Sack Dixon!

Re: Sack Dixon!

spert wrote:It was a windy night against Carlton, but the Carlton guys seemed to be able to hit targets and kick goals, and also read the ball better in one-on-one contests against the wind. Not sure what Richo is teaching those guys, but it seems basic footy skills is not one of them.
I saw Richo addressing players and was uninspired (is that a word?). The guys that continuously fumble, need to remember the key thing is to firstly get control of the ball. Doesn't matter what Richo and the coaches tactics are if you can't control the ball. The players have got so many things to think about they sometimes forget some of the basics...like keep your eyes on the fuckn football.

WellardSaint wrote:
parkeysainter wrote:Is this really a serious thread? :roll:
given that it's just one game, on a VFL ground, we all know it will take a few games
to get the routine right.

I think the OP is being a tad funny
Well done. Top of the class.

Seriously though if the conditions are still on Thursday night and we still kick badly it’s a bad sign given
it’s a practice match without the pressure of 4 points.

Bad kicking given the above would indicate players are overthinking their technique and it’s not a natural/in built process as yet.

WellardSaint wrote:
parkeysainter wrote:Is this really a serious thread? :roll:
given that it's just one game, on a VFL ground, we all know it will take a few games
to get the routine right.

I think the OP is being a tad funny
Well done. Top of the class.

Seriously though if the conditions are still on Thursday night and we still kick badly it’s a bad sign given
it’s a practice match without the pressure of 4 points.

Bad kicking given the above would indicate players are overthinking their technique and it’s not a natural/in built process as yet.
Dixon or no Dixon. If the Saints kicking by the end of the season is still average then the blame is still mostly on the players. Hopefully Dixon has implemented some good strategies and will help improve the scoreline, but we need to judge it after several games or the halfway point of the season. Time will tell and well done to the club in trying to fix the problem.

14.9. Keep Dicko!

That's actually another improvement I've noticed, aside from a number of players, our kicking for goal. All players having shots seem to be adhering to a similar and simple routine. I'm actually confident when we lineup for goal whereas last year I had utterly no confidence (except in Membrey).

Linton Lodger wrote:That's actually another improvement I've noticed, aside from a number of players, our kicking for goal. All players having shots seem to be adhering to a similar and simple routine. I'm actually confident when we lineup for goal whereas last year I had utterly no confidence (except in Membrey).
No! Sack Dicko! Sack Richo! Sack the recruiters! Sack everyone! The Saints are useless!

We lost 2 praccie games by 3 or 4 goals! The end is nigh!

I need another beer!

Drake Huggins

I think some have missed the point that this thread was very much tongue in cheek. The sexual visualisation stuff seemed bizarre, but whatever works is welcome. Especially after we've been pretty bad at it over the past couple of years.

"Is this the right room for an argument?"
"I told you once."
"No, you didn't."
"Yes, I did."
"Listen, an argument isn't just the automatic gainsaying of anything the other person says, it's a series of statements designed to support a particular conclusion."
"No, it isn't."
"Oh, I've had enough of this."
"No you haven't"
"Oh shut up."
elizabethr

Who is Dicko ?

nothing to say

elizabethr wrote:Who is Dicko ?
A mate of Armo and Richo.

kosifantutti wrote:
elizabethr wrote:Who is Dicko ?
A mate of Armo and Richo.
And Robbo likes to hang out with them too.

SydneySainter wrote:Always hard to know what to make of preseason.

We had a pretty good preseason last year and still had a disappointing year.

But, I do think Carlton will potentially be ahead of us this year. Their younger players as a whole are more exciting and they do seem better coached.
We don't have the elites to create that spark needed to improve things during game time. If the soldiers fail to execute to the plan we are doomed as we don't seem to have enough on field leadership to make the quick change needed. That's a 2017 comment really but I hope we can turn it around. If are waiting on newbies to contribute massively we have another 3 years to wait for finals participation.

As Ross used to say "We don't need to play the kindergarten" but in our case we needed youth injection for 5-6 years after his preference. We still don't have comparable elites to match other finalists. God I hope I'm wrong about this year.

SydneySainter wrote:Always hard to know what to make of preseason.

