Our Debt a year ago was over $12Mill.....

Re: Our Debt a year ago was over $12Mill.....

outside66 wrote: Fri 30 Nov 2018 2:07pm

I'd approach it as 'bringing Acland Street to Moorabbin' by doing the following;

Im going to be cheeky and raise the ire of DrSpaceman
wouldnt it just be easier to move the saints to JO?

ausfatcat wrote: Fri 30 Nov 2018 9:36am

The club has more assets than debt's for the first time since I have been looking at the annual reports (15 years) that's a good thing
Im going to fly blind without looking at the balance sheet and surmise that increase is simply accounting for the fixed asset in the new building

Im going to ask another cheeky question - is it ours to sell it if we need funds?

we can sell the free hold lease, which is valued at...…. 14mil

The Real Numpty

Winning!!! So much winning!!! :D :D :D

First was the defeat of the communists in both houses at the recent mid terms. :twisted: A stunning victory, believe me.
Then, my very great friend 'The Guy sweeping more communist hippies from power last weekend, right here, in the Victory state election! Guy, he is a great and magnificent man. Because he is, a Guy. Not a woman, like Crooked Hillary. :evil: Believe me folks.

And now. More winning!

The great christian gridiron team, St Kilda. The Saints! :D They have run up a $12 million dollar debt!

Can you believe that result folks??? Stunning! :D :D :D This is great and wonderful news folks! Because just like me, this great christian gridiron team won't ever pay taxes again! That's very entrepreneurial. And very patriotic. Believe me.

(But they will still have to stand for the playing of the Stars and Stripes. :mrgreen: )

I'm so happy, I even rang my great friend, the St Kilda prime minister Greg Westistheway. He is a great and magnificent man, because he knows that 'the west' is the way. No southern Mexican hippie muslims with their beards, or Chinese with their President Winnie The Pooh. Not for Mr Westistheway. Believe me!

And finally. I rang up to congratulate the coach. My very very great friend, Alan 'the' RiChoSon. The second greatest coach ever! And nobody knows coaching like Alan 'the' RiChoSon. Nobody! (Except me, of course. :mrgreen: )

And Alan 'the' RiChoSon told me. He told me. To my face on the phone. Many times, that he is very very confident that the mighty Saints can make it back to back to back flags in 2019! He is very very confident about that. :D

Winning!!! So much winning!!! :D :D :D #makingwinningsomuchwinninggreatagain.

If only we had been allowed to pay for performance instead of a percentage of the salary cap, the club would be out of debt already.

The Real Numpty

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Sun 25 Nov 2018 5:19pm Like. Club is turning the corner with this stuff.
Mr TheodoreRooseveltLogan, I couldn't agree more with you might great friend! :D

Our mighty team the Saints, the pride of New Orlean, believe me. Our great team is run by entrepreneurs and patriots. They have drained the billabong! They know that only socialists pay taxes. (And those people who aren't quite orange like me, and so they have to be working for their panda President Winnie The Pooh over in Jy-nuh. They pay taxes too, because they aren't orange enough. :mrgreen: ) But our Board of entrepreneurs, they, they have autistically managed our finances so that we will never have to pay taxes again. Can you believe that? Never again!

Our Board is smarter than two thirds of the so-called big businesses out there in the billabong swamp. Can you believe that!?! Two thirds!!! :lol: https://mobile.abc.net.au/news/2018-12- ... o/10614916

We are winning!!! We are winning so much! We are winning things that people don't even know that we are winning about. We are winning things that we don't even know we are winning what about. #makingwinningbynotpayingtaxgreatagainwinningwinningwinningJy-nuh

sunsaint wrote: Fri 30 Nov 2018 5:16pm
outside66 wrote: Fri 30 Nov 2018 2:07pm

I'd approach it as 'bringing Acland Street to Moorabbin' by doing the following;

Im going to be cheeky and raise the ire of DrSpaceman
wouldnt it just be easier to move the saints to JO?
the JO is the GO

St Lenny

outside66 wrote: Fri 30 Nov 2018 2:07pm I reckon the Social Club at Moorabbin was rolled out horribly and completely missed an opportunity to generate money this year and particularly, over summer.

It currently is just a shiny pokie den with no restaurant (cafe is horrible and you can get better quality food at the Shell down the road). Also, there was zero effort put in by the club to make money for interstate games i.e. BBQ, sell merch, have non-playing players present, put something on for the kids etc.

What should've been done;

- Make it a lively place that locals want to go to as the only nearby bar/pub is the Sandbelt which is awful.
- Have good food (A full commercial kitchen is not even being used), get involved with some local brewhouses (2 Brothers in Moorabbin comes to mine) for the craft beer scene
- Tap into our bayside-peninsula heartland wine regions
- Have good music where people can have a boogie on a Fri/Sat night, offer the space to local community groups during the day (elderly and disabled activity groups)
get the Sunday sessions happening
- Plan for a bigger picture music festival (Sandringham are currently applying to do one)
- Make it known publicly as to when the Saints train. There is no such thing as a 'closed' session as they are in a public space therefore encourage Sainters to get down to training.

Basically do things that locals want to come spend their money at St Kilda FC irrespective of whether they follow the Saints or not. That IMO is where the Saints could really get back to being relevant and a true community group. Rather than sitting their with our hand out and 'making' money at the expense of problem gamblers whilst doing nothing positive.
Have to agree, all good ideas. Food trucks are awesome as well.

outside66 wrote: Fri 30 Nov 2018 2:07pm I reckon the Social Club at Moorabbin was rolled out horribly and completely missed an opportunity to generate money this year and particularly, over summer.

