Match Thread Saints v Crows Round 6 2019

portosaint

Re: Match Thread Saints v Crows Round 6 2019

Its clear to see this team has improved.

We have not been disgraced against a much more battle hardened footy team. The boys can't and wont be up every week. They were off today. Geary is a massive out. As is Marshall. As were our skills. We butchered the footy. Missed so many opportunities. Ahh well.

We'd had 2 or 3 weeks of outstanding football. The boys have given their all and the match against the Dees was brutal. Whose job is it to assess whether players are stuffed or not?

We have decent depth and we should use that depth. Take a risk on team selection and change things up for our players who have niggles and we may not have run out of puff. No goals so far in the last qtr

I reckon the fact that Kent has been flat, Billings and many others have been down on their usual output, it means that the coaches have failed the supporters and failed to understand that players are not machines

Still they’re f****** bunnies Saints. f*** me. What a thrashing!!!!!!!!!!

We don't have any depth.

Shallow as all hell.

Our backline is absolutely cooked.

scallopsroe

perfectionist wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2019 7:51pm
scallopsroe wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2019 7:47pm When Bruce is having a quiet night our forward line are a pack of midgets making it easy for the Crows to clear and rebound. Our clearances and contested ball are shocking. Lift!
having a quiet one? He's on one leg. If he was a horse they would put up the screens. We were too short on the forward line and they were too tall. They were able to get an extra man back too easily. That's a coaching (planning) problem.
If he was on one leg why the hell play him? Was he injured during the game. Dal suggested he came into the game carrying a niggle. Poor selection again. I suppose we wait for Max King to get match fit :cry:

scallopsroe wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2019 8:02pm
scallopsroe wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2019 7:47pm When Bruce is having a quiet night our forward line are a pack of midgets making it easy for the Crows to clear and rebound. Our clearances and contested ball are shocking. Lift!
having a quiet one? He's on one leg. If he was a horse they would put up the screens. We were too short on the forward line and they were too tall. They were able to get an extra man back too easily. That's a coaching (planning) problem.
If he was on one leg why the hell play him? Was he injured during the game. Dal suggested he came into the game carrying a niggle. Poor selection again. I suppose we wait for Max King to get match fit :cry:
If Bruce was no good could have easily brought in Joyce and played Battle forward.

Crossy66

Bruce did a fitness test before the game. Should not have played.
A few too many injuries, and we were off today. No big deal, it happens.

saintkid

The_Dud wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2019 8:04pm
scallopsroe wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2019 8:02pm
If Bruce was no good could have easily brought in Joyce and played Battle forward.
Exactly. Bruce played injured today and that was damaging to the team. He shouldn't have played as the Crows' defenders had a field day on him, given he was on one leg.
Last edited by saintkid on Sat 27 Apr 2019 8:11pm, edited 1 time in total.

Saintly66 wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2019 7:52pm
Cairnsman wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2019 7:49pm
Saintly66 wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2019 7:46pm Hahaha well done dmac, absolute flog. 2 on 1 and you jump all over him and give away a free.
Anyone that calls an AFL player a flog especially thier own is deadset carnt
Hahahahaha, people are allowed an opinion. Don’t be so precious buddy.
Your comment about dmac is pathetic. All class aren’t you

" A few will never give up on you. When you go back out on the field, those are the people I want in your minds. Those are the people I want in your hearts."

— Coach Eric Taylor - Friday Night Lights

Should have taken early chances to put scoreboard pressure on crows. We didn't they won. Kent poor tonight. A few othwrs flat but my god longer is average at best.

Saintly66

terry smith rules wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2019 8:11pm
Saintly66 wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2019 7:46pm Hahaha well done dmac, absolute flog. 2 on 1 and you jump all over him and give away a free.
Yawn, a difference of opinion doesn’t mean fan boys included in the discussion. Cya champ

Outcoached IMO. Our long down the line and switch tactics are well documented by round 6 and the Crows covered it like a blanket.

Just guessing, but I reckon we missed the on-field coaching from Geary.

Dunno what game the Longer lovers were watching, he did almost nothing. Well done for taking some marks that it's his job to take, but he was no good. Not the future. He punched the ball up in the air from a centre bounce!

Oh well, on to next week. At least we've got some tape on what not to do.

No big deal

Coaches staying true to the saying; "we're all in it together" and you have to reward all the guys from last week and just play them no matter if they're carrying niggles especially when they assured Cho that they'd be fine

Fitness staff had some doubts but coaches helping out the boys so they still get a match payment.

