Push Carlisle forward. Discuss

Re: Push Carlisle forward. Discuss

Carlisle can at times swing forward like what Spud sometimes did in the 90’s, but not as the norm, more as a running HB kicking a running goal from 50 out.

When this happens, we need Paddy to push back in tandem with Jakey running forward to make sure the F50 is not too too heavy/cumbersome.

barneyboyz

Drake Huggins wrote:We do have someone elite and special on our list, who is capable of worrying opposition coaches almost as much as our former skipper did. Jake Carlisle is his name. A man who has kicked 8 in a game and has numerous multiple bags to his name. I know it has been reported he prefers to play in defence, but who amongst us is not a star full forward trapped in a back pocket's body? When you earn 500k a year, you play where the coach tells you to. He may even get used to the adulation he'll get when he carves up opposition defences. He's a great contested mark and more importantly, a very reliable kick for goal.

Tall, strong and agile as well. If he doesn't mark it, he'll cause the spillage our talented small forwards need. I'm not talking Lonie, Wright and Minchington. All will be gone at the end of the year. I'm talking Gresham, Billings, a surprise revival for Armo in the defensive role, and Hunter Clarke. With Paddy up there and Membrey playing the Roo - Lite role, we have the set up to terrify the best defences. Bruce to revert to the role he was originally recruited for which is the position formerly known as CHB but is now one of the tall defensive options. Bruce is a tall, endurance beast, who is the ideal modern defender and could be our Rance.

Come on Milky Bar Kid. Show a bit of flair, some dash and imagination. You might like it. The way you're going we're going back to the bottom, or at best lurking mid table until you are eventually sacked. It worked for Damien Hardwick. If he hadn't radically changed his approach and attitude last year, he'd be in the Centrelink queue right now, instead of being feted as a genius. A change in the player development coaching ranks and a new recruiting and list manager might help as well. You know it makes sense.
Has merit. I am not sure this would work every week, but some sides were purposefully matching up quite small on him last year with some success. This with the fact that opposition mobile tall backs were running rings around us suggests that sending Jake forward would scare the bejezus out of them, or at least have them needing to make changes

St. Kilda Football Club. Going strong, since 1960 :wink:

I like Carlisle and Savage Ghosting forward and kicking goals from 50.

Goose is king wrote:I like Carlisle and Savage Ghosting forward and kicking goals from 50.

This is the ways it's been, and given the value of the unpredictability of playing these guys in this way, I reckon that's how it will stay. Besides, Carlisle left the Dons disgruntled at being played forward...amongst other things. Bruce was young when he started at the Saints, but that year down back was pretty average, I think he has far more value as a deep forward with Paddy present and Membrey up the ground a little...provided they all talk. At least give it a season.

All up, whilst I'm a fan of flare, dash and imagination, does it take much of any of these to simply play guys where they were 3-4 years ago?

And...he only wants to play CHB.
Best just leave him there.

SaintPav wrote:Would help if Logan and or Goddard came through.

Think Bruce needs to be slightly reinvented or traded

Tongue firmly in cheek there mate?

If Carlise hadn't been down back last season, some of our losses would have been a lot uglier on the scoreboard- leave him there.

If Bruce could actually defend (which based on experience - that's questionable at best) - I'd be happy to play him back as I can't see how Paddy, Skunk and Bruce can all play in the one forward line.

I suspect the Achilles injury to Goddard will have robbed him of the speed and agility he had as a draftee. Kind of hoping/banking on Oscar C getting real good, real quick to partner with Jake down back.

hey The Drake
Hurley was a better forward than Carlisle :!:
I dont think the situation has changed much at the saints
Pinch hitter drifting forward when the opportunity arises

and while I think of it, Paddy Ryder was a much better ruck/forward as well

Drake Huggins

sunsaint wrote:hey The Drake

Good point, SS. I still think he has value, not so much as a permanent but as the genuine, "swing man". Every successful team has one. We have two, in Bruce and Jake. That gives us an advantage over most.

"Is this the right room for an argument?"
"I told you once."
"No, you didn't."
"Yes, I did."
"Listen, an argument isn't just the automatic gainsaying of anything the other person says, it's a series of statements designed to support a particular conclusion."
"No, it isn't."
"Oh, I've had enough of this."
"No you haven't"
"Oh shut up."

Drake Huggins wrote:
sunsaint wrote:hey The Drake

Good point, SS. I still think he has value, not so much as a permanent but as the genuine, "swing man". Every successful team has one. We have two, in Bruce and Jake. That gives us an advantage over most.
Whilst a good aerial competitor and possessing a great tank - I don't think Bruce can defend tho. He was drafted as a defender and basically became a coach killer by foot from defence. Is a lovely field kick but for some reason - was unable to execute well from behind the ball under pressure.

Tongue firmly in cheek there mate?
We have Bruce, Membrey, Paddy and Battle.

How many do we need?

Can’t play them all.

Fraser Gherig anyone ?

repta

Short memory.... didn't Carlslie leave Essendon because he didn't want to play forward.... aside from the drugs issue...

Drake Huggins

Play your best option in each position.

"I told you once."
"No, you didn't."
"Yes, I did."
"Listen, an argument isn't just the automatic gainsaying of anything the other person says, it's a series of statements designed to support a particular conclusion."
"No, it isn't."
"No you haven't"
"Oh shut up."

Drake Huggins wrote:Play your best option in each position.
Lets put him in the ruck too.

Drake Huggins

CQ SAINT wrote:
Now you're talking. I wasn't going to be that bold. Imagine having three of him. One back, one forward and one on the ball.

"I told you once."
"No, you didn't."
"Yes, I did."
"No, it isn't."
"No you haven't"
"Oh shut up."

Drake Huggins wrote:
CQ SAINT wrote:
Now you're talking. I wasn't going to be that bold. Imagine having three of him. One back, one forward and one on the ball.
cloning? is that illegal?

Drake Huggins

The Chinese are doing it. Why not? Bloody ethicists. They've been holding us back for decades!

"I told you once."
"No, you didn't."
"Yes, I did."
"No, it isn't."
"No you haven't"
"Oh shut up."