Petracca v Paddy put to rest

congorozides

Re: Petracca v Paddy put to rest

I think Paddy could be a 80-100 goal a season fwd....

....If he played in the Ovens and Murray or Geelong League.

JR23

Petracca looks confident and composed and seems to have loads of upside. Paddy still seems anxious, drops some sitters and kicking for goal ( when he gets a chance) is a challenge. Also he is one or three more concussions from retirement. I think Petracca was a better pick... in hindsight

JR23

Also unfortunately Paddy is one to three further concussions from retirement. I know where my preference would be. All great in hindsight but we recruited him with issues

Petracca is a talented FIGJAM whose arrogance probably elevates his team.

Paddy is a fat guy in a helmet.

Petracca way better...we all know it....most of us suspected it on draft day.
Any objective assessment of Paddy would have him as a disappointment.
23 games, showed the occasional glimmer, but mostly a liability. 3/10

Petracca sitting on a solid 7/10 with prospects to be better.

pfft wait till Paddy wears his new helmet in then look out.....

I don't think I can see McCartin ever progressing to becoming anything close to an A-grade AFL player. On the other hand, I can see Petracca's career transcending to those heights.

Thanks to our numpty-dumpty recruiters, we'll always be looking back and shaking our heads with dismay as to why they chose Billings over Bontempelli and then McCartin over Petracca. Imagine if our team had the Bont and Petracca right now!

What a bunch of hindsight heros behind a keyboard. Bloody legends potting one of our kids in Paddy...the lot of you. Must make you feel reaaallllyyy good about yourself.

Who cares what Petracca is doing in 2018. Get over it. We didn't select him 5 years back. Get over it.
Last edited by parkeysainter on Sun 27 May 2018 7:58pm, edited 1 time in total.

So as a big bodied mid fielder, who does Petracca compete against to get a match at St Kilda?

We seem to lack outside run and skill apart from Number 3 - and this compounded by deficiencies in our run and carry defensive personnel hence a lack of transition goals from defence is our problem

As a key forward who does Mc Cartin compete against to get a game for St Kilda noting the now absence of Riewoldt?

The decision to take Mc Cartin was the correct decision

Mid fielders are generally more plentiful than key position players as any analysis of successive Drafts confirms

We have some bigger problems than Mc Cartin

The stats from yesterday's match identify a number of players who had very high disposal numbers but what did they contribute with those disposals?

Unfortunately, and in my continuing opinion, we just have too many players the opposition want the ball in the hands of

We should not be playing any side an opposition is happy giving no attention to because they are not concerned with those players having the balk in hand because they do not gain metres to give advantage to the likes of Mc Cartin

I noted a response saying no one was responsible for those who have kicked 6 goals against us over the last 2 matches because we zone off so everyone is responsible

What a nonsense

If someone is cutting us apart or is assessed as being able to cut us apart surely someone is given the job of taking the influence of that player out of the equation?

And, yes, the Captain of the Club is said to be the premium "lock down" mid sized defender in the AFL

So, again, where is responsibility?

parkeysainter wrote: Sun 27 May 2018 7:57pm What a bunch of hindsight heros behind a keyboard. Bloody legends potting one of our kids in Paddy...the lot of you. Must make you feel reaaallllyyy good about yourself.

Who cares what Petracca is doing in 2018. Get over it. We didn't select him 5 years back. Get over it.
I think I need my helmet

What a real load of horseshit thread this is. Why don't we go back over every draft the Saints have been invoked in since the first one back in the 80's...lets compare everyone against who we didn't take. What a stupid and f****** pointless exercise of the highest magnitude.

Why don't we bring up not taking P. Dangerfield one pick before McEvoy back in '09 on whenever it was...what a load of horseshit it is to even bother looking back at something like that - same as Paddy v Petrecca. If Paddy was kicking 50 goals a year the same experts that can't wait to rip the club would be hailing it the greatest decision ever! FACT!

You need to get the f*** over it folks, WE made the decision so we’ve got to cop it sweet!!!

congorozides wrote: Sun 27 May 2018 6:49pm Petracca just kicked 3 goals and 22 disposals against a top side.

Yes it has been put to rest.
Assuming straight kicking they're the sort of stats Billings gets WHEN HE'S TERRIBLY OUT OF FORM.

Couldn't care who they played, they won by ninety odd points, so they're Petracca's numbers in a game his team dominated. Big deal!

If we had taken him at No.1 he would have been the worst midfielder (if that's what he is) to be taken at No.1 ever. We've already got his type of player, Jack Billings, and I'm backing Billings to be a whole lot better.

Tom Lynch (GCoast) is going to end up getting at least a $1.2million per year contract. Is he worth that? Not even half! What would they pay Plugger if he were around today? Because he was at least 50 times better than Lynch.

Still you would have us take a forward who sometimes runs through the midfield, is not elite by foot and I suspect one sided, with Pick 1. Don't get me wrong, I think Petracca is a good player, but an elite midfielder (a Lenny Hayes) never. De Goey on the other hand....

Sure Paddy has to get himself up physically for AFL footy and that's more challenging than normal for him. However on numerous occasions he does things and you wonder how on earth did he do that, I've never seen that with the smaller Petracca. Pound for pound, Paddy's skills are surperior to Petracca, better kick, better mark and his footy IQ is also higher than Petracca's. Petracca is playing a far easier position than Paddy and has 20 to 30 more games on him.

