UMPIRES

UMPIRES

Horrendous game changing and in the end the difference. Frees to Brown and Turner but ignore Acres and Bruce mind blowing. No opportunity for our guys to dispose of the ball North given a eternity.

Re: UMPIRES

We lost by 50 odd points and butchered the footy, the umpiring had nothing to do with it.

FortiusQuoFidelius

shrodes wrote:We lost by 50 odd points and butchered the footy, the umpiring had nothing to do with it.

Set the tone kept them in it early gave them momentum with the free to Brown and so many bulls*** calls.

Maggots are maggots. Never will change towards us. Unbelievable at times but not the reason we lost.

Saint_J

CURLY wrote:Horrendous game changing and in the end the difference. Frees to Brown and Turner but ignore Acres and Bruce mind blowing. No opportunity for our guys to dispose of the ball North given a eternity.
get f%$ked, UmPS are no excuse for that dribble we served up.

portosaint

Non issue today. Not even worthy of a mention. WE were horrendous

saynta wrote:Maggots are maggots. Never will change towards us. Unbelievable at times but not the reason we lost.
Totally agree it wont change.
Totally agree that it did not cause us to lose.

But . . . . .
What we get pinged for holding the ball - they get the free for holding the man!
What the $#)&@$)%&)(#@) was the free against Long at the top of the square for?
How can Geary get both hands on a ball - then it slip through and Waite mark it and it be paid as a mark?
. . . .
. . . .
The list goes on.

It is also not the ones that ARE paid as more often those that are NOT paid that influence the game
And in case you think it is my rose coloured glasses - this was asked of me by a neutral person who I was explaining the game to!

There should be an enquiry.

wasoncestkil58

I didn't notice the umpires, all I saw was a very pathetic effort from our boys. Field kicking was as bad as I have seen.

CURLY wrote:Horrendous game changing and in the end the difference. Frees to Brown and Turner but ignore Acres and Bruce mind blowing. No opportunity for our guys to dispose of the ball North given a eternity.
You post the same ridiculous type posts about umpiring week in week out season after season.
I know you are yanking the chain as it is not possible for a human being who is able to type to be so stupid and believe what you write.

We were lucky today that their terrible kicking for goal saved a 100 point humiliation.

Even maggots aspire to one day becoming flies and soaring away from their miserable existence upwards and onwards to much greater heights
Perhaps there's a lesson there for all of us.

sunsaint wrote:Even maggots aspire to one day becoming flies and soaring away from their miserable existence upwards and onwards to much greater heights
Perhaps there's a lesson there for all of us.
There are one or two maggots who have been umpiring our games in recent years who I wish would fly away.

There were some absolute shockers at the cheer squad end in the second half.

Acres hit high attempting a mark 15m out.

Nathan Brown pushed in the face as he tries to get a hand on a North shot on goal.

Brown again was mauled attempting a mark, play on and goal.

Everyone sees the ones against their own team.
Saw heaps of North fans going crook at the umps during last quarter as well.
OP is a one trick pony!

whiskers3614 wrote:Everyone sees the ones against their own team.
OP is a one trick pony!
Yeah, maybe but in this case stats don't lie.

Last week against the Lions, a game we won, the free kicks were 20 to 26 for the lions

This week, a game we lost the numbers were 16 to 23 to the roos

Thats a total of 36 frees to the saints against 49 to the opposition

This is merely a continuation of the saints being bent over by the maggots, a situation that has been going on for years..

whiskers3614 wrote:Everyone sees the ones against their own team.
OP is a one trick pony!
Yeah, maybe but in this case stats don't lie.

Last week against the Lions, a game we won, the free kicks were 20 to 26 for the lions

This week, a game we lost the numbers were 16 to 23 to the roos

Thats a total of 36 frees to the saints against 49 to the opposition

This is merely a continuation of the saints being bent over by the maggots, a situation that has been going on for years..
OK, so the saints have been bent over by the umpires for years.
Why does this happen?
What do they have to gain?

Surely you cannot subscribe to Curly's AFL conspiracy theory?

Maybe if our players are so poor at every other skill in the game, they are also mugs when it comes to drawing/not conceding frees!

No. Maybe it all goes back to when Thomas had a punching bag dummy dressed as a maggot in his office.

If I had an answer I would let you know.

Could be , that like the general,population most maggots grew up supporting teams others than our beloved saints, or maybe they are on the take betting against us when the odds are good like yesterday's odds were,

Corruption is everywhere these days, even with our cricketers.

Certainly, whispers in the sky was real, so maybe curly has a point.
Last edited by saynta on Sat 31 Mar 2018 6:20pm, edited 1 time in total.

whiskers3614 wrote:Maybe if our players are so poor at every other skill in the game, they are also mugs when it comes to drawing/not conceding frees!
Yeah, maybe, but when marks are not paid and our forwards can get mugged with impunity whilst the opposition is rewarded for doubtful tiggy touchwood frees, I'm not so sure about that.

Maybe the AFL is trying to umpire us out of existence. If they are, they are doing a damn fine job of it.

What I do know though is that yesterday I was ashamed of my beloved saints.
Last edited by saynta on Sat 31 Mar 2018 6:18pm, edited 1 time in total.

... as it is not possible for a human being who is able to type to be so stupid and believe what you write.

yes it is

look at me

howlinwolf

I do believe they got the better of the frees.
No way did it affect the result though.
We do need to look at why we give so many away as it's a common theme week in, week out.
If we're 10 frees down on the ledger most weeks instead of 10 up there's a distinct advantage.

Robert Harvey's last home game. 24 Aug 2008
StKilda 13.17 def Adelaide 6.11

If we're always chasing and tackling the ball winner, then we will probably give away frees. Better for us to win the ball first.

howlinwolf wrote:I do believe they got the better of the frees.
No way did it affect the result though.
We do need to look at why we give so many away as it's a common theme week in, week out.
If we're 10 frees down on the ledger most weeks instead of 10 up there's a distinct advantage.
I get CURLY's point though. It does seem odd sometimes. Most games I watch, it seems that the umpires are leaning towards one team. They often even it up in the last when it doesn't matter, too. It's a nice feeling at 3qt to be leading in score, but behind in frees.

When Bruce slid to mark Thompson conceded so just round armed his head umpire put his whistle to his mouth but play on. Acres deep hit around the head in the goal square play on. Ben Brown and Turner received frees directly in front that the commentators replayed confused to what they were for.

CURLY wrote:When Bruce slid to mark Thompson conceded so just round armed his head umpire put his whistle to his mouth but play on. Acres deep hit around the head in the goal square play on. Ben Brown and Turner received frees directly in front that the commentators replayed confused to what they were for.
You are correct on all counts.

The throwing free against Ross when he smacked the ball was a joke.
If that was a throw then so are all hit outs.