NATHAN FYFE OR DUSTY MARTIN. WE MUST GET ONE. And ACRES ...

Winmar

Re: NATHAN FYFE OR DUSTY MARTIN. WE MUST GET ONE. And ACRES

Jason Gram ended up with a fair few tattoos as well. Incidentally he's still only 32!

Jacks Back wrote:
loris wrote:
Life Long Saint wrote:
loris wrote:I'm sure if Saints try hard enough we can cultivate a tattooed bogan of our own who is a champion footballer - but one who has played from the Saints from the get go and will have loyalty to the red, White & black.
You mean like Peter Everitt or Barry Hall?
Maybe we shouldn't try to cultivate one then LLS, this goes to strengthen my opinion that tattooed, bogans of dubious character aren't the loyal types!! :wink:
We have Wright and Membrey with sleeve tattoos along with Carlisle now.
And Jimmy Webster, 'tho his tatts are small and discrete, so I can wear (???) his. Well in a fashion I can.

Oh and Membery has such an angelic face, plus a great body..... why oh why did he have to get it scribbled all over, such a shame IMHO.

Nathan Wright, has been one of my faves for years, I've been so disapppointed each time he got injured........ trouble is each time he came back from an injury, he had more tatts added, and it caused me a lot of tutt, tutt, tutting. Oh why do you do that young man. :evil:

I'm so pleased AR really showed confidence in the lad last season and wasn't turned off by his tatts!!!!
So I'll ignore Nathan's tatts, as I think if he can remain injury free, we might have a real gem, one who bleeeds red,white and black., who can prove to his nay sayers that he does have skills that will show through when he has the confidence in his ability to add to the team consistently.

Loris
I Posted on the doers forum in 2014 that atheletes were micro dosing PEDs using tattoo ink

I stated at the time that it seemed coincidental that the more Tatts AFL players got then the better they performed Dane Swan style

Here's the article (some of it anyway)

Jacquelin Magnay, Senior Sports Writer for the Sydney Morning Herald, stated the following in a May 1, 2008 article titled "Drug-Test Blitz on Olympians," published on the Sydney Morning Herald web site:
"Micro-doses [11.b] of drugs and hormones, chemically altered molecules of steroids, testosterone patches [16] and the old doping chestnut, human growth hormone [9], were the trends in drug taking by cheating athletes...
HGH, despite being used for decades, was still being abused by athletes, especially in combination with steroids... Despite recent research showing that HGH is ineffective on its own... athletes were using it to boost the effect of other perfor
Sky News, the UK's first 24-hour news channel, stated the following in an Aug. 7, 2008 article titled "Olympic Cheats Use 'Drug Tattoos," posted on its website:
"Olympic cheats are taking performance-enhancing drugs via tattoos [15] in an effort to win gold... Inserting drugs through tattoo needles increases the effect of drugs, meaning athletes can take smaller doses and 'fly under the radar' in dope tests.

Research in Germany has shown that delivering DNA vaccines via tattoo was 16 times more effective than injecting through the muscles or veins as the vibrating tattoo needle prepares the body's immune system and increases the body's response to the drug...

Former Australian Institute of Sport researcher Robin Parisotto said... 'With some of these things the technology is so new, the concept so bizarre, that there would only be a handful of well tapped-in athletes using it - but they will be experimenting at the Beijing Olympics because it is the ultimate. The problem is that some of the drugs would now fly under the radar with the tattoo technique because athletes would be taking a much smaller dose.'

Maybe it's just me, but all those tatts look like someone let a bunch of 4 yo kids loose on people's bodies with different coloured biros

supersaints wrote:Loris
I Posted on the doers forum in 2014 that atheletes were micro dosing PEDs using tattoo ink

I stated at the time that it seemed coincidental that the more Tatts AFL players got then the better they performed Dane Swan style

Here's the article (some of it anyway)

