I don't care if I get Permanently banned

ListManager

I don't care if I get Permanently banned

Firstly I want to make it crystal clear, I don't blame or hold any grudges against Paddy.

Mc Cartin was the biggest mistake this club has ever made. I have said it all along, when I am investing pick 1, I am not using it on a supposed athlete that has diabetes. If any of the people responsible for drafting Paddy are still at the club then they should be sacked. This one stupid mistake has cost the Saints big time.

We should have traded him a couple of years ago when he might have netted us a late second round pick. Now he is worth nothing.

NeXus Nick is back but where is Joffaboy????

Re: I don't care if I get Permanently banned

Billy Barrot?

Lol.

ListManager

Enrico_Misso wrote: Mon 11 Mar 2019 2:36pm Billy Barrot?
True...that was bad. Probably in the top 5.

ListManager

ListManager wrote: Mon 11 Mar 2019 2:40pm
Enrico_Misso wrote: Mon 11 Mar 2019 2:36pm Billy Barrot?
True...that was bad. Probably in the top 5. At least Ian Stewart had already won 2 Brownlow's with us before winning another one with Richmond.

ListManager wrote: Mon 11 Mar 2019 2:34pm Firstly I want to make it crystal clear, I don't blame or hold any grudges against Paddy.

Mc Cartin was the biggest mistake this club has ever made. I have said it all along, when I am investing pick 1, I am not using it on a supposed athlete that has diabetes. If any of the people responsible for drafting Paddy are still at the club then they should be sacked. This one stupid mistake has cost the Saints big time.

We should have traded him a couple of years ago when he might have netted us a late second round pick. Now he is worth nothing.

I don't agree.

The problem was, that we would have picked Petracca with pick 1 if we didn't go with Paddy. And he's no world beater. I think it's just down to bad luck to be honest. One of those drafts where the top 2 have turned out ordinary, an guys down a bit further have come good.

I agree. I like Paddy and have always thought he could become something good, but it is growing more and more apparent his body just isn’t up to it, and the red flags were there from before he was drafted.

I said we should have gone with Petracca then, and I still stick by that now.

The_Dud wrote: Mon 11 Mar 2019 3:38pm I agree. I like Paddy and have always thought he could become something good, but it is growing more and more apparent his body just isn’t up to it, and the red flags were there from before he was drafted.

Fair enough - but when put in that context, it's hardly the biggest mistake ever.

Petracca is Ok. Nothing more. Don't think he'll ever even reach the 'very good' category either.

Brayshaw, DeGoey, Lever and Steele are the best from that draft.

If the choice cam.down to Paddy or one of those guys, then the error would appear far greater. But compared to Petracca, I'm not particularly fussed.

so what don't you care about if you get permanently banned ???

ListManager

The_Dud wrote: Mon 11 Mar 2019 3:38pm I agree. I like Paddy and have always thought he could become something good, but it is growing more and more apparent his body just isn’t up to it, and the red flags were there from before he was drafted.

I have also said all along we should have picked Petracca. He may not have set the world on fire yet but he will. Give him another 5 years and he will be in the top 5 midfielders in the comp. Paddy on the other hand will be just a memory.

ListManager wrote: Mon 11 Mar 2019 5:40pm

I have also said all along we should have picked Petracca. He may not have set the world on fire yet but he will. Give him another 5 years and he will be in the top 5 midfielders in the comp. Paddy on the other hand will be just a memory.
Agreed. Paddy won’t make it as much as it pains me to say it. He’s too fragile. Concussion will be the end of him.

Petracca will be shown to be a far better choice in long run. Can’t believe we stuffed it up

ListManager wrote: Mon 11 Mar 2019 5:40pm

Agreed. Paddy won’t make it as much as it pains me to say it. He’s too fragile. Concussion will be the end of him.

Petracca will be shown to be a far better choice in long run. Can’t believe we stuffed it up

The way Paddy fell back into that contest raised the ire of a commentator enough to say that he is 'awkward..the way he goes about it" or something to that effect. After watching it it seems he sort of went soft - as in he didn't brace his shoulders - as he backed into the others, even after it appears he would have seen them. That got me wondering. Perhaps he has been advised to do that, kind of like cars have crumple zones, but then again, his course backwards was diaboical. Eyes on the ball for sure, but he was leaning back and had his center of gravity kind of 'floating' as he was hit, leaning backwards.

So what is going on? He has poor peripheral vision no doubt not helped by the head gear, plus his posture at the contest was poor?

Oh Paddy. What to do?

Also I don't think he looks as skinny as made out.

I've always been a supporter of Paddy, but he hit that contest half arsed. I'm not saying he wasn''t courageous, there's difference and he is very courageous. Then there was the fortunate free kick/mark in the first quarter where he should not of given Caleb Daniel a chance. He has got to learn to hit the footy hard and stick his bloody knee up, or play at Sandringham until he does.

Now the concussion, he was off the ground for less than 2 minutes before they decided he was done. Is that enough time for a concussion test? I have no doubt that he has had many instances of concussion, but I'm starting to wonder if we have a doctor who leans more towards his/her own arse coverage, rather than diagnosis.

