Anyone else feeling flat about this season?

Re: Anyone else feeling flat about this season?

Some people should plan for their funerals. You know the inevitable is going to happen. Based on their mindset they should probably start sooner than later.

thejiggingsaint wrote:Some folk will find reasons to be "flat" or "pessimistic" regardless of any positives. It's in their nature to be negative. We should attempt to give them our sympathy, it must be awful to go through life that way.
If you buy me a bottle of scotch I'll be more positive about this season. I promise !

If I honestly thought it would help I would! Past history says otherwise :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

jonesy wrote:Not excited. Modern football is a drain to watch, and if you're not in the hunt it's hard to keep the interest up. In the past you'd go along and hope for a Lockett bag, or Loewe to drag down 15 monster pack marks, watch a blew, see winmar take mark of the year, listen to crowd banter.

That's all gone now
Exactly. You'd have a whale of a time at the footy, win, lose or draw.

Now it's a homogeneous experience that doesn't feel overly different whether you're there in person or watching on TV.

ripplug66

evertonfc wrote:
jonesy wrote:Not excited. Modern football is a drain to watch, and if you're not in the hunt it's hard to keep the interest up. In the past you'd go along and hope for a Lockett bag, or Loewe to drag down 15 monster pack marks, watch a blew, see winmar take mark of the year, listen to crowd banter.

That's all gone now

Now it's a homogeneous experience that doesn't feel overly different whether you're there in person or watching on TV.

Maybe its age or our lack of success. Cant remember to many complaints in 09 and 10. I still love the footy either on TV and especially going. I remember games at Moorabbin where we would yell out be quite and that was the only noise you could hear. I think it is romantic when thinking of the past but I don't think it was really much better. I do agree FF helped but we need to get used to not having big goalkicking FF for a fair while yet. I look at the other spects that have improved so much like handball and kicking.

I love the saints and will always go to the footy. I'll be pretty flat if the younger players don't improve at all by the end of 2016.

Ross, Longer, Hickey, Webster, Bruce.

These are the players who will hit the magical 50 game mark this season. By season's end I think we will have a definitive answer one way or the other whether each is going to make the grade.

In the case of Bruce I think he has already answered the question in 2015. A 50 goal season is definitive.

Con Gorozidis wrote:Ross, Longer, Hickey, Webster, Bruce.

These are the players who will hit the magical 50 game mark this season. By season's end I think we will have a definitive answer one way or the other whether each is going to make the grade.

In the case of Bruce I think he has already answered the question in 2015. A 50 goal season is definitive.
Nope. I want to see more than one great season from Josh the Bruce before I believe. He was under the radar last year. The oppo will target him a lot more this year - can he cope?

The Fireman wrote:I'm patient StBryon..been a member and optimistic fan for a very long time..the optimism isn't what it used to be, all I'm saying is that it may take a lot longer than some think.

I'm the official SS pessimist :)
Oh yes....being a long time Saints fan has required patience. But good times are coming.....

evertonfc wrote:

That's all gone now

I haven't been for a few years now, but this was also my experience last game I went to. Corporatised and commercialised to death.

st.byron wrote:
The Fireman wrote:I'm patient StBryon..been a member and optimistic fan for a very long time..the optimism isn't what it used to be, all I'm saying is that it may take a lot longer than some think.

I'm the official SS pessimist :)
Oh yes....being a long time Saints fan has required patience. But good times are coming.....
yep the good times are always coming... :wink:

Zed wrote:This year is when the heavy lifting starts shifting to the next generation. Last year we saw Armo join Steven as our best 2 players. This year we will see the likes of Billings, Dunstan, Acres, Bruce start playing more leading rather than supporting roles.

The net win-loss ratio I predict will be similar, but slightly better. But the losing margins will get closer.

Watch closely this year and you will see glimpses of the team that will play finals in 2018.
Just a question - do you think we will have any of Fisher, Roo and Joey playing in 2018?

If they all retire by the end of next season, that's a massive hole to fill to play finals as early as 2018.

I hope you are on the money though !
By 2018 Carlisle and Goddard will be filling the key defensive posts ably supported by Roberton and any number of mid sized rebounding defenders we have on the list. Fisher gone, Dempster may still be in the list but in his last year.

Mcartin and Bruce will own the key forward posts, with a bunch of quality smalls rotating through. The 3rd tall position is still up for grabs IMHO and probably the only hole in the forward line after 2018. Roo will play that role in 2018 in what will be his last season.

