St Kilda Womens match Sunday April 23rd

Exhibition match to be held pre game next week between a Bayside representative/ academy side- which has been training together as a squad since early in the year at Seaford

against an Armed Forces Womens team as announced by Matt Finnis today

pushing for the AFL to not delay the introduction of more teams till 2019- rather than the originally forecast 2018

Re: St Kilda Womens match Sunday April 23rd

Waste of time, there will be NO additional women's teams in 2018.

The AFL are quite firm on that, Gillon is adamant it will repeat 2017.

Wayne42 wrote:Waste of time, there will be NO additional women's teams in 2018.

That's almost certainly the way of things Wayne. But I don't reckon it hurts to keep the pressure up on Gestapo HQ. We were shafted in missing-out first time around. :evil:

So it seems to me that we're doing all we can to make sure we can't be left out next time - whenever that ends up being. And I like that. :)

Stian

If we want to be in it whenever that happens to be ( :x ) then we have to do a lot of things like this so that we have a nucleus of a team. By the time that we get a go, most (if not all) of the best talent will be gone.

Stian wrote:If we want to be in it whenever that happens to be ( :x ) then we have to do a lot of things like this so that we have a nucleus of a team. By the time that we get a go, most (if not all) of the best talent will be gone.
They could get some guys to dress in drag. They wouldn't look out of place.

http://www.saints.com.au/news/2017-04-1 ... -v-geelong
On Sunday 23 April at 12:45 pm a dedicated team of women will live out their dream of playing at the beloved Etihad Stadium, in front of an excited crowd, wearing the Saints guernsey. The newly establish St Kilda Women’s team will take to the field before the Round 5 clash against Geelong with high hopes of taking home the ANZAC Challenge Cup.

While the Saints weren’t granted a team in the AFLW’s inaugural season, we anticipate this will give the women a taste of what’s to come in the curtain-raiser game.

Competition will be fierce as St Kilda and the Australian Defence Force (ADF) All Stars face off.

The Saints team, made up of the best, undrafted AFLW talent from the Southern Women’s Academy, will represent areas including Gippsland and the Mornington Peninsula. For the past five months, these women have been training regularly at Linen House Centre as part of an AFL Victoria Open Age Women’s talent development program. Being named as part of the Saints representative team will cap off a great program for the top 22, who will surely be out to showcase their hard work wearing Red, White and Black.

Junior

magnifisaint wrote:
Stian wrote:If we want to be in it whenever that happens to be ( :x ) then we have to do a lot of things like this so that we have a nucleus of a team. By the time that we get a go, most (if not all) of the best talent will be gone.
As someone who has a daughter that is in the squad for the game, I find your remarks extremely offensive.

Talk about stereotyping.

These are a dedicated bunch of women who have busted their arses over five months for this opportunity, if my daughter makes the final 22 it will be a dream come true for her.

They deserve a little respect rather team throw away lines.

A champion team will always beat a team of champions.

Junior wrote:
As someone who has a daughter that is in the squad for the game, I find your remarks extremely offensive.

Talk about stereotyping.

These are a dedicated bunch of women who have busted their arses over five months for this opportunity, if my daughter makes the final 22 it will be a dream come true for her.

Goodluck to Junior Junior :)

Junior wrote:
magnifisaint wrote:

Talk about stereotyping.

I hope she does really well just that some of the women footballers look rougher than the guys with all their tattoos

Junior wrote:

Talk about stereotyping.

I'll second that. Fantastic effort.

stkildafc
On Sunday 23 April, a St Kilda Women's team - comprising of the best undrafted AFLW talent from the AFL Women’s Southern Open-Age Academy - will play in the famous red, white and black on Etihad Stadium in a match against the Australian Defence Force All-Stars. This one-off exhibition match is St Kilda Football Club’s first foray into women’s football and reaffirms the club’s aspiration to be a part of the AFLW at the next available opportunity. The AFL Women’s Southern Open-Age Academy have been training at LHC since October 2016. The goal for many of the girls will be to be drafted to the AFLW and we hope that this is, for many, the start of a long association with the Saints. Lead by captain Dana de Bondt, the Saints will compete for the annual ANZAC Challenge Cup. Gates open at 12:30pm.

SemperFidelis wrote:
Junior wrote:

Talk about stereotyping.

I'll second that. Fantastic effort.
Major congrats! Can't wait to see the women's team run out in our colours!

Junior

Big thank you for the well wishes.

Huge 24 hours coming up for her, fitness test tomorrow night at Linen House Centre. Has to pass that and then be selected in the 22.

how did she go Junior is there a number we should be looking for

Got a mate playing!

I wish I was able to watch?... I'd really appreciate any Match Report?!

Junior

saintbrat wrote:how did she go Junior is there a number we should be looking for

Thanks for asking Saintbrat,

Unfortunately failed fitness test last night at training and was ruled out. Lots of tears she is shattered, still attended the jumper presentation last night and has got the full kit. She would have been number 12, should be in the footy record as the squad was provided. Dylan Roberton presented jumpers.

Get behind the girls they are a great bunch of girls who have worked hard since November, my daughter will be a water girl instead so as she still involved.

Very proud of her but am so gutted for her.

good on her attitude- I know a VFL player who is currently out injured and he also is so cranky about not being able to play.

will hope I am there in time to watch- do you know how long the game is expected to go?

Junior

saintbrat wrote:good on her attitude- I know a VFL player who is currently out injured and he also is so cranky about not being able to play.

will hope I am there in time to watch- do you know how long the game is expected to go?
My daughter reckons 20 minutes

Yeah, well I wont watch any of it until the saints have their own team.

I wont support teams like the filth or the scummers, male or female.

I am also sure that there are hundreds with similar views

Will support this team though.
Last edited by saynta on Fri 21 Apr 2017 10:22pm, edited 1 time in total.

Junior wrote:
saintbrat wrote:good on her attitude- I know a VFL player who is currently out injured and he also is so cranky about not being able to play.

My daughter reckons 20 minutes
20 min quarters?

so a couple of hours - 2.45 ish finish

Yeah, well I wont watch any of it until the saints have their own team.

I wont support teams like the filth or the scummers, male or female.

I am also sure that there are hundreds with similar views

Will support this team though.
And I'm one of 'em!

Junior, I'm so sorry your daughter was ruled out; hopefully she gets back to full fitness soon and gets the next opportunity. Proud for her that she got the kit and the (all important) #12 Guernsey.

Tell her not to give up!

Go Saints!

Saints won :D

St Loxton

Well done girls, keep the dream alive.
Anyone have info on the game?