Team v Cats

Re: Team v Cats

Managing players in the 5th game after a 5 month pre season

Interesting

Playon

MC Gusto wrote:Understand hickey hasn't performed at last years level but what has longer done to get the call up?
Well according to Richo he had a great JLT series. Does that say anything to you?

If I can count Longers possessions on one hand again, we'll effectively be playing one man short.

So we'll see if the selection was warranted.

I'm not that confident, but happy to be proven otherwise

BigMart wrote:Managing players in the 5th game after a 5 month pre season

Interesting
Players are managed during pre season.
Players are managed during pre season games.
You can't manage them all at the one time.
And most importantly- we have two superior ruckmen with two 6 day breaks coming up. No one ruckman doing 80% of the work would have been able to give 100% in all seven games. Hence managed.

tony74 wrote:

Interesting
And most importantly- we have two superior ruckmen with two 6 day breaks coming up. No one ruckman doing 80% of the work would have been able to give 100% in all seven games. Hence managed.
But this week we've had a 7 day break between the Pies and Cats game.

If Hickey needs a rest, surely it would make more sense to give him a week off next week on the back
Of our first 6 day break in a run of two on the trot against the bottom side?

Superior ruckmen?

Best I check to see if or when

Goldy, Martin, Sandi (35yo), Mummy, Kruzer, Jacobs, Grundy are managed

Wasn't expecting Hickey to be dropped, but I'm pretty confident the selectors know a lot more than me.

Hickey has been playing below his 2016 form, perhaps he's not quite fit and needs a rest...he was 'rested', not dropped.

Perhaps our selectors reckon that Rhys Stanley and his pussy mates are a bit soft and have selected Billy 'the brute' Longer to rough them up a bit.

Personally I would have liked to see Paddy in the team, Minchington and Koby Stevens should add a bit of hardness as well.

Is Hickey being affected by the no 3rd Man Rule?
Why have other teams adjusted?
Is Hickey taking longer (no pun intended) to adapt,
or is he just not good enough to handle the change?
2018 may be looking for a top ruckman as Free Agent rather than Fyfe or the Richmond decaf gangsta

WellardSaint wrote:Is Hickey being affected by the no 3rd Man Rule?
Why have other teams adjusted?
Is Hickey taking longer (no pun intended) to adapt,
or is he just not good enough to handle the change?
2018 may be looking for a top ruckman as Free Agent rather than Fyfe or the Richmond decaf gangsta
Hickey's number are basically the same as last year…

Which clubs do you think have adjusted better to the rule change?

We are a lot more likely to move a ruckmen on rather than recruit one for next year.

Are they? Better check?!

Tom struggles in body on body Ruck contests

I'm taking the club at its word that Hickey is being managed.

It's must be a tough gig rucking solo every week and even harder to keep two quality ruckmen on your list if you are playing just one each week for structural reasons.

I suspect both of the above are factors in Longer playing this week.

He'd want to impress, though, or the rest policy will die a quick death.

MC Gusto wrote:I see hick is being 'managed'

Hate management speak bs in footy. Call a spade a spade
Ok he's injured

BigMart wrote:Are they? Better check?!

Tom struggles in body on body Ruck contests
Are you talking about Hickey's numbers being the same as last year?

He has basically the same hitouts, disposals, marks & tackles so far even though he's played against 3 ruckmen who are (were) flying this year. Martin & Grundy are the highest ranked rucks and Gawn would be ahead of both if he wasn't injured.

Our onballers sound like three outlaws from an old cowboy movie: Billy Longer, Seb Ross and Jack Steven. Hope there's plenty of lead in them pistols.

Bluthy wrote:Billy boy is in da house! Congrats to Billy - he's fought back from a shoulder reco and concussion to get back to the big show. Might have cleaned up some of his habits too from what I heard. People writing him off at 22 was insane.

Gotta give props to Tony. He called it that the club was worried with how Hicks would cope with no third man protection and that we would look at a rotation model. I like it. Lets see how Billy's more physical style goes with the new rules. Its tough for Hicks too rucking close to 90% of the game. This gives him a break to regroup.

My guess is:

Longer for Hicks - ps could Rooey do some relief rucking - maybe he can't do much of a standing jump with his dodgy knees.
Koby Stevens for Armo - we lose our biggest inside beast and desperately need another genuine inside ball winner to compete with Dangerwood
Jack Steven for Long or Lonie - maybe Lonie goes out.

The other option is to give Steele a rest for Minch. Steele seems to have struggled a bit with the pace of full AFL games without a full preseason under his belt. Steeles tackling and 1%ers has been good but hasn't torn it up like in the preseason games. A week off to recalibrate wouldn't hurt and gives Richo a look to see if Minch has progressed at an AFL level. Do it Richo - rotate and experiment!

No Paddy - so Richo is offically back to kick it to Rooey. Don't like the conservatism there. Paddy is the future. Play him.
WTF, there is no way Steele gets rested!!!

Lonie must go

Interesting
I must confess, I was thinking the same thing. I thought "managing" took place in the second half of the year. I guess the dopers have hit the wall after 4 games as well. For the times they are a changin'.

BigMart wrote:Superior ruckmen?

I think your mentioning of Kruzer in the same sentence as Goldy and Mummy flatters him somewhat.

Armo, Lonie and Dunstan our worst performers.
All seem to be coach favourites. I think he likes their firm legs and stocky stature. Similar to his own.
Only reason for their unquestioned selection is homo-erotic. Certainly cant be performance.

Kreuzer managed this week

http://www.afl.com.au/news/teams

carn_sainter

White Winmar wrote:

Interesting
I must confess, I was thinking the same thing. I thought "managing" took place in the second half of the year. I guess the dopers have hit the wall after 4 games as well. For the times they are a changin'.
I think it makes sense. I want to see Hickey playing, but the idea that a player is being managed/rested in round 5 is fine for me. There's no point waiting until he's exhausted and worn out to rest him. At that point, recovery becomes very hard to the point that you'd be in a paradigm of rehab, not managing or rest.

They're all very fit. Hickey won't lose fitness taking four x one week off during the season. The pre-season is riding your bike uphill, then the season is where you roll downhill on the back of that work.

I just hope Longer is as good as they keep saying, because I don't remember and struggle to see it.

Con Gorozidis wrote:Armo, Lonie and Dunstan our worst performers.
All seem to be coach favourites. I think he likes their firm legs and stocky stature. Similar to his own.
Only reason for their unquestioned selection is homo-erotic. Certainly cant be performance.
you are one sick dude Con

Do they have someone to manage with? Name the second rucks for all those sides none would be as good as Longer or Hickey.

Longer is good now?

He is no good when debating the selection between him and Hickey

Now he's good

tony74 wrote:

Interesting
If you have 2 superior ruckman you play them both. You don't play your full forward as the relief ruckman. If they want to manage Hickey better then you don't flog him every game. You get in another ruckman to help him out.
Longer can at least jump and catch it. Brucey is over whelmed in the centre square and Holmesy is not up to AFL yet.

Kreuzer managed this week

http://www.afl.com.au/news/teams
f***! its just another term for bloody sore

magnifisaint wrote: If you have 2 superior ruckman you play them both. You don't play your full forward as the relief ruckman. If they want to manage Hickey better then you don't flog him every game. You get in another ruckman to help him out.
Longer can at least jump and catch it. Brucey is over whelmed in the centre square and Holmesy is not up to AFL yet.
Longer can't catch it.