Moorabbin redevelopment delayed

Re: Moorabbin redevelopment delayed

Hey colin !

citywest wrote:I'm going to stalk her on facebook. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
That will just make it worse

"Moorabbin resident Gillian Lelah spoke out against plans to place the pokies near a bar “in the face of young people” in the new complex at a Kingston Council meeting earlier this year.

“Research by Gambling Research Australia, indicates that 18 to 24-year-olds spend more on poker machines than any other age group,” Ms Lelah said in August."

s***, better start closing down pubs and the nightclub district. Don't want alcohol and that kind of stuff in kids faces, they cause more issues than gambling. Hell, let's just wrap up a whole generation in cotton wool and nurse them into their 40s. What a waste of time.

I guess this was the original reason we abandoned the old dump and headed to Seaford. Back then the club just wanted to relocate the social club and pokies to South Rd. This time, just rebuild what should be condemned.

Good thing, then, that Seaford is still a modern facility that will serve us well for a few years to come.

Just to be clear, Kingston Council is unanimously supportive of the redevelopment, and is very enthusiastic about the new facility and welcoming St Kilda back to Moorabbin.

We have the Council's full support (or at least we did prior to the recent election).

This is one resident pushing an agenda.

IanRush

Griggsy wrote:"Moorabbin resident Gillian Lelah spoke out against plans to place the pokies near a bar “in the face of young people” in the new complex at a Kingston Council meeting earlier this year.

“Research by Gambling Research Australia, indicates that 18 to 24-year-olds spend more on poker machines than any other age group,” Ms Lelah said in August."

s***, better start closing down pubs and the nightclub district. Don't want alcohol and that kind of stuff in kids faces, they cause more issues than gambling. Hell, let's just wrap up a whole generation in cotton wool and nurse them into their 40s. What a waste of time.
She might be aligned, or follow, the likes of Nick Xenophon and Stephen Mayne, may be worth researching her links to either of those gents. Usually one objection will not mean VCAT or Council rejection o the proposal, but it may delay the process. Perhaps someone here needs to write some 'Counter Questions' and present them, when thsi matter is discussed at Council Chambers and/or VCAT (if it gets that far)

I found this:

http://www.theage.com.au/comment/the-ag ... qvcc6.html

Protection from pokies

In all the 24 years that St Kilda Football Club has operated a pokies venue it has never had a planning permit, despite this being a state legislative requirement. The club now has before Kingston Council an application involving the demolition of its Moorabbin facility and the creation of a $29 million regional sports centre, the majority of which is funded by taxpayers and ratepayers. The club has claimed the pokies area will not be a new venue, and therefore a separate planning permit is not required.

The new sports centre is expected to attract some 15,000 children and young people, according to the state government. It will also sit directly adjacent to the Moorabbin Activity Centre, with its thousands of apartments, both recently built and planned. According to Gambling Research Australia, 18- to 24-year-olds spend more on the pokies than any other age group, and many adult problem gamblers report having developed problems during their teenage years. Kingston Council is in the top 10 municipalities for pokies' losses. When is council going to wake up to the potential it is creating for a new generation of young problem gamblers with all the associated suffering?

Council seems hell bent on voting on this development before going into caretaker mode next month. But concerned members of the public can have their say at tomorrow's (22/8) council meeting question time. Once the decision is made, it will be locked in for 50 years – a length of the very generous lease being offered to St Kilda.

Gillian Lelah, Moorabbin

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/leader/inne ... 610f6e48ac

Woman urges St Kilda to find ‘better location’ for pokies in new Moorabbin home

Moorabbin Kingston Leader
August 18, 2016 12:00am

ST KILDA Football Club has been urged to ensure the 86 poker machines at its new Moorabbin home will not be “in the face of young people”.

Concerned resident Gillian Lelah raised concerns about the proposed Linton St development when she spoke at a Kingston Council meeting.

She said that research showed 18 to 24-year-olds spend more on pokies than any other age group, and problems for many adult gamblers were formed in their teenage years.

Finnis and Lelah speak at Kingston Council Chambers, Minutes 12 September 2016: http://www.kingston.vic.gov.au/files/2f ... r-2016.pdf

USELESS FACT: The WADA case against Essendon (in Sydney as well) is exactly 10 years to the day that Australia qualified for the 2006 FIFA World Cup.
santazzi

Hey Rushie

Now that the Essendope debacle is approaching conclusion (at least for now) your next call can be to uncover the anti-STK forces trying to derail our homecoming.

Send some hired goons to her place.

IanRush

santazzi wrote:Hey Rushie

Now that the Essendope debacle is approaching conclusion (at least for now) your next call can be to uncover the anti-STK forces trying to derail our homecoming.
I like how you roll.... am onto it!

USELESS FACT: The WADA case against Essendon (in Sydney as well) is exactly 10 years to the day that Australia qualified for the 2006 FIFA World Cup.
santazzi

IanRush wrote:
santazzi wrote:Hey Rushie

I like how you roll.... am onto it!
Great...I wonder if TOT is itching to launch into this great cause?

Legendary wrote:Just to be clear, Kingston Council is unanimously supportive of the redevelopment, and is very enthusiastic about the new facility and welcoming St Kilda back to Moorabbin.

We have the Council's full support (or at least we did prior to the recent election).

Yes we all know that.

