Jake Carlisle

Re: Jake Carlisle

Jacks Back wrote:
Rosco wrote:
santazzi wrote:
mad saint guy wrote:
jaxons wrote:You can all relax he has been done and dusted to Carlton for some time now.
Definitely won't be at the Saints.
:shock:
Where did Jaxons print that?
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=89382&p=1571613#p1571613

11th August in this thread.
Don't get any splinters Jaxons sitting on the fence like that.
At the time jaxons was spot on. Shortly after Saints came knocking with the deal that the others couldn't match.

matrix wrote:How the fudge are we going to trade pick 5 for two later first round picks?

Wtf am I missing here?

700 grand a year for 5 years pmsl
Surely someone's taking the piss with that.
Give him 400 that's plenty
Lol
For 700 he would want to be the AA full back 3 out of those 5 years and top 3 in our B&F

If I see one squib moment from him on the park......

He wouldn't move to us for 400 and he is worth more than 400 regardless.

You always have to pay more to attract someone to the club.
He isn't getting 400 and he isn't getting 700. Some much BS spoken

Saint wagga

Super excited to see that Carlisle is going to nominate us as his preferred home. It seems that once a player nominates a club, it pretty much always gets done and done quickly!! We have finally landed a big fish! A key position defender coming into his prime for the next 5 years!! Fantastic news!! I"m confident he can recapture his form from 2012/13 as our key backman and look forward to Chips fisher playing a bit looser and using his great kicking coming out of defence!!

They are interviewing him on Trade Radio now (10am)

https://twitter.com/traderadio?ref_src= ... r%5Eauthor

matrix wrote:How the fudge are we going to trade pick 5 for two later first round picks?

Wtf am I missing here?

700 grand a year for 5 years pmsl
Surely someone's taking the piss with that.
Give him 400 that's plenty
Lol
For 700 he would want to be the AA full back 3 out of those 5 years and top 3 in our B&F

If I see one squib moment from him on the park......

He wouldn't move to us for 400 and he is worth more than 400 regardless.

You always have to pay more to attract someone to the club.
He isn't getting 400 and he isn't getting 700. Some much BS spoken
Yup, and the idea (apparently reported on ch7?) that we were up against 500 x 3 and we offered 700 x 5 is too daft to take seriously for even a moment.

Less than 5 years.

Great outcome all round. Now for a reasonable trade.

aaron82

Pretty happy this bloke is coming on board. Well done to the club.
I can see him ending up as a cult figure a bit like Fraser Gehrig. A new breed of carpet snake, Jake the Snake Carlisle. Hopefully we can facilitate a trade without giving away pick 5

and that's the bottom line

I thought that he spoke quite well and while not ultra slick said all the right things, and was far from the bogan that some had made out.

Assuming that he gets the #2 jumper?
Or #22 if we don't re-sign Farren Ray.

I was listening to Trade Radio, until Nathan Brown started talking about Pick 5 and Seb Ross for Carlisle was a good deal for the Saints.

Yeah righto.....

Suggestion on trade radio
saints pick 5 to Essendon for carlisle and bombers 2nd round (about pick 23)
saints then on trade pick 23 to Collingwood for freeman.

we get the 2 for pick 5

Playon

If you missed the Carlisle interview on Nab trade radio, it's here

https://soundcloud.com/nabtraderadio/ja ... um=twitter

St Chris wrote:I was listening to Trade Radio, until Nathan Brown started talking about Pick 5 and Seb Ross for Carlisle was a good deal for the Saints.

Yeah righto.....
I knew there was a reason brown and clown rhyme

Playon

St Chris wrote:I was listening to Trade Radio, until Nathan Brown started talking about Pick 5 and Seb Ross for Carlisle was a good deal for the Saints.

Yeah righto.....
Brownie's an idiot he mentioned we struggled down back last year as Fisher had to play on taller opponents, GWILT had to play on taller opponents.

Then comes up with the 5 and Seb Ross deal, is he on the Bombers books?

Saint wagga wrote:Super excited to see that Carlisle is going to nominate us as his preferred home. It seems that once a player nominates a club, it pretty much always gets done and done quickly!! We have finally landed a big fish! A key position defender coming into his prime for the next 5 years!! Fantastic news!! I"m confident he can recapture his form from 2012/13 as our key backman and look forward to Chips fisher playing a bit looser and using his great kicking coming out of defence!!

Great post. Agree with you 150 percent.

All we need now is to get Freeman across the line which should also happen. This is very good news indeed. Love the fact we are getting a 200 cm defender.

damienc wrote:All we need now is to get Freeman across the line which should also happen.
Well technically we still have to get Carlisle across the line :wink:

Richo states that we would have been 8th on the ladder if we had kicked 7 more points per game and saved two goals per game, so I guess if Carlise can take a couple of grabs either end of the ground regularly, then the plan is sort of coming together bit by bit.

damienc wrote:All we need now is to get Freeman across the line which should also happen.
Well technically we still have to get Carlisle across the line :wink:

Point taken. So what will we have to give up to get him? I hope it's not pick 5 but it probably will be.

chook23 wrote:Suggestion on trade radio

we get the 2 for pick 5
I don't think that's a good deal. Pick 5 is our chance to get an elite skilled mid we are crying out for. Instead we end up with a back we are chockas with and a mid with dodgy hamstrings who has barely managed an afl game. This screams of Ricoh seeing finals in his eyes instead of patiently building for sustained success. Signed, greatly concerned

ripplug66

damienc wrote:All we need now is to get Freeman across the line which should also happen. This is very good news indeed. Love the fact we are getting a 200 cm defender.

Freeman probably closer than Carlisle as his pick will be easier to find or trade. Having said that we are obviously getting both and I reckon that was obvious once we knew the money both were offered. Well close to what they have been offered.

ripplug66

Bluthy wrote:

we get the 2 for pick 5
I don't think that's a good deal. Pick 5 is our chance to get an elite skilled mid we are crying out for. Instead we end up with a back we are chockas with and a mid with dodgy hamstrings who has barely managed an afl game. This screams of Ricoh seeing finals in his eyes instead of patiently building for sustained success. Signed, greatly concerned

Id be pretty sure there is much more than Richo involved. He may not even have the final say. I think it screams of getting a 2 young players, one not proven but thought to have a lot of potential and one at his best can make the AA top 40 and also make the 22 and under teams twice in 2 years.

Yeah righto.....
It was Plow that suggested it and not Brown.

Bluthy wrote:

we get the 2 for pick 5
I agree that's not a great deal
We all know the risks with both these players and one is OOC so handing over pick 5 for 23 isn't great
If prefer a player plus 2nd rounder for Carlisle and keep 5 for mid - already been stated that the top end this draft as good as any previously so an elite mid is in the offing

Time to be shrewed and a little greedy if we want to climb ladder - if anyone thinks we are "thereabouts" genuine finals contenders take a look at the back half of last season
It's not just about playing finals fast - it's about building for a sustained tilt which means shrewed dealing aka Hawks
Last edited by Teflon on Thu 08 Oct 2015 1:38pm, edited 1 time in total.