Goal Kicking

Is anyone ever going to be held accountable for this blight on our performances???

For 2 years now we have lost game after game due to an inability to finish in front of goal. Set shot misses from in front and within 30 meters to me there is no excuse ( barring windy/wet conditions).

We hear the same crap game after game - we didn't take our chance, no scoreboard pressure , we keep working on it.. what about cut the spin and come out and be honest - guys had chances in this game and let us down in front of goal and reality is thats why we lost. This guy was in charge of skill development and has been released as he hasn't done his job, this guys portfolio was to draft skilled kickers, he hasn't he's gone. I don't really care what it is just sick of losing games due to the same crap over and over . Well below league average for set shots and overall shots and expect to win.

This is the problem IMO too much softly softly approach with this group be it selection policy, accountability on filed to teammates or coaches media spin - sick of hearing we have done a lot right - well clearly not enough because we keep losing!!!!!

rant over :D

chico2001

Re: Goal Kicking

It has to be said...and it has been said 100 times but the improvement has not come. There was a few games where the kicking for goal was good but generally it is poor and I dont care who the saints recruit, if this current group of players cannot improve their goalkicking then they are looking at bottom 6 in 2019.

I can say that at least at three recent games that I can readily recall , the only player on the list who was out on the ground long before the game started practising goal kicking was Mav Wellar.

Our opposition on all three occasions was out in full.

What gives Saints?

Well, a specialist kicking coach came down to sort this out, and it hasn't yielded much at all, so really, the head coach must wear the responsibility- Richo is surely living on borrowed time as a coach.

spert wrote: Sun 29 Jul 2018 12:38pm Well, a specialist kicking coach came down to sort this out, and it hasn't yielded much at all, so really, the head coach must wear the responsibility- Richo is surely living on borrowed time as a coach.
What rubbish - as if Richo can be responsible for their goal kicking which is a players skill error.
Perhaps at training he should make sure they line up with the goals correctly or perhaps re-tie their boots for them!

longtimesaint wrote: Sun 29 Jul 2018 2:46pm
spert wrote: Sun 29 Jul 2018 12:38pm Well, a specialist kicking coach came down to sort this out, and it hasn't yielded much at all, so really, the head coach must wear the responsibility- Richo is surely living on borrowed time as a coach.
What rubbish - as if Richo can be responsible for their goal kicking which is a players skill error.
Perhaps at training he should make sure they line up with the goals correctly or perhaps re-tie their boots for them!
When it’s been a club wide problem for 2 years it falls on coaching and development 100%. No improvement in this area is one of the main reasons Richo has to go.

Eight goals thirteen to thirteen goals eight sums it up really.

If you want to win games you have to kick well under pressure.

Just read Josh Bruce's player profile for his RSEA ad and I see his favourite tradie saying is: (sic) "Measure once. Cut twice."

A perfect analogy for this season's goal-kicking! Maybe we've been looking in the wrong place and it's not skill-errors at all, we just need to fix a few semantic slip-ups. Players think they heard: "Line 'em up fast, kick slow", "Drop the ball as far as possible", "Pretend you're kicking to a mate beside the behind post"....

Straighten 'em out and they'll all be nodding, "oh, right! - gotcha!" We'll all have a good laugh and bob's yer uncle, we're back in business!

older saint wrote: Sun 29 Jul 2018 11:59am Is anyone ever going to be held accountable for this blight on our performances???

...too much softly softly approach with this group be it selection policy, accountability on filed to teammates or coaches media spin - sick of hearing we have done a lot right - well clearly not enough because we keep losing!!!!!

...softly softly is obviously not working. Keep it simple stupid. Use the 'kiss' formula Richo. Just tell them; "Fix it or fcuk off!!"

Problem is that nice blokes just don't talk like that. Hasn't got it in him. I've only seen him angry once in the last 5 years

Scollop wrote: Tue 31 Jul 2018 5:43pm
older saint wrote: Sun 29 Jul 2018 11:59am Is anyone ever going to be held accountable for this blight on our performances???

...too much softly softly approach with this group be it selection policy, accountability on filed to teammates or coaches media spin - sick of hearing we have done a lot right - well clearly not enough because we keep losing!!!!!

...softly softly is obviously not working. Keep it simple stupid. Use the 'kiss' formula Richo. Just tell them; "Fix it or fcuk off!!"

Problem is that nice blokes just don't talk like that. Hasn't got it in him. I've only seen him angry once in the last 5 years
Bump

It's not Richo kicking the footy out there, but he sure as hell has a say on who lines up each week.

You are accountable Richo, and if you knew how to coach you'd have said this long ago; Fix your problems boys or play at Sandringham and risk being delisted

Scollop wrote: Sun 19 May 2019 12:53pm

Bump

It's not Richo kicking the footy out there, but he sure as hell has a say on who lines up each week.

You are accountable Richo, and if you knew how to coach you'd have said this long ago; Fix your problems boys or play at Sandringham and risk being delisted
Fev said he used to have 500 shots a week at training, Cho should have our boys doing the same, I don’t care about ‘hamstring hot spots’ or any garbage like that.

The_Dud wrote: Sun 19 May 2019 1:09pm
Fev said he used to have 500 shots a week at training, Cho should have our boys doing the same, I don’t care about ‘hamstring hot spots’ or any garbage like that.
I agree - if a hamstring hot spot develops because of practice and a player is unavailable - is this not better for the long run to have a proficient goal-kicking routine.

