We have the current worst injury list in the AFL

Jake Carlisle Back Indefinite
Oscar Clavarino Ankle Test
Jarryn Geary Quad Indefinite
Dan Hannebery Hamstring/calves Indefinite
Max King Knee Test
Doulton Langlands Concussion Test
Jack Lonie Knee 8-10 weeks
Paddy McCartin Concussion Indefinite
Lewis Pierce Concussion Test
Dylan Roberton Heart Season
Jack Steven Mental health Indefinite
Jimmy Webster Hand Test

Updated: Tuesday, May 7

I have highlighted what I regard as Senior players at the club who are out long term. No other club has close to this this many experienced senior players missing. All players I've highlighted have either been in great form this year, or have been incredibly important to us in previous years and haven't managed to get on the park. Hanneberry obviously because of the expectation upon him when he came to the Saints.

Considering we didn't have great depth to start off with, I reckon it's safe to say that injury has ruined our season. We played a GWS side that had numerous top end players missing and they beat us easily. Their quality missing eclipsed ours, but we simply can't afford to have ours missing. Not in these numbers. Hate to sound negative but I can see us struggling to win a game from here on end with that depressing list of players out at the moment and not likely to return until after the bye at the earliest.

Re: We have the current worst injury list in the AFL

This time last year Collingwood had the longest injury list in the comp. They were 9th at 4-3. Many said they lacked depth and few rated them a finals chance. Play the hand you're dealt, find a way. It can be done.

scallopsroe

Beno88 wrote: Wed 08 May 2019 9:05am This time last year Collingwood had the longest injury list in the comp. They were 9th at 4-3. Many said they lacked depth and few rated them a finals chance. Play the hand you're dealt, find a way. It can be done.
If you're good enough to be on an AFL list then you have the ability to perform at the highest level. It's up to the coaching group and the individual player to extract this latent talent, as you say "find a way!" No easy solutions just hard work and a dash of confidence.

see next post ...
Last edited by samoht on Wed 08 May 2019 10:35am, edited 1 time in total.

Logan Austin should also be on that list (has he recovered already from shoulder surgery)?
Also, Jack Bytel.

By comparison ...
Clarko's Hawks aren't faring very well with their very short injury list.
This is the full extent of their injuries ... James Frawley is set to return soon.
So they basically have 3 injured players at the moment.

Grant Birchall Calf/knee Indefinite
James Frawley Hamstring Test
Tom Mitchell Broken leg Indefinite
Tim Mohr Dislocated knee/ACL Season
Last edited by samoht on Wed 08 May 2019 1:11pm, edited 1 time in total.

We would be confident of making a run for the finals with a little bit of luck with injuries.

The sum of all parts includes having luck with injuries. Young lists find it harder to overcome significant injury lists, mainly because you need a critical mass of mature hard bodies for the marathon.

This list is good. It just needs to play together more and get stronger physically.

Patience is required.

Beno88 wrote: Wed 08 May 2019 9:05am This time last year Collingwood had the longest injury list in the comp. They were 9th at 4-3. Many said they lacked depth and few rated them a finals chance. Play the hand you're dealt, find a way. It can be done.
WOW!!! I love your attitude!!! Just LOVE it!!! Winning culture begins with BELIEF!!! Kudos my good colleague!!

We need to develop depth, and this is one way we can force the issue.

I don't see us as a flag threat this year, and thus, I want to see everyone getting some time and proving themselves.

I'm glad Jimmy Webster is a chance, thank god he's not another long termer.

There list is older and injuries didn't hit in areas they couldn't cover. Grundy goes down and they are cactus.

CURLY wrote: Wed 08 May 2019 3:21pm
There list is older and injuries didn't hit in areas they couldn't cover. Grundy goes down and they are cactus.
"Thier list is older" being the more significant factor.

Older lists are more durable. We aren't there yet.

Their list is older.

Take the captain and 6 other players from your best 22 including a KP defender and best mid. I don't think any team would be looking good in that state.

It is an opportunity for development - in leadership as well as players who would not otherwise have gotten a game.

Would Wilkie be playing if Carlisle was?
Would Paton be playing if Roberton was?
Our backline is learning valuable leadership skills without Geary and Brown which will stay with them for their career
Seb Ross is seeing what it takes to be Captain of a footy club
Second tier mids are being relied upon more heavily, and for more minutes in the middle without Jack Steven

There's plenty of good to take from this season so far.

You would have been excused if you had written
"We have the current worst list in the AFL".
Fortunately our guys and coaches are trying harder.