Is it time for Bilings to play HBF?

Just a thought.

After a good Round 1, his goal kicking, skills and output are now stagnating. Maybe Richo needs to throw him down back on a HBF or play a sweeper role behind the play to get his confidence back. He has the skills for such a role, but I doubt he has ever played in the backline before. They need to try something with him in any case and don't say chuck him down at Sandy. Not yet anyway.

Only problem is, we are lacking goal kickers and scoring players at the moment so I doubt this will ever happen with Billings. Same problem with throwing Gresham in the midfield more. Yes, both haven't kicked alot of snags this year but what other small forwards do we have that can potentially kick 3 or 4 goals a game? None. Benny Long isn't at that level yet and Minch is miles off in playing again. Lonie...not a chance. We could have picked up Menzel for a 1/4 chicken and chips price!

Re: Is it time for Bilings to play HBF?

been thinking about this a bit over the past couple of weeks.

It worked wonders for Aussie Jones.

parkeysainter wrote:Just a thought.

After a good Round 1, his goal kicking, skills and output are now stagnating. Maybe Richo needs to throw him down back on a HBF or play a sweeper role behind the play to get his confidence back. He has the skills for such a role, but I doubt he has ever played in the backline before. They need to try something with him in any case and don't say chuck him down at Sandy. Not yet anyway.

Only problem is, we are lacking goal kickers and scoring players at the moment so I doubt this will ever happen with Billings. Same problem with throwing Gresham in the midfield more. Yes, both haven't kicked alot of snags this year but what other small forwards do we have that can potentially kick 3 or 4 goals a game? None. Benny Long isn't at that level yet and Minch is miles off in playing again. Lonie...not a chance. We could have picked up Menzel for a 1/4 chicken and chips price!
Totally agree play him on HBF or drop him. He is totally bereft of confidence and his goal kicking is killing him. He now has the WORST goal kicking accuracy of any other player in the AFL. Well done Richo you have developed him perfectly.

bigred wrote:been thinking about this a bit over the past couple of weeks.

It worked wonders for Aussie Jones.
True. Great analogy. Billings would be deadly off a HBF (if he gets going) in my opinion. Maybe he needs a fresh start this season or they could explore playing him HBF in the off season.

Milne

Given his lack of hardness/pressure if he goes there we just want to make sure he can be accountable defensively.

If so I'm all for it. Big fan of Billings and hope he turns his season around soon!

Ok we will go with that; Webster to wing? Membrey HF, Marshall or second ruck FP. White?

The argument about needing goal kickers is void...

He can’t them at the moment regardless

St. Paul

Sir Eric Pearce with the late news. Other threads have suggested this. Why start another one? Look at Moi!

"For when I am powerless, then I am strong."

St. Paul wrote:Sir Eric Pearce with the late news. Other threads have suggested this. Why start another one? Look at Moi!

We can still make the finals so you just Shoosh.

Play him at Sandy and if his disposal doesn't improve then trade him at years end.

That'd take some balls wouldn't it, well, the club doesn't have any so he'll be allowed to continue to butcher it in the ones.

Wayne42 wrote:Play him at Sandy and if his disposal doesn't improve then trade him at years end.

That'd take some balls wouldn't it, well, the club doesn't have any so he'll be allowed to continue to butcher it in the ones.
We ain't going to be trading JB W42. Sorry mate. He will come good.

skeptic wrote:The argument about needing goal kickers is void...

He can’t them at the moment regardless
True, but at least he's getting and will have some shots at the big sticks! :D

It couldn’t hurt and may play him into something resembling form. I reckon Richo needs the attitude that if he’s going down he’s going to go down playing shots. He needs to try things

St. Paul

Dopers are keen, Wayne. All we need is to get something decent from them. It will happen if all agree. JB is not a fan of Elliott.

"For when I am powerless, then I am strong."

St. Paul wrote:Dopers are keen, Wayne. All we need is to get something decent from them. It will happen if all agree. JB is not a fan of Elliott.
You know this for sure, do ya BP?????

Bombers were keen before, old news as you would say ' Eric Pearce'!!!!!!

DIDRIPD!!!!!

footynut

Simple... YES

The problem is his field kicking has also turned to crap. He couldn't hit the side of a barn from 20 metres away on the weekend.

And what's this rubbish about kicking a snag? You snag a goal or sausage roll. You don't snag a snag. Sick of that d**khead at Richmond already.

Jacks Back wrote:

The problem is his field kicking has also turned to crap. He couldn't hit the side of a barn from 20 metres away on the weekend.

And what's this rubbish about kicking a snag? You snag a goal or sausage roll. You don't snag a snag. Sick of that d**khead at Richmond already.
Yep. Apparantly its a snag now! The lingo has changed.

Billings might be able to read the game better from HBF so his skills would and should improve.

Play him in the forward line still, but instead of having him line up for set shots the traditional way, start doing the "round the corner" kick for goal.

If he can't kick straight, then bend em through the big sticks.

It can't be any worse, and might just be better......

Once he gets some confidence, the rest of his play will come good.

And if it still doesn't work, then play him on the wing and tell him to kick it lace out to Paddy.

Yes, mentioned this a week or so ago. He just seems to go to water when the post loom in front of him. If he can get a clear straight run in defence his kicking skills to player might improve heaps along with his confidence. Who knows how our forwards might perform with some good delivery. Might make Paddy smile.

Milne wrote:Given his lack of hardness/pressure if he goes there we just want to make sure he can be accountable defensively.

If so I'm all for it. Big fan of Billings and hope he turns his season around soon!
sounds like a good plan for him to gain confidence and physical hardness / pressure with some straight run and time to better select a team mate who could be a forward.

It could allow Dunstan to move forward to increase the forward pressure. He also is one of the more accurate in front of goal at the moment.

I'd say go for it. He's not hitting the score board off at HFF anyway, so I'd be keen for them to try anything.

A good healthy discussion. It seems the majority would be happy for JB to go HBF. Hopefully the coaching group read this forum! Lol. :lol:

Disagree but good discussion. Id send him back to Sandy rather than HBF. We have enough HBF's at present and rather than take one spot away from a player that will realistically play there in the future I would send him back to Sandy to get his confidence back up.

Is he in the midfield rotation at the moment? Sometimes i forget he’s even playing.