I still remember exactly where I was standing when I saw the news on my phone that we had drafted Paddy - the disappointment was pretty strong - word had got out that it would happen and me like almost everyone on forums like ss could not believe it - Petraca was a no brainer -

You might say petraca hasn’t set the world on fire and maybe not - but just like on that day 5 or whatever years ago I still wish we had picked Petraca

Did Paddy die?

Not picking Judd is way, way, WAY more of a drafting blunder and morseo as we did it as we thought we would still get him anyway.

As noted above if we had not have taken Paddy it would have been Petracca instead.

Did Paddie die?

saint6709 wrote: Mon 11 Mar 2019 7:01pm I still remember exactly where I was standing when I saw the news on my phone that we had drafted Paddy - the disappointment was pretty strong - word had got out that it would happen and me like almost everyone on forums like ss could not believe it - Petraca was a no brainer -

You might say petraca hasn’t set the world on fire and maybe not - but just like on that day 5 or whatever years ago I still wish we had picked Petraca
Petracca has played 63 games. McCartin has played 35.

To be honest, if we'd picked Petracca (whom I also thought was a no brainer), I'd be dirty that we overlooked Brayshaw, Lever DeGoey and Jack Steele.

I don't for a second wished we'd picked him. I think that in hindsight, we were stiff to get the no. 1 pick in that draft. The whole draft at this stage appears underwhelming, with the standout top 2 barely in the top 10 in hindsight.

I have the solution

Given St Kilda have won just the one premiership in their history, that now over 50 years ago, we just disband the Club

Then all the keyboard experts on here can direct their energies - I was going to say intellect, but ...... - to more meaningful pursuits, if capable

Sometimes events happen - look at Phillip Hughes

Both McCartin and Roberton are in receipt of the required support having the unfortunate histories they have - and they both remain on an AFL List including playing last weekend.

With distinction

We trust they are both back on the field at soonest and enjoying the rewards for their commitment and endeavours which are beyond doubt

To the top wrote: Mon 11 Mar 2019 9:04pm I have the solution

Given St Kilda have won just the one premiership in their history, that now over 50 years ago, we just disband the Club

Then all the keyboard experts on here can direct their energies - I was going to say intellect, but ...... - to more meaningful pursuits, if capable

Sometimes events happen - look at Phillip Hughes

Both McCartin and Roberton are in receipt of the required support having the unfortunate histories they have - and they both remain on an AFL List including playing last weekend.

With distinction

We trust they are both back on the field at soonest and enjoying the rewards for their commitment and endeavours which are beyond doubt
Should we also bring back the yellow jumper for white flag round.

Big mistakes/disasters:

- Pissing-off the dual 'Champion of the Colonies' medalist. Cost us at least one flag.
- Hitting the celebratory champers before the 1913 GF. Cost us the flag.
- Billy Barrott (as Enrico said). Cost us flags.
- Not fixing the interest rate on the loan to build Moorabbin in the early 70's. Cost us flags, and almost our existence.
- Pissing-off George Young over his wanting to return home in 1979.
- (Still) not properly acknowledging all the hero players and coaches who took massive unders on what we owed them so as to keep the club in existence in the 1980's. Shame on us. :oops:
- Not handling a young Tony Lockett better when he first came to the club. Cost us flags.
- Not looking after Nicky Winmar better.
- Giving up on Tassie coz "Anyone, anywhere, anytime" expediently became a forgotten mantra. Cost us money, memberships, and the chance to establish a 'foreign fortress'.
- Being stared-down by a local Floppsy council over poker machines. Moving to outer Seafolly. Yet, ironically, the pokies never moved.
- Letting the bulldozers into Moorabbin. (The only time this club has reduced me to tears. :cry: ) Cost - incalculable.
- Getting screwed by the media over the Kimmie saga. :x Her gripe was not with our players, but with that bloke who has just returned to the Skunks. Yet Eddie kept any mention of that out of the mass media. Cost us millions in lost sponsorship.
- Not picking Cyril Rioli coz we needed a ruckman. (Though understandable at the time.) Cost us at least two flags.
- Dropping the golden goose when it was handed to us on a platter - the return to JO. Cost - incalculable.
- Banning Listmanager (or anyone else) - please don't do it mods'.

But hey, it's not all doom n' gloom. (Somehow) despite all that, the AFL's enfant terrible still in hanging in there. And is still, the only club in the competition that does not do vanilla. :D

And just wait till the good Doctor's (secret) hard work behind the scene eventually pays off, and we return home to our suburb! 8-)

Paddy was one of many bad decisions made by the club in recent years. While Petracca isn't a star yet, he is a dangerous player who would comfortably be in our starting 18 and has the potential to get much better.

Our amateur decision makers got scared by the Tom Boyd deal, panicked and picked a guy with MAJOR questions marks at pick 1 at a time when we really needed to nail our drafting. Pushing out Goddard and Dal Santo were also mistakes while we held onto lesser senior players who were clearly not going to be a part of our next successful team.

The biggest issue I have is that The Tractor went to the Dees and is helping them improve.

I will fair dinkum spew up big time if they win the flag in with their current crop and before we do.

Cairnsman wrote: Mon 11 Mar 2019 7:43pm Did Paddie die?

As a footballer, yes.