training fri 1st Feb

spiral3

training fri 1st Feb

Managed to catch training yesterday, the first part of training was full match practice
lots going on with 40 odd saints on the field at once, so hard to track everyone, especially unfamiliar newbies, my apologies

Jack Steven - attack on and desire for the footy outstanding
Gresh - very lively, playing mostly mid and taking the game on. disposal and decisions a bit off at times but looking to create. solid unit. very high pitched voice when calling for the ball, funny
Billings - got a bit of it, not as much as the other match sim I saw a couple of weeks ago
Paddy - got a few quality grabs and kicked one or two. out-bodied and positioned a few times by defenders. good hands and decisions with ball in close. opposed to Darragh mostly. still with the bent leg kicking and led with his head for a ground ball....wearing helmet. looks very fit, actually has some muscle definition in calves now
Bruce - played forward and in ruck, trounced in ruck, did ok
Roberton - back into it, intercepting etc, did well
Dunstan - looks very fit prob slimmer too, still iffy decisions and too cute with kicks at times
Acres - got caught a lot (same as a couple of weeks ago). overthinking it and trying to do too much. decision making not great. one nice clearance when played in centre.
reckon this is his go, less time to think, see ball, get ball, dispose.
Sinclair - got a fair bit of it in game
Coffield - a couple of his trademark runs through HB-Centre, nice attacking footy, needs to sharpen up kicks/decisions inside 50
Steele - solid game
Darragh - did pretty well
Kent - got a bit of it, loves a dash, one sided
Hannebery - not sure he played all the game, mentioned on saints site he played but didn't really notice him sorry
Sam Abalaskis - miles off it at the moment. is tall and pretty agile. that's all so far. weak in running drills (not surprising)
Billy - didn't notice any touches but smashed a few packs. timing into packs seemed better. very physical in ruck
Lewis Pierce - like this kid, wants the footy, gets it in close. seems pretty agile, can mark. prob beaten in ruck but didn't pay close attention.
Paton and Dmac - fan of both, both look very fit. Dmac not getting to right spots a few times - corrected by coaches - played around wing
Battle - didn't notice him too much - played back so didn't notice him at first
Clavarino - like this kid, gets very involved, intercepting and distributing. reckon he'll get a run this year. still light though, out bodied by stronger types
Hunter - didn't seem to get heaps of it in match but did some really nice things, very slippery customer. will be a gun, mark my unsubstantiated words! :)
outstanding in later drill with mass numbers in tight space. his dual sidedness, clean hands, evasion and decision making exceptional

others to stand out in tight space drill were billings (vision, composure), bruce (good for a big guy), steele, roberton (evasion)
fwd group marking practice later on was kinda interesting, Parker nice leap but kept spilling them. Paddy the standout, timed his leaps well and marked most of them

overall game was pretty scrappy, bad decisions and F50 entries, probably more points than goals too. some decent ball movement at times. decision making still a worry. 1st choice defensive group worked well
it was fairly breezy for goal kicking, so some excuse there

new guys (Parker, Hind, Young, Wilkie) didn't jump out at me - although heaps going on with two teams full of saints, might have missed them a bit
Robbie Young got hit or tackled by Paddy and injured shoulder region - was not a happy camper!! seemed pretty serious - went off with Doc, unable to move right? arm - shoulder was taped - pre-existing prob?
Phillips - rolled ankle but seemed not too bad

Carlisle - running laps - BIG UNIT
Langlands, Long, Armo, Bytel, Rice - not sighted training

Choppa

Re: training fri 1st Feb

Thanks for that

you will have to wander further on Monday if thinking of it-
They are training at Seaford before the community camp/ training camp on the Peninsular.

spiral3 wrote: Sat 02 Feb 2019 7:56pm
Bruce - played forward and in ruck, trounced in ruck, did ok
Hopefully this is because we cant manage 4 rucks in a training simulation

I will bash my head into the wall if he lines up in the ruck in the seniors again (planned I mean).

avid

Thank you very much for the report.
Love getting some detail to go on, during the drought.

Thanks for the report. Silly question but was lonie there? Also not surprised new guys didn't stand out yet. There is a reason they were over looked previously but hopefully one comea good

mordiboyz

Thanks for the report, I couldn't make it down so great to hear a detailed report.

One of the problems with new recruits/players is the existing players don't look for them in play movements. Hopefully the gameplan is structured to getting them involved in transitions.

spiral3

DJ Higgins wrote: Mon 04 Feb 2019 9:04am Thanks for the report. Silly question but was lonie there? Also not surprised new guys didn't stand out yet. There is a reason they were over looked previously but hopefully one comea good
Yeah he was, generally looks pretty good at training.
New guys - hard to comment too much as I am not familiar with how they look/move. So hard to pick them out on field amongst all the action.
Was surprised though when doing 150 sprints after match sim that Hind wasn't quickest in group of 4. Dunno if he was knackered, unfit or under instruction to hold back
Can't remember who was quicker in the group but it wasn't a noted speedster.
Blacres brought up the rear in his group which surprised me
Robbie Young was giving 110% and catching the group in front of his

spiral3

Glad people enjoyed the post, wish I could have taken in more detail!

This is an incredible post, you must be superbly talented at observation, a normal human would've only done 10% of what you've posted!
#xmen #evolution

Anyone know our next open training date/time.....thanks

lewdogs

Fantastic training report, really appreciated.

I think training is on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. If you call up the club and speak to reception they are really open about it.

skeptic wrote: Sun 03 Feb 2019 4:37pm
I will bash my head into the wall if he lines up in the ruck in the seniors again (planned I mean).
Do we need an intervention, Skeptic?

SaintPav wrote: Thu 07 Feb 2019 6:56pm
skeptic wrote: Sun 03 Feb 2019 4:37pm
Do we need an intervention, Skeptic?
Might help me save the brain cells I have left...