Use the whole god damn list. Play a bloke like White who is fit and in form. Drop Kent 2 weeks ago for his poor form and perhaps he plays a bit fresher today. We did it with Stuv, so we also need to be mindful of managing all the players
Last edited by Scollop on Sat 27 Apr 2019 8:19pm, edited 1 time in total.

Saintly66

shrodes wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2019 8:14pm Outcoached IMO. Our long down the line and switch tactics are well documented by round 6 and the Crows covered it like a blanket.

Just guessing, but I reckon we missed the on-field coaching from Geary.

Dunno what game the Longer lovers were watching, he did almost nothing. Well done for taking some marks that it's his job to take, but he was no good. Not the future. He punched the ball up in the air from a centre bounce!

Oh well, on to next week. At least we've got some tape on what not to do.
Haha yeah longer wasn’t great. Off day from most though can only get better next week.

Saintly66 wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2019 8:12pm
Yawn, a difference of opinion doesn’t mean fan boys included in the discussion. Cya champ
Not sure what your comment even means. But I know this most of posts in the last month have been bagging 36. You are just a little boring and like a broken record

" A few will never give up on you. When you go back out on the field, those are the people I want in your minds. Those are the people I want in your hearts."

— Coach Eric Taylor - Friday Night Lights
guitars4

Well I think it was pretty obvious today that we are feeling the effect of a very tough few weeks .It is very difficult to keep backing up week in week out with our list .After quarter time the run just seem to slow but full credit to the boy's they gave it their best but the Crows just way too good. Too many passengers today but hopefully we will learn from this even if the next few weeks might be a a little more challenging .

Bruce G McAbee

When was the last time we beat this mob?

Think of me long enough to make a memory.

Cairnsman wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2019 7:46pm
The_Dud wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2019 7:41pm I think the boys drank a bit of their own bath water after last week. Wanted to work for about the first 20 minutes then nothing since.
Are you kidding farkwit. Coming up against a side that is ahead of us in the development curve and needed to have a crack. That plus shook the boys, coaches and club when Lones went down.
Just no farking clue about anything.
The game turned when Lonie went down. He's going to be a big loss.

We will bounce back.

Bruce shouldn't have played. Longer may not play again after that. Kent and Sincs not doing enough for too many weeks this year.

Paton and Battle were great. Backline still pretty good, to only lose by 5 goals and get smashed in the clearances like we did.

Bruce G McAbee

I will give credit where a bit of credit is due, Longer played the best game I have seen him play for a long time.
However, his game was no where as effective as Marshalls is to us. We get a lot more clearances because of Marshall's ability to get the ball in the middle and get it out with a handball or kick.
Longer dies not have this ability, but as I said, he took some good marks and got a few possessions.

Think of me long enough to make a memory.

Linton Lodger wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2019 8:27pm
The_Dud wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2019 7:41pm I think the boys drank a bit of their own bath water after last week. Wanted to work for about the first 20 minutes then nothing since.
Are you kidding farkwit. Coming up against a side that is ahead of us in the development curve and needed to have a crack. That plus shook the boys, coaches and club when Lones went down.
Game had turned before then.

Bruce G McAbee wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2019 8:26pm When was the last time we beat this mob?
July 2011

guitars4 wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2019 8:23pm Well I think it was pretty obvious today that we are feeling the effect of a very tough few weeks .It is very difficult to keep backing up week in week out with our list .After quarter time the run just seem to slow but full credit to the boy's they gave it their best but the Crows just way too good. Too many passengers today but hopefully we will learn from this even if the next few weeks might be a a little more challenging .
Agree with this.
For a young side the below par performance didnt surprise.
Pretty clear that Bruce shouldnt have played, but Marshall dropping out probably forced their hand.

Would have liked to see Battle thrown forward in the last Q with Membrey and let Bruce go to Walker.

Still thought the team effort was strong.
Lonie going early clearly upset our front pressure.
Parker very good...will tear some games apart down the track.

Saintly66

terry smith rules wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2019 8:22pm
Saintly66 wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2019 8:12pm
Not sure what your comment even means. But I know this most of posts in the last month have been bagging 36. You are just a little boring and like a broken record
I’ll break it down for you, cairnsman commented and you jumped in with a comment (hence you’re the fan boy). Not sure if you mean me in the last month or the forum as I’ve only mentioned him a few times in the last couple of days. All good

The_Dud wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2019 8:35pm
Linton Lodger wrote: Sat 27 Apr 2019 8:27pm
Game had turned before then.
No it hadn't. Adelaide had brought it back to an even contest after we'd dominated early. They hadn't taken control. Lonie was close to BOG when he was injured. Our forward pressure disappeared when he went off.