Put to rest my arse, history may very well show McCartin, Brayshaw, De Goey and Heeney to be far better than Petracca.
Last edited by Linton Lodger on Sun 27 May 2018 8:19pm, edited 1 time in total.

parkeysainter wrote: Sun 27 May 2018 8:15pm What a real load of horseshit thread this is. Why don't we go back over every draft the Saints have been invoked in since the first one back in the 80's...lets compare everyone against who we didn't take. What a stupid and f****** pointless exercise of the highest magnitude.

Why don't we bring up not taking P. Dangerfield one pick before McEvoy back in '09 on whenever it was...what a load of horseshit it is to even bother looking back at something like that - same as Paddy v Petrecca. If Paddy was kicking 50 goals a year the same experts that can't wait to rip the club would be hailing it the greatest decision ever! FACT!
good point..why is it that the other clubs make the right choices.

The Fireman wrote: Sun 27 May 2018 8:18pm
parkeysainter wrote: Sun 27 May 2018 8:15pm What a real load of horseshit thread this is. Why don't we go back over every draft the Saints have been invoked in since the first one back in the 80's...lets compare everyone against who we didn't take. What a stupid and f****** pointless exercise of the highest magnitude.

The Saints make the right choices...and bad choices...and average choices. Same as every other club.

Was selecting Long at 23, Rice at 49 and Phillips at 56 bad choices for example? Please tell me if they were. Be honest.

The Recruit

Jake stringer looked like an amazing pick mid 2016.....let’s wait and see how The Flog goes over the next 2-3 years

Degoey is much better than petracca and looks like he might be in the red white black 2018 all going well...just glad that figjam attitude isn’t at Moorabbin

ss1986

parkeysainter wrote: Sun 27 May 2018 8:24pm

The Saints make the right choices...and bad choices...and average choices. Same as every other club.

Was selecting Long at 23, Rice at 49 and Phillips at 56 bad choices for example? Please tell me if they were. Be honest.
One gets the sense you might have something to do with the abomination that is our recruitment department....

Citing Long, Rice and Phillips at this stage is a huge stretch.

Long looks overs at 23 at this stage anyway. Phillips may be a steal. And Rice.... about right. Wouldnt go getting excited about any of them at this early stage, much less justifying how good those picks were.

saintbob wrote: Sun 27 May 2018 8:17pm You need to get the f*** over it folks, WE made the decision so we’ve got to cop it sweet!!!
no..WE didn't make the decisions..incompetent selectors did..and no "WE" will not get over it ..after all this time can't we expect something better ? We need to get angry and let them them know about it.

ss1986

And he failure to go for Devon Smith over Coffield or Clark at his stage looks to be a poor call too.

problem is mate..they make so many more bad decisions than good...would you agree ?

ss1986 wrote: Sun 27 May 2018 8:43pm

One gets the sense you might have something to do with the abomination that is our recruitment department....

Citing Long, Rice and Phillips at this stage is a huge stretch.

Long looks overs at 23 at this stage anyway. Phillips may be a steal. And Rice.... about right. Wouldnt go getting excited about any of them at this early stage, much less justifying how good those picks were.
Just one of many examples I used. Wasn't Acres a good pick at 18 and Dunstan at 19 from the same draft? Gresham at 18? Seb Ross at 25? Jack Steven in the early 40's? There are plenty more.

Rice, Long and Phillips will be around for a long time. Guys that have barely played and look very comfortable out there so early in their careers are going to be players. Same with Coffield and Clark who were very good selections.

ss1986 wrote: Sun 27 May 2018 8:44pm And he failure to go for Devon Smith over Coffield or Clark at his stage looks to be a poor call too.
Devon Smith was drafted around 5-6 years ago so how is that relevant to selecting Clark and Coffield at pick 7 and 8 last year.

We went for D. Smith and no one knows what was offered or if we really wanted him. D. Smith was never worth a 1st round selection if we did so its not even relevant. What a load of horseshit.

ss1986

IF you are a St.Kilda employee Parkey, I’m getting a wonderful insight into the culture down there.

Utter delusion and backslapping and excuse making.

Acres at 18 is a bang average selection, and Dunstan at pick 19 is a very very average call. Break even at the VERY best.

The Fireman wrote: Sun 27 May 2018 8:46pm

problem is mate..they make so many more bad decisions than good...would you agree ?
No I don't. We are similar to most clubs. I would love to see the stats but we have selected a lot of good players over the years going all the way back to Riewoldt and Kossie 18 years ago. Since the recent rebuild, I reckon we have drafted quite well and you will never get a win with every draft pick. No one ever does and ever will. People still forget that even guys like Acres, Dunstan and Billings are still quite young. Their best footy is still ahead of them.

ss1986 wrote: Sun 27 May 2018 8:54pm IF you are a St.Kilda employee Parkey, I’m getting a wonderful insight into the culture down there.

Utter delusion and backslapping and excuse making.

Acres at 18 is a bang average selection, and Dunstan at pick 19 is a very very average call. Break even at the VERY best.
Employee? Are you Con G?

Acres and Dunstan are good AFL players now and going to get even better. Average? Are you serious?