Ryder to Saints (two year deal)

Re: Ryder to Saints (two year deal)

I don't know if Tom Browne is correct.

If he is, I don't know what we would have to trade for him.

I don't know what we would be paying him.

I don't know where they are planning to play him, or if he's just a backup.

I don't know if this means Bruce is going.

BUT I'M AS MAD AS HELL AND I'M NOT GOING TO TAKE ANY MORE.

mad saint guy wrote: Wed 28 Aug 2019 1:11pm Could well be a placeholder for King for a year or two. Ryder isn't great as a forward but we clearly do need another tall up there, and a combination of Marshall and Ryder in the ruck would be one of the best in the competition. I'd be fine with getting Ryder if he comes cheap. Bring in Ryder, Hill, Martin and Tomlinson at the cost of Steven, Acres, Dunstan, Lonie, Newnes and some draft picks (Roberton and McCartin done).

B: Wilkie, Carlisle, Webster
HB: Clark, Battle, Tomlinson
C: Hill, Steele, Ross
HF: Billings, Bruce, Hind
F: Martin, Membrey, Ryder

Foll: Marshall, Gresham, Hannebery
Int: Bytel, Coffield, Parker, Sinclair

Still probably not a finals side but it's one I'd be happy to watch
Max King would be in there too.

barneyboyz

mad saint guy wrote: Wed 28 Aug 2019 1:11pm Could well be a placeholder for King for a year or two. Ryder isn't great as a forward but we clearly do need another tall up there, and a combination of Marshall and Ryder in the ruck would be one of the best in the competition. I'd be fine with getting Ryder if he comes cheap. Bring in Ryder, Hill, Martin and Tomlinson at the cost of Steven, Acres, Dunstan, Lonie, Newnes and some draft picks (Roberton and McCartin done).

B: Wilkie, Carlisle, Webster
HB: Clark, Battle, Tomlinson
C: Hill, Steele, Ross
HF: Billings, Bruce, Hind
F: Martin, Membrey, Ryder

Foll: Marshall, Gresham, Hannebery
Int: Bytel, Coffield, Parker, Sinclair

Still probably not a finals side but it's one I'd be happy to watch
Do you think King isn't going to play for 2 years? If he gets through the pre-season, I reckon he'd be a monty for Rnd 1

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:

B.M wrote: Wed 28 Aug 2019 11:48am It’s so stupid

That it’s something StK will do

It’s a wonder we don’t try and convince Sandilands to come out of retirement?!

The only positions we don’t need are Ruck and Key Forward
We are recruiting in a has been Ruckman and trading out a good key forward
I might he a bit slow on the uptake but hey ....... Big Mart is back!!!

Welcome Back BM

chook23 wrote: Wed 28 Aug 2019 8:54am I went to the north and port game with friends a couple weeks back......

Ben Brown kicked 10

Quite a few in the press gave goldstein BOG even though brown kicked 10

Ryder was slaughtered......looked very slow......infact looked washed up

Was so hoping we would not target him.....

would have to be for a very late pick

disappointing news
Perspective please. One bad game does not define you. He was an All Australian ruckman two years ago.

damienc wrote: Wed 28 Aug 2019 4:14pm

Perspective please. One bad game does not define you. He was an All Australian ruckman two years ago.
You mean two years ago when he was 29.5 and still at the peak age for a ruckman?

Does anyone see the irony in that Port are moving him on so that the can get game time into younger players?

Port know they are rebuilding and have brought in a lot of good youth recently after doing a about turn on bringing in players like Watts.

I think as a backup ruckman, he’s better than what we have.

derby Street

saintsRrising wrote: Wed 28 Aug 2019 4:37pm

You mean two years ago when he was 29.5 and still at the peak age for a ruckman?

Does anyone see the irony in that Port are moving him on so that the can get game time into younger players?

Port know they are rebuilding and have brought in a lot of good youth recently after doing a about turn on bringing in players like Watts.
The youth turnaround was only last year - before that Watts, Rockcliff, Motlop …..

Port paid big bucks for a ruck just last year and have two young rucks coming through they can afford to release a 32 year old AFL quality ruck.

CURLY wrote: Wed 28 Aug 2019 4:45pm

Port paid big bucks for a ruck just last year and have two young rucks coming through they can afford to release a 32 year old AFL quality ruck.
Yes PA went out last year and recruited 26yr old ruckman who is now 26yr 11mth.

They realised that they are rebuilding and wisely after losing their way are recruiting players who can over many years improve together and build towards being a very good team.

Meanwhile the Saints list management strategy is what? A bit of this, and a bit of that.

I also thought we had built RSEA Park as a training base, rather than as a Retirement Home!
Last edited by saintsRrising on Wed 28 Aug 2019 4:53pm, edited 1 time in total.

Premium89

B.M wrote: Wed 28 Aug 2019 11:32am
This will be the straw that breaks the camels back for me. Last time I was this disgruntled with the club was 2009.
Sheesh! So everything's been going swimmingly for us since then?

Talking about list management calls

2009 was a great year onfield

Then some pathetic decisions post season meant the end came quicker than it should have

derby Street wrote: Wed 28 Aug 2019 4:45pm

The youth turnaround was only last year - before that Watts, Rockcliff, Motlop …..
err Yes that is my point!

