Sam Gilbert Gone

Re: Sam Gilbert Gone

St Chris wrote: Wed 05 Sep 2018 10:57am Thanks Gilbo.....

http://www.saints.com.au/news/2018-09-0 ... ll-gilbert
Nice to see Richo describing Gilbo as “having played some strong footy”. Pleasing. 208 games from a rugby background. Awesome effort.

st.byron wrote: Wed 05 Sep 2018 4:56pm
St Chris wrote: Wed 05 Sep 2018 10:57am Thanks Gilbo.....

http://www.saints.com.au/news/2018-09-0 ... ll-gilbert
Nice to see Richo describing Gilbo as “having played some strong footy”. Pleasing. 208 games from a rugby background. Awesome effort.
Second round pick in the 30s too... was a steal in that draft

oldie60

Well done Sam. A true Saint with a big heart. Always prepared to do the team things regardless of who you played on ( most of the time blokes way bigger ). Good Luck for whatever you decide to do.

Ajantis wrote: Wed 05 Sep 2018 4:10pm Apprently gilbo never north was the last game and so did the players, he just didnt want a big send-off.

Cheers
Interesting the timing of his dismissal.

I wish they wouldn’t draw it out like this. I’m mean we’ve still got bloody Meatball on the list!

saintadamski

saintspremiers wrote: Wed 05 Sep 2018 6:19pm
Ajantis wrote: Wed 05 Sep 2018 4:10pm Apprently gilbo never north was the last game and so did the players, he just didnt want a big send-off.

Cheers
Interesting the timing of his dismissal.

I wish they wouldn’t draw it out like this. I’m mean we’ve still got bloody Meatball on the list!
There are many meatballs on the list....which variety are you referring to?
Newnes Bolognes?
Weller Marinara?
Sinclair Carbonara?
Dunstan Primavera? etc etc

On ya bike Sam.

Thanks for your efforts in over 200 games.

No Holds Bard

Friends, Romans, countrymen, lend me your ears; I come not to bury Gilbo, but to praise him.

All the world's a stage, and all the men and women merely players. They have their exits and their entrances; And this one man in his time played many parts.

Some are born great, some achieve greatness, and some show greatness upon their sidestep.
He didth bestride the narrow field like a Colossus; and petty men walked past the Gilbo' sidestep, only to peep about to find themselves dishonourable graves.

Cowards die many times before their deaths; the valiant Gilbo' never taste of death but once.

Despite his ungainly action, a man more sinned against than sinning.

Gilbo. This above all: to thine own self you were true!

Gilbo. My appreciation's more richer than my tongue.

Gilbo. As ye were valiant, I honor thee! (And to hell wit the rest o that quote.)

Ye cat lovers appreciate this. Tabby or not tabby. Cat, is the question.

200 game player,and not a mention on any news network that i have seen today,bit poor imo

guitars4

Great servant of the club got the best out of what he had to offer & I would like to personally thank him for his contribution to the St.Kilda Football Club. He had his faults & sometimes he made me want to pull my hair out & smash the TV but he gave it everything & you can't ask for more than that. Thanks mate I hope you enjoy the the next phase of your journey :)

Thank you Sam! One of the all time most underrated players IMHO.

The fact that you were one of our best in both those 2010 GFs says a hellova' lot! :idea:
- You helped turned things around when things were rapidly going shyte in the second half of the drawn game.
- You were our shining light when things did go to shyte in the replay. One of our very very few, whom even the raised HGH levels couldn't quell on that sad day.

If one can play well in those two situations, one has to have great talent, and great intestinal fortitude!!! There could hardly be a bigger test in AFL footy. Sam, you (more than) passed the greatest test!

Fast.
A very good intercept mark.
Could play back, key back, wing, forward, on the ball (even a bit of ruck).
Tough-as.
Courageous-as.
Selfless-as.
Great tackler.
And then... there was that sidestep. :lol:

And I reckon the kicking was not as bad as made out. The awkward action seems to 'highlight' things in people's minds. And was actually a very reliable set shot for goal. (As was Clint Jones, btw.)

A criminally underrated star! And at pick 33 - a steal!

So, thank you Sam! :D

People seem to forget just how damn good a player Sam Gilbert was.

But, not all people...

Well done Gilbo!!!

There are a couple of things your teammates should take from your career, and that is you never left a stone unturned and you always gave a 110% for your teammates and the Club.

Bruce G McAbee

The last of our Grand Final teams. Thanks Sam, you gave great service to the club and hopefully they give you a good send off at our 1st home game next year.

Think of me long enough to make a memory.

great servant of the club, theough good times and the bad. All the best Gilbo!

chico2001

Bruce G McAbee wrote: Thu 06 Sep 2018 8:59am The last of our Grand Final teams. Thanks Sam, you gave great service to the club and hopefully they give you a good send off at our 1st home game next year.
Doubt whether some of the duds running this club would have even thought of that based on the current way that it has been handled.

GIILLLLLBBBOWWWWWWWWW

Should have been AA in 2009 & in the squad again in 2010.

Ross had the mid size KPP running backs brilliantly sorted in 09 & 10 with Gilbo or Chips getting free and intercept marking and running out of defence at will.

Tough, quick, agile and honest clubman, a really good career.
One hell of a nice young guy as well, was fantastic with kids and always up for a chat and pic with them.

Have really enjoyed watching your career Sam, good luck.

What a serviceable player he was over the years. Good on him for getting to 200 games. Made a great transition from RL to the indigenous game. There's always room in the club for more players with hearts as big as Gilbo's.

All the best with life after footy, Sam!

Was a favourite of mine for many years because of his run and dash. The last few years his skills and decision making got progressively worse. One of those players that played better with good players around him.

A warrior and great servant. Thanks for the memories.