Geelong

Geelong

So reports fed to the media by Geelong are that they require 2 (two) First Round Picks for Kelly

But to obtain Steven they will offer a Second Round Draft Pick

Steven is a 4 time B&F winner and of greater value to St Kilda than is Kelly to Geelong (noting Kelly has been at Geelong for how long?)

I would be putting 2 First Round Picks on Steven’s head if Geelong want him

Re: Geelong

That’s funny.

Kelly is about 5 years younger than Stuv and Brownlow favourite

Set our price, lock it in then screw them hard.

To the top wrote: Thu 22 Aug 2019 3:31pm So reports fed to the media by Geelong are that they require 2 (two) First Round Picks for Kelly

Steven is a 4 time B&F winner and of greater value to St Kilda than is Kelly to Geelong (noting Kelly has been at Geelong for how long?)

2nd and Constable. Deal done. Otherwise they can p155 off. They want him, pay up as he's a required player, so you pay overs.

stkfc1 wrote: Thu 22 Aug 2019 4:12pm
To the top wrote: Thu 22 Aug 2019 3:31pm So reports fed to the media by Geelong are that they require 2 (two) First Round Picks for Kelly

2nd and Constable. Deal done. Otherwise they can p155 off. They want him, pay up as he's a required player, so you pay overs.
i like it Image

I think they would leave that very comfortably.

Probably an insulting price too.

Steven is 30yo next year

Has player 6 games this year

Buckley’s chance of a first rounder

stkfc1 wrote: Thu 22 Aug 2019 4:12pm

Constable who? No thanks. First rounder or fuggedaboudit.

Kardinia Park retirement home :lol:

To the top wrote: Thu 22 Aug 2019 3:31pm
Is it 1st April?

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

So we transfer out a player who has been and is the heart and soul of the St Kilda FC, its most exciting player with his skill, pace and daring confirmed by 4 (FOUR) Best and Fairest wins for a SECOND ROUND DRAFT PICK

For reasons that he is 29 and has had the absences he has had this season - and he wants to leave

Fair dinkum

If St Kilda politely say “Thank you” to Geelong for their offer and accept it St Kilda are stuffed including to the extent that others could be excused for also seeking to leave joining Clubs that stay in contention by raiding players from other Clubs

So St Kilda become the Victorian equivalent of Gold Coast

A terminal cancer invading St Kilda FC

Geelong are promoting thru media that they require 2 (TWO) First Round Draft Picks for Kelly, a player they rate in the same way we rate Steven

Spot the difference?

And where are Geelong on the Premiership Table and where are St Kilda?

We are building around Carlisle and Hannebery then Billings, Dunstan, Acres, McCartin, Gresham, Battle, Clark, Coffield, King, Bytel and others plus we look to attract Hill and whoever else

And we need to send a message to the competition that we mean business - not that we are the Gold Coast of Victoria

So, if Steven moves because Geelong want him St Kilda have to ensure that that outcome actually improves St Kilda over and above Steven - so a Second Round Draft Pick does not cut it and does not cut it by a long, long way

Steven’s age and absences this year are immaterial

He is a required St Kilda player - and that does matter

Let’s say a 29year old speedy mid & multiple best and fairest winner at another club was looking for 3 year contract
What would the asking price be and and what would we offer ?

Did anyone watch the Front Bar last night? Mick Molloy kept making references to the comments by Chris Scott regarding Charlie Cameron's effort. Chris Scott's arrogance was at a new level in that press conference. He thinks he's got the best team this year regardless of losing to Brisbane. Thought they 'outplayed' Brisbane and said 'we controlloed a large part of the match'

f***** arrogant pricks since they bagged a couple of flags prior to the AFL clampdown on 'supplements'

I can understand why hy he does it though. Everyone tends to overrate their own players. Richo and the Saints have been doing it for years. In hindsight, we would have been better off imo and may have got a first rounder off them if we'd agreed to trade Stuvvy last year

Special

There are three teams I detest that are all finalists this year: Geelong, Collingwood and Essendon.

Lots of hatred and ammo against them

If Geelong offered us CC and a second-rounder we should probably take it. I don't think we’ll get that though.

