Round 4 vs Cats... Positives

howlinwolf

Round 4 vs Cats... Positives

We went to the game on Saturday and were as disppointed as most with out third quarter.
However I'm hopeful things could change for us against the Cats.
Firstly they copped 4 injuries today. Ablett/Hamstring, Cockatoo/Knee,Cam Gutherie/ankle and Zac Guthrie/Hammy ?
Then they have a six day break and come back from Perth.It was hot there too. Energy sapping.

Then we have the Dogs form reversal this week. They have their Mojo back and I believe we can turn around too.

Our form the last two weeks is not indicative of our true capabilities.

We'll be there next week. Have the tickets. I just have to talk my daughter into coming as she was disgusted last night and was refusing to go to Kardinia Park. :shock:

Robert Harvey's last home game. 24 Aug 2008
StKilda 13.17 def Adelaide 6.11
Drake Huggins

Re: Round 4 vs Cats... Positives

I'd be sticking with your daughter. Smart kid.

"Is this the right room for an argument?"
"I told you once."
"No, you didn't."
"Yes, I did."
"Listen, an argument isn't just the automatic gainsaying of anything the other person says, it's a series of statements designed to support a particular conclusion."
"No, it isn't."
"Oh, I've had enough of this."
"No you haven't"
"Oh shut up."
howlinwolf

No mate, I'm sticking with the club.
She'll be there too.
It was raw emotion after the game.

Harry Taylor and Henderson out as well. It's as good a chance as we can have against them in Geelong.
I have been to a game where we won there and there isn't much a better feeling :-)

Drake Huggins

My missus, a transplanted Pom and saints lover is on side with your daughter. Out of the mouths of babes, hey? My missus is known as "sensible Ruth", for good reason. I think she and your daughter would make fine friends, she sounds wise beyond her young years, howling wolf !

"I told you once."
"No, you didn't."
"Yes, I did."
"Listen, an argument isn't just the automatic gainsaying of anything the other person says, it's a series of statements designed to support a particular conclusion."
"No, it isn't."
"No you haven't"
"Oh shut up."

You're a game man heading down there Howlin Wolf

howlinwolf

Stephen Theodore wrote:You're a game man heading down there Howlin Wolf
Well I actually live in amongst the one eyed bogan throng. Have to look at the front page headlines daily of the Geelong "Ablettiser".
It's sickening to be honest. But if we lose it's a quick trip home to the Bellarine Peninsula :-)

I reckon they're ripe for the taking at the moment.
I noticed they've gone with a more mobile ruckman in Ratogalea. Zac Smith seems to be out of favour as is Stanley.
I'm hoping our own mobile ruckman , Rowan might be the answer.

Also,I'm dreaming of a Bulldogs type renaissance :-)
Now I'm sounding like Jiggster. Where are you Dave ?

Remember this comeback at Kardinia Park Howling?

I was standing behind the goals at the Ford Stand end.
Geelong well on top, then Garry Hocking and Harvs had an interaction near the players race at half time.

Saints came out in the 3rd quarter absolutely ragin'. The moral of the story - Don't poke the bear.

How loud is the St Kilda visiting support at this one?
Last edited by samuraisaint on Sun 08 Apr 2018 9:27pm, edited 1 time in total.

howlinwolf

samuraisaint wrote:Remember this comeback at Kardinia Park Howling?

I was standing behind the goals at the Ford Stand end.
Geelong well on top, then Garry Hocking and Harvs had an interaction near the players race at half time.

Saints came out in the 3rd quarter absolutely ragin'. The moral of the story - Don't poke the bear.

Yes mate. I just replied in your thread actually :-)
I was right there in front of that Hocking Harves incident. Hocking is actually a nice guy but was hard thug on the field. He really unlawfully took Harves out. Harves was really hurt badly but played on to see us sing the song.
Bloody hell I was proud of them !

howlinwolf wrote: I noticed they've gone with a more mobile ruckman in Ratogalea. Zac Smith seems to be out of favour as is Stanley.
I did not watch the game, but I think Blicavs was the main ruck with Ratogalea to rest him.

So yes hopefully it will be Marshall vs Blicavs.

howlinwolf

Exactly !
I reckon the trend is for mobile ruckman. Both Blicavs and Ratogalea are.
It makes a small positive out of last night for me.
Marshall was excellent for a 2nd gamer.
The future imo.

congorozides

Cats are beatable.
Very young side. Similar to us.

Henry, Parsons, Gregson, Kelly, Stewart, Parfitt, Fogarty, Ratugolea, Z Guthrie.

