Scotty's someone who will bring people together,'' says Mick Malthouse.CREDIT:GETTY IMAGES
Watters, who will be announced as the Saints' replacement for Ross Lyon this morning, joined the Magpies after taking WAFL club Subiaco to two premierships in three years and took charge of the club's back-line group.

He was selected ahead of fellow assistant coaches Alan Richardson (Carlton) and Ken Hinkley (Gold Coast), after the Saints launched their comprehensive selection process after Lyon's defection to Fremantle last month.
Advertisement

''Scotty's someone who will bring people together,'' Malthouse told The Sunday Age last night. ''He has some very good mannerisms about him, where he'll almost invite people to take part in the success of the club, and want to contribute any way they can.

''From the outside looking in - and I really don't want this to be painted in a bad way - but they look as though they could do with a bit of a cuddle. I think Scotty will give them that bit of a cuddle.

''He understands that for clubs to have success, the club needs to succeed as a whole, not just as individual sections. He's a very intelligent young kid, and I reckon he understands exactly how to get people working together.''

Under the Watters watch, Collingwood became one of the competition's most stingy teams, something Malthouse attributed to his willingness to work long hours with his individual back-line players and help them understand each other.

''I took him on because I like to have people who understand winning and come from a culture of winning. I think it's so important. And that doesn't necessarily mean playing in premierships, it just means experiencing that sort of environment. I put him in charge of the back line to take him out of his comfort zone and really give him the chance to develop.

''I said to him, like I've always said to my line coaches, you can be loved or you can be despised, so make sure they love you.

''Back-line players have a tendency to migrate together, anyway, but he really did mould them together and make them feel like they knew each other and understood each other. That was very important.''

Watters played 46 games for the Eagles between 1989 and 1992, playing in the club's losing grand final side in 1991, then missing selection in the victorious 1992 side. He was traded to Sydney at the end of that year as part of a deal that netted West Coast the No. 1 pick in the draft (used on Drew Banfield) and finished his 109-game career at the Swans (1993-94) and Fremantle (1995-96, as the club's inaugural vice-captain).

Malthouse praised the former midfielder's desire to work long hours, and connect with his players.

''He works outside normal working to achieve the things he does. He makes players want to work with him, and Ben Reid is a classic case. He did special work at the end of every training session with Scott, and Ben couldn't leave the premises unless he'd done that work.

''It helped his game, and I think Scotty will do that with the players at St Kilda. He's a student of the game, and he'll invite everyone at St Kilda to participate in what the club is doing.''
Last edited by kosifantutti on Thu 05 Sep 2019 11:09pm, edited 1 time in total.

To the top wrote: Thu 05 Sep 2019 10:35pm Quoting BM does not exactly lend credibility
B.M wrote: Thu 05 Sep 2019 7:02pm Rob is one of those guys who don’t have say a lot, but when he does, people listen.

A good communicator doesn’t necessarily mean a person who waffles on all the time, or speaks the loudest.

It’s what they have to say, and when they say it... and there’s also the listening component.

Many coaches don’t listen, because they think they know best, they should do all the talking.

Leadership is as much about empowering as it is directing
I don't agree with everything Marto posts but I'll quote from anyone who writes something I agree with.

Which bit is not credible in the above post ?

Noticed you didn't bother to quote the quote when raising issues of credibility.

kosifantutti wrote: Thu 05 Sep 2019 11:04pm Pretty standard stuff for a coach talking about his assistant.
Yes, it's true you will always hear these types of ringing endorsements... thanks for being captain obvious.

The key point is this

Tactically, I lean on him heavily for his knowledge of the game, but underpinning that is his work rate, because he has never relied on his talent, he was always the hardest worker.
“So, he watches more vision from more angles than anyone I have ever seen, any coach I have ever known.

“But I would also describe him, through his experience with Ray McLean and Leading Teams, as a relationship coach. He is really easy to talk to and he can get to everyone’s level.
“So it’s a strong mix.”

Precisely how he played the game.
It's in his DNA!
I wrote on here months ago that he is thorough in his preparation and this would be mirrored in his coaching as it was in his playing days before that article came out.

I didn't need Nathan Buckley to tell the world what I already knew to be true.

Obviously some do... bit slow but you'll catch up hopefully.

evertonfc wrote: Thu 05 Sep 2019 9:06pm Absolutely adore Harvey as a player - an all-time favourite and a club legend - but if he's such a good coach, why is he never linked to other jobs?
He will be. Just watch.

Robert Harvey and Nathan Buckley have a lot in common. Being in charge of a premiership winning team is not one of them. Perhaps this is what ties them together. I'm not sure if all their hard work and preparation would be appreciated outside of the club's that they were champion players at. For Harvey, despite Buckleys endorsement, hasn't manage to impress St.Kilda enough to get the job. There are lots of opinions but that's the one that counts here. Maybe he gets to replace Buckley one day, maybe Essendon might take him. I hope he finds the ultimate success eventually.

kosifantutti wrote: Thu 05 Sep 2019 11:07pm https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/wat ... 1lqth.html

MICK Malthouse, who oversaw Scott Watters both as a player and prospective coach, believes St Kilda has appointed a man who will unite the club and make it feel good about itself.