It currently is just a shiny pokie den with no restaurant (cafe is horrible and you can get better quality food at the Shell down the road). Also, there was zero effort put in by the club to make money for interstate games i.e. BBQ, sell merch, have non-playing players present, put something on for the kids etc.

- Make it a lively place that locals want to go to as the only nearby bar/pub is the Sandbelt which is awful.
- Have good food (A full commercial kitchen is not even being used), get involved with some local brewhouses (2 Brothers in Moorabbin comes to mine) for the craft beer scene
- Have good music where people can have a boogie on a Fri/Sat night, offer the space to local community groups during the day (elderly and disabled activity groups)
- Plan for a bigger picture music festival (Sandringham are currently applying to do one)
- Make it known publicly as to when the Saints train. There is no such thing as a 'closed' session as they are in a public space therefore encourage Sainters to get down to training.

Basically do things that locals want to come spend their money at St Kilda FC irrespective of whether they follow the Saints or not. That IMO is where the Saints could really get back to being relevant and a true community group. Rather than sitting their with our hand out and 'making' money at the expense of problem gamblers whilst doing nothing positive.
As someone that is often bemoaning the lack of eating and drinking options in the area I say your ideas could float. 2 Brothers is great but I'd go one further, I'd talk to them about a Saints range of beers and get some complimentary marketing. It would be a great transition away from pokie generated revenue towards alcohol generated revenue. A much more acceptable community service.

I'd also look at reviving Thursday nights at the social club and having the team sheets read out to the punters like the good ole days. I pumped heaps of coin into the meat tray raffles back then.

outside66

Cairnsman wrote: Tue 18 Dec 2018 6:29am

As someone that is often bemoaning the lack of eating and drinking options in the area I say your ideas could float. 2 Brothers is great but I'd go one further, I'd talk to them about a Saints range of beers and get some complimentary marketing. It would be a great transition away from pokie generated revenue towards alcohol generated revenue. A much more acceptable community service.

I'd also look at reviving Thursday nights at the social club and having the team sheets read out to the punters like the good ole days. I pumped heaps of coin into the meat tray raffles back then.
Saints beers is a great call! That would be a great experience if you were able to hear the team selection before the media. The CS also do the banner on a Thursday where i assume it would be moved from the bowls club to Moorabbin next year which would be a good opportunity for others to help out with or at least watch the process.

And maybe we could also get Philip Morris to sponsor us again

Hi OS66, your post above is along the lines of exactly what we need to do to capitalise on what makes our club so great and unique and lovably non-conformist. Food and drink, bands, movies... the place to be. :idea:

Only thing is... not to bring Ackland Street, Fitzroy Street, the Upper and Lower Esplanade et al to Moorabbin. No point.

No.

We go to them!

Our beloved club must join the Good Doctor.. and return home.

Dave McNamara wrote: Tue 18 Dec 2018 10:45pm Hi OS66, your post above is along the lines of exactly what we need to do to capitalise on what makes our club so great and unique and lovably non-conformist. Food and drink, bands, movies... the place to be. :idea:

Only thing is... not to bring Ackland Street, Fitzroy Street, the Upper and Lower Esplanade et al to Moorabbin. No point.

No.

We go to them!

Our beloved club must join the Good Doctor.. and return home.
Give it a rest Dave. Never going to happen.

Anyway the place is overrun with thugs and gangs these days.

s*** suburb.

Premium89

outside66 wrote: Tue 18 Dec 2018 9:45am

Saints beers is a great call! That would be a great experience if you were able to hear the team selection before the media. The CS also do the banner on a Thursday where i assume it would be moved from the bowls club to Moorabbin next year which would be a good opportunity for others to help out with or at least watch the process.
As an interstater, I’m looking forward to a chance to visit the new facilities when I’m in town next.
I reckon with some of the brains trust ideas floated above, you’d have a lot of interstate saints paying visits too - how good would a Thursday night team announcement be before a Friday night game (without even mentioning fi—ls)?

Jacks Back wrote: Tue 18 Dec 2018 10:13pm
And maybe we could also get Philip Morris to sponsor us again
Great idea but the advertising would have to be covered over so the club come accross as being a responsible citizen. They could put a bike shed over on the old outer wing to sell cigs to the high school kids while government officials hand out pamphlets providing advice on the negative health effects of smoking and how to access tax payer funded cancer treatment.

The merchandise department could sell skins in Saints colors to jazz up the plain packaging.

If our crowds last year were on budget we would’ve added $2M onto the bottom line due to the new fair Marvel Stadium deal that is IDENTICAL for all clubs now.

That’s our focus, not trying to be cool with F&B which can be a fleeting success and requires a lot of resources/skill/luck to be profitable

On a side note, there’s a ripper litter cafe opened up on the corner of South Road and Chapel road called Custodian Kitchen. Been there for about 6 months. By far the best coffee in the state IMO and really good food.
Check it out if you’re looking for a feed

ListManager

skeptic wrote: Fri 21 Dec 2018 10:12am

On a side note, there’s a ripper litter cafe opened up on the corner of South Road and Chapel road called Custodian Kitchen. Been there for about 6 months. By far the best coffee in the state IMO and really good food.
No advertising on this site. This should be an automatic IP Ban...................................Only joking!!

NeXus Nick is back but where is Joffaboy????

a litter cafe - is it one of those ultra ridiculous pet indulgence places
you know - doggy petit fours @ $10 a pop

moorabbin has changed since my old stomping days - there would be a few sharps rolling in their graves/armchairs

Is Frank's Hamburgers still out there?

skeptic wrote: Fri 21 Dec 2018 10:12am

That's a fair wrap, I'll have to check it out.