April 17, 1993 @ Vic Park - Who was there?

Re: April 17, 1993 @ Vic Park - Who was there?

Reckon I would have been there as a 38 year old, and most likely with my mate Bruce who I've been going to the footy with since the late 1960's

Sadly I can't remember being at this particular game, although I'm pretty sure I remembered where I parked. Much as I hated Victoria Park and the feral bogan supporters, I kind of miss that experience. My most vidid recolections of Victoria Park are the open toilets in the outer, virtually a concrete wall with a river of urine flowing into the mud.....and I remember the peanut man...

Gee I loved the suburban grounds...they all had their unique characteristics..

Brownlow Votes:
3. G McAdam
2. N Winmar
1. B Rowe

We lost our next five matches.

Listened on the radio that day. Dad didn't take me to many away games when you had to travel to places like Vic Park

The only time I ever went to Victoria Park was in 1979.

Enough said.

I was there. Sort of. 23 and very drunk. Was with my dad, his mate Alby Smedts and 2 of my mates. Got into a fight cause 2 ferals were harassing old Alby as he walked out singing our song. We had a push and shove and then dad turned up in the car. As we got in it 5 or 6 more ferals chased us down the road. It was like a scene out of the Warriors as though we were being chased off the Orphans turf. We were young and full of spirit and so proud of Gilbert and Cuz. I dated McAdams sister for a while later in life. A very beautiful woman. She always believed it was his best game ever.

evo

I was there with my family, drunk and obnoxious after our win. Had some very big mates with me or I would not have survived.

Selhurst Saint wrote:I was there as well that day with a mate and still remember parts of it vividly. It was a beautiful Autumn day, plugger was out, Harvey went down in the first half, but we always had the feeling we would win.

You could sense something was happening on the ground. I remember in the 3rd quarter Gilbert must have called monky out in a boundary throw in. Monky obliged by tapping the ball straight down Gilbos' throat and he put it through for a goal. Nicky and Gilbo both followed Monkhorst back to the middle giving it too him. Clearly Monkhorst was one of the main protagonists that day.

After the game my mate and I went to the Yarra Falls hotel on Johnston St to celebrate and to basically stick it to the filth fans. A massive group of saints fans steamed in later chanting obscenities at the locals but thankfully there were no trouble.
We were both in new relationships and were supposed to be going out to dinner on a double date that night. The girls had to pick us up from a pub in Collingwood at about 7.30 and we were in no state for polite conversation. The poor girls had to endure a couple of hours of two blithering idiots going over the events of the day and singing the club song ad nauseum.

Fun times.

My memory tells me that Darren Bourke kicked our last goal. Can someone confirm that??
Buckets took a mark on the siren and kicked the last goal.
Nicky kicked the one before that.

one point

I also went. My least favourite grounds were always Vic park and windy hill. Poor results and feral supporters.
This was a memorable game. The outstanding performances of Nicky and Gilbert, the svelte performance of Peter Everitt in the forward pocket, the win despite the hostility of the crowd throughout and after the game and of course 'the moment'.
I had my binoculars on Nicky as he was making his way to the boundary after the game. I saw him pause and look at the baying Collingwood crowd in front of him and then he stood erect, slowly lifted his jumper and pointed to his skin. An unforgettable moment. Sport, life, art all encompassed in 'the moment'.

I wasn't there but loved those old tribal suburban shitheaps.

Even Moorabbin, which I loved because it was home for our team, was a dump.

People just behaved in a manner akin to their surroundings - the grounds were all human zoos.

My fav was going to Windy Hill and seeing the peanut man

Selhurst Saint

kosifantutti wrote:
Selhurst Saint wrote:I was there as well that day with a mate and still remember parts of it vividly. It was a beautiful Autumn day, plugger was out, Harvey went down in the first half, but we always had the feeling we would win.

You could sense something was happening on the ground. I remember in the 3rd quarter Gilbert must have called monky out in a boundary throw in. Monky obliged by tapping the ball straight down Gilbos' throat and he put it through for a goal. Nicky and Gilbo both followed Monkhorst back to the middle giving it too him. Clearly Monkhorst was one of the main protagonists that day.

After the game my mate and I went to the Yarra Falls hotel on Johnston St to celebrate and to basically stick it to the filth fans. A massive group of saints fans steamed in later chanting obscenities at the locals but thankfully there were no trouble.
We were both in new relationships and were supposed to be going out to dinner on a double date that night. The girls had to pick us up from a pub in Collingwood at about 7.30 and we were in no state for polite conversation. The poor girls had to endure a couple of hours of two blithering idiots going over the events of the day and singing the club song ad nauseum.

Fun times.

My memory tells me that Darren Bourke kicked our last goal. Can someone confirm that??
Bloody hell, did Darren Bourke even play?

