Selfie with Joffa ???

Does anyone know who that Saint supporter was that took a selfie with that neanderthal Corfe ? I am still cringing.

Aren't things embarrassing enough ????

oh when the

Re: Selfie with Joffa ???

I thought you meant St Joffa

Yeah, I had a little b it of sick come up in my mouth. Puke inducing,

The Fireman wrote: Wed 23 May 2018 9:23am Does anyone know who that Saint supporter was that took a selfie with that neanderthal Corfe ? I am still cringing.

“That Saint supporter” is an example to ALL of us in how to conduct ourselves as “supporters”. Good on him!

saint-stu

thejiggingsaint wrote: Wed 23 May 2018 12:21pm
The Fireman wrote: Wed 23 May 2018 9:23am Does anyone know who that Saint supporter was that took a selfie with that neanderthal Corfe ? I am still cringing.

“That Saint supporter” is an example to ALL of us in how to conduct ourselves as “supporters”. Good on him!
Certainly better than throwing punches!

1ac46a38

saint-stu wrote: Wed 23 May 2018 12:28pm

Spot-ON! St Stu

I've never had a problem with Joffa. Loves his club, hams it up - attends EVERY week. It's what makes the footy colourful. Yeah he's a bogan, so what? He seems harmless enough and anyone who loves footy is off to a good start with me. The fact that Joffa was prepared to have a photo with an opposition supporter tells me that he doesn't take himself or the game too seriously. Sometimes I think we all need to take a breath and realise it is just sport - yeah I know a multi million dollar, possibly billion dollar industry. But all we are in the scheme of things, is ppl who love the game. I'd much rather we embrace each other occasionally and have a laugh about our clubs differences, than go to war over it like they do in the UK.

Moods wrote: Wed 23 May 2018 12:47pm I've never had a problem with Joffa. Loves his club, hams it up - attends EVERY week. It's what makes the footy colourful. Yeah he's a bogan, so what? He seems harmless enough and anyone who loves footy is off to a good start with me. The fact that Joffa was prepared to have a photo with an opposition supporter tells me that he doesn't take himself or the game too seriously. Sometimes I think we all need to take a breath and realise it is just sport - yeah I know a multi million dollar, possibly billion dollar industry. But all we are in the scheme of things, is ppl who love the game. I'd much rather we embrace each other occasionally and have a laugh about our clubs differences, than go to war over it like they do in the UK.
Moods my friend! Well said! I’ve heard Joffa Corfe on the radio from time to time speaking about the voluntary work that he does (with the Salvos I THINK). Our bloke in the Red-White-&-Black suit is a lovely guy. I’ve got a16-game membership and invariably our paths cross at the game, he always gives me a big smile and a warm handshake! I’ve also been lucky(?) enough in the past few seasons, to have attended at least one interstate game each season; on EVERY one of those occasions I’ve seen him there! Last season at Adelaide Oval ( V Port) even I kept (for me) a relatively low profile, in the face of those SA ferals. NOT the “man in the suit” he was right there, showing his colours, in the face of a genuinely UGLY mob!
I don’t know about the rest of us on here, safely ensconced with our keyboards, but for me, it took a special kind of moral fibre and bottle to venture into the heart of the Colondud Cheer Squad, dressed in OUR colours!
As I say, an example to us ALL! More power to him! (IMHO)

Sorry but I''m gonna puke.

I would rather throw a punch at myself than to do that. I'm still cringing.

The Fireman wrote: Wed 23 May 2018 1:44pm Sorry but I''m gonna puke.
Puke away Colleague! :lol: :lol: :lol:

thejiggingsaint wrote: Wed 23 May 2018 1:51pm
sorry mate, have a deep dislike for the Skunks going way back to the Vic park days. I would seriously rather have a lobotomy than get anywhere near that bogan. , and at the end of the day, not including violence, it is still us and them. So yes I will puke away.

PS The violence I have seen over the years was mainly at Collingwood games.

It’s just a game.

We don’t want to end up like soccer crowds.

The Fireman wrote: Wed 23 May 2018 2:11pm
thejiggingsaint wrote: Wed 23 May 2018 1:51pm
sorry mate, have a deep dislike for the Skunks going way back to the Vic park days. I would seriously rather have a lobotomy than get anywhere near that bogan. , and at the end of the day, not including violence, it is still us and them. So yes I will puke away.

PS The violence I have seen over the years was mainly at Collingwood games.
This!!!!!

Always stated that had Bin Larden got a team together, I would barrack for them when they played the filth!!!!!

Saintly66

Thought joffa was a tool until I met him a bunch of times at Melbourne City home games, actually a good bloke with a good heart.

When I was just a little boy, I used to be a Saints mascot. Dressed up in a full saints kit I would run out with the team each week along with a number of other saints kids.

At Filth park, the Pies supporters would spit at us.

Tho only photo I would want taken with that rednecked bogan would be if he was lying face up in an open coffin.

saynta wrote: Wed 23 May 2018 4:37pm When I was just a little boy, I used to be a Saints mascot. Dressed up in a full saints kit I would run out with the team each week along with a number of other saints kids.