To the top wrote: Thu 22 Aug 2019 11:06pm So we transfer out a player who has been and is the heart and soul of the St Kilda FC, its most exciting player with his skill, pace and daring confirmed by 4 (FOUR) Best and Fairest wins for a SECOND ROUND DRAFT PICK

For reasons that he is 29 and has had the absences he has had this season - and he wants to leave

Fair dinkum

If St Kilda politely say “Thank you” to Geelong for their offer and accept it St Kilda are stuffed including to the extent that others could be excused for also seeking to leave joining Clubs that stay in contention by raiding players from other Clubs

Geelong are promoting thru media that they require 2 (TWO) First Round Draft Picks for Kelly, a player they rate in the same way we rate Steven

Spot the difference?

We are building around Carlisle and Hannebery then Billings, Dunstan, Acres, McCartin, Gresham, Battle, Clark, Coffield, King, Bytel and others plus we look to attract Hill and whoever else

And we need to send a message to the competition that we mean business - not that we are the Gold Coast of Victoria

So, if Steven moves because Geelong want him St Kilda have to ensure that that outcome actually improves St Kilda over and above Steven - so a Second Round Draft Pick does not cut it and does not cut it by a long, long way

How many first round picks did we give up for Hannebery?

3 x AA, Premiership player, Coaches Association award, Rising Star winner and younger than Jack Steven.

outside66

kosifantutti wrote: Fri 23 Aug 2019 9:57am
To the top wrote: Thu 22 Aug 2019 11:06pm So we transfer out a player who has been and is the heart and soul of the St Kilda FC, its most exciting player with his skill, pace and daring confirmed by 4 (FOUR) Best and Fairest wins for a SECOND ROUND DRAFT PICK

Fair dinkum

Spot the difference?

How many first round picks did we give up for Hannebery?

3 x AA, Premiership player, Coaches Association award, Rising Star winner and younger than Jack Steven.
We absorbed 3 years of big money from the Swans (Hannaz was contracted until 2021 on good money). The Swans knew what was up with him re his body and couldn't get the deal done quick enough.

Steven has one year left on not huge money as his lucrative contract with us was heavily front-ended. We need him and the swans didn't need Hannaz, that's the difference. We don't want him to go for a variety of reasons whereas the Swans wanted Hannaz to go for a variety of reasons.

The bottom line is that Steven is contracted, he's been our best player for a long time. If he gets himself right mentally then he will end up having a longer career than Hannaz imo. If Geelong want him that badly then they should have to pay accordingly.

Special

Stuv hopefully has his mental health a bit more stable now. Just a matter of if he can lose weight and stay on the meds. That part could be tricky. In the perfect world he may get off the meds at some stage but only those close to him would know the finer details.

Everyone goes on about four B&Fs.
Would he have won any at another club?
Not knocking him, but I doubt it. He had no competition.

outside66

Bernard Shakey wrote: Fri 23 Aug 2019 12:12pm Everyone goes on about four B&Fs.
If he were in a better team with more support around him then I reckon he would've won a Brownlow. He came 8th last year when we only won 4.5 games.

outside66 wrote: Fri 23 Aug 2019 12:17pm
Bernard Shakey wrote: Fri 23 Aug 2019 12:12pm Everyone goes on about four B&Fs.
If he were in a better team with more support around him then I reckon he would've won a Brownlow. He came 8th last year when we only won 4.5 games.
This would be Geelongs thinking too. It all comes down to Jack really. Geelong will give up Constable and a pick (early third round) for Steven and this would be a reasonable outcome. If Jacks gotta go then Constable and Zac Smith would be ideal.

Lol. Flog Barrett on MMMorons reckons we'll get around pick 50 for him and then acts like we should be thankful for Geelongs generosity if thats what we get. How that tosspot ended up in any postion, anywhere in the public realm, is beyond me.

If Ablett decides to play on and they land Higgins, I don’t think they’ll trade with us at all.
Which will leave Stuv in a pickle and us with a player that doesn’t want to be here.

Unless Stuv has a complete change of heart, then we will lose all round.

stkfc1 wrote: Sat 24 Aug 2019 5:51pm Lol. Flog Barrett on MMMorons reckons we'll get around pick 50 for him and then acts like we should be thankful for Geelongs generosity if thats what we get. How that tosspot ended up in any postion, anywhere in the public realm, is beyond me.
Heard that and roared at the radio.
Can't stand this bloke. Sucks up to the powerful clubs and piisses on the weaker ones.