Team Selection

Re: Team Selection

King12 wrote: Fri 24 May 2019 12:29pm
degruch wrote: Fri 24 May 2019 12:24pm
The_President wrote: Fri 24 May 2019 12:15am Long plays this week. Designed the jumper with his sister.
It's a toughy...because...has he actually earned a spot?
That's Correct, he has to be judged on form, not his use of crayons.

He was ok last week, so it will be tight.

Don't be surprised if Marshall is a late out, he has to get through Captains Run and tick a few boxes.

That’d be a shame, he was terrific against Grundy last weekend.

Long will most likely play due to his heritage, apologises if that offends anyone. Thing is he isn't our worst but he should have been put on notice by now and if he isnt revved up to play on indigenous weekend in a jersey he helped design then nothing will rev him up. I hope he has a blinder

Surely they won't just pick Long because its Aboriginal round....

Parker and Long are very touch and go to play IMO. Young is obviously playing as named HF.

King12

prwilkinson wrote: Fri 24 May 2019 12:33pm
The_President wrote: Fri 24 May 2019 12:15am Long plays this week. Designed the jumper with his sister.

Don't be surprised if Marshall is a late out, he has to get through Captains Run and tick a few boxes.

Not sure he was terrific, Grundy got BOG off everyone including coaches and probably umpires, you can use the word 'terrific', I go with gallant! 😉

Anyway, let's hope he gets up, however, he needs a rest, so hopefully he can make it through to the bye round.

King12 wrote: Fri 24 May 2019 1:14pm
prwilkinson wrote: Fri 24 May 2019 12:33pm

Not sure he was terrific, Grundy got BOG off everyone including coaches and probably umpires, you can use the word 'terrific', I go with gallant! 😉

Anyway, let's hope he gets up, however, he needs a rest, so hopefully he can make it through to the bye round.
Haha, fair point! Gallant it is. I just really like the kid. Hope he gets up too.

The question not asked is, given our disclosed "Unavailable" List, who is left who is available for selection outside those named in the extended List for Sunday?

And what is their status and what would they add?

In my view we are scraping the bottom of the barrel in terms of availability.

Beno88 wrote: Fri 24 May 2019 9:10am I'd love to see Longer play. I never thought I'd say that but I really want to see Marshall flourish with some proper support.
Me too. Except Longer is the antithesis of “proper support”.

He’s actually closer to properly rubbish once the ball/throw-up and throw-ins are done.

DJ Higgins wrote: Fri 24 May 2019 1:04pm Long will most likely play due to his heritage, apologises if that offends anyone. Thing is he isn't our worst but he should have been put on notice by now and if he isnt revved up to play on indigenous weekend in a jersey he helped design then nothing will rev him up. I hope he has a blinder
Good post. You just typed what many, many others are thinking.

King12

To the top wrote: Fri 24 May 2019 1:46pm The question not asked is, given our disclosed "Unavailable" List, who is left who is available for selection outside those named in the extended List for Sunday?

Each to their own, the players who have come in are the best performed in the VFL, so if that's scraping the barrel as you put it, so be it, blokes are getting promoted on form, nothing wrong with that.

Crossy66

Saintmatt wrote: Fri 24 May 2019 2:30pm
DJ Higgins wrote: Fri 24 May 2019 1:04pm Long will most likely play due to his heritage, apologises if that offends anyone. Thing is he isn't our worst but he should have been put on notice by now and if he isnt revved up to play on indigenous weekend in a jersey he helped design then nothing will rev him up. I hope he has a blinder
Problem is, I am not sure he is a good player. Has shown glimpses, but doesnt really get much of it. I dont think we can play parker, long and young in the same team for similiar reasons at 5his stage atleast

To the top wrote: Fri 24 May 2019 1:46pm The question not asked is, given our disclosed "Unavailable" List, who is left who is available for selection outside those named in the extended List for Sunday?

The only players available for selection but not in the squad are...