Malthouse, who coached Watters for three years at West Coast and recruited him to the Collingwood coaching panel two years ago, said the 42-year-old had an ability to make groups of people connect and understand each other.

''Scotty's someone who will bring people together,'' says Mick Malthouse.
''Scotty's someone who will bring people together,'' says Mick Malthouse.CREDIT:GETTY IMAGES
Watters, who will be announced as the Saints' replacement for Ross Lyon this morning, joined the Magpies after taking WAFL club Subiaco to two premierships in three years and took charge of the club's back-line group.

He was selected ahead of fellow assistant coaches Alan Richardson (Carlton) and Ken Hinkley (Gold Coast), after the Saints launched their comprehensive selection process after Lyon's defection to Fremantle last month.
Advertisement

''Scotty's someone who will bring people together,'' Malthouse told The Sunday Age last night. ''He has some very good mannerisms about him, where he'll almost invite people to take part in the success of the club, and want to contribute any way they can.

''From the outside looking in - and I really don't want this to be painted in a bad way - but they look as though they could do with a bit of a cuddle. I think Scotty will give them that bit of a cuddle.

''He understands that for clubs to have success, the club needs to succeed as a whole, not just as individual sections. He's a very intelligent young kid, and I reckon he understands exactly how to get people working together.''

Under the Watters watch, Collingwood became one of the competition's most stingy teams, something Malthouse attributed to his willingness to work long hours with his individual back-line players and help them understand each other.

''I took him on because I like to have people who understand winning and come from a culture of winning. I think it's so important. And that doesn't necessarily mean playing in premierships, it just means experiencing that sort of environment. I put him in charge of the back line to take him out of his comfort zone and really give him the chance to develop.

''I said to him, like I've always said to my line coaches, you can be loved or you can be despised, so make sure they love you.

''Back-line players have a tendency to migrate together, anyway, but he really did mould them together and make them feel like they knew each other and understood each other. That was very important.''

Watters played 46 games for the Eagles between 1989 and 1992, playing in the club's losing grand final side in 1991, then missing selection in the victorious 1992 side. He was traded to Sydney at the end of that year as part of a deal that netted West Coast the No. 1 pick in the draft (used on Drew Banfield) and finished his 109-game career at the Swans (1993-94) and Fremantle (1995-96, as the club's inaugural vice-captain).

Malthouse praised the former midfielder's desire to work long hours, and connect with his players.

''He works outside normal working to achieve the things he does. He makes players want to work with him, and Ben Reid is a classic case. He did special work at the end of every training session with Scott, and Ben couldn't leave the premises unless he'd done that work.

''It helped his game, and I think Scotty will do that with the players at St Kilda. He's a student of the game, and he'll invite everyone at St Kilda to participate in what the club is doing.''
GOLD!

Shows how inept Shytehouse is - the most overrated coach in history.

CQ SAINT wrote: Thu 05 Sep 2019 11:38pm For Harvey, despite Buckleys endorsement, hasn't manage to impress St.Kilda enough to get the job.
Who was on the coaching selection committee ?

Matt Finnis who ridiculously made the decision to renew Richardson's contract and implemented a gender neutral toilet policy at a St.kilda home game.
FAIR F..... DINKUM :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
AND
Simon Lethlean who is only at the club because he couldn't keep his dick in his pants when he had a relationship with some young girl behind his wife's back.
Great decision maker :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
Waltzes into St.kilda with training wheels on and into a position he has never held before a few months later and no-one bats an eyelid.
FAIR F..... DINKUM :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

In what F..... universe are these two qualified to select an AFL coach?

Please, anyone... I'd like an explanation.

Is it any wonder this football club has been a basket case for almost it's entire history.

AND how so ?

Because this football club has had incompetent fools and goofballs running the show for almost it's entire history.

AND so it continues.

lefty

I think Harvey HAS to be the one in the next coaching round. I think we'll give Ratten 3 years tops, if were not on the climb by then, it should be Rob's with Lenny as an assistant, I think the stars will align eventually...

CQ SAINT wrote: Thu 05 Sep 2019 11:38pm Robert Harvey and Nathan Buckley have a lot in common. Being in charge of a premiership winning team is not one of them. Perhaps this is what ties them together. I'm not sure if all their hard work and preparation would be appreciated outside of the club's that they were champion players at. For Harvey, despite Buckleys endorsement, hasn't manage to impress St.Kilda enough to get the job. There are lots of opinions but that's the one that counts here. Maybe he gets to replace Buckley one day, maybe Essendon might take him. I hope he finds the ultimate success eventually.
I can't imagine Robert ever being senior coach at colonwood. Has he scored an interview for any other clubs senior coaching job?