"...If there has been one recurring theme through this whole shocking mess, it has been the misguided, inflated egos and their ill-judged determination to cling to long-standing old boy friendships. The bad advice that has guided the selfish and culpable James Hird has not only punctuated this saga but symbolised it..."

Selhurst Saint wrote:Bloody hell, did Darren Bourke even play?
He sure did! Kicked one or two goals from memory.
saintspremiers wrote:My fav was going to Windy Hill and seeing the peanut man
Oh, I remember the peanut man! "PEANUTS! PEANUTS! 50 CENTS A BAG!"
He also appeared a lot at Princess Park. Apparently he owned a newsagency somewhere near Windy Hill. Someone told me they once saw him selling not just peanuts, but also porno magazines outside of the ground. "GET YOUR PEANUTS AND YOUR DIRTY BOOKS". Although, I'm not so sure how true that was.
He had that great big old fashioned mailbag on his back with hundreds of those little white paper confectionery bags filled with roasted peanuts in their shells. It was good value. The bag of peanuts would last you through the match. Love the idea of eating peanuts at the footy. Better for you to snack on than all of that deep fried (and overpriced) garbage they serve up in those food outlets.

Selhurst Saint wrote:
kosifantutti wrote:

Fun times.

Bloody hell, did Darren Bourke even play?
I recorded the game when they showed it on NITV last year.

Bourke kicked two but no idea when.

I was 18, in the outer with a few Collingwood supporting mates from school. I remember having a bit of a too & fro with a voice behind me... when I eventually turned around he was a monster of a man, fortunately the mouthing off didn't escalate.

I do recall a lot of feeling in the crowd that day, it was a battle on field & off. When the siren sounded it was like winning a flag...and at that stage of 93 it looked like we would be a fair chance to do so 5 months later. Unfortunately Neil Elvis got some very bad advice and our season was de-railed.

I didn't see Nicky pull his jumper up (we were on the opposite side of the ground) and didn't hear about it until the next day. We kicked the footy around on the ground until security kicked us off the ground. The only time I felt a bit uneasy was at Vic Park station, waiting for the Hurstbridge line train & being the only bloke on the platform in a Saints jumper... evil looks from evil people everywhere!

A great day at the footy that I'll never forget

Animal Enclosure wrote:I didn't see Nicky pull his jumper up (we were on the opposite side of the ground) and didn't hear about it until the next day.
I don't think anyone saw it, except for those two photographers. I was in the Saints CS and we must have been roughly 30 meters away from him where he did it. It happened in the blink of an eye. But of course, those two photographers framed up, pulled focus and hit their their shutters on the right subject, at the right time. They have eyes like hawks!

Was there.
A rare win at the Filth's home.
Had a beer afterwards at a local pub and felt on top of the world.

Didn't see Elvis raise his jumper but I well remember a few days later when he walked out of the club.
Led on by his $&@#hole manager Peter Jess he demanded $600k pa in a time of just over $2m per club.
When the club explained it wasn't possible he walked out.

So went from chocolates to boiled lollies in a couple of days.

Sainternist wrote:
Selhurst Saint wrote:Bloody hell, did Darren Bourke even play?
He sure did! Kicked one or two goals from memory.
saintspremiers wrote:My fav was going to Windy Hill and seeing the peanut man
Oh, I remember the peanut man! "PEANUTS! PEANUTS! 50 CENTS A BAG!"
He also appeared a lot at Princess Park. Apparently he owned a newsagency somewhere near Windy Hill. Someone told me they once saw him selling not just peanuts, but also porno magazines outside of the ground. "GET YOUR PEANUTS AND YOUR DIRTY BOOKS". Although, I'm not so sure how true that was.
He had that great big old fashioned mailbag on his back with hundreds of those little white paper confectionery bags filled with roasted peanuts in their shells. It was good value. The bag of peanuts would last you through the match. Love the idea of eating peanuts at the footy. Better for you to snack on than all of that deep fried (and overpriced) garbage they serve up in those food outlets.
And the peanuts were all natural good healthy food. You had to work for your tucker shelling all those nuts. The mess on the ground was phenomenal. And it wasn't expensive for those big bags

Great thread guys. It's interesting getting a perspective from those that were very young and old and in between. Thanks for the memories. Cuz and Gilly were 2 of my favourite players for the Saints at the time and although we did try to find some indigenous talent with GT it's a pity that Saints have failed to recruit some magic in the last few years

yep I was there and it was great to win at that s*** hole.

My hatred of Collingwood stems from that place , the most obnoxious of all and they ramped it up at Vic park..at times it reminded me of One flew over the cuckoos nest. Place was always full of violent weirdos.