Stringer

Re: Stringer

Numpty wrote:
thejiggingsaint wrote: So forget about Kelly? Forget about using our first round picks for good kids? To take a chance on another "project"? If you really think the Bulldogs would accept less than our first round picks plus a player for Stinger you're dreaming
Stinger is a great friend of mine, and a true patriot. I'd hire him in an instant, an instant, believe me! And I don't worry about the Dreamers, and neither does Stinger, believe me. :twisted: #dreamingofSaintStinger.
I didn't know he'd gone to the NFL. I'm watching the Patriots at the moment and haven't seen hide nor hair of him.
Are you sure he's a patriot?
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Stringer is gifted, but The Bulldogs have issues with his preparation and personal life. Now issues in his personal life may be transient, but a lack of work ethic is a real worry.

Then if we did recruit him, one of him, Bruce, Membrey or McCartin would be playing for Sandy, as there wouldn't be room for all of them. Despite the risk, Is he exactly what we need? I think mids are our priority.

Linton Lodger wrote:Stringer is gifted, but The Bulldogs have issues with his preparation and personal life. Now issues in his personal life may be transient, but a lack of work ethic is a real worry.

Then if we did recruit him, one of him, Bruce, Membrey or McCartin would be playing for Sandy, as there wouldn't be room for all of them. Despite the risk, Is he exactly what we need? I think mids are our priority.

Richo talking about trying him in the mid-field rotations, so he would have to work on he's tank!!!!!

Linton Lodger wrote:Stringer is gifted, but The Bulldogs have issues with his preparation and personal life. Now issues in his personal life may be transient, but a lack of work ethic is a real worry.

You are absolutely 100% on the mark here.

I reckon Stringer would be a terrific pick up. Well worth pursuing.

The_President

meher baba wrote:I reckon Stringer would be a terrific pick up. Well worth pursuing.
Western Bulldogs have been rumoured to be interested in Gold & Stef Martin... Maybe Hickey could be involved for us?

Longer overtook Hick this year... Plus we'd still have Marshall as a back up.

I thought we banned him from this site?

The Recruit

Straight swap for Lonie will work...hope Jack wants to be a bulldog..then we are set

The Recruit wrote:Straight swap for Lonie will work...hope Jack wants to be a bulldog..then we are set
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

We wouldn't gain much

The Recruit

dragit wrote:We wouldn't gain much

Seriously...
18 more goals for one
5cm for another

Lonie is no comparison to stringer...stringer was still better than Lonie in a year from hell with no pre season and lucky to train...in a team that hates him

silverhalo

Stringer is gifted, just ask him. NO from me, the guy's a basket case, I don't care how much natural ability he has

The Recruit

silverhalo wrote:

Stringer is gifted, just ask him. NO from me, the guy's a basket case, I don't care how much natural ability he has
Classic stkilda attitude that missed cousins and would have missed Carlisle if he had not signed when he did

If Dogs want to offload Stinger we should be wary.

Talent is beyond question but he comes across as a flog.

Buyer beware.

The Recruit

SaintPav wrote:If Dogs want to offload Stinger we should be wary.

Buyer beware.
True
It is a high risk high reward situation.

Dusty was in a very similar position 3-4 years ago...shopped around and no one wanted him.
Just think if the opportunity came and we could get him without losing our first rounds picks the reward could be enourmous

The Recruit wrote:

Buyer beware.
True

Dusty was in a very similar position 3-4 years ago...shopped around and no one wanted him.
Just think if the opportunity came and we could get him without losing our first rounds picks the reward could be enourmous
Gandhi.
Good bloke. s*** at footy.

The Recruit wrote:

Buyer beware.
True

Blame Scott fkn Watters for that.

The Recruit wrote:

Buyer beware.
True

Gandhi.
Good bloke. s*** at footy.
Problem was that he didn't like to tackle and he liked sit ins. He also used to drink his own piss which put the trainers off.

diddley

The Recruit wrote:

Buyer beware.
True

That's exactly what I was thinking. Dusty couldn't find anyone interested a few years ago, now he has everyone falling over themselves to sign him. I think stringer could be the same. COULD. Emphasis on that word.

Apparantly the Saints, Dons and Cats are looking at him.

GregPackhamsHeadband

I reckon he's worth a punt. High risk, but as long as we don't give up to much for him, he could become our Stevie J or Dusty, two certified corkheads who turned their careers around. Then again, he could become our next Bill Barrott or Andrew Lovett. I hate thinking like that. Too many years of disappointment has poisoned my mind. Still, I'll take a swig of Jiggster's medicinal compound and say "let's back ourselves in to fix him. Get him!"

I think you're pretty tough, don't I?

GregPackhamsHeadband wrote:I reckon he's worth a punt. High risk, but as long as we don't give up to much for him, he could become our Stevie J or Dusty, two certified corkheads who turned their careers around. Then again, he could become our next Bill Barrott or Andrew Lovett. I hate thinking like that. Too many years of disappointment has poisoned my mind. Still, I'll take a swig of Jiggster's medicinal compound and say "let's back ourselves in to fix him. Get him!"
I'm starting to think lets grab him. Lets take the punt if it's really one anyway.

Hmmmmmm? The Lovett trade has probably put me off "taking a punt" on someone like Stringer. When Essendon let Lovett come to us, I remember thinking to myself; why would a club like Essendon let a good player walk away like that. History shows that Lovett was "exited" by the bombers. I'm hearing WAY too many negatives about Stringer's attitude to want to see the Saints end up with egg on their (OUR) faces again. I say NO! ....... now pass me the medicinal compound! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Check this forward line out.

HF Billings Bruce Membrey

F Gresham McCartin Stringer