Jacquelin Magnay, Senior Sports Writer for the Sydney Morning Herald, stated the following in a May 1, 2008 article titled "Drug-Test Blitz on Olympians," published on the Sydney Morning Herald web site:
"Micro-doses [11.b] of drugs and hormones, chemically altered molecules of steroids, testosterone patches [16] and the old doping chestnut, human growth hormone [9], were the trends in drug taking by cheating athletes...
HGH, despite being used for decades, was still being abused by athletes, especially in combination with steroids... Despite recent research showing that HGH is ineffective on its own... athletes were using it to boost the effect of other perfor
Sky News, the UK's first 24-hour news channel, stated the following in an Aug. 7, 2008 article titled "Olympic Cheats Use 'Drug Tattoos," posted on its website:
"Olympic cheats are taking performance-enhancing drugs via tattoos [15] in an effort to win gold... Inserting drugs through tattoo needles increases the effect of drugs, meaning athletes can take smaller doses and 'fly under the radar' in dope tests.

Research in Germany has shown that delivering DNA vaccines via tattoo was 16 times more effective than injecting through the muscles or veins as the vibrating tattoo needle prepares the body's immune system and increases the body's response to the drug...

Former Australian Institute of Sport researcher Robin Parisotto said... 'With some of these things the technology is so new, the concept so bizarre, that there would only be a handful of well tapped-in athletes using it - but they will be experimenting at the Beijing Olympics because it is the ultimate. The problem is that some of the drugs would now fly under the radar with the tattoo technique because athletes would be taking a much smaller dose.'
Yes 'supersaints', it is a real concern, I do despair what young athletes could be/and are doing to their bodies these days in the pursuit of top performance. Aided and abetted by charlatans eager to take their money with no concern for their health. At the age most of them are at, they think they are bullet proof.
Alas so many have been cossseted from dealing with failure or coming second over their formative years, IMHO from the school system and their helicopter parents. They develop the mind set that only success will define them as individuals now. Don't worry about the future, it will all turn out all right, it always has, something or someone has been paving an easier path for them all their lives. 'Whatever It Takes'....... sadly that Essendon slogan is too widespread these days. :( :( :(

Devilhead wrote:Fyfe and Martin are not great kicks either but they make things happen as does Acres - like breaking through 3 tackles and getting the ball moving

No use holding Acres back because his kicking needs improving - the way he was shaping up last year shows he has the potential to be a bona fide game breaker if he isn't already

They must play him
A very insightful post you must see a lot of football to see the minute similarities between those skillful players
And agreed that Acres just needs games under his belt for no other reason than development - NOT a coaches carrot/reward
but I feel that is his major brickwall at the moment at skilda

Fyfe played pretty good tonight. He certainly doesn't seemed to be concerned with his leg.

Jacks Back wrote:Fyfe played pretty good tonight. He certainly doesn't seemed to be concerned with his leg.
When is he getting his tatts?

Winmar wrote:Jason Gram ended up with a fair few tattoos as well. Incidentally he's still only 32!
Only a matter of time till he gets his Norm Smith medal.

Inevitably they will change the rules like with the Brownlow to give retrospective medals for people who tied with the winner = J Gram 2009 joint NS medallist.

Fyfe is the best player in the comp.
Worth $1.5m a year.
Someone will pay that.
All 18 clubs will make a similar offer.

SMS

Agree. We will get fyfe for $1.5m. No one has the cash we do. Fyfe can live in bayside melbourne. We will have the best up and coming team. It all makes huge sense. If he wants to be a star and stand out its saints the place to be. Imagine winning only the second flag for such a historic team?? Sell that to him. We need to finish top 8 at least and show huge improvement.
Possible deals ...
Fyfe for Acres and a 2017 Rnd 1 pick (most likely)
Fyfe for 2 first rounds
Fyfe for Nothing - compo from afl if freo finish bottom 4

I will honestly be surprised if he DOESNT come to the saints
Andrew Welsh wasnt bullshitting us.

FWIW ACRES is the most overated player here since spencer white. And maybe his lack of effort over preseason is homesickness.
Send him home imo before he becomes mediocre
Dunstan it was dunstan all along. Why he was judged so harshly here is beyond me. The kids a gun.

He will sign for Freo

BigMart wrote:He will sign for Freo
It'll be interesting if Freo don't make the rapid improvement that many think though.

