According to fox Dunstan wants a two year contract

BarryGrogan

Re: According to fox Dunstan wants a two year contract

Rubyjo wrote: Wed 31 Jul 2019 10:19pm
saynta wrote: Wed 31 Jul 2019 10:04pm The deal will get done.
What's a 2 year deal worth for dunny.. 1 mill... It's alot of money. Wonder what he wants..he's better than hanners
If Hannebury's body could be trusted, Dunstan would be gone already I reckon.

Crossy66

BarryGrogan wrote: Thu 01 Aug 2019 6:57am
Crossy66 wrote: Wed 31 Jul 2019 11:16pm
BarryGrogan wrote: Wed 31 Jul 2019 10:47pm I think Dunstan should be traded if possible.

I wouldn't offer him even 1 year unless I had no other option.
Cant agree. Has been good this year and needs to be locked in.
He's been good, relative to his own previous form and relative to what else we've got.

But relative to the rest of the comp, he's a C-Grader isn't he?

We definitely should be looking to replace him with something better if we plan to move up the ladder.
He is comfortably best 22 atm.
When we recruit coniglio, whitfield, tarranto , 2 hills, jack martin then we can reassess.
At 24 years of age, still has plenty of upside imo

Joffa Burns wrote: Wed 31 Jul 2019 9:43pm 4 years maybe a 5th for Hannebery
3 years for a fringe forward from Melbourne

I’m surprised Dunstan isn’t insisting on min 3 years, he’s already twice the player Kent will ever be.
Exactly. Pushed into being a bulldozer too early in his career because there was no-one else. Given his all. Gone back to the twos for a decent spell and earned his stripes. Makes blow-ins like Hannebery and Kent look shabby. Give him 3 years at least. Jaysus that Hannebery deal looks like rubbish.....

BarryGrogan

Crossy66 wrote: Thu 01 Aug 2019 7:23am
BarryGrogan wrote: Wed 31 Jul 2019 10:47pm I think Dunstan should be traded if possible.

He's been good, relative to his own previous form and relative to what else we've got.

We definitely should be looking to replace him with something better if we plan to move up the ladder.
When we recruit coniglio, whitfield, tarranto , 2 hills, jack martin then we can reassess.
He's definitely best 22 - but that's why we're a bottom 4-6 team.

Agree that we need to keep him in case we can't find someone better, but that's why I'd only offer him 1 year.

I don't agree about the upside though. I don't think he has anymore tricks up his sleeve.

He has triuble below his knees recently, so not sure if he's carrying a back injury or something.

Will Dunstan finish top 5 in our B & F?

Crossy66

BarryGrogan wrote: Thu 01 Aug 2019 8:37am
Crossy66 wrote: Thu 01 Aug 2019 7:23am

He's definitely best 22 - but that's why we're a bottom 4-6 team.

Agree that we need to keep him in case we can't find someone better, but that's why I'd only offer him 1 year.

I don't agree about the upside though. I don't think he has anymore tricks up his sleeve.

He has triuble below his knees recently, so not sure if he's carrying a back injury or something.
Two issues with your arguement. 1. You recognize we dont have anyone better so we need him atm, and 2 . that he might not accept a one year deal, so we end up losing what you recognise we need.
Luke is 9th in the afl for average stoppage clearances and 13th for centre clearances and ahead of some stars, including t. Kelly, crouch, sloane to name a few.
Agree that we need some A grade upgrades, but we dont need to get cute when we dont have them. Minimum 2 years on reasonable coin for mine.

Who wrote he’s had a good year

He was at a sandy for a chunk of the season. He still only get the pill around 20 times per game, he’s still a slow inside mid with average skills

He is however
Tough and courageous, win inside ball and has a good attitude

For the right money I’d resign him
With the right offer, I’d trade him

Crossy66

Toy Saint wrote: Thu 01 Aug 2019 8:56am Will Dunstan finish top 5 in our B & F?
Thereabouts I would think. Definately top 10. Marshall, billings, Steele after that it gets tough

B.M wrote: Thu 01 Aug 2019 9:37am Who wrote he’s had a good year

He was at a sandy for a chunk of the season. He still only get the pill around 20 times per game, he’s still a slow inside mid with average skills

He is however

In a perfect situation you are correct.

I think the tenure of contracts at the club have now changed in that players will look at 3 years to DMac & Kent, 4-5 to Hannebery & 2 to Joyce and will expect similar level of security.

Fact is players managers are guided by what others in the club are paid and allocated in tenure as part of the negotiation process.

The Hannebery and Kent deals may well play a negative hand in internal negotiation over the next couple of seasons.

Has played 14 out of 18. Averaging 22 disposals. Two high points in terms of disposals 27 and 30 vs North and Cats.
Not that disposals are necessarily a stand alone stat to value a player’s contribution. More about the role they play.
By comparison purely in terms of disposals :
Joel Selwood is averaging 20.5 disposals this year.
Cotchin in 10 games - 21.4

2 years is fair enough IMO. Good player.

He is however

For what it’s worth, he sits 6th in the ‘player of the year’ on here, 2 spots ahead of Seb in 8th.

Definitely deserves to be resigned. I’d much rather 24 year old Dunstan over 29 year old Hannerbry.

The_Dud wrote: Thu 01 Aug 2019 10:18am

He is however

For what it’s worth, he sits 6th in the ‘player of the year’ on here, 2 spots ahead of Seb in 8th.