All inexperienced.
Last edited by congorozides on Sun 08 Apr 2018 9:58pm, edited 4 times in total.

Geelong might think it's all just going to happen. I doubt it but who knows.

I live in hope.

boneless23

Drake Huggins, you and your transplanted Pom wife should burn your memberships! There is a bloke on Twitter that can show you how to do it!

Drake Huggins

boneless23 wrote:Drake Huggins, you and your transplanted Pom wife should burn your memberships! There is a bloke on Twitter that can show you how to do it!
Except we keep turning up. Do you? Your Nic implies you don't.

"I told you once."
"No, you didn't."
"Yes, I did."
"No, it isn't."
"No you haven't"
"Oh shut up."

boneless23 wrote:Drake Huggins, you and your transplanted Pom wife should burn your memberships! There is a bloke on Twitter that can show you how to do it!
This!!!!!

Maybe you learnt how to whinge so much by marrying a Pom, explains much!!!!!

boneless23

Drake Huggins wrote:
I always turn up mate... it’s not an option for me. I was sitting next to my best mate tumble weed last night and I reckon he is there because our so called supporters need to grow a pair!

boneless23 wrote:
Drake Huggins wrote:
I always turn up mate... it’s not an option for me. I was sitting next to my best mate tumble weed last night and I reckon he is there because our so called supporters need to grow a pair!
Betya we've been turning up more years than you have. Betya we've coughed up more money for memberships, merchandise, raffle tickets, best and fairest dinners, and countless other donations to this club than a lot of the current day sycophants and paid employees. One quick question bonesy...did you pay for your ticket last night?
Last edited by Scollop on Sun 08 Apr 2018 10:46pm, edited 1 time in total.

I was at that game.

Was a rather dangerous walk back through the car park let me tell you..

Will get done by 80+ this week.

change is coming.

Good on those going. my fav saint memory is sitting amongst Port members in the final round of 97 - expected a bit of curry but gone none. was one fight walking back to the car but a one on one and a young frustrated port fella out of his depth against an older saints fan, who tried to talk him out of fighting and then was nice enough to just cuff him a couple of times until the fellas girlfriend dragged him away. surprisingly the other port fans were actually telling the youngster to leave it alone as well and the sainter safely walked away.
back to geelong - footy is full of surprises. we are playing crap, a bit of heart was shown this week, but forward entries demoralised us yet again. the bullies looked more disinterested last week, but gave enough today to win. never say never.

Look at Geelong's team.
Very young. Look past the hype about the big 3 stars.
They are clearly in a re-build.
They will be not unhappy to finish bottom 8 and pick up a key position player in this year's draft.
Won't make the 8.

Whilst some on here (they are given the unflattering nicks of the bluesky brigade) may question some of the posts put on by some of us less enthusiastic supporters as to our current progress. Not sure there's much point having a pissing contest as to who is turning up. We wouldn't bother posting if we didn't care. I was there with my daughter. The positive I took out of the night is that because no-one is turning up right now we were able to get seats right on the fence centre wing. Fantastic watching the body's cracking in and listening to the boys bantering with each other as there isn't as much noise.

There's actually less pressure on you as well when you don't expect the team to win. I found it less stressful. Still very frustrating at times, but less stressful. It's times like these I realise that the club needs me more than ever. I will reserve my right to complain about how crap we are on here as long as I keep turning up. :D

BTW I should make it clear I spend very little time bagging our players at the actual game. Can't stand that as a rule. But the way things are right now, I'm happy for whingers to turn up at the footy. I reckon we need to take anyone we can get.

Drake Huggins wrote:I'd be sticking with your daughter. Smart kid.
Of course you would!!!!!

Drake Huggins

And you obviously wouldn't because wou'tre a corkhead.

"I told you once."
"No, you didn't."
"Yes, I did."
"No, it isn't."
"No you haven't"
"Oh shut up."

Drake Huggins wrote:And you obviously wouldn't because wou'tre a corkhead.

No worries Drunk Cousins!!!!!

Keep up the abuse, if your not abusing me, then it's Parky's, the coach, the players, the recruiting staff, the caters, car park attendant's etc etc etc!!!!!

I really don't take it personally, as I'm just another person in a never ending list created by your negative defeatist sad life!!!!!

Just a number, as they say, who cares about your opinion, not me, not the coach, not the recruiters, not the caters, not the attendants, not many on here etc, etc,etc!!!!!

All the best though Champion, go well, Drunk Cousins!!!!!

If Dangerfield plays, Geelong loses.

They have lost the last three games he’s played in and won the one he missed.