If they finish bottom 3 with 8 or 9 spankings... I reckon he'd have some pretty big doubts

SMS

BigMart wrote:He will sign for Freo
Very insightful post with great reasoning. Thank you for such contributions.

Seriously its more he will sign with us than freo atm. All depends on first 10 rounds.
If freo are 3-7 and we are 7-3, say hello to Nat Fyfe everyone!!!

Nat Fyfe
Stays in hometown where hes always been and be away from the REAL AFL ACTION of mebourne
Plays for a rebuilding team for possibility of finals in 2022 if all goes well
Gets $1.1m

Or
Goes to the saints
Gets $1.5m
Lives amongst REAL afl action
Plays for a finals team that should play finals for next 5-8 years straight
Chance to be part of historical moment (fiirst flag in 60+ years)
Will have ruckman to recieve and great forwards to kick to.

All depends on first 10 rounds

SMS

Not to mention playing for ross (a dog) or alan (a legend)

Fyfe a WA boy. It may surprise some people, but life in a big, cold, wet, windy, busy city like Melbourne doesn't hold appeal to everyone. I'd say the large majority of australians would have it well down their list of desirable locations. He also seems to enjoy the water a bit - a lot nicer water and weather by Freo than anywhere near Melbourne. If he comes it'll be for the money and a chance of success. Whoever wants him will have to offer a lot and convince him they're a real chance.

SMS wrote:Agree. We will get fyfe for $1.5m. No one has the cash we do. Fyfe can live in bayside melbourne. We will have the best up and coming team. It all makes huge sense. If he wants to be a star and stand out its saints the place to be. Imagine winning only the second flag for such a historic team?? Sell that to him. We need to finish top 8 at least and show huge improvement.
Possible deals ...
Fyfe for 2 first rounds

FWIW ACRES is the most overated player here since spencer white. And maybe his lack of effort over preseason is homesickness.
Dunstan it was dunstan all along. Why he was judged so harshly here is beyond me. The kids a gun.
DREAMING!!

Acres will be a far better footballer than Dunstan

saintbob wrote:
SMS wrote:Agree. We will get fyfe for $1.5m. No one has the cash we do. Fyfe can live in bayside melbourne. We will have the best up and coming team. It all makes huge sense. If he wants to be a star and stand out its saints the place to be. Imagine winning only the second flag for such a historic team?? Sell that to him. We need to finish top 8 at least and show huge improvement.
Possible deals ...
Fyfe for 2 first rounds

DREAMING!!

Acres will be a far better footballer than Dunstan
Acres and Dunstan.... both will be good!
Lets just enjoy their different styles

The_President

Acres is suffering from a few different things. One of those is the coaching staff - but for good reason.

There is no doubt Acres has the potential to be an absolute star, the question is if he has the mental drive to do so.

There are passages of play where the coaches sit back and think "Jesus, we've got the next Pendlebury here" and then there are plays where they think "Jesus, we've got another Fiora on our hands"

The talk of poor disposal keeping him out of the side is a complete smoke screen (think of the players who get games with terrible disposal over the last couple of years - Gilbo, Eli, Armo & even Steven can absolutely stuff a kick going forward.

Coaches are just waiting for Acres to show some more maturity. If you take Seb's professionalism and put it in Blake, we've got a game changer.

Before you start having a go at the coaches... Have a quick think - How many have they stuffed up recently?
Carlisle couldn't be helped & Freeman was always a risk.

Billings, Dunstan, Acres
Paddy, Goddard, Lonie
Gresham
PLUS
Bruce for a pick in the 40's
Membrey for free
Hickey & Longer

Savage was a nice set of steak knifes in the McEvoy trade

Even Roberton was a freebie.

Have faith, we're on track.

The_President

And on Fyfe.

He is obviously the best player in the comp when healthy. That final he played in with the broken leg was something else. Only played a half and still finished the game with the most contested disposals on the ground.

But you can't ignore the rumours of some players from Freo disliking his approach - I've heard it now from a number of sources.