Definitely deserves to be resigned. I’d much rather 24 year old Dunstan over 29 year old Hannerbry.
Hell yes. His best footy is ahead of him. Hannebery's is in the rear view mirror. 4yrs @ $800,000.....jaysus

I'd give him two years.

Heavily performance based, but two years is not an issue.

He's a valueable player and has improved this year.

Hard as a cats head.

No. Judging by his last 6 or 7 week, definitely a B grader.

I think in 2 more seasons he will become a restricted free agent.

A couple of good seasons will see his worth and next contract balloon upwards.

I think that is why he only wants 2 not 3 or more.

As to his value - I personally value him highly.

- wins clearance ball
- wins contested ball
- wins the ball back through pressure
- uses his body to create space for team mates
- steps up and leads in big moments in games

Sometimes a very good player does more than accumulate stats like kicks and handballs. The stats that actually matter are the ones that win or retain the ball or make it easier to win or retain the ball without even touching the ball.

diddley

BackFromUSA wrote: Thu 01 Aug 2019 1:21pm I think in 2 more seasons he will become a restricted free agent.

A couple of good seasons will see his worth and next contract balloon upwards.

I think that is why he only wants 2 not 3 or more.

As to his value - I personally value him highly.

- wins clearance ball
- wins contested ball
- wins the ball back through pressure
- uses his body to create space for team mates
- steps up and leads in big moments in games

Sometimes a very good player does more than accumulate stats like kicks and handballs. The stats that actually matter are the ones that win or retain the ball or make it easier to win or retain the ball without even touching the ball.
Man, I love the way you write BFUsa.
So precise.
I think you could convince me to love Carlton if you tried.

should be done never too much midfield depth and playing well now allowed to do what he does not try to make him into what he isnt

supersaints2

He deserves 2 years, in confident he has not reached his ceiling...

I used to be supersaints but after 16 years my profile dissapeared... ??? if I make any reference to past posts .. it will be under supersiants.. glad to be back on line
milney044

He does a lot of the hard stuff and a lot of selfless stuff. He doesn't rack up huge possessions but his impact at the contest is significant. We are a better side with him in it and i think his teammates would agree with that.

In a nutshell, he's a required player so get it done Saints.

Destiny. It's in our hands.

Harder. Better. Faster. Stronger.

Most important thing you do as a mid

Win the footy, find the footy

Because if you ain’t, your opponent probably is... to be an AFL inside mid, you MUST win the ball 25 times a game at least, good games 30+

The second part of the equation is to use it effectively, Luke is not a great kick.

Thirdly you need to be able to defend.

To be able to run and spread both ways, you need running power. Luke is an average runner.

He is pretty good at stoppage though

Sorry B.M. I have to disagree. There are different types of midfielders and different roles.

At centre bounces and around the ground stoppages. There is the target, blocker and sweeper. The blocker (the role that Dunstan plays) has two responsibilities:

1) defend the opposition target
2) make room for the sweeper

Then they become a chase ball player clearance player.

Dunstan plays this role exceptionally well.

I would agree that the target / sweeper should be accumulating 25 possessions (especially the sweeper who is the ball receiver and usually the teams best ball user) but he can only succeed due to the good work of the blocker and target to feed it out.

In general play, I agree that Dunstan isn't the quickest or best user BUT he is a see ball, get ball warrior that wins the ball in contest and MOST importantly wins the ball back for his team. I also admire how he stands up in big moments in a game. He is a leader.

Then again I believe in a team ethos where you sacrifice individual glory for team success.

You will find me in the stands at Marvel pointing out to my son how forwards vacate dangerous space for key targets to lead into and take the ball out in front of them on a lead. In my eyes the best player in that passage of play isn't the guy delivering or marking the ball, it is the player that created the space by drawing out his defender. He created opportunity for his team succeed. Unfortuately Champion Data and fantasy footy games don't count that stat. But ask any coach of any successful team how they value that play.

BarryGrogan

B.M wrote: Sat 03 Aug 2019 11:36am Most important thing you do as a mid

Win the footy, find the footy

Because if you ain’t, your opponent probably is... to be an AFL inside mid, you MUST win the ball 25 times a game at least, good games 30+

The second part of the equation is to use it effectively, Luke is not a great kick.

Thirdly you need to be able to defend.

To be able to run and spread both ways, you need running power. Luke is an average runner.

He is pretty good at stoppage though
I don't think it's that simplistic.

Worpel found the ball 22 times in the first half last night, yet his team had only 11 shots at goal.

Cunnington, his direct opponent had 13, and his team had 11 shots.

By full time, Worpel had 37 and Cunnington had 21. North won by 4 and should have won by 8.

Now of course, highlighting that one matchup is also simplistic - but if you use the ball well, make good decisions and win it in the right places, you can be far more damaging as an on-baller than your opponent who gets it twice as much, but isn't effective with it.

Myron Gaines wrote: Wed 31 Jul 2019 9:52pm McKenzie 3 years
Joyce 2 years
Hanneberry 4 years
Offer Dunstan only 1 year?

Jesus
That’s a debarcle who is making these decisions??

Teflon wrote: Sat 03 Aug 2019 4:40pm
Myron Gaines wrote: Wed 31 Jul 2019 9:52pm McKenzie 3 years
Joyce 2 years
Hanneberry 4 years
Offer Dunstan only 1 year?

Jesus
That’s a debarcle who is making these decisions??
Simon Lethlean