As List Manager for 2018 what would you do.

Re: As List Manager for 2018 what would you do.

Thank god you don't work at RSEA Park SMS. Enough said.

Cairnsman wrote: Mon 18 Jun 2018 1:43pm Oh yeah and talk of moving Sebby on is ridiculous.
f****** crazy even.

SMS

Easy to see why we will never be good.
Attitude at stkilda is all about love and being fair.

This is elite sport. you wanna hug? go somewhere else.
I want flags. Great teams move on players because THEY know what you guys dont ... and that is THAT all players are simply pawns in yhe name of WINNING!!

hawks - offload mitchell and lewis
cats - chapman, johnson , stokes

where are they now? still relevant.

Ross is not even close to a top 20 midfielder.

If we can magically get a pick 15-25 for him and unload salary? brilliant.

IMO Ross, Newnes, Geary, Gilbert are cancers on his club because they are mediocre and THEY are leading/coaching. I get the feeling Billings, McCartin, Gresham, Sinclair, McKenzie deep down know they can do better and harbour frustration at taking orders from mediocre players.

H.Clark is going to be a star.

OUT
RICHO AND ASSISTANT COAHES
FITNESS COACHES
REXRUITMENT
s*** LEADERS: Ross, Newnes, Gilbert

IN
CARACELLA/RATTEN and new assistants
DECENT FITNESS COACH
IN: 3 picks in this years draft - J.Kelly (2019)

fair dinkum why donyou guys think THIS IS OK!?!

we have some amazing talent. we need to help them.

No one is saying the club doesn't need to make changes. They just have to be the right ones. It seems Lethlean is doing his part in an internal review and the new list manager will do theirs at seasons end.

You don't just flog off your best players in their prime years like Seb Ross.

Hawks and Cats offloading old players, for which they got virtually no return, is totally different to offload Ross, who is in his prime. With Stevens probably gone, don't know about Armo, we do not have a surplus of inside mids anyway - so Ross should stay. I think you underestimate him.

SMS

Fair enough if Armo and KStevens go.

But we CANNOT have dunstan, armo and ross in the same team/midfield THATS BANANAS!!

im just wondering how we get picks?

donwe get a special pick IF koby and robbo bith retire due to injury?
something has to be done

who else can we get value for??

Ross is only one i can see. Rest are future stars or not worth anything.

A broom is sweeping through Moorabbin come the end of the season in any case. Alot of staff and players would be nervous.

Whiskey

Totally agree SMS. Too many players rated way too highly based off disposal numbers and effort rather than disposal quality. Some people even had ross in their best players despite half his touches going to the opposition. He and newnes are the same far too often.
Accepting this is continuing to accept mediocrity.

SMS wrote: Mon 18 Jun 2018 2:18pm
IMO Ross, Newnes, Geary, Gilbert are cancers ...
I stopped reading at this point

Stupid. Unnecessary. Dumb. Immature. You are now on ignore. I know what you meant, but I don't like hearing that word associated with a person

You've lost all credibility even if some of your ideas were worthy. Why use a word like that to describe guys that are representing the club and just doing their job. They don't pick themselves. Hang shyte on the club and coaches and the footy department but lay off with the derogatory words against players

Viscount Jeremiah

The_President wrote: Mon 18 Jun 2018 11:32am How many goals would Membrey kick if he was leading out to Shiel and Kelly!
Wouldn't that be glorious!

SMS wrote: Mon 18 Jun 2018 2:18pm Easy to see why we will never be good.
Attitude at stkilda is all about love and being fair.

This is elite sport. you wanna hug? go somewhere else.
I want flags. Great teams move on players because THEY know what you guys dont ... and that is THAT all players are simply pawns in yhe name of WINNING!!

hawks - offload mitchell and lewis
cats - chapman, johnson , stokes

where are they now? still relevant.

Ross is not even close to a top 20 midfielder.

If we can magically get a pick 15-25 for him and unload salary? brilliant.

IMO Ross, Newnes, Geary, Gilbert are cancers on his club because they are mediocre and THEY are leading/coaching. I get the feeling Billings, McCartin, Gresham, Sinclair, McKenzie deep down know they can do better and harbour frustration at taking orders from mediocre players.

All those players were over the f****** hill.

I don't know why I am even bothering to reply to you as clearly you have NFI.

Calling Saints players cancers on their club is about as low as you can go.

SMS wrote: Mon 18 Jun 2018 2:52pm

What age are you, ten, eleven?

SMS wrote: Mon 18 Jun 2018 2:18pm
IMO Ross, Newnes, Geary, Gilbert are cancers on his club
disgraceful comment

you have no idea on what builds culture at a club

in fact you no idea about much i suspect

" A few will never give up on you. When you go back out on the field, those are the people I want in your minds. Those are the people I want in your hearts."

— Coach Eric Taylor - Friday Night Lights

saynta wrote: Mon 18 Jun 2018 5:28pm
SMS wrote: Mon 18 Jun 2018 2:52pm

What age are you, ten, eleven?
A Somalian that doesn't write a word of English could do better than that sentence.

Looking to trade Billings could be a more viable than Ross. Ross is a leader and a possible future captain. Billings looks unhappy and probably needs a new lease of life. He could fetch a great deal in return, providing we play our cards right come trade period.