We never seem to hear the Giants pumping up Lenny's tyres. Is he no good...or do they just want to keep him?

satchmo wrote: Fri 06 Sep 2019 8:50am
CQ SAINT wrote: Thu 05 Sep 2019 11:38pm Robert Harvey and Nathan Buckley have a lot in common. Being in charge of a premiership winning team is not one of them. Perhaps this is what ties them together. I'm not sure if all their hard work and preparation would be appreciated outside of the club's that they were champion players at. For Harvey, despite Buckleys endorsement, hasn't manage to impress St.Kilda enough to get the job. There are lots of opinions but that's the one that counts here. Maybe he gets to replace Buckley one day, maybe Essendon might take him. I hope he finds the ultimate success eventually.
I can't imagine Robert ever being senior coach at colonwood. Has he scored an interview for any other clubs senior coaching job?

We never seem to hear the Giants pumping up Lenny's tyres. Is he no good...or do they just want to keep him?
It was tongue in cheek. It would take a sacking but I'm sure Harves would be too closely associated with Buckley. He may have interviewed but has never been touted as a frontrunner, except on here at St.Kilda.

freely wrote: Thu 05 Sep 2019 11:32pm
evertonfc wrote: Thu 05 Sep 2019 9:06pm Absolutely adore Harvey as a player - an all-time favourite and a club legend - but if he's such a good coach, why is he never linked to other jobs?
He will be. Just watch.
Jesus mate, been watching for 10 years.

Leo.J

I have recently heard them both speak at coaching master classes.

Harves was great, communicated his message well, I was impressed. The knocks on his abilities as a communicator imo were unfounded.

However, Ratts controlled the room, he spoke very well, I felt inspired. To me, he has the ability to communicate with all age groups. His coaching experience is far greater than Harves.

I love Rob Harvey, one of my favourite Saints ever, but if I’m honest, and I feel unfaithful saying this, Ratts impressed me more...quite a bit more.

I’m happy with the decision.

CQ SAINT wrote: Fri 06 Sep 2019 9:13am

It was tongue in cheek. It would take a sacking but I'm sure Harves would be too closely associated with Buckley. He may have interviewed but has never been touted as a frontrunner, except on here at St.Kilda.
I understand, but buckley himself said that if he went under a bus, Robert would have no problem running the show. I still doubt that he would ever get that gig, so buckley's comment sounds more like a pitch than an appraisal.

I'm on the Ratts wagon

satchmo wrote: Fri 06 Sep 2019 9:40am
CQ SAINT wrote: Fri 06 Sep 2019 9:13am

I understand, but buckley himself said that if he went under a bus, Robert would have no problem running the show. I still doubt that he would ever get that gig, so buckley's comment sounds more like a pitch than an appraisal.
I think we agree.

How many premierships has Harves been involved in as a player or as an assistant coach?

If you analyse statistical data on the coaches who have won flags in the past 30 odd years I wonder if there is a link between achieving success as an AFL coach and having already been involved in premierships at VFL/AFL or at a lower level.

Simpson, Hardwick, Beveridge, Clarkson, Longmire, Scott, Malthouse, Thompson, and Worsfold ALL are a YES. Paul Roos? Maybe a no. Choco Williams was in 2004 and then Lethal and Sheeds and Pagan and Blight are all a BIG yes

I'm not trying to denigrate him because I love the bloke and I believe he loves the Saints and I hope he eventually gets a gig and perhaps even coaches us one day, but this had to be a rational decision for the short to medium term. If Ratts cannot get success relatively quickly, we can appoint a person who may be a better fit in a different set of circumstances for the club

ImageIm on the Ratts Rocket

Personally I think the being involved in a premiership concept regarding choosing a coach is a bit silly.

What would be the unnamed quality that you’d get that say a GOAT player like Harvey or say a Hayes would be lacking?
Exposure? Does working with an all time cos Hong super star coach like Clarko close that gap?

Do the above factors make people better teachers or communicators?

For me it’s pretty simple- you either have the qualities or you don’t and everything else is based on your willingness to work, learn and adapt

Banger for assistant coach

Hes the Ratten Man

one coach in afl history has won a flag after being sacked without delivering a flag at his first club. two other coaches have won a flag at their second club, one already had a flag under his belt, the other left his first club after leading them to a number of grand finals. malthouse, matthews and blight are the names. big names. two of them also absolute champion players like harvey. all of them had to move interstate to do so - a complete change of environment. none of them served caretaker roles under the prior coach. ratts has twice had this role.
every other premiership coach since the competition turned national has won at his first gig after being assistant elsewhere.
ratten has the odds firmly stacked against him. our club has gone the easy path. but the path to the grail is not easy. it is a path of rebirth, not more of the same.

The Fireman wrote: Fri 06 Sep 2019 11:27am Banger for assistant coach

last place he would want to be an assistant at..............this point in time......

carn_sainter

There's something about the way Matt Finnis talks that makes me lack all confidence in him. This is an unfair judgement, I know. But there's just something about it.

I think he's the kind of guy who might want always to take the safe, easy, kind approach. I question his ability to be ruthless and to drive truly high standards. He just doesn't impress me.

This is all unfair judgement, I know.