(Though two of those players were two years ago. Rockliff one year ago. At least all were under 30)

saintsRrising wrote: Wed 28 Aug 2019 4:51pm
CURLY wrote: Wed 28 Aug 2019 4:45pm

Yes PA went out last year and recruited 26yr old ruckman who is now 26yr 11mth.

They realised that they are rebuilding and wisely after losing their way are recruiting players who can over many years improve together and build towards being a very good team.

Meanwhile the Saints list management strategy is what? A bit of this, and a bit of that.

I also thought we had built RSEA Park as a training base, rather than as a Retirement Home!
We have a 23 year old first ruck then what? A 32 year old on a two year deal while a younger ruckman develops is smart recruiting.

CURLY wrote: Wed 28 Aug 2019 12:41pm
saintsRrising wrote: Wed 28 Aug 2019 12:34pm
CURLY wrote: Wed 28 Aug 2019 12:28pm Very similar to the Stephan King recruitment. Ryder us surplus to Port and played accordingly. Great pick up as a back up ruck.
So you really believe that Ryder is going to be a "back-up" ruck and play at Sandy for most games?

No what will happen is one of:
- 2 rucks will share sitting on the pine and we go with one less mid and impair our midfield rotation
- We play Paddy instead of Bruce as a key forward for most of the game and have a less effective forward line
- Max gets to twiddle his thumbs at Sandy
No I think we can play both. Marshall can rest forward he can also play as a ruck rover playing behind the ball. Ryder is also capable of playing behind the ball.
Yep, we can get Ryder to tag Gary Dempsey against the Dogs or North if the rumors are true next year & the 10 year rule comes into effect and Marshall will be a great athletic match up for Len Thompson when we play the Pies.

CURLY wrote: Wed 28 Aug 2019 5:04pm
We have a 23 year old first ruck then what? A 32 year old on a two year deal while a younger ruckman develops is smart recruiting.
I never said not to recruit a ruckman.

Difference is that:

- You want to recruit a 32 year old to play in first 22....most likely at the expense of Bruce or King

- I want the club to recruit a back up ruck (or ruck/forward) with potential to get better who will mainly play at Sandy, and will come in when Marshall is not available. Say a 23-26 year old

That to me is smart recruiting.

I also see no point in drafting 18 year old rucks. They rarely work out. Much better to pick them up once they have decvloped a bit.

ID and WHEN you are actually in the GF window you might look to bring in an older ruckman, and many clubs who have won flags over the last decade or so have done so.

Ruder will be a blip for a year or two. That is not smart recruiting.

I wouldn’t say Marshall is developing, he was a top 6 ruckman in the league this year.

Trixilver

SaintPav wrote: Wed 28 Aug 2019 8:54am I hope they're not planning to use a Marshall/Ryder combination in the forward line as a replacement for Bruce.
And put Bruce in the ruck :lol:

Special

We are going full on to try and play finals.

I like that strategy. Winning flags is so far out of reach I like the idea of just getting enough cattle to have some chance of playing finals.

Once you play finals and look like there is some hope maybe we become a more attractive proposition to then get the extra cattle needed to take the next step.

If we are good enough next year to make an Elimination Final, then who knows? Maybe we can even win one final. I’d be stoked if that happened in 2020.

Baby steps.

The Linton Street Flash

B.M wrote: Wed 28 Aug 2019 11:32am So is it more important to have

A reasonable Ruckman for 20% and poor forward for 60%

Or a

Poor Ruckman for 20% and reasonable forward for 60%

Not withstanding the fact that Ryder is 32yo

This will be the straw that breaks the camels back for me. Last time I was this disgruntled with the club was 2009.
I’m sorry to ask, but what was it that you were so disgruntled with in 09?

Also... it would appear that you’re disgruntled about a lot of things.

When was the last time St Kilda, or even football for that matter, actually gave you any joy or fun?

Do you ever think that maybe you’d be better to walk away from the whole footy thing and find something that makes you happy?

Look again it's the Flash!!
BarryGrogan

B.M wrote: Wed 28 Aug 2019 5:23pm I wouldn’t say Marshall is developing, he was a top 6 ruckman in the league this year.
So you think this is as good as he gets?

Importantly, how did we go as a team in the periods he was off the ground?

Absolutely awful, that's how. We were mauled.

Saint wagga

I’d be stoked if we can get Ryder! We need proven quality. When fit he’s an afl standard Ruck who can play forward, exactly what we need!! We haven’t had 2 proven afl rucks on our list for nearly 10 years!! If we get 2 years and 20-30 games out of Ryder, pretty good outcome.

When and where has Ryder played well forward?

He averages under half a goal a game, and played Forward in much of his time at Essendon, as Hille and Bellchambers rucked also in his time there.

He left Essendon, and wanted to play ruck at Port

Two rucks
That didn’t work at all at Port this season. They paid huge money for Lycett only to see either Ryder or Lycett in the twos

What happened in 09

We made a GF... and in a desperate bid to win it the following year, made some mind boggling list changes.

Good pickup if true.
Desperate for a 2nd tuck to support Marshall and will be a great mentor as well.
Will get him for nothing and doesn’t have to play every week.
Will also need to recruit another young ruckman to develop.
Disappointing to put so many years into Peirce for no return.