Tom Boyd Retired

According to my son - can’t find any articles though

I guess you can argue his premiership game made him worth it - but you would have to say his recruitment otherwise must have hurt the dogs pretty bad

Re: Tom Boyd Retired

I heard the same earlier today.

mightysainters

Any dogs fan and saints fan for that matter would take a premiership for 6 years of 1m a year..

Ape_Man

mightysainters wrote:Any dogs fan and saints fan for that matter would take a premiership for 6 years of 1m a year..
Hopefully 5 and .8 will do it.

Lets throw the kitchen sink at him and get him to the Saints. He'd fit in perfectly and we could build a forward line around him.

guitars4

saint6709 wrote: Thu 16 May 2019 10:34pm According to my son - can’t find any articles though

I guess you can argue his premiership game made him worth it - but you would have to say his recruitment otherwise must have hurt the dogs pretty bad
If I could recruit one player that could win us a flag I would pay double what they paid. Over paid yes ,under performed yes but if they didn't have him they would not have won that flag IMO. Was it divine intervention, was it biased umpiring or was it just luck it doesn't matter it's history Dog's Premiers 2016 & they may not win another for another 70 years but they did it . Don't quote me but I reckon most Dog's fans are very content especially the older generation that thought they would never see it before they met their maker. I just hope we have a Tom Boyd :|

Apparently the dogs don't have to pay the last 2 years of his contract.
These days with player payments someone has to get big money .
Over the last five years taking out Roo and Joey, i don't reckon our club has had a player worthy of more than 500k but you have to pay the salary cap .
If hannebery was to play only a few games for us but 1 was a premiership, I'd be over the friggen moon.

farquhar

For 2 hours in September 2016 he was worth every penny.

Time for goal-kicking practice

He was worth every cent.

Btw. Dogs supporters I know don’t seem to be any happier.

Brave man made a brave decision that took others into account as well as himself, well done Tom Boyd and hope he gets well

It's really sad and a shame that a very talented footballer cannot continue in his chosen career

At first, I thought we should try and recruit him for 2020 but I immediately thought of Mitch Clarke and I reckon we should just give Tom time to get better. He'll let the footy world know if he was to become available down the track

He's not the first and he won't be the last.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/why ... 51fmc.html

Scollop wrote: Fri 17 May 2019 12:49am It's really sad and a shame that a very talented footballer cannot continue in his chosen career

At first, I thought we should try and recruit him for 2020 but I immediately thought of Mitch Clarke and I reckon we should just give Tom time to get better. He'll let the footy world know if he was to become available down the track

He's not the first and he won't be the last.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/why ... 51fmc.html
Jono Marsh is a perfect example of this. Tom will come back one day. Guy can play, but health is always more important than a game of football. Good luck to him.

My first thought was a fear that Jack Steven might follow him down that path.

SaintPav wrote: Fri 17 May 2019 12:35am He was worth every cent.

Btw. Dogs supporters I know don’t seem to be any happier.
They really don't, as they've been mediocre since and are almost of the opinion 2016 was merely a fluke. The young key forward they have now, Naughton, is starting to come of age is such an exciting prospect, though. At least they have his career to look forward to.
Enrico_Misso wrote: Fri 17 May 2019 1:49am My first thought was a fear that Jack Steven might follow him down that path.
Heavens to Betsy, that would just be awful. Fingers crossed Jackie Stuv's progress is coming along. I have a feeling he might have been diagnosed with something like bipolar disorder (what used to be referred to as manic depression). This is merely speculation on my behalf, of course, but if that's the case, it can be really serious and tricky stuff, requiring a lot of tweaking and trialling of medications, not mention things forms of treatment like ECT.

magnifisaint wrote: Thu 16 May 2019 10:56pm Lets throw the kitchen sink at him and get him to the Saints. He'd fit in perfectly and we could build a forward line around him.
Just don't hit him in the head with it......

mr six o'clock wrote: Thu 16 May 2019 11:16pm Apparently the dogs don't have to pay the last 2 years of his contract.
These days with player payments someone has to get big money .
Over the last five years taking out Roo and Joey, i don't reckon our club has had a player worthy of more than 500k but you have to pay the salary cap .
If hannebery was to play only a few games for us but 1 was a premiership, I'd be over the friggen moon.
Boyd said he had a long chat to the club, with his manager Liam Pickering, and asked to be released from the next 2 years.
So yep, he gets a bit of money for this year, but that's it, he's happy to wipe the next 2 years.

Worth every cent.

If Hannebery played one game for the Saints but it was a Grand Final where he was BOG, he would be worth every cent too.

How many clubs will be onto his manager about a future rookie list option if not already?

fair to guess IMO being a reported million dollar player with little runs on the board could have contributed heavily to his mental state and perceived if not real pressure. I have no knowledge of his issues but it would not be uncommon for a person in his position to suffer situation linked depression due to stress.

A year away and a return on an incentive based deal would remove lot of the associated pressure and perhaps allow him to relax and the love of the game return.

Someone may get a real bargain down the track.

minneapolis wrote: Fri 17 May 2019 2:59am
magnifisaint wrote: Thu 16 May 2019 10:56pm Lets throw the kitchen sink at him and get him to the Saints. He'd fit in perfectly and we could build a forward line around him.
Just don't hit him in the head with it......

Well, that officially ends the 'Dogs' era of dominance. A Flag from 5th on the ladder, being on the wrong end of an elimination final flogging the season before and 3 preliminary finals appearances in 2008-10.
But it is their Premiership that counts. Seize the day is the moral of the story.

samuraisaint wrote: Fri 17 May 2019 6:10pm Well, that officially ends the 'Dogs' era of dominance. A Flag from 5th on the ladder, being on the wrong end of an elimination final flogging the season before and 3 preliminary finals appearances in 2008-10.
But it is their Premiership that counts. Seize the day is the moral of the story.
I reckon the Saints of 04-05 and 09-10 could have taken the them easily... it’s almost sickening

skeptic wrote: Fri 17 May 2019 9:44pm
samuraisaint wrote: Fri 17 May 2019 6:10pm Well, that officially ends the 'Dogs' era of dominance. A Flag from 5th on the ladder, being on the wrong end of an elimination final flogging the season before and 3 preliminary finals appearances in 2008-10.
I reckon the Saints of 04-05 and 09-10 could have taken the them easily... it’s almost sickening
When I was a young man I thought we'd take Adelaide easy in the 1997 Grand Final and we were cut to pieces.
You've got to do it - and we didn't. They did. Maybe we will soon. It just takes things to fall your way sometimes and put yourself in the position to take full advantage to get you there.

What the Dogs did was enormous. Two interstate wins just to get to the GF.

They deserved their flag and it was no fluke.

The stroke of luck they had was the week off before the finals.

skeptic wrote: Fri 17 May 2019 9:44pm
Who knows but we were lucky to get over them in 2009 in the Prelim.

Pointless comparison.

Legendary wrote: Fri 17 May 2019 9:53am Worth every cent.

If Hannebery played one game for the Saints but it was a Grand Final where he was BOG, he would be worth every cent too.
The most celebrated Saint of all time would have to be John Bingley. Only 8 games but did the job he was selected for on the dangerous Tuddy and wrote himself into footy folklore. Could have easily been remembered as a Tassie footballer who never quite made the big time, instead he is a bloody legend of the Saints.

Well done Tom Boyd, a brave but sensible decision and I wish you well. You were recruited with the hope of winning the Dogs a premiership; more kudos to you that it came so soon and you were the standout player on the day.