Nathan Freeman.

Re: Nathan Freeman.

tony74 wrote:Expecting him to play for Sandy this weekend.
Cool.

Is he a realistic chance (on the off chance he doesn't get reinjured), to play for the Sandy seniors come round 1 of the VFL season or is itnore likley to be the development squad until he is match fit for senior VFL action?

whiskers3614 wrote:
White Winmar wrote:
Enrico_Misso wrote:Presumably this latest injury is a "two week" one?
The new Aaron Hamill with the knee injury? Let's hope not.
No, just waiting for Christian Barnard to work his magic! :oops:
If you are waiting for Christiaan Barnard, you will be waiting for a while as he died in 2001.
That explains why we haven't seen hide nor hair of him for 15 years. Dr Barnard is the only bloke that can re-start his heart, and he has carked it.

Cool.

Is he a realistic chance (on the off chance he doesn't get reinjured), to play for the Sandy seniors come round 1 of the VFL season or is itnore likley to be the development squad until he is match fit for senior VFL action?
Given that he's done just about a full pre season I'd be disappointed if he's not in Sandy's ones for the first round. Don't think there's much benefit playing him in the devt league given the standard.

hfrazer1

Cool.

Do you know tony if Freeman will play in the Sandy development squad or seniors this week?

Slight setback this week so I don't think you'll see him.

2 weeks.

tony74 wrote:Slight setback this week so I don't think you'll see him.
What sort of setback, T74? Of the hamstring variety? Hip? Awareness?

George27

Richo said on 3AW yesterday it was a hip and unrelated to the hammy issues.

The Craw

George27 wrote:Richo said on 3AW yesterday it was a hip and unrelated to the hammy issues.
Which to me, this means they have altered his running style.

I would expect some more unrelated setbacks to occur .... all for the good. The body will adjust and build.

Not Craw, CRAW!

George27 wrote:Richo said on 3AW yesterday it was a hip and unrelated to the hammy issues.

How can an injury in the hip not be related to what's going on in the upper leg?

Wasted second round pick.

The Craw wrote:
Which to me, this means they have altered his running style.

I would expect some more unrelated setbacks to occur .... all for the good. The body will adjust and build.
Could you provide more detail for the layman?

White Winmar wrote:
If Freezer can slowly keep getting 'awareness' of each part of his body, in a few years he should be totally aware of all his body and ready to string some games together. Looking forward to it.

I don't have a problem that we rolled the dice and it didn't pay off. You have to take some risks - as long as you win more than you lose. Membrey Bruce Steele Carlisle Weller Hickey all look like wins. Trading out Big Ben for effectively Dunstan Acres and a pick upgrade was a win. Lee and Freeman only ones where we gave up something significant and lost.

I don't think Freeman will make it, but I'll be very happy if I'm wrong.

Love is all you need

Bluthy wrote:
White Winmar wrote:
If Freezer can slowly keep getting 'awareness' of each part of his body, in a few years he should be totally aware of all his body and ready to string some games together. Looking forward to it.

Reckon you're dreaming. He's barely played any footy at all for three years. That alone, his injuries aside, has got to impact on his capacity to perform at the top level. Another few years?????
I reckon he's an injury bust. It's just one 'setback' after another.
Does he have a contract beyond this year?

As I understand it, Freeman has got thru the pre-season - and has a hip issue currently.

The Coach, who should know and who obviously supports his players, says the hip issue is unrelated to the hamstring issues.

So, from that advice from the Coach, Freeman's hamstring has allowed him to complete the full pre-season.

And, to me, that is excellent news and the news we most hoped for.

So he was right to play some footy in the lead up to the 2017 season, delayed now by a hip issue.

No doubt he will be frustrated - but he has shown the commitment he has by overcoming his hamstring issue.

And we would look forward to his full recovery from the hip issue, play initially in the VFL and show us why he was a top 10 Pick and why St Kilda went to the efforts they did to coax him from Collingwood, to the annnoyance of that Club's Coach and administration.

In regards the 2017 season, we have not got to Round 1 yet, and the season runs until the end of September.

So another 7 months.

Remember Michael Gardiner

Short memories people, from day dot, we we're always told 2018!!!!!

Bluthy wrote:
White Winmar wrote:
Don't mean to be rude but...

A few years?!

You taking the piss?

Roughead has been out for less time and he had the big C.

Reality check.

stonecold wrote:Short memories people, from day dot, we we're always told 2018!!!!!

So we paid a three year contract

Spent two years paying for medical/rehab

And get one year back in 2018

And he will not have played footy for the best part of 5 years?

BigMart wrote:So we paid a three year contract

Yeap, that's it, it's what good clubs do, take a chance on elite talent!!!!!

dragit wrote:2 weeks.
2 more seasons he will be a GO!

stonecold wrote:
BigMart wrote:So we paid a three year contract

Yeap, that's it, it's what good clubs do, take a chance on elite talent!!!!!
It sounds ridiculous to me that a fella's being considered as potentially 'good to go' after barely kicking a ball in anger for 5 years. Supremely optimistic to think that's going to work out. Let's see how he goes this year. Hope he proves me wrong but don't reckon he's going to get on the park regularly. Setback after setback......

Spoke to him yesterday at the Jersey launch and said he was ready to go after doing a full pre season...

What's he gonna do?

Publicly disclose any issues to a fan, who will share it on Social Media - which will create another news story?

Any problems with him will be kept under wraps until someone in the media asks

BigMart wrote:What's he gonna do?

Publicly disclose any issues to a fan, who will share it on Social Media - which will create another news story?

Any problems with him will be kept under wraps until someone in the media asks
Only problem BM is that the club will trot out the old 'it's purely precautionary and there's nothing wrong' line.
I've had a look at Collingwood supporters talking about Wells. It's even worse there. He's not even training and the club's saying nothing.
Think someone needs to plant a microphone somewhere and listen in to some convesations.