Hawks 1st round pick watch

Fidelis

Hawks 1st round pick watch

I found myself barracking almost as hard for a Hawthorn loss as I did for a Saints win in round 1. Twice the chance of a win. Even seeing the injectors win didn't tarnish the pleasure of watching the Hawks go down. The round 1 analysis is all about their failure to cover the loss of Mitchell, Lewis and Hill and I'll go with that. At this point I'm tipping pick 8

Faithful Even Unto Death

Re: Hawks 1st round pick watch

Fidelis wrote:I found myself barracking almost as hard for a Hawthorn loss as I did for a Saints win in round 1. Twice the chance of a win. Even seeing the injectors win didn't tarnish the pleasure of watching the Hawks go down. The round 1 analysis is all about their failure to cover the loss of Mitchell, Lewis and Hill and I'll go with that. At this point I'm tipping pick 8
Wonder what slow, pea-hearted forward pocket we can get with 2 first rounders? :evil:

Love this thread!

So far so good

Fidelis wrote:I found myself barracking almost as hard for a Hawthorn loss as I did for a Saints win in round 1. Twice the chance of a win. Even seeing the injectors win didn't tarnish the pleasure of watching the Hawks go down. The round 1 analysis is all about their failure to cover the loss of Mitchell, Lewis and Hill and I'll go with that. At this point I'm tipping pick 8
2020 review of the 2017 draft:
Pick 7 - Port - an out and out superstar - the new chris judd. .
pick 8 - Hawthorn traded on to st kilda - disappointing so far, but expected to eke out a career.
pick 9 - Collingwood - hail mary punt which brought in the youngest brownlow medalist in history
pick 10 - St Kilda - injury interrupted career. may come good.

Jaeger a lazy 30 odd and counting. Mitchell similar numbers

citywest

19 points in front now the Crows!!!! :D

citywest

Imagine if Hawthorn lose to the Suns next week..... :-)

Hawks were always going to start slow

Gold Coast interstate next week
Geelong at the G
Us in Tassie

hmmmm.

citywest

Barracking for a Hawks loss this year feels even better than barracking for a Saints win. If our season goes pear shape, and we finish tenth and Hawks finish fourteenth, at least picks 5 and 9 in the National draft will make us feel better. :-) :-) :-)

citywest wrote:Barracking for a Hawks loss this year feels even better than barracking for a Saints win. If our season goes pear shape, and we finish tenth and Hawks finish fourteenth, at least picks 5 and 9 in the National draft will make us feel better. :-) :-) :-)
Picks 5 and 9 won't' be much use if they get wasted on superb kids with type 1 diabetes.

citywest wrote:Barracking for a Hawks loss this year feels even better than barracking for a Saints win. If our season goes pear shape, and we finish tenth and Hawks finish fourteenth, at least picks 5 and 9 in the National draft will make us feel better. :-) :-) :-)

Hey colin !

All you 'so-called' supporters, keep bagging Paddy, cause your going to have to eat a large humble pie, before you know it!!!!!

citywest

Picks 5 and 9 "SHOULD' get us 2 elite kid midfielders. Which is exactly what we need.
Once again I would like to remind everyone that Richmond offered pick 12 for Armo about 3 years ago. I said at the time we should have taken it and most on here called me a troll. WELL I STAND BY WHAT I SAID AND IF WE HAD ACCEPTED THAT TRADE WE WOULD HAVE ANOTHER STEELE TYPE PLAYER WITH 50 GAMES UNDER HIS BELT AND HIS BEST FOOTY IN FRONT OF HIM. Instead, we have a broken down Armo.

citywest wrote:Picks 5 and 9 "SHOULD' get us 2 elite kid midfielders. Which is exactly what we need.
Once again I would like to remind everyone that Richmond offered pick 12 for Armo about 3 years ago. I said at the time we should have taken it and most on here called me a troll. WELL I STAND BY WHAT I SAID AND IF WE HAD ACCEPTED THAT TRADE WE WOULD HAVE ANOTHER STEELE TYPE PLAYER WITH 50 GAMES UNDER HIS BELT AND HIS BEST FOOTY IN FRONT OF HIM. Instead, we have a broken down Armo.
No evidence on this.
But if we didnt take it we are completely insane.
His market value is about pick 40.

I can't believe how much fun I'm having watching these games BTW!

We should trade for future first rounders every year.

samuraisaint wrote:Gold Coast interstate next week
Geelong at the G
Us in Tassie

hmmmm.
Am going to Metricon next Sunday. Will be doubly cheering the Suns on but the Dawks will flog them if Suns don't improve

citywest wrote:Picks 5 and 9 "SHOULD' get us 2 elite kid midfielders. Which is exactly what we need.
No evidence on this.
But if we didnt take it we are completely insane.
His market value is about pick 40.
Just a bulls*** made up story that has long been discredited by both the tiges and the saints mate.

sainters85

no point having high draft picks if we can't draft all that well

Our last pick 12 snagged us those legends Tom Lee, Josh Saunders and Nathan Wright. Oh please, can we trade for a pick 12 again, <edited by mods> pest?

Winmar

That was in a highly compromised draft, wasn't it? Still, doesn't make for good reading.

Every draft we don't do well in is compromised.

Early days but the 8 is often known by Rd 10. We are on track for two top 10 draft picks imo.

This is my ladder:

Dogs
GWS
Crows
Eagles
Port
Cats
Demons
Tigers
Hawks (draft pick 10)
Swans
Saints (draft pick 8)
The rest

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/s ... d8809a5699
DRAFT LAUGH

HAWTHORN secured picks 10 + 68 (1454 draft points)

ST KILDA secured picks 23 + 36 + 2017 pick 1-18 (between 2302 and 4317 points)

What it means ...

*If Hawks win the flag, Saints win trade by 848 points (equivalent of pick 22 for free)

*If Hawks finish eighth, Saints win trade by 1024 points (equivalent of pick 17 for free)

*If Hawks get wooden spoon, Saints win trade by 2863 points (equivalent of pick 1-2 for free)