BUT

Those sources also all say the same thing

Nat's intense, it's just how he is, everything he does in life is about getting better in footy, everything.

Nat Fyfe is one of those people who holds himself to an elite level of standards, but he holds everyone else to those same standards, which in theory is a good thing. But it only ends up being detrimental. People all have different personalities and react differently to things/have different approaches. One jacket doesn't fit the whole team.

Personally, I don't want to see the club pay anyone $1.5 million. I want to see the club keep breeding our own talent, and rewarding those that stay. Once you bring in someone on huge coin it creates a divide. Blokes like Jack Steven start thinking.. "I've given everything to this club, I've got 3 B&f's to my name.. why aren't I getting paid"

Keep breeding our own talent, keep the culture tight. THAT'S what will win us the flag.. a bunch of blokes who have grown up together, who play & die for each other.

ST Kilda is not pursuing gun Richmond midfielder Dustin Martin, who is one of 2017’s highest profile free agents.

Sources have confirmed the Saints have all but ruled themselves out of the race for the restricted free agent who can field offers from other clubs this season.

St Kilda is understood to be mindful of the high cost of luring Martin given it would likely take close to $1 million a year to prize the 25-year-old from Punt Road — taking into account the substantial offer Richmond has already made.
From Fox sports
The Saints are one of the clubs best prepared to launch a raid for an out-of-contract star and while they are among the many clubs interested in Fremantle superstar Nat Fyfe, the prevailing view among most clubs is that Fyfe is likely to stick with the Dockers.
Looks like there us one we won't get
IMO I don't think we should chase either,, just too much money required that will
Upset our own pay applecart
There will be someone who will fit the bill for us that won't cost the earth

supersaints wrote:ST Kilda is not pursuing gun Richmond midfielder Dustin Martin, who is one of 2017’s highest profile free agents.

Sources have confirmed the Saints have all but ruled themselves out of the race for the restricted free agent who can field offers from other clubs this season.

St Kilda is understood to be mindful of the high cost of luring Martin given it would likely take close to $1 million a year to prize the 25-year-old from Punt Road — taking into account the substantial offer Richmond has already made.
From Fox sports
The Saints are one of the clubs best prepared to launch a raid for an out-of-contract star and while they are among the many clubs interested in Fremantle superstar Nat Fyfe, the prevailing view among most clubs is that Fyfe is likely to stick with the Dockers.
IMO I don't think we should chase either,, just too much money required that will
http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/st-kild ... 66503c3f9e

supersaints wrote:ST Kilda is not pursuing gun Richmond midfielder Dustin Martin, who is one of 2017’s highest profile free agents.

From Fox sports
If true, I for one am disappointed. I thought he could have added the class, x-factor and goal scoring we needed in our midfield to compete with the likes of GWS. I think we desperately need more class and are crossing our fingers that Billings, Gresh and Acres can provide that but no guarentees. I don't believe the million dollar price tag scared us off - they have designed our list and salary cap to accommodate that with our older retirees soon. WE have had quite a few players on close to a mill before and inflation/tv dollar growth will make that not even that much really.

I think its the d**khead/risk factor. After what Mark William said, it sounds like he needs a lot of hand holding to stay on track and in the heat of a flag tilt there may not be time for that. Unless we are really zeroing in on another target and want to give that everything without rumours of going after others souring them. We just seem to be a club that is no risk and hence no glory.

It would be pretty dumb to rule ourselves out of any player in March…

Martin may go on to win the brownlow this year.

Hopefully we stay open to all potential quality players.

desertsaint wrote:Fyfe a WA boy. It may surprise some people, but life in a big, cold, wet, windy, busy city like Melbourne doesn't hold appeal to everyone. I'd say the large majority of australians would have it well down their list of desirable locations. He also seems to enjoy the water a bit - a lot nicer water and weather by Freo than anywhere near Melbourne. If he comes it'll be for the money and a chance of success. Whoever wants him will have to offer a lot and convince him they're a real chance.
Not everyone wants to live down in the SE of Australia?

Really?

Maybe they would just prefer to stay put...

Who would have known that!?

Wow!

Just wow!