This "resident" is a f****** moron who should be deported to the country of origin of her anscestors (I'm assuming she isn't indigenous).

It's abhorrent the thought of a 7 month delay due to an imbecile. Democracy is rooted if that's the case here.

citywest wrote:I'm going to stalk her on facebook. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
Go for it. And if you aren't banned, report back here in a month.

IanRush

Legendary wrote:Just to be clear, Kingston Council is unanimously supportive of the redevelopment, and is very enthusiastic about the new facility and welcoming St Kilda back to Moorabbin.

Yes we all know that.

This "resident" is a f****** moron who should be deported to the country of origin of her anscestors (I'm assuming she isn't indigenous).

It's abhorrent the thought of a 7 month delay due to an imbecile. Democracy is rooted if that's the case here.
A common tactic used by developers/applicants to speed up the process during the Planning Permit stage is to lodge a "deliberately crap" Planning Permit application, so that Council rejects it, then the applicant amends the plans and lodges them with VCAT.

Seen many examples of this at work.

Spike her organic mung beans.

Surely the system is broken if this can occur. Isn't the time to lodge and hear objections in the initial submission phase? Pardon my ignorance, but wouldn't she have had plenty of opportunity to lodge an objection when submissions were called for prior to the project's approval? This smacks of political grandstanding. The council made its decision, with the benefits to the ratepayers of Kingston far outweighing any perceived drawbacks. Why is it possible that one halfwit, with dubious motives ( self interest and furthering a political "career") that have little to do with "protecting the youth of Kingston from the horror" of poker machines. Time to invoke the "Spock" rule. The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the one. Live long and prosper.

lefty

How can 1 persons view hold up an entire build.... over an entire club / members / other community views... ridiculous.

These type of people are the ones that whinge and complain all the time that no one every gets along with, let's face it, she doesn't want the club there.
She can talk about her nanny views, but unless she wants to shut down every bar and club in the entire state / country, she's just whinging. Has no idea and does not effect her life in any way, shape or form.

End of the day, no one forces you to gamble, grow up.

I thought they were taking a while to knock down the old grand stand.
Last edited by Jacks Back on Thu 10 Nov 2016 6:53am, edited 4 times in total.

BringBackMadDog wrote:http://www.heraldsun.com.au/leader/inne ... 0b2e7138f8

Its ridiculous that one objection can result in the project being delayed by 7 months and potentially completely derailed if VCAT rule against us
These processes were put in place for a reason.

So that socialist snot and green slime could terrorise legitimate development into not proceeding.
Stupid people voted for the politicians who created these processes.
These "objections" have been going on for decades.
It is just that you are not aware of any that have affected you in the past.

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08

Careful what you say folks Ms Lelah could team up with Gillian Triggs to take you for a million in compensation for hurt feelings under 18C.

Your company is going to out of business because another company used AI.
- Jensen Huang, CEO of NVIDIA 50:08

Does anyone know where to get a copy of the floor plans of the new development? Correct me if I'm wrong but, I'm pretty sure the pokie/bar venue was being designed to be tucked away in the new facility.

I'll be well f**ked off if The Age and the Herald Scum run this story quite a lot over the summer and St Kilda somehow become the face of football's reliance for pokie revenue. I mean... club's like Hawthorn, Collingwood etc.... their operations as footy club's are completely underpinned by pokie revenue. $20 million a year or something like that for Hawthorn... They own entire entertainment venues for f**k sake but I can totally see the Saints becoming the club that becomes the face of this s**t.... over 80 machines.

Oh one more thing... I can't believe after all the crap with Kingston City Council... Archie Fraser... pulling up stumps and moving to Seafood... moving back... yada yada yada.... I could keep on going.. but these 80 f**king pokie machines are STILL at the forefront of issues facing the St Kilda footy Club! I mean... f**k me... Kind of want to take a baseball bat to them so everybody can just move on.

ace wrote:Careful what you say folks Ms Lelah could team up with Gillian Triggs to take you for a million in compensation for hurt feelings under 18C.
I'd like to think you're joking, ace, but the reality is they could. A prominent former minister in the labour state government is suing a person for what is known as a Facebook "sting" that a so-called FB friend delivered. It was highly critical of the minister's performance and views, as well as the fact that he is now enjoying his generous, taxpayer-funded retirement, overseas. This is what the world is coming to. The ambulance chasers are alive and well, especially where there is a dollar to be made from the perpetually outraged! The worst part of it is, a journalist friend of mine, who specialises and lectures in media law, reckons he'll win and will get up to 6 figures in compensation. He says there are now numerous examples of people being successfully sued for what they put on social media. You may as well put what you write on your feed, on the front page of The Age. Imagine the legal action some posters on here could take against one another!*

* I'd just like to take this opportunity to apologise to all forumites I have criticised or insulted in my posts on here. It was not my intention to offend. Plese don't sue me!
Written on the advice of Cormorant, Vulture & Seagull, attorneys at law.

We can say what we like on here about others. It's an anonymous forum. We just can't abuse the shyte out of each other!

President Trump wouldn't allow this sort of BS. The Republican's have control of government and no one could stop developments as minor as these from going through over there anymore.

saintspremiers wrote:no one could stop developments as minor as these from going through over there anymore.
As long as you give trump his share, and it doesn't effect his holdings

citywest

Maybe we should start <<< MOD EDIT >>> :evil: :twisted: :D :mrgreen: