Happy 51st Birthday to Plugger!

Re: Happy 51st Birthday to Plugger!

this is just 11 months ago

Did he do a gastric band or something. Maybe needs to loosen it a couple of notches. That is a huge transformation - maybe even dangerously so. Hope he's not seriously unwell and thats prompted him to do a farewell journey back to footy type of thing. Hopefully he's just read Pete Evans latest and has gone full Paleo.

So what's the explanation?

he went on a long bike ride... and changed his eating habits

He looks 10 years older than 51 now

stevie wrote:He looks 10 years older than 51 now
Apparently he just cut out sugar, beer and bread. He's probably burning HEAPS of energy on his trail bike runs too. Still cuts me pretty deep to see him in that Sydney shirt. Shame he lives up there and isn't giving our boys a bit of kicking assistance.

Looks like Bret Bowie could outmuscle him now.

I think he loves Sydney much more than the Saints. We must have had a real s*** environment in those days or maybe it was the anonymity in Sydney that did it for him?

Didn't he say that St.Kilda would always be his true home at a function where a Spud broke down introducing him? I think this latest gig is based purely on geography and that he's managing Pridham's farm. A Sainter at heart and for life, methinks.

White Winmar wrote:Didn't he say that St.Kilda would always be his true home at a function where a Spud broke down introducing him? I think this latest gig is based purely on geography and that he's managing Pridham's farm. A Sainter at heart and for life, methinks.
I reckon it depends on who he's talking to.

kosifantutti wrote:
White Winmar wrote:Didn't he say that St.Kilda would always be his true home at a function where a Spud broke down introducing him? I think this latest gig is based purely on geography and that he's managing Pridham's farm. A Sainter at heart and for life, methinks.
I reckon it depends on who he's talking to.
Listening to Spider on radio the other week and he was asked which club- and said the Saints and the kids are saints- But distinctly remembering him - buying Hawks jumpers for the family when he went there.

It's funny

It took a move of clubs away from StK for Lockett, Hall and Everitt to enjoy the game and

Reports from all those players are that StK did not have a strong leadership culture or professional attitude compared to their new club

Joel Smith and Luke Ball have suggested the same about professionalism, in their case wrt rehab

lennyhaze

BigMart wrote:It's funny

It took a move of clubs away from StK for Lockett, Hall and Everitt to enjoy the game and

Reports from all those players are that StK did not have a strong leadership culture or professional attitude compared to their new club

Joel Smith and Luke Ball have suggested the same about professionalism, in their case wrt rehab

Its also the past. What matters is now and the culture and leadership seem very good to me.

So now our history doesn't matter?

I suppose it depends on the circumstances??

I agree that it seems we are very stable, it remains to be seen if we are to be successful

lennyhaze

BigMart wrote:So now our history doesn't matter?

I suppose it depends on the circumstances??

I agree that it seems we are very stable, it remains to be seen if we are to be successful

No idea if we will be successful and yes history does matter but it doesn't shape the future so being negative doesn't help anyone.

I thought history did shape the future

They say the best predictor of future behaviour is past behaviour

Re: Happy 51st Birthday to Plugger!r

BigMart wrote:I thought history did shape the future

They say the best predictor of future behaviour is past behaviour
Whose behaviour? This is very very wrong and nothing personal at all but I think you're projecting.

Sounds too grim for my liking because it means your fate is cealed by your history, which it is not.

If you define yourself from your past then you can never change anything.

And from who's viewpoint or perspective anyway? History and memory are also very maleable.

You define yourself from what you do right NOW.

Plugger, Barry Hall etc etc. They did it.

Plugger has just gone through a transformation in a very short time. It can be done.

Like we know for example, that you will never never quote even though you have been requested to, multiple times. That's how a forum works because everyone is supposed to follow the rules. The forum would be unworkable otherwise. But for some reason you think the rules don't apply to you.

So yes, in your case past behaviour is the best predictor of future behaviour.

Like I said, nothing personal but you are projecting.

Hawthorn must have been a rabble when they very nearly merged with Melbourne 20 odd years ago... they seem to have turned it around okay.

lennyhaze

dragit wrote:Hawthorn must have been a rabble when they very nearly merged with Melbourne 20 odd years ago... they seem to have turned it around okay.
Exactly. And how far back do you go looking into the past? 1966? or when Everitt played? That was a players generation ago. Would Billings or Steele care? Doubtful.

lennyhaze wrote:
dragit wrote:Hawthorn must have been a rabble when they very nearly merged with Melbourne 20 odd years ago... they seem to have turned it around okay.
Exactly. And how far back do you go looking into the past? 1966? or when Everitt played? That was a players generation ago. Would Billings or Steele care? Doubtful.
Players felt the burden of our history and the expectation of supporters in both 09 and in 2010. Roo admitted as much.

You're right it shouldn't be a factor but it is and it doesn't help. That's why the team who cracks it will be legends. The 66 team are sick of it.

lennyhaze wrote:
Players felt the burden of our history and the expectation of supporters in both 09 and in 2010. Roo admitted as much.

You're right it shouldn't be a factor but it is and it doesn't help. That's why the team who cracks it will be legends. The 66 team are sick of it.
That's probably true to a degree, but while we can't change our history of poor results it's different to suggesting that our unprofessional culture and poor attitude to rehab in the past somehow carries over to our current group.

Either we have our rehab and leadership in a good place or we don't still don't, but it has nothing to do with Barry hall or Joel smiths experience.

lennyhaze wrote:

That's probably true to a degree, but while we can't change our history of poor results it's different to suggesting that our unprofessional culture and poor attitude to rehab in the past somehow carries over to our current group.

Either we have our rehab and leadership in a good place or we don't still don't, but it has nothing to do with Barry hall or Joel smiths experience.
Sure. Also, they're practically 2 very different places.

Premium89

How did we get all the way here without any mention of PLUGGER THE PIG???
Yeah Ok, it's not really anything to do with plugger, but still pretty funny!

mcadam05

just posted this plugger video looks pretty fit in this