Clavarino - returning from a long term injury, still needs time at Sandy.
King - returning from a long term injury, still needs time at Sandy.
Joyce - showing good signs, either played or been emergency most weeks.
Armitage - seemingly at the end, back up only.
Hind - been emergency six times, a debut can't be far away.
Rice - hasn't found himself in the mix as yet, but VFL form is reasonable.
Langlands - seems a fair way off, although VFL form has been good.
Alabakis - still learning the game at Frankston.

I'd say Joyce and Hind are the only two not in the squad who are likely to play any AFL footy in the immediate future.

In Long
Out Paton

Thank you Benno.

You ask a question to receive an answer.

And you have provided the answer.

Very very safe selection. I'm guessing the reasoning but don't agree with it. The reason I am guessing is not because it is indigenous round.

Wishing Long, Parker & Young all the best, I really hope they do something special & forge a dynamic combination for many Saint years.

Josh Battle

Speaking of very very safe. Can't see Richo being creative or doing anything that might confuse the opposition but can you imagine if we played with those blokes in the middle aganst Carlton?

It'd do wonders for their confidence and you may as well try these things against the bottom team. I know it's never going to happen but it would be nice to try and I reckon the perfect time would be if Cripps is resting on the bench.

Would also put a rocket up Seb and the Jacks as well as Dunny and they might just have to prove to the coaches that they own the middle and it doesn't belong to the upstarts

WTF, how did Parker and Newnes keep their spots this week???

Our selection panel are piss weak

Rubyjo

It's indigenous round let's embrace it.. All our lads are out there... Expect fireworks... Can't be too white this round it's for the greater good.

Saintmatt wrote: Thu 23 May 2019 7:53pm Sheesh. McKenzie must be in possession of the photos Mav had of Cho.

I think after naming all of the kids and us getting excited ... it will end up being Long for Patton. I’d hope it would be White however.

And why we drafted Nick Hind’s outside speed (which we’ve craved for years) and not play him is baffling. Still.
3rd person self-congratulator nomination for me. Saw this a mile off. Long’s Sister designed the jumper. Awesome way to pick a team (never mind his last Senior game was terrible). Never mind that Patton has been playing as a small/rebounding defender (more like for like with White or Coffield). And still McKenzie. And Newnes. 🤦🏻‍♂️

FFS - we’re so goddam fvcking hopeless at giving hope and development.
Last edited by Saintmatt on Fri 24 May 2019 7:14pm, edited 2 times in total.

Must be a strength of personality thing. Newnes far more assertive than Coff perhaps, and the selectors take the soft line. Don't know Newnes but he must have a formidable presence in team meetings. Shame he has no presence on the field.

Yorkeys wrote: Fri 24 May 2019 7:13pm Must be a strength of personality thing. Newnes far more assertive than Coff perhaps, and the selectors take the soft line. Don't know Newnes but he must have a formidable presence in team meetings. Shame he has no presence on the field.
Maybe he has copies of the same photos of Cho that Weller gave to McKenzie on his way out.

It’s the only explanation - he’s back to his putrid 2018 form

Saintmatt wrote: Fri 24 May 2019 2:30pm
How would anyone know if he was revved up or not or whatever else he was thinking!

Special

Shame I can’t say what I really think of our so called selection panel and coach.

They are taking the piss big time

Rubyjo

Special wrote: Fri 24 May 2019 9:09pm Shame I can’t say what I really think of our so called selection panel and coach.

bulls***.. Complain after the fact.. It's an unknown at present.. Get over yourself..

Special

Rubyjo wrote: Fri 24 May 2019 9:19pm
Special wrote: Fri 24 May 2019 9:09pm Shame I can’t say what I really think of our so called selection panel and coach.

bulls***.. Complain after the fact.. It's an unknown at present.. Get over yourself..
What the f are you on about?

I’m talking about team selection

saynta wrote: Fri 24 May 2019 10:01am
Viscount Jeremiah wrote: Thu 23 May 2019 7:53pm How does Mackenzie keep getting a game
Second best mark in the side.
this is probably true, but s*** I wish he would stop flying into packs that already have four or five blokes jumping. He has almost zero chance of taking the mark and worse still, he leaves his direct opponent on the deck to pick up an easy crumb.