We had a pretty good preseason last year and still had a disappointing year.

But, I do think Carlton will potentially be ahead of us this year. Their younger players as a whole are more exciting and they do seem better coached.
We don't have the elites to create that spark needed to improve things during game time. If the soldiers fail to execute to the plan we are doomed as we don't seem to have enough on field leadership to make the quick change needed. That's a 2017 comment really but I hope we can turn it around. If are waiting on newbies to contribute massively we have another 3 years to wait for finals participation.

As Ross used to say "We don't need to play the kindergarten" but in our case we needed youth injection for 5-6 years after his preference. We still don't have comparable elites to match other finalists. God I hope I'm wrong about this year.

DJ Higgins wrote:bit premature to start this conversation but I don't blame Dixon for our kicking yet. Did our team do what he told them to do? Did they panic, are they still getting used to his techniques? etc. about June we should know
Yes its certainly not Dixons fault. Our team had peerrenially kicked badly since 2003-4. In the GF years we had the bodies to enable ball carrier protection and little bit of time made kicking choices a little easier. We still missed heaps in the 2009 GF. That was a missed opportunity, 2010 was another matter, just really outplayed but nearly stole it.

Take some time Mr Dixon, we need you badly.

philtee

The word to describe Saints in 2017 was "wasteful".
Jack Billings - 23.36
Jade Gresham - 30.30
Josh Bruce - 36.27
Mav Weller - 11.18.
Team for the season kicked 271.250.
(Nick Riewoldt 29.12)

Lack of composure going forward and in set shots cost plenty in percentage,
but it looks like it only cost us two games -

Rd 2 vs WCE, when we had them on the ropes on their own ground, but lost the game
despite more scoring shots WCE 18.8 to St K 13.19.
2nd quarter we kicked 2.5 and 3rd quarter we kicked 6.7.

Rd 19 vs Port Adelaide - letting Robbie Gray sneak a golden goal was bad defence, but
we shouldn't have let it get so close - we kicked 8.13 to Port's 9.9.
2nd quarter we kicked 1.5.

If we'd won both of those games we would have finished 7th, roughly in line with the
master-plan.

16.11 which is nearly 60%, last year we kicked less than 50%. Early days but great start Saints. Even if we lose games but kick better I will be wrapped this year.

DJ Higgins wrote:16.11 which is nearly 60%, last year we kicked less than 50%. Early days but great start Saints. Even if we lose games but kick better I will be wrapped this year.
This!!!!!

philtee wrote:The word to describe Saints in 2017 was "wasteful".
Jack Billings - 23.36
Jade Gresham - 30.30
Josh Bruce - 36.27
Mav Weller - 11.18.
Team for the season kicked 271.250.
(Nick Riewoldt 29.12)

Lack of composure going forward and in set shots cost plenty in percentage,
but it looks like it only cost us two games -

Rd 2 vs WCE, when we had them on the ropes on their own ground, but lost the game
despite more scoring shots WCE 18.8 to St K 13.19.
2nd quarter we kicked 2.5 and 3rd quarter we kicked 6.7.

Rd 19 vs Port Adelaide - letting Robbie Gray sneak a golden goal was bad defence, but
we shouldn't have let it get so close - we kicked 8.13 to Port's 9.9.
2nd quarter we kicked 1.5.

If we'd won both of those games we would have finished 7th, roughly in line with the
master-plan.
Wow. If Gresham starts kicking straight he'll get close to 50 goals. You would expect Billings to.

Gee, Brian Dixon wasn't the best kick himself.

True but being a great player doesn't equate to being a great coach. Give me an average player who worked his arse off to make he team each week over a superstar as a coach anyday

DJ Higgins wrote:16.11 which is nearly 60%, last year we kicked less than 50%. Early days but great start Saints. Even if we lose games but kick better I will be wrapped this year.
The name of the game is winning- not feeling warm and fuzzy about losing!

spert wrote:
The name of the game is winning- not feeling warm and fuzzy about losing!
Agree with you about winning but when we are not going to win every game. We can at least take a positive out of a loss if we are playing better and kicking straight

Wow does Dixon coach Norf too?