I know if at work someone shows a distinct weakness in their work they are sent for training at the expense of the work they could have done at that time. I do not see this as an excuse to continue bad workplace practices.

It's not hamstring.
These vegan sports scientists reckon that powerful kicking causes micro-tears in the quadriceps (the huge thigh muscle).
Jason Dunstall used to stay after training for ages, getting his goal kicking tuned.

Plugger kicked how many goals? Didn't seem to affect him

Yep exactly, no use having a player on the park that can’t execute the most basic and crucial skill.

WellardSaint wrote: Sun 19 May 2019 4:36pm
Pluggers main repeat training method though was the drive through at McDonalds ;)

ListManager

saintsRrising wrote: Sun 19 May 2019 6:42pm
Pluggers main repeat training method though was the drive through at McDonalds ;)
Hey saintsRrising, I have a tip for you. If you don't have anything nice to say then don't say anything.

NeXus Nick is back but where is Joffaboy????

ListManager wrote: Sun 19 May 2019 6:52pm
saintsRrising wrote: Sun 19 May 2019 6:42pm
Hey saintsRrising, I have a tip for you. If you don't have anything nice to say then don't say anything.
What has "nice' got to do with what I posted. Sorry if facts do not agree with you.

Also most would have realised that by the ;) that I was not having a go, but rather sharing an amusing aspect of what made Plugga, Plugga.

Plugga is arguably the best kick on goal ever.

He had a fantastic, beautiful and precise kicking action. But anyone who watched Plugga train back then and I did often as back then as I was at training most weeks, knows that he did not relish training.

It was also well known at the time of his fondness for fast food despite the clubs attempts at the time to reign him in.

I know our Club doc of the that time and we spoke on Plugga's fondness for fast food and how the Doc would often chastise Plugga for his regular habit.

Rubyjo

I have the solution...wben shooting for goal 17 players spli into two groups and create like a guard of honour towards the goals creating a corridor... Player kicking for goal just kicks down the corridor... Simple really..

Scollop wrote: Sun 19 May 2019 12:53pm

Bump

We had 8 players with under 20 games play on the weekend and when you also add the unavailability of players on the significant injury list it forces me to ask you if you understand the challenge of selection at the moment. You always make it sound like you have the answers but I don't think you take this into consideration.

Many of our shots at goal on Saturday were hurried snaps under pressure in a crowded forward line.

By contrast, Collingwood’s forwards had lots of space. They killed us on the rebound time after time.

Set shot kicking is important, but I’m not sure there’s a drill for snapshots under pressure. That’s probably something you either have or don’t have.

We need to find ways to give our forwards more space to operate in. Ultimately, of course, we might need better forwards.

We need natural goalkickers like Membrey - who is a few centimetres short of being a gun key forward at this level. Good player, I think, but we’re asking a lot of him to kick us a winning score with any sort of regularity.

Isolate him and he’s very hard to beat one on one. Unfortunately Isolating him is easier said than done.

I like Bruce also, though he is way off the boil at the moment. We need another viable target, but we also need to open up the forward line a lot.
Last edited by bigcarl on Mon 20 May 2019 12:55am, edited 2 times in total.

Rubyjo wrote: Sun 19 May 2019 9:52pm I have the solution...wben shooting for goal 17 players spli into two groups and create like a guard of honour towards the goals creating a corridor... Player kicking for goal just kicks down the corridor... Simple really..
You ever tried 10-pin bowling? We'd need the corridor to behave like the bumpers they use for kiddies when they bowl. :|

Accuracy Since R1 2017

Geelong - 55.3%
West Coast - 54.9%
Melbourne - 54.9%
Hawthorn - 54.4%
Sydney - 54.1%
Brisbane - 53.7%
North Melb - 53.5%
Essendon - 52.7%
Collingwood - 52.7%
Adelaide - 52.5%
Richmond - 52.4%
Port Adel - 52.0%
Carlton - 51.4%
Fremantle - 51.3%
GWS - 50.9%
Gold Coast - 49.4%
West Bulldogs - 47.7%
St Kilda - 47.7%

Over that period St Kilda had 1241 scoring shots, for 593 goals.
In comparision, West Coast had 1242 scoring shots, for 683 goals.
90 more goals from one more scoring shot. Extraordinary.

Josh Battle

bigcarl wrote: Mon 20 May 2019 12:36am Many of our shots at goal on Saturday were hurried snaps under pressure in a crowded forward line.

By contrast, Collingwood’s forwards had lots of space. They killed us on the rebound time after time.

Set shot kicking is important, but I’m not sure there’s a drill for snapshots under pressure. That’s probably something you either have or don’t have.

We need to find ways to give our forwards more space to operate in. Ultimately, of course, we might need better forwards.

We need natural goalkickers like Membrey - who is a few centimetres short of being a gun key forward at this level. Good player, I think, but we’re asking a lot of him to kick us a winning score with any sort of regularity.

Isolate him and he’s very hard to beat one on one. Unfortunately Isolating him is easier said than done.

I like Bruce also, though he is way off the boil at the moment. We need another viable target, but we also need to open up the forward line a lot.
I think the forward line as a whole is off the boil. They need to work as a team and stop playing selfish footy

Although Members had a really good day, he needs to provide a lot more dummy leads out wide and open up space down the guys for the forward in the team who is regarded as the 'power' forward. I'm not talking about just letting Bruce have space to mark the footy for himself.

Our go to tall who is bigger and heavier is the guy that usually puts the footy in the right spots for the crumbers. We all know that when Bruce is given space in front of goal he crashes those packs and it opens up opportunities for more team goals