Welcome Dan!!!!!

Re: Welcome Dan!!!!!

Linton Lodger wrote: Sat 15 Sep 2018 3:36pm Great acquisition, will teach our boys what consistency and backbone is all about. I'm also sure we're confident we'll get him fully fit and healthy. This could be a brave but inspired move by the Club.
Rooey was always an imposing presence, showing the team how it should be done.

Just think of any workplace where you've had someone that really goes above and beyond,
others might not follow the lead, because they expect that person
to do all the heavy lifting.

David-Lee

The pursuit of a man past his prime because he trains hard ( when he is fit) and is a leader in the mid field is rubbish.
The Saints board are pursuing Hannebury because these small brains think he's the answer.

Claiming our mids dont know how to train makes any person posting such rubbish a baffoon.

guitars4

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Mon 17 Sep 2018 1:51pm
The Recruit wrote: Mon 17 Sep 2018 1:06pm
tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Fri 14 Sep 2018 9:56pm
St Loxton wrote: Fri 14 Sep 2018 9:44pm All you negative Nellie's should probably wait until he at least plays a season for us before you write off this appointment.
I know this has been a horrid season and we are all spitting chips at our staff.
But FFS slap yourselves with a wet fish.
No one here knows how this will turn out. OR what this will cost our club in $$$$ or picks.
Correct. People will be pleasantly suprised at how well Dan turns out to be for the Saints. Recruitment won't stop with him also. Heaps of cap space left.
Agree with this. Great get for on and off the field. Money to us over the next two-three years literally means nothing...there is so much to spend. He will set standards off he field with training and attitude. If we can emulate some of the swans culture we will be doing well. Great get saints.

Not only that he will make us more competitive to attract further FA. What are the chances of his mate Parker flying down for our future first pick..?

If he was going to the hawks we would all be saying...’how do the hawks get all these great plaers’ But for once a real star of the game want to be a saint and we all s*** our pants about it. Seriously grow up. If we want to play with the big boys we have to take some risks....that lack of risk taking is what has got us in our current situation as a club. Safe and boring.

We should welcome Hanners with open arms and have faith that our fitness staff (who all things considered have done an excellent job) will get him right. Surly we all agree he is better than Armo and Weller even at 80% fitness.

And anyone jumping at shadows at the prospect of trading a first round pick for him serious just stop it!! We won’t give up anything more than a second rounder.

Let’s just hope the swans get Gaff because a Parker Hannebery selection at Moorabbin in 2019 will get me back to Marvel stadium round 1 with a smile on my face.
All correct. Well said.
I respect your opinion & I'm not shitting my pant's & totally agree me must take some risk's but please take a risk that will inject a bit of out side speed & some elite ball use & as much as Dan will give us some leadership he dosen't give us the other two IMO

Why do people keep thinking the club is only happy to just recruit Dan? There is much more to come now the Polec card has fallen. Even more after Gaff makes a decision.

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Mon 17 Sep 2018 9:28pm Why do people keep thinking the club is only happy to just recruit Dan? There is much more to come now the Polec card has fallen. Even more after Gaff makes a decision.

I’m champing at the bit for more news. In fact, I just want the Finals to hurry up and be over so it’s all about the trades and draft.

Junior

Collingwood now into him

A champion team will always beat a team of champions.

prwilkinson wrote: Mon 17 Sep 2018 9:30pm
tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Mon 17 Sep 2018 9:28pm Why do people keep thinking the club is only happy to just recruit Dan? There is much more to come now the Polec card has fallen. Even more after Gaff makes a decision.

I’m champing at the bit for more news. In fact, I just want the Finals to hurry up and be over so it’s all about the trades and draft.
Me too. Hall...Wingard...Shiel...Scrimshaw. Pretty sure the club is looking at them. If not for next year even.

What about Jack Martin for Mav Weller - straight swap? 😂

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Mon 17 Sep 2018 9:34pm
prwilkinson wrote: Mon 17 Sep 2018 9:30pm

Me too. Hall...Wingard...Shiel...Scrimshaw. Pretty sure the club is looking at them. If not for next year even.
Cool.

Sounds like we’re in the box seat.

guitars4

dragit wrote: Mon 17 Sep 2018 10:10pm What about Jack Martin for Mav Weller - straight swap? 😂
Throw in Armo as the steak knives done deal !!! :wink:

Junior wrote: Mon 17 Sep 2018 9:33pm Collingwood now into him
Eddie, please, give us a lifeline.

vacuous space wrote: Mon 17 Sep 2018 10:35pm
Eddie, please, give us a lifeline.
It looks like 50:50

Only wants to go to Saints.

Jordan Lewis is a good reference point for a salary cap easing trade...

Lewis plus Picks 57 and 68 went to Melbourne, with the Hawks receiving Picks 48 and 66 in return.

So essentially a slight third round upgrade.

Lewis was older than hanners, but playing far better football on the cusp of being traded.

Our 2019 2nd rounder is well overs, we should offer up our picks 57 & 75 for Hannebery plus their 67 & 85.

silverhalo

saintbob wrote: Sun 16 Sep 2018 9:51pm Barrett was on SEN - Off the Bench yesterday and said there was a real stink about the Hannebery deal and that buyer (Saints) should beware!!!
Liam Pickering also said the deal had a bad stench to it.
I agree ....it reeks to high heaven - I've now lost all faith in our hierarchy to make a sensible decision.

silverhalo

They can have him.....PLEASE!!!!!!!!

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Mon 17 Sep 2018 10:43pm
That might have something to do with the length of contract we are offering...or more likely it's the only offer on the table where he can leave the Swines

silverhalo wrote: Tue 18 Sep 2018 12:31am
They can have him.....PLEASE!!!!!!!!
Time for us to bend over and we will get rodgered by Sydney now

guitars4

Because we are offering $800,000 a year & nobody else is that stupid.

guitars4 wrote: Tue 18 Sep 2018 12:45pm
He will not be on 800k a year. Will also have a 5th year trigger option. Sydney will pay part of his salary too but we probably won't hear about it formally.

guitars4

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Tue 18 Sep 2018 2:33pm
He will not be on 800k a year. Will also have a 5th year trigger option. Sydney will pay part of his salary too but we probably won't hear about it formally.
Ok I quoted $800,000 because that's what's been thrown around weather its true who knows & I admit I don't know , so what do you think he's worth?

guitars4 wrote: Tue 18 Sep 2018 3:28pm
Ok I quoted $800,000 because that's what's been thrown around weather its true who knows & I admit I don't know , so what do you think he's worth?
600-650k

guitars4

tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Tue 18 Sep 2018 3:35pm
Fair call I would probably be leaning to toward 600 than 650 but a lot better than 800 IMO
600-650k

someone correct me if I'm wrong, but did we do a medical on Jaeger O'M,
and the docs said his meniscus or cartilage had healed BUT was too narrow/thin
to withstand footy?

I thought I saw that somewhere

guitars4

guitars4 wrote: Tue 18 Sep 2018 3:47pm
tedtheodorelogan2018 wrote: Tue 18 Sep 2018 3:35pm
Fair call I would probably be leaning to toward 600 than 650 but a lot better than 800 IMO
600-650k
Don't know what happened there but my reply didn't come through so I will go again.Fair call I would be leaning more toward 600 that 650 but a lot better than 800 IMO