Oh when the saints

For those of you at the game yesterday i was wondering whether anyone new the origins of the 'oh when the saints' chant / song that echoed through the G pre game, possibly at half time? and certainly at the end of the game?
It sounded like a very locker room rendition of the club song from back in the day and started out very very slowly in the first verse, speeding up to manic proportions in the second. It was absolutely haunting - gave me goosebumps!
i was wondering whether this is something we are doing this year or something from the 66 flag? I hope they keep playing it - really got me going, there was a certain element of magic to it...something really special

mambo2706

Re: Oh when the saints

Was also done before the game against the Dogs last week.

Cool

Do you know the origins? I've always felt our song left a little to be desired or was a verse or two short(!) but this version changed the game for me!! Would love to get a copy!

It's pretty great, I actually think it was better last week with the crowd more involved in the chant and clapping. It does sound like a post-win in the rooms rendition with the call and response.

?Southampton soccer club ..........England

You tube it

I am sure that version.

it is a 'Knock Knock' of the song that has certainly been around a while

going to be done at Home games- and I feel once people know what is happening it will build( or atleast I hope so)

and obviously first time we saw it for a win

again - once people know what is happening hopefully more will join in.

difficulty yesterday ( at G) is the reverb- which is what singers often complain about-) the delay in sound to action.
Last edited by saintbrat on Sun 10 Apr 2016 2:32pm, edited 1 time in total.

The_Merchant

Will be great in a couple of years when we are flying. It will build a real atmosphere at the dome with a big crowd. I love it.

If at first you don't succeed, sky diving is not for you.

I tried to clap along with it but found the changing temp impossible to keep up with.
Perhaps it was the MCC reverberation or the fact i am uncoordinated?

It's got potential. Especially for the big home games in the future with large crowds.

chook23 wrote:?Southampton soccer club ..........England

You tube it

I am sure that version.

just tried and cant find the version i am looking for - can you post a link?

MC Gusto wrote:
chook23 wrote:?Southampton soccer club ..........England

You tube it

I am sure that version.

just tried and cant find the version i am looking for - can you post a link?

http://fanchants.co.uk/football-songs/s ... -marching/

I wasn't a fan of it. Our supporters need to be initiating their own singing and chanting without the aid of audio tracks over PA system and distracting graphics flashing from all corners of the ground.

I love the old chant of "Knock, knock". Now it is tainted by this crass gimmickry. I loathe all of the Americanisation and Mickey Mouse stuff infiltrating our game.

GET RID OF IT!!!

not sure that is it chook - great rendition all the same

I said it in last week's thread but I think the fast part is WAY TOO FAST for most people to keep up with. The fast bit needs to be slowed down a tad.

not sure how you see it as an 'americanisation'??

anyway whatevers

MC Gusto wrote:not sure how you see it as an 'americanisation'??

anyway whatevers
Whatever my arse! Mate, this is what the American sport stadium has become - a moronic inferno of noise. It kills the old school atmos, which made our game so unique. We don't need it!

I disagree, I think we do need it or some other gimmick.
I liked it last week even though I only realised it was going on late as I was preoccupied with my daughter
I think it will be better when our supporters fully catch on.
Was also great after the game, then again my smile was already from ear to ear
To say we don't need any of the "Americanisation" is rubbish. The AFL is so boring to go to other than the game itself.
Yes the two hours of footy is great but there is another hour or so to fill in.

It wasn't the Southampton version - it was the Tottenham Hotspurs version

Here t'is. Enjoy.

Goose is king wrote:I disagree, I think we do need it or some other gimmick.
I liked it last week even though I only realised it was going on late as I was preoccupied with my daughter
I think it will be better when our supporters fully catch on.
Was also great after the game, then again my smile was already from ear to ear
To say we don't need any of the "Americanisation" is rubbish. The AFL is so boring to go to other than the game itself.
Yes the two hours of footy is great but there is another hour or so to fill in.
Exactly - plus we have a great club song - when we get rockin' imagine hearing this being sung at Etihad and the G. Even interstate - even a pocket of supporters at the SCG or Subi would be amazing.

Geelong's supporters and Hawthorn's do their songs (not cheer squads, just rank and file barrackers) at games.

samuraisaint wrote:It wasn't the Southampton version - it was the Tottenham Hotspurs version

Here t'is. Enjoy.

The tottenham one is generally....well, it is..."Oh when the Spurs"

samuraisaint wrote:It wasn't the Southampton version - it was the Tottenham Hotspurs version

Here t'is. Enjoy.

Still not sure this is it??!

kp83

Sainternist wrote:I wasn't a fan of it. Our supporters need to be initiating their own singing and chanting without the aid of audio tracks over PA system and distracting graphics flashing from all corners of the ground.

I love the old chant of "Knock, knock". Now it is tainted by this crass gimmickry. I loathe all of the Americanisation and Mickey Mouse stuff infiltrating our game.

GET RID OF IT!!!
I disagree. Can you imagine a stadium full of 40,000 saints fans singing along to this before a big game in a couple of years? It would be electric. You can't possibly expect a crowd that big to spontaneously burst into song without some prompting surely? And while you may hate all this "gimmickry" as you call it, I reckon the majority of the younger generations will love it, hopefully pulling them back game after game.

kp83 wrote:
Sainternist wrote:I wasn't a fan of it. Our supporters need to be initiating their own singing and chanting without the aid of audio tracks over PA system and distracting graphics flashing from all corners of the ground.

GET RID OF IT!!!
I disagree. Can you imagine a stadium full of 40,000 saints fans singing along to this before a big game in a couple of years? It would be electric. You can't possibly expect a crowd that big to spontaneously burst into song without some prompting surely? And while you may hate all this "gimmickry" as you call it, I reckon the majority of the younger generations will love it, hopefully pulling them back game after game.

Agreed! If anything it is the 'englishisation' of it - when I was living in London and an arsenal member the chants and songs at the football were an absolute highlight - and they were about tradition not glittery american basketball type nonsense...

This would be awesome!

kp83 wrote:

GET RID OF IT!!!

I agree with you kp83.

I like this as it is a song that every StKilda fan already knows....just presented in a new way. It is also not me not "gimmicky" at all.

And even if no one sings along it is still great to hear it loud and proud just prior to the bounce.

Trying to get a completely new chant going would always be a hard task with an aussie crowd. So I believe this approach is a good one as it it is just reworking what we already know and love.

PS: at home games like v Pies it also knocks on the head chants like col- ling - wood getting going just prior to the game.

Would be awesome late in the last......