There are mids emerging to replace Joey - however he should be be going around in 2018 to keep,them all honest.

Zed wrote:
Zed wrote:This year is when the heavy lifting starts shifting to the next generation. Last year we saw Armo join Steven as our best 2 players. This year we will see the likes of Billings, Dunstan, Acres, Bruce start playing more leading rather than supporting roles.

The net win-loss ratio I predict will be similar, but slightly better. But the losing margins will get closer.

Watch closely this year and you will see glimpses of the team that will play finals in 2018.
Just a question - do you think we will have any of Fisher, Roo and Joey playing in 2018?

If they all retire by the end of next season, that's a massive hole to fill to play finals as early as 2018.

By 2018 Carlisle and Goddard will be filling the key defensive posts ably supported by Roberton and any number of mid sized rebounding defenders we have on the list. Fisher gone, Dempster may still be in the list but in his last year.

Mcartin and Bruce will own the key forward posts, with a bunch of quality smalls rotating through. The 3rd tall position is still up for grabs IMHO and probably the only hole in the forward line after 2018. Roo will play that role in 2018 in what will be his last season.

There are mids emerging to replace Joey - however he should be be going around in 2018 to keep,them all honest.
If all of Dempster, Roo and Joey are still playing in 2018 I'll walk to Perth.

I think with the way he plays and his body - Joey is the only one with any hope to still be going around in 2018.

Zed wrote:

If all of Dempster, Roo and Joey are still playing in 2018 I'll walk to Perth.

I think with the way he plays and his body - Joey is the only one with any hope to still be going around in 2018.
And I heard that Joey had to be talked into playing on this year.

Bought a $200 24 inch tv for out the back room to watch the footy. Built in DVD player and set top box so all set. Tested out the mute button for the channel 7 commentary if needed and works like a dream.

lucasro

Mark Bickley(5AA) saying Crows into a young Saints player 'in a big way'- someone who could be as good as Tex Walker! Could he be referring to Josh Bruce?

westies1953

st.byron wrote:
evertonfc wrote:

That's all gone now

I haven't been for a few years now, but this was also my experience last game I went to. Corporatised and commercialised to death.
I agree, the atmos isn't like what it used to be back in the day, but I find it far more enjoyable to be there to watch it. I rarely enjoy watching it on television these days. Terrible commentary, the production is way over the top and then ads after every goal ruin the flow of it.
magnifisaint wrote:Some people should plan for their funerals. You know the inevitable is going to happen. Based on their mindset they should probably start sooner than later.
I won't be for as long as it takes, at least until we get to us taste some premiership glory.

lucasro wrote:Mark Bickley(5AA) saying Crows into a young Saints player 'in a big way'- someone who could be as good as Tex Walker! Could he be referring to Josh Bruce?
Slow news day in Adelaide. Former player just trying to get some ratings...

lucasro wrote:Mark Bickley(5AA) saying Crows into a young Saints player 'in a big way'- someone who could be as good as Tex Walker! Could he be referring to Josh Bruce?
Bigfooty Crows fan says that Crows are never this public in their dealings, and Bickley as a "Crows Ambassador"(?) wouldn't breach any trust...they think Bickley is trying to distract Port from the Crows real target of Hurley.

Johnny Favier

Very astute comments mate - I totally agree.

I don,t want this to be seen as too negative, but we are a hell of a long way from a flag. A hell of a long way.
Look at our 2009 personal - that ultimately failed. Now not all these players peaked in 2009 (or a flag would have been a formality), but it gives you an idea of the quality personel you need.
Saints 2009
Reiwoldt - AA
Hayes - AA
Goddard - AA
Fisher - AA
Dal Santo - AA
Milne - AA
Dempster - AA
Montagna - AA
Ball - AA
King - AA
Gardiner - AA

11 Bloody AAs - either very experienced, at their peak (most of them), or heading to it in the next year or two!
Throw in the very servicable Baker, Schneider, Gram, and Gilbert, and dependable players like Blake, & Dawson.
Who in the current lot will make AA? Billings is a show, Steven and Armitage are on the periphery but unlikely, fingers crossed for McCartin, Dunstan, Bruce, Goddard, Carlisle - truth is at best a couple of those and a couple I haven't listed if we're lucky. We need to keep recruiting, and we need to snare a couple of very good free agents. And we need to pray we have a coach capable of getting the best out of the team, and creating a game plan capable of winning a flag. Sounds almost impossible, but I reckon we have about a one in ten shot over the next ten years.