Tho only photo I would want taken with that rednecked bogan would be if he was lying face up in an open coffin.
Sheesh - generalisation much? What's Joffa personally done to you?

As a card carry Saints member of 35+ years who spent many a long winter afternoon at Vic Park with their vile supporters - I have some empathy for your sentiment.

Having said that ... have you actually met and/or spoken with Joffa? I have the pleasure of doing some fundraising work with the homeless and we asked Jeff Corfe (aka Joffa) to come and speak at a lunch we held. To say it was moving was to greatly understate matters. A quite humble and shy man in private who experienced more adversity in his formative years than most would in their entire life. He is pretty selfless in his work with the underprivileged and to smear his character just because he supports the filth is pretty low. He was moved to tears when someone bid a couple of hundred for a signed copy of his book because that money was going directly into the food tin at a domestic violence refuge later that night.

So - perhaps go a buy a copy of this - - have a read and then comment. At least then you'll be able to comment from a position of knowledge rather than ignorance.

Filth supporting "rednecked bogan" or not - credit where credit is due - I've most certainly met worse human beings.

Saintmatt wrote: Wed 23 May 2018 5:12pm
saynta wrote: Wed 23 May 2018 4:37pm When I was just a little boy, I used to be a Saints mascot. Dressed up in a full saints kit I would run out with the team each week along with a number of other saints kids.

As a card carry Saints member of 35+ years who spent many a long winter afternoon at Vic Park with their vile supporters - I have some empathy for your sentiment.

Having said that ... have you actually met and/or spoken with Joffa? I have the pleasure of doing some fundraising work with the homeless and we asked Jeff Corfe (aka Joffa) to come and speak at a lunch we held. To say it was moving was to greatly understate matters. A quite humble and shy man in private who experienced more adversity in his formative years than most would in their entire life. He is pretty selfless in his work with the underprivileged and to smear his character just because he supports the filth is pretty low. He was moved to tears when someone bid a couple of hundred for a signed copy of his book because that money was going directly into the food tin at a domestic violence refuge later that night.

So - perhaps go a buy a copy of this - - have a read and then comment. At least then you'll be able to comment from a position of knowledge rather than ignorance.

Filth supporting "rednecked bogan" or not - credit where credit is due - I've most certainly met worse human beings.
Each to their own. I have no wish to mix with filth supporters or to read anything associated with said filth.

saynta wrote: Wed 23 May 2018 5:15pm

Each to their own. I have no wish to mix with filth supporters or to read anything associated with said filth.
That's a pretty passive stance from someone who was really happy to smear a person's otherwise good character by way of a gross generalisation. Makes sense.

Saintmatt wrote: Wed 23 May 2018 5:22pm
saynta wrote: Wed 23 May 2018 5:15pm

That's a pretty passive stance from someone who was really happy to smear a person's otherwise good character by way of a gross generalisation. Makes sense.
Where did I smear anyone other than a general statement.

Joffa would call himself a bogan . And I regard him and his ilk as red necks.

Have you ever watched them carry on at the footy. I have.

Add his gold f****** jacket and spare me your bleeding heart.

I hate filth supporters. Always have and always will.

You can love them if you want but leave me out of it.

I recall a final at Arctic Park in the early 90's, where I sat with 4 saints buddies, and to my left was 4 Pies supporters.
The Pies folk didn't rubbish our guys, just rubbished the white maggots (white not green back then) and they cheered their own team.
In final quarter, early on, we got a run on, got 5 goals in front, the Pies folk wanted to avoid traffic,
so as they were leaving, one guy grabbed my hand, said "well done on your win, you bloody deserve it, now next week win again alright!"
Funnily enough, the Pies actually kicked a couple of goals and threatened to come back
(it's a Saints tradition to find new ways to lose a game)
This proves that you can't tar them all with the same brush.
Just sayin

David-Lee

How dare you besmirch the good name of pugalism in footy! I call you to a reckoning my good fellow!

WellardSaint wrote: Wed 23 May 2018 5:45pm I recall a final at Arctic Park in the early 90's, where I sat with 4 saints buddies, and to my left was 4 Pies supporters.
The Pies folk didn't rubbish our guys, just rubbished the white maggots (white not green back then) and they cheered their own team.
In final quarter, early on, we got a run on, got 5 goals in front, the Pies folk wanted to avoid traffic,
so as they were leaving, one guy grabbed my hand, said "well done on your win, you bloody deserve it, now next week win again alright!"
Funnily enough, the Pies actually kicked a couple of goals and threatened to come back
(it's a Saints tradition to find new ways to lose a game)
This proves that you can't tar them all with the same brush.
Just sayin
During the last quarter of the replayed grand final saints supporters started leaving the ground in droves to be replaced in the seated areas by feral aggressive filth supports who were half drunk and abusive.

Several fights broke out around me started by this filth rabble.

I have been going to the footy for over 60 years and in my experience you can tar them all with the same brush, Eddie included.

After supporting the saints for 70 years
...going to watch the saints for over 60 years
and many many years of many many posts on SS
I have come to the conclusion Saynta does not like anyone

What a sad, bitter, thing to say about another person. Still hanging on to bad memories.