Sadly, David Armitage looks to be at the twilight of his career. The injuries have simply taken their toll on his body. At 30, he may not be up for another pre-season so he'll probably be contemplating retirement at this stage.

If Roberton and Stevens are forced into retirement, it is a great shame, but it does open up some more extra cap space. There are number of fringe players staring down the barrel of being delisted as well.

wally

I don't quite understand why we would trade out Ross for a second round pick to gamble on someone who probably
wouldn't get a game for a year or two then give them 60 games to see whether they are any good.

wally wrote: Mon 18 Jun 2018 6:34pm I don't quite understand why we would trade out Ross for a second round pick to gamble on someone who probably
wouldn't get a game for a year or two then give them 60 games to see whether they are any good.
Was the skipper on Sat and polled 9 votes in the AFLCA awards. Made the AA squad last year. He is entering his peak years right now. Is averaging nearly 29 touches a week and is 6th in total disposals in the AFL.

Agreed. Trading out Ross is madness.

felix

6621104 wrote: Mon 18 Jun 2018 10:00am Wellll.... interesting points and some worth a debate. I don't know the depth of the draft pool, but if it is as deep as some say then we need another pick. That will take a player with some upside - Ross fits the bill and as he has some limitations (i.e. his kicking) that limit his effectiveness he could be the one to go. A big possession winner but much as has been said about many other big possession winners- does he hurt you?
I agree to an extent with those who see the benefits of having Armo in the side - he was good on the w/e and more damaging than Ross- and if he had kicked straight then would possibly have been BOG. But having Ross, Dunstan and Armo in the same team is too much of the same type - all too one sided, not quick, no outside run forward.
We need to improve our field kicking - those mid career players who have not been able to do it- like Ross, will still be handing the ball over at the end. (see Gilbert, Geary).
Tough times need tough decisions. I would trade Ross.
[/quote

If we had outside mids you may find Seb to be a better player .

Good thread
Don’t think we have anything except Carlisle which gets u top 10
Ross a late first early second at best
Newnes late second at best (people have seen him kick sadly)
Really rooted up this draft

I think we need to remember that Ross is and always has been a bit of a B grader who surprised everyone with a pretty good season.

That's not to say he's no good, it's just that he is what he is.

We overrate him because he won a B&F in a shitty side during a shitty year.

I think our expectations are too high really. He's a decent onballer but not great, and would really good as a stopper/3rd rung mid with two good ones in there with him.

Would you swap him for a top 10 pick? Of course. But no one would offer that.

Would you swap him for pick 20? Well we got him at 20 odd and I think it's fair to say that we got really good value for him.

Required player definitely.

We need a minimum of three departures

De-list

Wright (a goer, but lacks polish)
Weller (he tries so hard, but I don't know if there's any more he can offer us)
Gilbert (it saddens me to do this to such a great servant)
Stevens (retirement, very unfortunate)

Keep 1st round pick and use it on the best midfielder
Pick 57 and 75?

Target Sloane, Gaff, and McGovern. If McGovern comes off, de-list Brown. With luck, we'll get one of those three.

No point going completely bananas with de-listings, as we have a lot of youngsters still being trialled and assessed. We'll need to de-list at least three more in 2019, and that's where Lonie, Goddard, Armitage, and Minchington need to be re-assessed.

The disrespect some posters have for Armitage disturbs me. I know many think he's cooked, but i believe if he can really overcome his recent injuries he can give us two more good years. He's a quality player and is huge around the clearances.

I notice Ross doesn’t handball as much as he used to in previous season.... or so it appears to me.
I always felt his hands were his best weapon, plus he used to do more baulking when handballing. Often he was too slick for his teammates.
This year his play seems more direct and opts to kick immediately before sizing up options, sadly they are often helicopter kicks. That wasn’t his style previous years. Is he playing under different instructions I wonder?

Also I think he has bulked up too much in the thighs this year and lost a bit of pace. IMO, Ross is another player who I think has incorrectly overdone the weights pre-season. Just as Dunstan & Weller did, and they have both seen the error of their ways!!!!

One season doth not a Sebby make or break. He's alright and will improve as we do next year. As list manager what would I do? (I know it's rhetorical but anyway); first I'd see what I have
Backs Carslisle Austin White
HB Webster Marshall Geary
C Clarke Acres Billings
HF Long McCartin Membrey
F Battle Bruce Gresham
Ruck Longer Ross, Steven
Int: Freeman, McKenzie, Coffield, Phillips Em:Rice, Newnes, Joyce

I'd think, not so bad. Maybe look for a mobile ruckman and a backup CHB. Not too many weak links there though, I'd think. Of course I know I'd be fired because the coaches would over egg the game plan and there is no obvious captain.

wally

I don't like trading future picks either.

Should be Armo and Gilbert's last year
The same tools who want to get rid of Seb also wanted to get rid of half the side like Webster and Dunstan , they also called for Rices head before he even played a game you have no idea

According to the same posters we couldn't get No 1 and number 3 picks right so exactly how do we get a mid 20s pick for Seb and turn it into a champion pick????? NFI you lot