80's/90's flashback of a Saints fan

I might be crazy or was there a Saints fan that used to sing out very loudly a "Carn the Mighty Mighty Saints" just before the bounce of a game at Moorabbin and Waverley in the 80's/90's.

I was debating this with someone but it seemed this guy disappeared. What happened to him? Where did he go?

He used to drag out the words and repeat the above. Then the crowd would give him a cheer and you could hear him from the other side of Moorabbin or Waverley. Not sure if this guy did the same Etihad.

Anyone remember this guy or pre game call?!

George27

Re: 80's/90's flashback of a Saints fan

My recollection is that a bloke would scream " Caaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrnnnn " very loudly, then we would all scream "'Sainters".

As to when that was, not sure - at my age the decades seem to merge together !

Of course I may be thinking of someone different from the guy you recall !!
Last edited by George27 on Sun 10 Sep 2017 9:17pm, edited 1 time in total.

This character?

Sounds right and then he would go for at least a minute. He would repeat Mighty, Mighty, Mighty also and drag out Sainters maybe.

I'm not crazy after all.

Waltzing St Kilda wrote:This character?

Can't see the person

He also used to do it sometimes when someone was lining up to have a set shot at goal from a mark or a free kick when the crowd was quiet.

parkeysainter wrote:Sounds right and then he would go for at least a minute. He would repeat Mighty, Mighty, Mighty also and drag out Sainters maybe.

I'm not crazy after all.
I don't remember any part where he shouted the word mighty.

He'd scream "COME ONNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN", holding it for what seemed like an entire minute and then the rest of the supporters (generally in the Animal Enclosure, when at Moorabbin) around him would all chime in with "THE SAINTERS".

Never heard it again after the early 90s. It was sorely missed. Would be great if someone brought it back and could do it just as effectively.

Sainternist wrote:
parkeysainter wrote:Sounds right and then he would go for at least a minute. He would repeat Mighty, Mighty, Mighty also and drag out Sainters maybe.

I'm not crazy after all.

He'd scream "COME ONNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN", holding it for what seemed like an entire minute and then the rest of the supporters (generally in the Animal Enclosure, when at Moorabbin) around him would all chime in with "THE SAINTERS".

Never heard it again after the early 90s. It was sorely missed. Would be great if someone brought it back and could do it just as effectively.
Bloke was a legend. Wherever or whoever he is....

They should play it over the loud speakers before a home game. Would get the crowd going.

We used to call him The Screamer.

He made it to Waverley but didn't seem as prolific there.
I thought I heard him a couple of times at Docklands in the very early days but nothing since.

Perhaps he lost his voice?

ctqs

He used to stand behind my brother and me at the footy. He was always entertaining. Whenever he saw cops on the boundary line he'd yell "where's me pie warmer?" and he was always yelling at umpires, threatening to burn down their house or car.

Still waiting for closure ... if you get my drift.
Winmar7

I grew up in Moorabbin's animal enclosure and one of my strongest childhood memories, apart from the smell of stale beer on my clothes from collecting cans, was this guy! Loved hearing him call out just before the game started and it would be great to have him as part of the pre game at Docklands - it would be way better than the awful revamped versions of the song, which makes one want to sleep rather than fire up for a game of footy :)

What happened to the CS guy who could've been on my 600lb life show on Foxtel?

saintspremiers wrote:What happened to the CS guy who could've been on my 600lb life show on Foxtel?
PAGING: TheJiggingSaint

parkeysainter wrote:
Sainternist wrote:

I'm not crazy after all.

Bloke was a legend. Wherever or whoever he is....

They should play it over the loud speakers before a home game. Would get the crowd going.
I don't care for that automated crap coming from the PA speakers. Would be great to see an actual person do it from the crowd, preferably from standing room.

GregPackhamsHeadband

Enrico_Misso wrote:We used to call him The Screamer.

I thought I heard him a couple of times at Docklands in the very early days but nothing since.

Or perhaps his mind?

I think you're pretty tough, don't I?

GregPackhamsHeadband wrote:
Enrico_Misso wrote:We used to call him The Screamer.

Or perhaps his mind?
Maybe his life? It happens to all of us. Now he is a true saint.

Sainternist wrote:
saintspremiers wrote:What happened to the CS guy who could've been on my 600lb life show on Foxtel?
Are you saying they're the same person?

Great days, I used to stand at the Linton St end behind the goals direct with the left point post & just absorb everything that was "Plugger".

I was obsessed with him, everything was about him & the team winning ofcourse.

My mate would count the amount of times he would rest his right hand on his hips, how many times would pace up and down, we had unique "Plugger" stats to entertain us when the ball wa son the other end.

I never stood in the animal enclosure, I wish I ha dnow but was so obsessed with Plugger & I am a creature of habits & I had my place & kept it.

I ended up in the last day in Moorabbin news report & Bruce Eva had the vision to fight & understood more than most of us what we were going to lose moving.

Footy has never been the same, its no where near as unfiltered, organic & exciting as those halcyon days at Moorabbin.

I try to explain to my son about those days now we are seated at Etihad Stadium but hard to get him to understand that level of passion and sound.

kosifantutti wrote:
Sainternist wrote:
No, Jiggster knows the person in question and told me of his most recent sighting of them.

Sainternist wrote:
kosifantutti wrote:
Sainternist wrote:
No, Jiggster knows the person in question and told me of his most recent sighting of them.
Disappointing. Would have made a great infomercial.

parkeysainter wrote:
Waltzing St Kilda wrote:This character?

Can't see the person
That's him alright.. stood at or near the animal enclosure. Remember talking to him on the odd occasion and yes he would rally the troops. Wonder if he is still around.

Loved that guy!

I'm sure at half time he'd just scream ahhhhhhhhhh for about a minute then the crowd would cheer.

Remember the old peanut guy that carried the santa sack with little bags of peanuts for sale?

Joffa Burns wrote:
Remember the old peanut guy that carried the santa sack with little bags of peanuts for sale?
What an icon of the old suburban grounds he was.

Someone told me that they saw him spruiking porno mags from his big old Australia Post duffle bag: "GET YA PEANUTS AND YA DIRTY BOOKS!!!"

My recollection is that he used to stand under the press box area close to the GG Huggins stand fence - under the start of the west stand that curved around to the Neapen Hwy end

He would yell Carn Sainters and hold the "Carn" forever

Early 90s he started doing it - that face is definitely familiar

Good times the late 80s and early 90s at Moorabbin

I've got one of those "Last Bounce at Moorabbin" t shirts.
It was a narrow win, but felt terrible - one of the worst days ever.