Former Saint not in the best health

mcadam05

Former Saint not in the best health

News out of WA over the weekend is that former Saints Star George Young isnt very well , Hopefully seeing the current 27 slot though a lazy 7 on Saturday gave him abit of a boost

all the best George :)

Re: Former Saint not in the best health

Geez. One of my heroes. Fabulous player match winner
All the best George.

Mine too. One of the best ever. What's his health problem, McAdam 05?

You gave me years of enjoyment.

Get well soon mate.

mcadam05

White Winmar wrote:Mine too. One of the best ever. What's his health problem, McAdam 05?
Didnt really go into it just say he's in poor health

As a kid growing up he was my favourite Saints player.

I independently attended my first games at Moorabbin as an 11 yo, because George Young gave a footy clinic at my school and left a few St Kilda memberships. We (St KIlda supporters) were chuffed and relished a training session with a hero. Best wishes and hopes for a full recovery.

The first number on my back was 27 he was my idol growing up. Get well champ!!

Great player

Not too sure who on our list to compare him to,for the ones who didnt see him

Made a first class ton for WA in The Sheffield Shield as well, didn't he? Bloody show off!:)

bergsone wrote:Great player

He was pretty unique, wasn't he? Half forward flanker, full forward, on ball, Georgie could do it all. Remember his famous shootout with filthy PHIL Carman in 1975? Yes, Carman got 11 in his new white boots, but many forget that Georgie got 8 himself. Then there was the time he got 10 out of 17 in a loss to Fitzroy at Moorabbin. I'll never forget the chants of "Georgie, Georgie!" from the cheer squad. Idolised him. I had him on a hff in my saints team of the century. Get well Mr. Young.

mcadam05

this is from 1987 St kilda year book

George27

George was my idol as well- hence the name I use on this forum. I too had 27 on my duffle coat. Once he started playing full forward ( in 1975 when he was ill so Yabby put him in the goal square ) I used to follow him each quarter, standing behind the goals at the end we were kicking too- just behind the opposition cheer squad .That day he kicked 9 against the Dogs at Western Oval was absolutely brilliant. His best game ever however was the 73 Elimination final- 24 kicks, 14 marks, 6 goals from a flank.
In 1978 he had 60 goals after 14 games, and was a fair chance for the ton. However Swampy Pattison moved him back out to a flank so he only kicked 10 in next 4 weeks, then he was ill ( mumps I think ) , came back hurt his knee and never played for us again.

It is indeed hard to describe to the younger folk the sort of player George was, as they don't really exist any more. In an era when there was so much more space and one-on-one contests, he was so good at beating his man one-on-one and swinging onto that beautiful left foot. Absolute poetry in motion.

Get well soon, Georgie.

mcadam05

George27 wrote:George was my idol as well- hence the name I use on this forum. I too had 27 on my duffle coat. Once he started playing full forward ( in 1975 when he was ill so Yabby put him in the goal square ) I used to follow him each quarter, standing behind the goals at the end we were kicking too- just behind the opposition cheer squad .That day he kicked 9 against the Dogs at Western Oval was absolutely brilliant. His best game ever however was the 73 Elimination final- 24 kicks, 14 marks, 6 goals from a flank.
In 1978 he had 60 goals after 14 games, and was a fair chance for the ton. However Swampy Pattison moved him back out to a flank so he only kicked 10 in next 4 weeks, then he was ill ( mumps I think ) , came back hurt his knee and never played for us again.

It is indeed hard to describe to the younger folk the sort of player George was, as they don't really exist any more. In an era when there was so much more space and one-on-one contests, he was so good at beating his man one-on-one and swinging onto that beautiful left foot. Absolute poetry in motion.

Get well soon, Georgie.

here' s all the goals from the 72 EF

Fraser Gehrig would be the closest.

Linton Lodger wrote:

Fraser Gehrig would be the closest.
except GTrain is about a foot taller and 20kgs heavier :D :D
The closet i saw to George Young was Rod Owen, similar freakish ability to kick goals from anywhere and both great in one on one duels.

I think Jack Billings is a lot like George Young for those of you who never saw him play. Very highly skilled. His left foot kicking was lethal. Great hands. Just a classy player to watch. Billings can be like him. Let's hope he can be half as good at least.

I think I recall a game at Morrabbin when Young kicked 9 and Carman kicked 11 , one of the best displays from two full forwards in the one game, sadly I think we lost?
Loved Watching George.. he was sublimely skillful, as an interesting aside I think he was a perfume salesman.

Hope he gets well soon one if my faves

yipper wrote:I think Jack Billings is a lot like George Young for those of you who never saw him play. Very highly skilled. His left foot kicking was lethal. Great hands. Just a classy player to watch. Billings can be like him. Let's hope he can be half as good at least.
Plus one, yipper. Let's hope JB turns out to be good.

Similar modern day player would be Jeremy Cameron at Giants.
Golden boots was sublimely skilled.
We had a couple of nice WA footballers at the time with George, Bruce 'super' Duperouzel & Russell Reynolds not long after a knee injury ruined one of the best players I ever saw John McIntosh also from WA.

I remember watching George Young play, and on our list today , I reckon Blake Acres moves a lot like George, but George was in a league of his own.

Fidelis

Who does he play like? Make up your own mind:

Faithful Even Unto Death

Maybe the roll that Membrey plays is similar to how he was used by us

Very hard to compare him with others

yipper wrote:I think Jack Billings is a lot like George Young for those of you who never saw him play. Very highly skilled. His left foot kicking was lethal. Great hands. Just a classy player to watch. Billings can be like him. Let's hope he can be half as good at least.
Good comparison, hope Billings ends up as good.